ADVERTISEMENT

TurtleArt: When the arts and programming merge happily!

RemixEd / EdCamp Montreal 2017 notably allowed to meet Artemis Papert and Brian Silverman, in addition to discovering the TurtleArt software.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

RemixEd / EdCamp Montreal 2017 notably allowed to meet Artemis Papert and Brian Silverman, in addition to discovering the TurtleArt software.

September 30 was held the day RemixEd / EdCamp Montreal 2017, a bilingual non-conference. At the opening, Artemis Papert and Brian Silverman shared their conception of education through a bilingual presentation.

The characters Artemis and Brian are what teachers dream of when they seek to develop the skills of the 21st.e century among their students. They have indeed been able to develop several facets of their respective personalities.

Artemis Papert is the artist in residence at the Playful Invention Company of Montreal and a shiatsu massage therapist. His interest in alternative medicine dates from his studies in biology in Switzerland. She is a trained microbiologist. As an educator, she particularly uses the software TurtleArt, a creation of Paula Bontá and Brian Silverman, which explores the relationship between art and algorithms. For her, programming is her brush. The program generates the product, but the artist makes the artistic decisions, she says.

Brian Silverman is a native Montrealer who studied at MIT in the 1970s where he participated among other things in the invention of learning environments for children. His work includes dozens of versions of Logo (including LogoWriter and MicroWorlds), Scratch, Robotics LEGO, TurtleArt, and the PicoCricket. Brian is a consultant researcher at MIT Media Lab and has recreational math as a hobby. He is a computer scientist and loves to tweak. He also invented several well-known rules, including Brian's Brain in the particular field of cellular automata.

In short, extraordinary characters. Pioneers in the introduction of young people to technology They belong to the constructionist tradition of Seymour Papert, who died in July 2016, a being of remarkable intelligence for his scope and creativity, who left his mark in three distinct fields:

  • the study of how children approach the world in which they live;
  • the development of artificial intelligence;
  • the impact of digital technologies on learning.

Regardless of their age, children and adults alike should use their intelligence in the learning process. Students should be able to work on projects that offer a wide range of experiences from open-ended questions. Current education systems require specifying the projects students work on, defining what they need to learn and also being able to measure the results of this work through evaluations.

Learning is not a staircase that you climb: “Learning does not happen at the next level of the next game,” says Brian. You rarely get it right the first time. More than once you have to put your work back on the job and correct an error here, another there. An approach which, unfortunately, is far from being accepted in the serious adult world where efficiency consists of succeeding the first time, every time.

 

Art and programming with TurtleArt

TurtleArt is software that allows you to do activities where a graphic turtle instantly draws the images created from visual programming blocks. It was presented during this RemixEd day and really captured the attention of people there.

Students learn to follow a series of instructions that will allow the virtual turtle to draw. First, they learn to predict what the turtle's behavior will be based on the instructions. They understand the concept of programming. Then, they will learn to organize instructions efficiently and develop increasingly creative projects.

TurtleArt's programming language is simple and easy to use. It gives students access to mathematical reasoning, problem solving, calculus, measurement, geometry and programming to create beautiful pictures.

To explore the software, we can use this educational guide in English for third cycle primary school pupils.

 

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Ninon Louise Lepage
Ninon Louise Lepage
Ninon Louise LePage is a pedagogue and museologist who recently came out of premature retirement to be reborn as an educational designation. She has taught at the Université du Québec à Montréal and the Université de Sherbrooke in science education, in addition to working at the Canadian Heritage Information Network as a museology consultant. She also writes for our French friends at Ludomag. She also invites all interested to contact her so that she can talk about you, your students, your school and your particular experiences in digital and computer education.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

TurtleArt : Quand les arts et la programmation s’entremêlent joyeusement!

RemixEd / EdCamp Montréal 2017 a notamment permis de rencontrer Artemis Papert et Brian Silverman, en plus de découvrir le logiciel TurtleArt.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

RemixEd / EdCamp Montréal 2017 a notamment permis de rencontrer Artemis Papert et Brian Silverman, en plus de découvrir le logiciel TurtleArt.

Le 30 septembre dernier s’est tenue la journée RemixEd / EdCamp Montréal 2017, une non-conférence bilingue. En ouverture, Artemis Papert et Brian Silverman ont partagé leur conception de l’éducation par une présentation bilingue.

