Introducing a successful reward system

Jean-François Sénéchal is a lecturer at Laval University. He is also a father of teenagers and an occasional video game player. It presents a system of trophies, badges and rewards inspired by the world of video games. We present you the main features.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Jean-François Sénéchal is a lecturer at Laval University. He is also a father of teenagers and an occasional video game player. He recently published an article on the scientific information site The Conversation in which he presents a system of trophies, badges and rewards inspired by the world of video games. We present you the main features.

Over the years, Jean-François Sénéchal has often wondered if video game designers haven't understood something that educators haven't yet grasped. In fact, he has often observed young people concentrating for hours on a video game as they struggle to find the concentration necessary to complete their schoolwork. 

Gradually, Mr. Sénéchal integrated new tools into his own teaching practice “to make the course more interesting, engaging and stimulating, and that, both for the students and for the teacher! "

In the end, he designed, with the help of the Information Technology and Pedagogy Service Center (CSTIP) of Université Laval, a system of trophies, badges and rewards inspired by the world of video games, which is actually a computer application.

“This rewards system encourages behaviors such as active participation, presence, humor, creativity, help, collegiality, leadership and curiosity. These behaviors are promoted in the discourse and policies of our educational institutions, but in the field they remain difficult to value in the assessments and the traditional scoring system ”, he explains in the text.

More specifically, he focused on five categories of behavior, which had already been identified. in a previous study.

1. Express yourself (create, build, embellish)

2. Explore (try, experiment, research)

3. Compete (excel, succeed, stand out)

4. Collaborate (share, help, cooperate)

5. Identify oneself (recognize oneself, find oneself, associate with a group)

When its students demonstrate, by their actions or their attitude, one or the other of the first four variations of the commitment, a trophy is presented to them, accompanied by a short word from the teacher. The last variation takes the form of a table of leaders which allows young people to see in which category of engagement they are most successful.

The introduction of the reward system in Mr. Sénéchal's classes seems to be bearing fruit. He concludes by writing: “The efforts that these students are willing to make for a few trophies are impressive. While the average number of visits to a course site is approximately 100 per semester, some students accumulate over 1000 for this course alone. Many say they are openly addicted to these trophies on discussion forums. Others write to me asking for a list of all trophies, badges and awards. They do not all seek to accumulate trophies, but all the students have a little more fun. Like the teacher, for that matter! "

In addition : A video in which Mr. Sénéchal presents his system of trophies, badges and rewards.

The original version of this article was posted on The Conversation April 28, 2021. École branchée presents a summary with the consent of the author.


Read also :

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’introduction d’un système de récompenses qui porte fruit

Jean-François Sénéchal est chargé d’enseignement à l’Université Laval. Il est aussi père d’ados et joueur occasionnel de jeux vidéo. Il présente un système de trophées, badges et récompenses inspiré de l’univers des jeux vidéo. Nous vous en présentons les grandes lignes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Jean-François Sénéchal est chargé d’enseignement à l’Université Laval. Il est aussi père d’ados et joueur occasionnel de jeux vidéo. Il a récemment publié un article sur le site d’information scientifique The Conversation dans lequel il présente un système de trophées, badges et récompenses inspiré de l’univers des jeux vidéo. Nous vous en présentons les grandes lignes.

Au fil des ans, Jean-François Sénéchal s’est souvent demandé si les concepteurs de jeux vidéo n’avaient pas compris quelque chose que les éducateurs n’avaient pas encore saisi. De fait, il a souvent observé des jeunes concentrés pendant des heures sur un jeu vidéo alors qu’ils peinent à trouver la concentration nécessaire pour compléter leurs travaux scolaires. 

Progressivement, M. Sénéchal a intégré de nouveaux outils à sa propre pratique d’enseignement « pour rendre le cours plus intéressant, engageant et stimulant, et cela, autant pour les élèves que pour le prof! »

Au final, il a conçu, avec l’aide du Centre de services en technologies de l’information et en pédagogie (CSTIP) de l’Université Laval, un système de trophées, badges et récompenses inspiré de l’univers des jeux vidéo, qui est en fait une application informatique.

« Ce système de récompenses permet d’encourager des comportements comme la participation active, la présence, l’humour, la créativité, l’aide, la collégialité, le leadership et la curiosité. Ces comportements sont promus dans le discours et les politiques de nos institutions d’enseignement, mais sur le terrain ils restent difficiles à valoriser dans les évaluations et le système de pointage traditionnels », explique-t-il dans le texte.

Il s’est plus précisément attardé à cinq catégories de comportements, qui avaient déjà été identifiés dans une étude précédente.

1. S’exprimer (créer, construire, embellir)

2. Explorer (essayer, expérimenter, rechercher)

3. Concourir (exceller, réussir, se distinguer)

4. Collaborer (partager, aider, coopérer)

5. S’identifier (se reconnaître, se trouver, s’associer à un groupe)

Lorsque ses étudiants démontrent, par leurs actions ou leur attitude, l’une ou l’autre des quatre premières déclinaisons de l’engagement, un trophée leur est remis, accompagné d’un court mot de l’enseignant. La dernière déclinaison prend la forme d’un tableau des meneurs qui permet aux jeunes de constater dans quelle catégorie d’engagement ils réussissent le mieux.

L’introduction du système de récompenses dans les cours de M. Sénéchal semble porter fruit. Il conclut en écrivant : « Les efforts que ces étudiants sont prêts à consentir pour quelques trophées sont impressionnants. Alors que le nombre moyen de visites sur un site de cours est environ de 100 par semestre, certains étudiants en cumulent plus de 1000 pour ce cours seulement. Plusieurs se disent ouvertement accros à ces trophées sur les forums de discussion. D’autres m’écrivent pour me demander la liste de tous les trophées, badges et récompenses. Ils ne cherchent pas tous à cumuler les trophées, mais l’ensemble des étudiants s’amuse un peu plus. Comme le prof, d’ailleurs! »

En complément : Une vidéo dans laquelle M. Sénéchal présente son système de trophées, badges et récompenses.

La version originale de cet article a été publiée sur The Conversation le 28 avril 2021. L’École branchée vous en présente un résumé avec l’accord de l’auteur.


À lire aussi :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!