ADVERTISEMENT

The links between musical rhythm and grammar

There is a correlation between a child's ability to understand grammar rules and his ability to distinguish musical rhythms. This is shown by a study carried out in the United States.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

There is a correlation between a child's ability to understand grammar rules and his ability to distinguish musical rhythms. This is shown by a study carried out in the United States.

The study was carried out by Reyna Gordon, professor at Vanderbilt Kennedy Center. She tested 25 six-year-old children for musical recognition. The test consisted of making them hear different versions of melodies. The children were asked to indicate whether the melodies were different or the same. A similar exercise was then carried out, this time with video animations.

For the grammar component, various photos were presented to the children, who had to answer questions. The teacher used indicators to assess the participants' grammar, such as their ability to formulate correctly in the past tense.

At the end of thestudy, Gordon concludes that children who performed well in the musical rhythm portion also performed well in the grammar portion. She made sure that there were no biases, such as different intelligence quotients, divergent socioeconomic origins or more pronounced musical knowledge.

For Gordon, musical rhythm and grammar share similar characteristics, which could explain the results of this study. Grammar would require the transposition of sounds into sentences, structures and sequences. For its part, the musical rhythm would require the same thing, but a little vice versa. It would require the development of a sequence and a structure in order to produce an adequate rhythm.

A researcher of her time, Gordon published a video summarizing the main lines of his study.

Although more studies will be needed to deepen these links, Gordon believes these results are promising. For example, musical rhythm recognition tests could become interesting assessment and screening tools to identify grammatical gaps. According to her, this is the first study of its kind to link the ability to recognize musical rhythms and grammar skills.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les liens entre le rythme musical et la grammaire

Il existerait une corrélation entre la capacité d’un enfant à comprendre les règles de grammaire et sa capacité à distinguer les rythmes musicaux. C’est ce que démontre une étude réalisée aux États-Unis.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Il existerait une corrélation entre la capacité d’un enfant à comprendre les règles de grammaire et sa capacité à distinguer les rythmes musicaux. C’est ce que démontre une étude réalisée aux États-Unis.

L’étude a été réalisée par Reyna Gordon, professeure au Vanderbilt Kennedy Center. Elle a fait subir un test de reconnaissance musicale à 25 enfants âgés de 6 ans. Le test consistait à leur faire entendre différentes versions de mélodies. Les enfants devaient indiquer si les mélodies étaient différentes ou identiques. Un exercice similaire était par la suite réalisé, cette fois avec des animations vidéo.

Pour le volet grammaire, différentes photos étaient présentées aux enfants, qui devaient répondre à des questions. La professeure a utilisé des indicateurs pour évaluer la grammaire des participants, comme leur capacité à formuler correctement au passé.

Au terme de l’étude, Gordon arrive à la conclusion que les enfants qui ont bien performé dans la portion du rythme musical ont aussi bien performé dans la portion de la grammaire. Elle s’est assurée qu’il n’y avait pas de biais, comme des quotients intellectuels différents, des provenances socioéconomiques divergentes ou des connaissances musicales plus prononcées.

Pour Gordon, le rythme musical et la grammaire partagent des caractéristiques similaires, ce qui pourrait expliquer les résultats de cette étude. La grammaire requerrait la transposition de sons en phrases, en structures et en séquences. De son côté, le rythme musical nécessiterait la même chose, mais un peu inversement. Il nécessiterait l’élaboration d’une séquence et d’une structure afin de produire un rythme adéquat.

Chercheuse de son temps, Gordon a publié une vidéo résumant les grandes lignes de son étude.

Bien que d’autres études seront nécessaires afin d’approfondir ces liens, Gordon est d’avis que ces résultats sont prometteurs. Par exemple, les tests de reconnaissance de rythmes musicaux pourraient devenir des instruments d’évaluation et de dépistage intéressants pour identifier des lacunes en grammaire. Selon elle, il s’agit de la première étude de ce genre à établir des liens entre la capacité à reconnaître les rythmes musicaux et les habiletés en grammaire.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :