ADVERTISEMENT

Testimonial: Stepping out of the box to evaluate differently

Annie Guay, teacher and educational leader at L'Accueil de Scott school, shares with us the results of an approach that has led to the implementation of new assessment practices in her community.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Annie Guay, Grade 1 and 2 teacher and educational leader at L'Accueil à Scott school, Beauce-Etchemin School Service Center.

“Don't be afraid to think outside the box! Don't be worried about making a big mistake and dreaming big! Because remember: dreams, if they have no purpose, will always remain dreams. " 
Denzel Washington 

I wish I had heard this quote earlier in my career. The school team in which I work had all the talents, all the opportunities to succeed, but also all the chances of making mistakes. She chose to go ahead… and she won her bet. 

In the fall of 2018, we looked at our students' motivation to write. It was one of our vulnerabilities. We hoped to remedy it and our ambitions had no limits. We were determined to find a way to engage our students on the path to the pleasure of writing. Our educational leader then gave us the time (what a great recognition it was to have the time to work together on our class hours) and the material (we almost have a loyalty card at Chenelière) to allow us to explore and think differently about teaching writing.

For two years, we went around in circles one way, then the other. To get something that we didn't have, we had to try something that we had never tried. But what? With this idea in mind, we continued to move forward. We spent time reading student texts, building reading kits to encourage them to write, and at the end of the day we still couldn't see any progress in their motivation. 

Not seeing the outcome, we turned to the educational advisor attached to our school. Its lighting would change everything! One observation emerged: we had to rely on research and evidence to develop our game plan.

Hours of digging into the Progression of learning, of bringing out the essential knowledge for each cycle (it is because the program is a bit ambitious), to finally lead to learning sequences that give us the means to teach the writing to our students. 

Collaboration and courageous conversations

We had a plan to develop the pleasure of writing in our students, but we nevertheless arrived at another unexpected finding: skills development and numerical assessment could no longer go together. 

We then chose to specify the expected behaviors according to the learning. We were not at the end of our troubles and long hours of meetings and work still awaited us. However, we still had the support of our pedagogical leader and the CP at the school service center. They searched everywhere to bring out the existing literature in connection with criteria criteria and a team of teachers embarked on the development of a new model in line with the values and mission of the school. 

Astonishing fact: only one assembly of teachers was necessary for everyone to agree on this new tool, which was tabled a few months later. Not that surprising when you think about it since the team reflection had been initiated well in advance. Finally, we had a system that reflected the whole process that we had started two years earlier. 

Collaboration and courageous conversations were present throughout the process and this is, I believe, what made all stakeholders feel involved in the process. By dint of working on this educational soil dear to us, we had before us a scale that went in the direction of the development of skills included in the program of the Quebec school version 2.0.

In the fall of 2019, we finally came up with a whole new scale. No more 72 steps and incomprehensible vocabulary, like “often; most of the time; clearly ”. We had a scale that would allow us to discuss more clearly with the parents and, above all, with the students about their progress and the challenges to be met. This new tool was warmly welcomed by all school stakeholders, and even by the parents of our students. 

I'll let you take a look.

Since then…

Our learning targets will be in use for almost two years. The way to do this is clear to the students and their parents. We have discussions related to the child's progress, we create groups of need related to the learning sequences and we offer students opportunities to recover. Most importantly, students know they can make mistakes and tame error. Because making a mistake is proof par excellence that you have tried. The targets to be reached are visible to the student and they help to reassure him, to encourage him to surpass himself and this becomes a magnificent demonstration of his commitment.

At the Accueil school, a small elementary school with 260 students located in Scott, there are no more numerical marks from kindergarten to grade 6. All teachers are now using targets. We have revised our observation grids based on the evaluation criteria. It is so much more helpful for students who hear the same vocabulary throughout their elementary school. We have succeeded in harmonizing our practices for the benefit of learning.

We offer a lot of feedback to the student when he is in a learning sequence, several formative assessments and we end with an assessment that takes into account the criteria of the competency and which allows the student to situate himself in relation to the learning targets. 

We dreamed big and we still dream! Now, we are meeting teams from other schools in our CSS and even elsewhere in Quebec. We try to inspire change, one teacher at a time.

If you want to know more about our methods, do not hesitate to contact us.

Approved by Scott's team of collaborative team coaches: Mélanie Vigneault, Joannie Bélanger and Johanne Morin

In addition


DO NOT MISS! November 11 at 7:30 p.m .: come and talk to members of the staff of the Accueil school about their shift in terms of evaluation! Click here to sign up!


Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Classé dans :

Témoignage: Sortir de la boîte pour évaluer autrement

Annie Guay, enseignante et leader pédagogique à l’école L’Accueil de Scott, nous partage le fruit d'une démarche qui a conduit à la mise en place de nouvelles pratiques d'évaluation dans son milieu.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Annie Guay, enseignante 1re-2e année et leader pédagogique à l’école L’Accueil à Scott, Centre de services scolaire de la Beauce-Etchemin.

« N’ayez pas peur de penser en dehors de la boîte! Ne soyez pas inquiets de vous tromper magistralement et de rêver grand! Car rappelez-vous : les rêves, s’ils n’ont pas de but, resteront toujours des rêves. » 
Denzel Washington 

J’aurais voulu entendre cette citation plus tôt dans ma carrière. L’équipe-école dans laquelle j’évolue avait tous les talents, toutes les opportunités pour réussir, mais aussi toutes les chances de se tromper. Elle a choisi d’aller de l’avant… et elle a gagné son pari. 

