ADVERTISEMENT

Making learning fun: 5 ways to facilitate learning

Play can be beneficial to learning. However, it can also be time-consuming or even detrimental to some students' understanding if it is poorly implemented. So how can we optimize the ratio of time invested and student learning? Here are some concrete actions, validated by science, to effectively integrate games into your teaching methods!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

By Jérôme Desjarlais-Lessard, resource person for the RÉCIT National Service, Human Development Domain (RÉCIT PD)

Increasingly, play and its various dimensions are being used in the classroom by many teachers in virtually every subject area. Who doesn't remember memorable periods of play or exciting stories in their school career? The good news is that, beyond the fun and motivation it can provide, play can actually be beneficial to learning. 

Beware, however, that it is not systematic; it can also be time-consuming or even hinder the understanding of some students if it is poorly implemented. So how can we optimize the ratio of time invested and student learning? Here are some concrete actions, validated by science, to effectively integrate games into your teaching methods! (You're welcome ?)

1. Pre-teach

While learning new material through play is possible, where play really shines is when it is used to consolidate certain learning or automate certain procedural knowledge. Whether it's to practice spelling, math or a jwith maps to review certain historical conceptsIn addition, the game provides an opportunity to review these learnings in a fun and enjoyable context. On a more conceptual level, simulations also provide an opportunity for students to practice the knowledge and skills they have learned.  

2. In installments, please

If a game is complex and involves learning new rules, it is beneficial to reuse it several times. Indeed, a game used only once does not seem to have a gain on learning in most cases. In order to ensure that all students focus only on the material to be learned and not on the rules, repetition is a winning strategy. In this way, the reuse of the game will have the benefit of lightening the students' working memory while promoting their learning.  

On the other hand, the motivation and enjoyment that students get from playing a game tends to decrease with the number of repetitions! Furthermore, in the case of some games such as Minecraft or certain simulations, repeated use may not add value.

3. In a story, it's fantastic

Although not directly related to gaming, it is interesting to know that storytelling can greatly facilitate student learning. Storytelling and narration occupy a special part of our brain, some psychologists call this phenomenon "story privilege". 

While this is something that history teachers know intuitively, this technique can just as easily be integrated into other disciplines such as ethics and religious culture, science and technology, or math. For example, when approaching a new topic in science, rather than directly explaining the new concept, talking about the scientist who discovered it and the story behind it will make it easier for students to understand by grounding the new material in the familiar and popular format of storytelling.

4. Digital or not?

If your classroom does not have easy access to mobile devices or subscriptions to various interactive tools, take heart! On average, digital and analog games are equally effective. Feel free to get out your cards, game boards and dice!

5. Make a return

One of the key elements of this type of activity is the "debriefing", the brief feedback at the end. In order to give students the full benefit of what the game has to offer, it is important to set aside time to discuss with students what they found easy, what they found difficult, and what steps they took. This step is particularly important because it will allow students to "digest" the game experience and reflect on the concepts they applied or learned. The goal is also to allow you to see what they have retained. 

Some examples of questions that might be asked include:

Before the game:

  • What are the important things for my students to remember?
  • What connections do I want my students to make?
  • How am I going to get back to them on the subject if they are "off the mark"?

During the reflective feedback ("debriefing"):

  • What did you find easier? Why or why not?
  • What did you find more difficult? Why or why not?
  • What approaches did you use? Why did you do it?
  • What would have helped you?
  • Did anything surprise you? If so, what?
  • What do you take away from your experience?
  • What elements are related to the subject?

Of course, this advice should not replace your professional judgment. There are certain situations where this advice will be counterproductive. In the case of a simulation, it is not necessary to do it over and over again, just as it is not necessary to do a systematic feedback if you play the game every day. Have fun!

