ADVERTISEMENT

Top 5: Creative tools in an educational context

Never two without three: the École branchée presents its third “top”, this time focusing on digital tools facilitating creation in an educational context. Quizzes, surveys, videos, slideshows, images, web pages or digital books - these are as many creative possibilities as they are learning contexts for students and their teachers.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

We also like to discover new sites and new apps! Check out our past "tops" here to make great discoveries!

Never two without three: the École branchée presents you its third “top”, this time around digital tools facilitating creation in an educational context. Quizzes, surveys, videos, slideshows, images, web pages or digital books - these are as many creative possibilities as they are learning contexts for students and their teachers. Make way for a few tools that stand out for their easy handling, their efficient collaborative mode, their varied functions and their great creative scope.

Kahoot

Kahoot is one of the tools we like to use in many teaching contexts to engage students and provide them with a fun environment that optimizes motivation. Whether it is to revise concepts, introduce new ones or to enrich the understanding of a particular subject, Kahoot allows the creation of questionnaires that are more diversified than each other. The quiz, poll, discussion and mishmash modes are offered and allow the teacher to vary his approaches as a result of the intended intention.

Several other tools such as Plickers, Socrative or Quizizz also allow you to create quizzes, but Kahoot remains a must for its visual appeal, its playful side and its music that motivates students (more than you think!). Kahoot is free: just create an account and you will have access to all questionnaire formats. Then, from a unique access code that you provide to the students, they will go to this platform and will thus be able to answer each quiz you have designed. Learners can use the device of their choice (computer, tablet, phone) to participate in quizzes, by downloading the app or by going through the web page.

You will appreciate the “team” modes, for the collaboration that this brings between learners, and “ghost” modes, which allow students to replay a quiz and thus reinforce learning. You will also like the instant feedback that Kahoot brings, which allows the teacher to get the facts on the understanding of a concept before going further. Learners, on the other hand, will love taking your quizzes, but will love creating their own quizzes even more. Alone or in teams, they can give way to their creativity and build educational quizzes, helping them at the same time to appropriate or revise the concepts in the program.

Adobe spark

Adobe spark is one of the most comprehensive tools available today for creation and multimedia in the classroom. Graphics, videos, animation and web pages, both students and teachers will find their account in the production of educational content facilitated by digital. Adobe Spark therefore offers three distinct applications in the same tool under the names "Post", "Page" and "Video".

First of all, "Post" makes it possible to craft beautiful visuals for your most creative projects. It is very easy to play with text and images and transform your best ideas into a giant poster for your class, a cover page for a portfolio, a creation for a blog or an advertisement for an event. An image bank with filters and several fonts are available to give a successful result every time.

Then, "Page" allows students and teachers to create their own web page by inserting text, images and videos in a very intuitive way. Since adding content is easy to do, you can then quickly create an online lesson, a blog for your class, or a colorful presentation on a topic under study. Your students will also be able to unleash their creativity in their projects on “Page” by adding a touch of originality to a reading sheet, a newsletter, a travelogue or any other educational project they want. to present.

Finally, “Video” is a tool, once again very intuitive, for creating video capsules or slideshows as part of a project or a teaching sequence. The platform is presented as an editing studio in which you can add photos, text, music, clips, icons and voice recording. You will therefore be able to design authentic learning situations that your students can then view online. They can also create videos to present, for example, their research subject in history or to talk about a phenomenon being studied in science. In short, there are as many creative possibilities as there are reasons to use digital technology to redefine tasks.

Book Creator

Book Creator is now a classic in creative apps. You can download it for free in the basic version on all operating systems, but you will have to shell out a few dollars for the educational version.

Used by many classes in elementary and even high school, this tool allows you to create books of all kinds where you will be able to add photos, images, sounds, videos and even your own voice. Students, as young as from Grade 1, will be able to create their own interactive little book because Book Creator is so easy to use.

This tool is available in a full and free version on the Web recently and now makes it possible to constitute a library in which the students' creations will be stored. The books can be viewed online, read in video format on Youtube or be saved as PDF on Google Drive or DropBox.

Numerous educational operations can be carried out; From science research notebooks, historical comics, albums for the little ones, cookbooks or collaborative poetry collections, the only limit with Book Creator is the imagination of the students.

Edpuzzle

Popular with several teachers for a few years now, Edpuzzle seems to be the tool par excellence for modifying a video by adding educational value to it. Indeed, whether it is to insert a quiz or to record his own voice, Edpuzzle allows the teacher or the learner to transform the video of his choice by making it interactive and adapted to the targeted educational needs.

Need quick feedback or more detailed explanations, Edpuzzle provides the teacher with a quick and easy editing tool that will make each video a lesson in itself. The platform also offers a dashboard that will allow the teacher to see who has viewed the video, how much time the students have spent in each section and to see where each learner is in their understanding of the content.

Of course, teachers or students can use Youtube, Vimeo, Khan Academy or any other platform containing their favorite videos and thus turn them into interactive lessons with just a few clicks. It is also possible to import, from your computer, a personal video on the Edpuzzle site and give it the desired educational value.

In short, this free tool has everything to facilitate and simplify the feedback process so necessary for effective teaching. You and your students are sure to find something there for you when the time comes to vary learning methods and use digital technology for educational purposes.

***

If you haven't already, you can go read the " part 1 "On programming in elementary school and" part 2 On languages.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme is an educational advisor and project manager at École branchée. He is also editor-in-chief of the SCOOP! Educational guides. He has a bachelor's degree in preschool education and elementary education from the University of Sherbrooke and is pursuing a graduate degree in school management at Laval University. He transmits his passion for digital education and innovative practices through CréaCamps, conferences and workshops throughout the French-speaking world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les « tops » selon l’École branchée (partie 3)

0

Nous aussi on aime découvrir de nouveaux sites et de nouvelles apps! Consultez nos « tops » passés ici pour faire de belles découvertes!

Jamais deux sans trois : l’École branchée vous présente son troisième « top » portant, cette fois-ci, sur les outils numériques facilitant la création dans un contexte pédagogique. Quiz, sondages, vidéos, diaporamas, images, pages Web ou livres numériques, voilà autant de possibilités créatives que de contextes d’apprentissage pour les élèves et leurs enseignants. Place à quelques outils qui se démarquent par leur prise en main facile, leur mode collaboratif efficace, leurs fonctions variées et leur grande portée créatrice.

Kahoot

Kahoot fait partie des outils qu’on aime utiliser dans plusieurs contextes d’enseignement pour engager les élèves et leur fournir un environnement ludique optimisant la motivation. Que ce soit pour réviser des notions, en introduire de nouvelles ou pour enrichir la compréhension d’un sujet en particulier, Kahoot permet la création de questionnaires plus diversifiés les uns que les autres. Les modes quiz, sondage, discussion et méli-mélo sont proposés et donnent la possibilité à l’enseignant de varier ses approches en conséquence de l’intention visée.

Plusieurs autres outils tels que Plickers, Socrative ou Quizizz permettent également de créer des questionnaires, mais Kahoot demeure un incontournable par son attrait visuel, son côté ludique et sa musique qui motive les élèves (plus que l’on pense!). Kahoot est gratuit : il suffit de créer un compte et vous aurez accès à tous les formats de questionnaires. Ensuite, à partir d’un code d’accès unique que vous fournirez aux élèves, ils se rendront sur cette plateforme et pourront ainsi répondre à chaque quiz que vous aurez conçu. Les apprenants peuvent utiliser l’appareil de leur choix (ordinateur, tablette, téléphone) pour participer aux questionnaires, en téléchargeant l’application ou en passant par la page Web.

Vous apprécierez les modes « équipe », pour la collaboration que cela amène entre les apprenants, et « fantôme », qui permet aux élèves de rejouer un quiz et ainsi renforcer les apprentissages. Vous aimerez également la rétroaction instantanée qu’amène Kahoot et qui permet à l’enseignant d’avoir l’heure juste sur la compréhension d’une notion avant d’aller plus loin. Les apprenants, de leur côté, aimeront participer à vos quiz, mais aimeront encore plus créer leurs propres questionnaires. Seuls ou en équipes, ils pourront laisser place à leur créativité et bâtir des quiz pédagogiques, les aidant du même coup à s’approprier ou à réviser les notions au programme.

Adobe Spark

Adobe Spark est un des outils les plus complets actuellement en ce qui concerne la création et le multimédia en classe. Graphisme, vidéos, animation et pages web, autant les élèves que les enseignants y trouveront leur compte dans la fabrication de contenus pédagogiques facilitée par le numérique. Adobe Spark offre donc trois applications distinctes dans le même outil en se déclinant sous les appellations «Post», «Page» et «Video».

Tout d’abord, «Post» permet de fabriquer des visuels magnifiques pour vos projets les plus créatifs. Il y est très simple de jouer avec du texte et des images et ainsi transformer vos meilleures idées en affiche géante pour votre classe, en page couverture d’un portfolio, en création pour un blogue ou en publicité pour un événement. Une banque d’images avec filtres et plusieurs polices sont disponibles pour donner un résultat réussi à tous les coups.

Ensuite, «Page» permet aux élèves comme aux enseignants de créer leur propre page Web en insérant texte, images et vidéos de façon très intuitive. Comme l’ajout de contenu est simple à faire, vous pourrez alors créer rapidement une leçon en ligne, un blogue pour votre classe ou un exposé coloré sur un sujet à l’étude. Vos élèves pourront également laisser aller leur créativité dans leurs projets sur «Page» en ajoutant une touche d’originalité à une fiche de lecture, à un bulletin d’informations, à un récit de voyage ou à tout autre projet pédagogique qu’ils veulent présenter.

Finalement, «Video» est un outil, encore une fois très intuitif, pour créer des capsules vidéo ou des diaporamas dans le cadre d’un projet ou d’une séquence d’enseignement. La plateforme se présente comme un studio de montage dans lequel vous pouvez ajouter photos, texte, musique, clips, icônes et enregistrement de la voix. Vous serez donc en mesure de concevoir des situations d’apprentissage authentiques que vos élèves pourront ensuite visionner en ligne. Ces derniers pourront aussi créer des vidéos pour présenter, par exemple, leur sujet de recherche en histoire ou pour parler d’un phénomène à l’étude en science. Bref, autant de possibilités de création que de raisons de se servir du numérique pour redéfinir les tâches.

Book Creator

Book Creator est maintenant un classique dans les applications de création. Vous pouvez la télécharger gratuitement en version de base sur tous les systèmes d’exploitation, mais vous devrez débourser quelques dollars pour la version éducative.

Utilisé par de nombreuses classes au primaire et même au secondaire, cet outil permet de créer des livres de toutes sortes où vous serez en mesure d’y ajouter photos, images, sons, vidéos et même votre propre voix. Les élèves, aussi jeunes qu’à partir de la 1e année, pourront être en mesure de créer leur propre petit livre interactif tellement Book Creator est simple à utiliser.

Cet outil est disponible en version complète et gratuite sur le Web depuis peu et permet maintenant de constituer une bibliothèque dans laquelle viendront se ranger les créations des élèves. Les livres peuvent être consultés en ligne, lus en format vidéo sur Youtube ou être sauvegardés en PDF sur Google Drive ou DropBox.

De nombreuses exploitations pédagogiques peuvent être réalisées; en passant par les carnets de recherche en science, les bandes-dessinées historiques, les albums destinés aux plus petits, les livres de recettes ou les recueils collaboratifs de poésie, la seule limite avec Book Creator est l’imagination des élèves.

Edpuzzle

Prisé de plusieurs enseignants depuis quelques années  déjà, Edpuzzle semble l’outil par excellence pour modifier une vidéo en lui ajoutant une valeur pédagogique. En effet, que ce soit pour insérer un quiz ou pour enregistrer sa propre voix, Edpuzzle permet à l’enseignant ou à l’apprenant de transformer la vidéo de son choix en la rendant interactive et adaptée aux besoins pédagogiques ciblés.

Besoin d’une rétroaction rapide ou d’explications plus détaillées, Edpuzzle met à la disposition de l’enseignant un outil d’édition simple et rapide qui fera de chaque vidéo une leçon en soi. La plateforme offre également un tableau de bord qui permettra à la personne enseignante de prendre connaissance de qui a visionné la vidéo, de combien de temps les élèves ont passé dans chacune des sections et de voir où se situe chaque apprenant dans sa compréhension du contenu.

Bien sûr, les enseignants ou les élèves peuvent utiliser Youtube, Vimeo, Khan Academy ou n’importe quelle autre plateforme contenant leurs vidéos préférées et ainsi les transformer en leçons interactives en quelques clics seulement. Il est également possible d’importer, à partir de votre ordinateur, une vidéo personnelle sur le site de Edpuzzle et lui donner la valeur pédagogique souhaitée.

Bref, cet outil gratuit a tout pour faciliter et simplifier le processus de rétroaction tant nécessaire pour un enseignement efficace. Vos élèves et vous-même y trouverez assurément votre compte quand viendra le temps de varier les méthodes d’apprentissage et d’utiliser le numérique à des fins pédagogiques.

***

Si ce n’est pas déjà fait, vous pouvez aller lire la « partie 1 » sur la programmation au primaire et la « partie 2 » sur les langues.

Commentaires