À l’automne 2018, nous nous penchions sur la motivation à écrire de nos élèves. C’était l’une de nos vulnérabilités. Nous espérions y remédier et nos ambitions n’avaient pas de limite. Nous étions déterminés à trouver une façon d’engager nos élèves sur le chemin du plaisir d’écrire. Notre leader pédagogique nous a alors donné du temps (quelle belle reconnaissance ce fût d’avoir le temps de travailler ensemble sur nos heures de classe) et le matériel (nous avons presque une carte fidélité chez Chenelière) pour nous permettre d’explorer et de penser autrement l’enseignement de l’écriture.

Pendant deux ans, nous avons tourné en rond dans un sens, puis dans l’autre. Pour obtenir quelque chose que nous n’avions pas, il nous fallait essayer quelque chose que nous n’avions jamais essayé. Mais quoi? Fort de cette idée, nous continuions d’avancer. Nous avons passé du temps à lire des textes d’élèves, à construire des trousses de lecture pour les encourager à écrire et, au bout du compte, nous ne voyions toujours pas de progrès dans leur motivation. 

Ne voyant pas l’issue, nous nous sommes tournés vers la conseillère pédagogique rattachée à notre école. Son éclairage allait tout changer! Un constat est apparu : il fallait s’appuyer sur la recherche et les données probantes pour élaborer notre plan de match.

Des heures à fouiller la Progression des apprentissages, à sortir les savoirs essentiels pour chaque cycle (c’est qu’il est un brin ambitieux le programme), pour finalement aboutir à des séquences d’apprentissage qui nous donnent des moyens pour enseigner l’écriture à nos élèves. 

Collaboration et conversations courageuses

Nous avions un plan pour développer le plaisir d’écrire chez nos élèves, mais nous étions quand même arrivés à un autre constat inattendu : développement de compétences et évaluation chiffrée ne pouvaient plus aller ensemble. 

Nous avons alors choisi de préciser les comportements attendus en fonction des apprentissages. Nous n’étions pas au bout de nos peines et de longues heures de rencontres et de travail nous attendaient encore. Cependant, nous avions toujours le soutien de notre leader pédagogique et de la CP du centre de services scolaires. Elles ont fouillé partout pour faire ressortir la littérature existante en lien avec des barèmes critériés et une équipe d’enseignants s’est lancée dans l’élaboration d’un nouveau modèle en lien avec les valeurs et la mission de l’école. 

Fait étonnant : une seule assemblée d’enseignants aura été nécessaire pour que tous s’entendent sur ce nouvel outil qui a été déposé quelques mois plus tard. Pas si étonnant que ça quand on y pense puisque la réflexion en équipe avait été amorcée bien en amont. Nous avions enfin un dispositif qui reflétait l’ensemble de la démarche que nous avions débutée deux ans plus tôt. 

Collaboration et conversations courageuses ont été présentes tout au long de la démarche et c’est, je crois, ce qui a permis à tous les intervenants de se sentir concernés par le processus. À force de travailler ce terreau pédagogique cher à nos yeux, nous avions devant nous un barème qui allait dans le sens du développement de compétences inscrites au programme de l’école québécoise version 2.0.

À l’automne 2019, nous avons finalement élaboré un tout nouveau barème. Fini les 72 échelons et le vocabulaire incompréhensible, comme « souvent; la plupart du temps; nettement ». Nous avions un barème qui allait nous permettre de discuter plus clairement avec les parents et, surtout, avec les élèves de leurs progrès et des défis à relever. Ce nouvel outil a été chaleureusement accueilli par tous les intervenants de l’école, et même par les parents de nos élèves.. 

Je vous laisse y jeter un coup d’oeil.

Depuis ce temps…

Cela fera bientôt deux ans que nos cibles d’apprentissages sont utilisées. La façon de faire est claire pour les élèves et leurs parents. Nous avons des discussions en lien avec le cheminement de l’enfant, nous créons des groupes de besoin en lien avec les séquences d’apprentissage et nous offrons aux élèves des chances de se reprendre. Encore plus important, les élèves savent qu’ils peuvent se tromper et apprivoiser l’erreur. Car faire une erreur, c’est la preuve par excellence que tu as essayé. Les cibles à atteindre sont visibles à l’élève et elles contribuent à le rassurer, à l’amener à se dépasser et cela devient une magnifique démonstration de son engagement.

À l’école l’Accueil, une petite école primaire de 260 élèves située à Scott, il n’y a plus aucune note chiffrée de la maternelle à la 6e année. Tous les enseignants utilisent maintenant les cibles. Nous avons revu nos grilles d’observation en fonction des critères d’évaluation. C’est tellement plus aidant pour les élèves qui entendent le même vocabulaire tout au long de leur primaire. Nous avons réussi à harmoniser nos pratiques au bénéfice de l’apprentissage.

Nous offrons énormément de rétroaction à l’élève lorsqu’il est dans une séquence d’apprentissage, plusieurs évaluations formatives et nous terminons par une évaluation qui tient compte des critères de la compétence et qui permet à l’élève de se situer par rapport aux cibles d’apprentissages. 

On a rêvé grand et on rêve encore! Maintenant, nous rencontrons des équipes d’autres écoles de notre CSS et même d’ailleurs au Québec. Nous tentons d’inspirer le changement, un enseignant à la fois.

Si vous avez le goût d’en savoir plus sur nos façons de faire, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Approuvé par l’équipe d’accompagnateurs d’équipe collaborative de Scott : Mélanie Vigneault, Joannie Bélanger et Johanne Morin

En complément


À NE PAS MANQUER! Le 9 juin à 19 h 30 : venez discuter avec des membres du personnel de l’école l’Accueil à propos de leur virage concernant l’évaluation! Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire!


Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Prochaines formations en direct