Bibliography:

  • Arya, D. J., & Maul, A. (2012). The role of the scientific discovery narrative in middle school science education: An experimental study. Journal of Educational Psychology, 104(4), 1022-1032. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0028108
  • Huang, R., Ritzhaupt, A. D., Sommer, M., Zhu, J., Stephen, A., Valle, N., Hampton, J., & Li, J. (2020). The impact of gamification in educational settings on student learning outcomes: A meta-analysis. Educational Technology Research and Development, 68(4), 1875-1901. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11423-020-09807-z
  • Sailer, M., & Homner, L. (2020). The Gamification of Learning: A Meta-analysis. Educational Psychology Review, 32(1), 77-112. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10648-019-09498-w
  • Talan, T., Doğan, Y., & Batdı, V. (2020). Efficiency of digital and non-digital educational games: A comparative meta-analysis and a meta-thematic analysis. Journal of Research on Technology in Education, 52(4), 474-514. https://doi.org/10.1080/15391523.2020.1743798

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Ludiciser l’apprentissage: 5 pistes pour faciliter l’apprentissage

Le jeu peut être bénéfique pour l’apprentissage. Attention, par contre, il peut aussi être chronophage ou même nuire à la compréhension de certains élèves s’il est mal implanté. Alors comment optimiser le ratio temps investi et apprentissage des élèves? Voici des pistes d’actions concrètes, validées par la science, pour intégrer efficacement le jeu dans sa pédagogie!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Par Jérôme Desjarlais-Lessard, personne-ressource au Service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne (RÉCIT DP)

De plus en plus, le jeu et ses différentes dimensions sont utilisés en classe par plusieurs enseignant(e)s, et ce, dans pratiquement toutes les disciplines. Qui ne se souvient pas de périodes mémorables de jeux ou d’histoires captivantes dans son parcours scolaire? La bonne nouvelle est que, au-delà du plaisir et de la motivation qu’il peut procurer, le jeu peut effectivement être bénéfique pour l’apprentissage. 

Attention, par contre, ce n’est pas systématique; il peut aussi être chronophage ou même nuire à la compréhension de certains élèves s’il est mal implanté. Alors comment optimiser le ratio temps investi et apprentissage des élèves? Voici des pistes d’actions concrètes, validées par la science, pour intégrer efficacement le jeu dans sa pédagogie! (De rien, ça fait plaisir 😜)

1. Pré-enseigner

Bien que l’apprentissage par le jeu de nouveau matériel soit possible, là où le jeu rayonne vraiment, c’est lorsqu’il est utilisé pour consolider certains apprentissages ou automatiser certains savoirs procéduraux. Que ce soit pour pratiquer l’orthographe, les mathématiques ou un jeu de cartes qui permet de réviser certaines notions historiques, le jeu permet de réviser ces apprentissages dans un contexte ludique et plaisant. Sur le plan plus conceptuel, les simulations permettent aussi d’offrir une occasion aux élèves de mettre en pratique les connaissances et habiletés qu’ils ont apprises.  

2. En plusieurs fois, s’il vous plaît

Si un jeu est complexe et implique l’apprentissage de nouvelles règles, il est profitable de le réutiliser à plusieurs reprises. En effet, un jeu utilisé qu’une seule fois ne semble pas avoir de gain sur l’apprentissage dans la majorité des cas. Afin de s’assurer que tous les élèves ne se concentrent que sur la matière à apprendre et non sur les règles, la répétition est gagnante. De cette façon, la réutilisation du jeu aura pour bénéfice d’alléger la mémoire de travail des élèves tout en favorisant leur apprentissage.  

Par contre, la motivation et le plaisir que les élèves éprouvent en jouant à un jeu tend à diminuer avec le nombre de répétitions! De plus, dans le cas de certains jeux comme Minecraft ou certaines simulations, l’utilisation répétée peut ne pas avoir de valeur ajoutée.