Les personnages Artemis et Brian sont à l’image de ce dont rêvent les enseignants quand ils cherchent à développer les compétences du 21e siècle chez leurs élèves. Ils ont en effet su développer plusieurs facettes de leur personnalité respective.

Artemis Papert est l’artiste en résidence à la Playful Invention Company de Montréal et massothérapeute en shiatsu. Son intérêt pour les médecines alternatives date de ses études en biologie en Suisse. Elle est microbiologiste de formation. En tant qu’éducatrice, elle utilise particulièrement le logiciel TurtleArt, une création de Paula Bontá et Brian Silverman, qui explore la relation entre l’art et les algorithmes. Pour elle, la programmation est son pinceau. Le programme génère le produit, mais c’est l’artiste qui prend les décisions artistiques, dit-elle.

Brian Silverman est un montréalais d’origine qui a étudié au MIT dans les années 1970 où il a participé entre autres à l’invention d’environnements d’apprentissage pour les enfants. Son travail comprend des dizaines de versions de Logo (y compris LogoWriter et MicroWorlds), Scratch, LEGO robotique, TurtleArt et le PicoCricket. Brian est chercheur-conseil au MIT Media Lab et a les mathématiques récréatives comme passe-temps. Il est informaticien et adore bidouiller. Il a aussi inventé plusieurs règles bien connues, dont Brian’s Brain dans le domaine particulier des automates cellulaires.

Bref, des personnages hors norme. Des pionniers dans l’introduction des jeunes à la technologie Ils appartiennent à la tradition constructionniste de Seymour Papert, décédé en juillet 2016, un être à l’intelligence remarquable par son étendue et sa créativité, qui a laissé sa marque dans trois domaines distincts :

  • l’étude de la façon dont les enfants appréhendent le monde dans lequel ils vivent;
  • le développement de l’intelligence artificielle;
  • l’impact des technologies numériques sur l’apprentissage.

Quel que soit leur âge, les enfants comme les adultes devraient utiliser leur intelligence lors du processus d’apprentissage. Les élèves doivent pouvoir travailler à des projets qui offrent un grand éventail d’expériences à partir de questions ouvertes. Les systèmes d’éducation actuels demandent de préciser les projets auxquels travaillent les élèves, définir ce qu’ils doivent apprendre et aussi pouvoir mesurer les résultats de ce travail par des évaluations.

L’apprentissage n’est pas un escalier que l’on monte : « Learning does not happens at the next level of the next game », dit Brian. On réussit rarement du premier coup. Il faut plus d’une fois remettre son ouvrage sur le métier et corriger une erreur ici, une autre là. Une approche qui, malheureusement, est loin d’être acceptée dans le sérieux monde adulte où l’efficacité consiste à réussir du premier coup, à tous les coups.

 

Art et programmation avec TurtleArt

TurtleArt est un logiciel qui permet de faire des activités où une tortue graphique dessine instantanément les images créées à partir de blocs de programmation visuels. Il a été présenté lors de cette journée RemixEd et a réellement su capter l’attention des gens sur place.

Les élèves apprennent à suivre une série d’instructions qui permettront à la tortue virtuelle de dessiner. Dans un premier temps, ils apprennent à prédire quel sera le comportement de la tortue en fonction des instructions. Ils comprennent le concept de programmation. Puis, ils apprendront à organiser les instructions efficacement et développeront des projets de plus en plus créatifs.

Le langage de programmation de TurtleArt est simple et facile à utiliser. Il donne aux élèves accès au raisonnement mathématique, à la résolution de problèmes, au calcul, à la mesure, à la géométrie et à la programmation pour créer de belles images.

Pour explorer le logiciel, on peut utiliser ce guide pédagogique en anglais pour les élèves du troisième cycle du primaire.

 

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Ninon Louise Lepage
Ninon Louise LePage est pédagogue et muséologue récemment sortie d’une retraite prématurée pour renaître comme désigner pédagogique. Elle a enseigné à l'Université du Québec à Montréal et à l'Université de Sherbrooke en didactique des sciences, en plus de travailler au Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine comme expert-conseil en muséologie. Elle écrit également pour nos amis français chez Ludomag. Elle invite par ailleurs tous les intéressés à la contacter afin qu’elle parle de vous, vos élèves, votre école et vos expériences particulières en éducation au numérique et à l’informatique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :