Measuring the integration of digital in study programs

A new diagnostic tool is made available to educational establishments in order to measure the integration of digital technology into study and training programs. It is designed so that it can be used for any vocational, college or university training program in Quebec.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

A new diagnostic tool is made available to educational establishments in order to measure the integration of digital technology into study and training programs. It is designed so that it can be used for any vocational, college or university training program in Quebec.

This may seem unusual, because it is theInstitut national des mines du Québec (INMQ) who developed the new tool. The explanation is simple: while this industry is in the midst of a technological transition, the lack of qualified personnel leads to inappropriate or inefficient use of technology which is nevertheless deployed at great expense. The expected benefits are therefore reduced.

"Integrating a new technology into its operations requires having a staff sufficiently qualified to use it properly, to know its limits and to be able to face any technical problems that it could cause, in order to be able to draw from it. fully benefit. This is why digital training for staff is essential for their employability and for a successful digital shift ”, we read in the report published by the INMQ on the occasion of the launch of the diagnostic tool.

Faced with this finding, the INMQ undertook to develop a tool to measure the integration of digital technology in programs. In doing so, it meets certain objectives of the Digital education action plan, such as "supporting people and organizations in the transition to a digital culture" and "promoting the deployment of the distance training offer according to the needs of the different levels of education".

5 axes

The proposed diagnostic tool is broken down into five main areas: study program, technological resources, digital teaching methods, digital skills developed and digital strategy implemented by the departments.

INMQ report

In order to constitute the benchmark of skills to be measured for each axis, a correlation was made between the Reference framework for digital competence of the Quebec Ministry of Education and the INMQ reference framework. A new framework structured around 30 skills has been developed. A questionnaire was then prepared in order to allow effective measurement.

INMQ report

This was then validated on two study programs leading to the mining sector in Quebec in the fall of 2020, namely the DEP in Heavy Machinery Operation in Forest Roads and the DEC in Mineral Technology. These are offered at several educational institutions that participated in the exercise.

The full validation analysis can be found in the INMQ report.

Findings about the programs and the people who administer them

Beyond measuring the integration of digital technology in the two study programs, the validation of the tool made it possible to make certain observations about these programs and the people who administer them (teachers and directors).

We observe in particular "a significant need for information, popularization and awareness of the educational community not only on the principles underlying the 4th industrial revolution, but also on the digital transformation initiated by companies in several sectors, including the mining sector ”.

The four key findings are as follows:

  1. The importance of carrying out a digital 4.0 diagnosis in order to adequately plan the transition not only of a program, of a training offer and of resources (human, material, financial, etc.), but also of management strategies, governance, and digital interoperability between educational levels.
  2. The need to develop the digital skills of learners but also of all categories of staff in educational institutions.
  3. The need for greater agility in the process of updating or revising programs.
  4. The important place to be given to people, in particular to added value for people and to change management, in the 4.0 transformation process of a course, program, establishment, and more generally of the education system.

Now that it has been successfully validated, the diagnostic tool can be made available to other organizations, educational establishments and study program managers who wish to use it.


Educational institutions participating in the research:

Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Cégep de Sept-Îles

Cegep de Thetford

James Bay Vocational Training Center

Estuary vocational training center | Forestville

Pays-des-Bleuets vocational training center

ELa Tuque forest school

Mont-Laurier vocational training center

Sept-Îles vocational training center

Study or training programs tested with the tool:

DEP:

Driving heavy machinery on forest roads

DEC :

Mineral technology

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Mesurer l’intégration du numérique dans les programmes d’études

Un nouvel outil diagnostic est mis à la disposition des établissements d’enseignement afin de mesurer l’intégration du numérique dans les programmes d’études et de formation. Il est conçu pour pouvoir être utilisé pour tout programme de formation professionnelle, collégiale et universitaire au Québec.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Un nouvel outil diagnostic est mis à la disposition des établissements d’enseignement afin de mesurer l’intégration du numérique dans les programmes d’études et de formation. Il est conçu pour pouvoir être utilisé pour tout programme de formation professionnelle, collégiale et universitaire au Québec.

Cela peut sembler inusité, car c’est l’Institut national des mines du Québec (INMQ) qui a élaboré le nouvel outil. L’explication est simple : alors que cette industrie est en pleine transition technologique, l’absence de personnel qualifié conduit à une utilisation inappropriée ou inefficace de la technologie qui est pourtant déployée à grand frais. Les retombées prévues s’en trouvent donc diminuées.

« Intégrer une nouvelle technologie dans ses opérations requiert d’avoir un personnel suffisamment qualifié pour l’utiliser adéquatement, en connaître les limites et être capable de faire face aux éventuels problèmes techniques qu’elle pourrait occasionner, et ce, afin de pouvoir en tirer pleinement avantage. C’est pourquoi la formation au numérique du personnel est essentielle pour son employabilité et pour un tournant numérique réussi », lit-on dans le rapport publié par l’INMQ à l’occasion du lancement de l’outil diagnostic.

Devant le constat, l’INMQ a entrepris de développer un outil permettant de mesurer l’intégration du numérique dans les programmes. Ce faisant, il répond à certains objectifs du Plan d’action numérique en éducation, comme « soutenir les personnes et les organisations dans la transition vers une culture numérique » et « favoriser le déploiement de l’offre de formation à distance en fonction des besoins des différents ordres d’enseignement ».

5 axes

L’outil de diagnostic proposé se décline en cinq grands axes : programme d’études, ressources technologiques, modes d’enseignement liés au numérique, compétences numériques développées et stratégie en lien avec le numérique mise en place par les directions.

Rapport de l’INMQ

Afin de constituer le référentiel de compétences à mesurer pour chaque axe, une corrélation a été faite entre le Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec et le cadre de référence de l’INMQ. Un nouveau référentiel structuré autour de 30 compétences a été développé. Un questionnaire a ensuite été préparé afin de permettre la mesure de façon efficace.

Rapport de l’INMQ

Celui-ci a ensuite été validé sur deux programmes d’études menant au secteur minier au Québec à l’automne 2020, soit le DEP en Conduite en machinerie lourde en voirie forestière et le DEC en Technologie minérale. Ceux-ci sont offerts dans plusieurs établissements d’enseignement qui ont participé à l’exercice.

L’analyse complète de la validation se trouve dans le rapport de l’INMQ.

Des constats à propos des programmes et des personnes qui les administrent

Au-delà de la mesure de l’intégration du numérique dans les deux programmes d’études, la validation de l’outil a permis de faire certains constats au sujet de ces programmes et des personnes qui les administrent (enseignants et directions).

On observe notamment « un besoin important d’information, de vulgarisation et de sensibilisation de la communauté éducative non seulement sur les principes sous-jacents à la 4e révolution industrielle, mais aussi sur la transformation numérique entamée par les entreprises de plusieurs secteurs, y compris le secteur minier ».

Les quatre constats clés sont les suivants :

  1. L’importance d’effectuer un diagnostic numérique 4.0 afin de planifier adéquatement la transition non seulement d’un programme, d’une offre de formation et des ressources (humaines, matérielles, financières, etc.), mais également des stratégies de gestion, de la gouvernance, et de l’interopérabilité numérique entre les ordres d’enseignement.
  2. La nécessité de développer les compétences numériques des apprenants mais aussi de toutes les catégories de personnel des établissements d’enseignement.
  3. Le besoin d’une plus grande agilité dans les processus d’actualisation ou de révision des programmes.
  4. La place importante à accorder à l’humain, notamment à la valeur ajoutée pour l’humain et à la gestion du changement, dans le processus de transformation 4.0 d’un cours, d’un programme, d’un établissement, et plus globalement du système éducatif.

Maintenant qu’il a été validé avec succès, l’outil diagnostic pourra être mis à la disposition d’autres organisations, établissements d’enseignement et responsables des programmes d’études, qui souhaiteraient l’utiliser.


Établissements d’enseignement participants à la recherche :

Cégep de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Cégep de Sept-Îles

Cégep de Thetford

Centre de formation professionnelle de la Baie-James

Centre de formation professionnelle de l’Estuaire | Forestville

Centre de formation professionnelle du Pays-des-Bleuets

École forestière de La Tuque

Centre de formation professionnelle de Mont-Laurier

Centre de formation professionnelle de Sept-Îles

Programmes d’études ou de formation testés avec l’outil :

DEP :

Conduite de machinerie lourde en voirie forestière

DEC :

Technologie minérale

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!