3. Dans une histoire, c’est fantastique

Bien que ce point ne soit pas directement lié au jeu, il est intéressant de savoir que raconter son cours peut faciliter grandement l’apprentissage des élèves. L’histoire et la narration occupent une partie particulière dans notre cerveau, certains psychologues nomment ce phénomène le « privilège de l’histoire ». 

Bien qu’il s’agisse de quelque chose que les enseignants d’histoire savent intuitivement, cette technique peut tout aussi bien s’intégrer à d’autres disciplines comme éthique et culture religieuse, science et technologie ou mathématiques. Par exemple, pour aborder un nouveau sujet en science, plutôt que directement expliquer le nouveau concept, parler du ou de la scientifique qui l’a découvert et de l’histoire qui s’y rattache facilitera la compréhension des élèves en ancrant la nouvelle matière dans ce format familier et populaire qu’est la narration.

4. Numérique ou pas?

Si votre classe n’a pas facilement accès à des appareils mobiles ou à des abonnement à différents outils interactifs, rassurez-vous! En moyenne, les jeux numériques et analogiques ont la même efficacité. N’hésitez pas à sortir vos cartes, vos plateaux de jeu et vos dés!

5. Faire un retour

L’un des éléments clé de ce type d’activité est le « débriefing », le fait de faire un bref retour à la fin. Pour faire profiter aux élèves pleinement de ce que le jeu a à offrir, il est important de se prévoir un temps pour discuter avec les élèves de ce qu’ils ont trouvé facile, difficile et les démarches qu’ils ont mobilisé. Cette étape est particulièrement importante parce qu’elle permettra aux élèves de « digérer » l’expérience du jeu et de réfléchir sur les notions qu’ils ont mises en application ou apprises. Le but est aussi de vous permettre de voir ce qu’ils ont retenu. 

Voici quelques exemples de questions qui pourraient être posées :

Avant le jeu :

  • Quels sont les éléments importants que mes élèves doivent retenir?
  • Quels sont les liens que je souhaite que mes élèves fassent?
  • Comment vais-je revenir avec eux sur le sujet s’ils sont « à côté de la plaque »?

Lors du retour réflexif (« débriefing ») :

  • Qu’est-ce que vous avez trouvé plus facile? Pourquoi?
  • Qu’est-ce que vous avez trouvé plus difficile? Pourquoi?
  • Quelles démarches avez-vous utilisées? Pourquoi?
  • Qu’est-ce qui vous aurait aidé?
  • Quelque chose vous a surpris? Si oui, quoi?
  • Qu’est-ce que tu retiens de ton expérience ?
  • Quels éléments sont en lien avec la matière?

Bien entendu, ces conseils ne doivent pas remplacer votre jugement professionnel. Il y certaines situations où ces conseils seront contre-productifs. Dans le cas d’une simulation, il n’est pas nécessaire de la faire à plusieurs reprises tout comme il n’est pas nécessaire de faire systématiquement un retour si vous jouez au jeu tous les jours. Amusez-vous bien!

Bibliographie :

  • Arya, D. J., & Maul, A. (2012). The role of the scientific discovery narrative in middle school science education : An experimental study. Journal of Educational Psychology, 104(4), 1022‑1032. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0028108
  • Huang, R., Ritzhaupt, A. D., Sommer, M., Zhu, J., Stephen, A., Valle, N., Hampton, J., & Li, J. (2020). The impact of gamification in educational settings on student learning outcomes : A meta-analysis. Educational Technology Research and Development, 68(4), 1875‑1901. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11423-020-09807-z
  • Sailer, M., & Homner, L. (2020). The Gamification of Learning : A Meta-analysis. Educational Psychology Review, 32(1), 77‑112. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10648-019-09498-w
  • Talan, T., Doğan, Y., & Batdı, V. (2020). Efficiency of digital and non-digital educational games : A comparative meta-analysis and a meta-thematic analysis. Journal of Research on Technology in Education, 52(4), 474‑514. https://doi.org/10.1080/15391523.2020.1743798

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :