An application that promotes the musical awakening of children ... and more!

The Quebec platform Mazaam uses classical music to contribute to the overall development of children from 4 to 6 years old. The application was designed based on work carried out by the Canada Research Chair in Music and Learning at Laval University. We spoke to a teacher who has been using it in the kindergarten class since September.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The Quebec platform Mazaam uses classical music to contribute to the overall development of children from 4 to 6 years old. The application was designed based on work carried out by the Canada Research Chair in Music and Learning at Laval University. We spoke to a teacher who has been using it in the kindergarten class since September.

“A few days before the start of the school year, I learned that I should be teaching music to kindergarten students. Having never taught at this level, I had no material on hand. Then, I remembered Mazaam that Jonathan Bolduc, professor at Laval University had told me about, ”says Jonathan Bédard, music teacher at École Madeleine-de-Verchères at the Center de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM). .

In fact, Jonathan Bolduc holds the Canada Research Chair in Music and Learning. He worked closely with François Mario Labbé, president of the Analekta record company, and violinist Angèle Dubeau, who came up with the idea of designing an application that would support the musical and overall development of preschool children. The educational method behind Mazaam is the result of years of scientific research carried out by Professor Bolduc's Chair.

For Jonathan Bédard, there is no doubt that the educational sheets and the playful universe of Mazaam Academy, the school version, make it possible to meet the majority of the objectives of the preschool program as regards the teaching of music. "I am currently seeing that my kindergarten students will be stronger when they arrive in 1st year next year that my students who are currently in 1st year, ”he says.

The universe of Mazaam is composed of 5 worlds, 15 learning games lasting 15 to 30 minutes and 5 musical notions (pitch, tempo, intensity, timbre and harmony). Activities, which get students moving and interacting with each other, can be experienced both online and offline. The musical selections integrated into the application are authentic recordings made by Canadian musicians. A version of the app is also available for home use.

According to the teacher, the material accompanying the platform is accessible to everyone. “It may happen that in kindergarten, it is the classroom teacher who also teaches music and not a specialist. The clarity of the material makes it easy to navigate ”.

For his part, he works in association with the holders of his small pupils. Indeed, they can come to his music class to observe social skills that are part of the evaluation of the new preschool program.

Beyond music

Beyond the musical awakening that it allows to concretize, the Mazaam application becomes a tool for the development of social and emotional skills in children. “Mazaam brings calm to the classroom and leads the students to concentrate,” testifies Jonathan Bédard. He also begins his classes with five minutes of yoga, which also allow you to work on breathing, posture and relaxation.

“With music, it is possible to develop skills such as listening, expressing feelings, communication, and patience too,” he adds. In its educational approach, the application also targets the cognitive functions (also called executive functions) of a child aged 4 to 6, namely working memory, inhibition and mental flexibility.

Researches have already shown that musical interactions influence children's social and emotional development and play a role in their acquisition of skills such as self-regulation, which in many ways is essential for the success of their future lives.

An award-winning app

Launched in 2019, the Mazaam application has already received some international accolades. She comes among others to be selected like the best educational application of the year in music (Best for Music) by the American magazine PARENTS, for a second consecutive year.

The mental health of young people is worrying and the school must play its role in the development of social and emotional skills. Watch for the next issue of L'École branchée magazine, which will focus entirely on teaching social and emotional skills. Subscribe by November 30 to get it.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Une application qui favorise l’éveil musical des petits… et plus!

La plateforme québécoise Mazaam utilise la musique classique pour contribuer au développement global des enfants de 4 à 6 ans. L’application a été conçue à partir de travaux menés par la Chaire de recherche du Canada en musique et apprentissages de l’Université Laval. Nous avons parlé à un enseignant qui l’utilise en classe de maternelle depuis septembre.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

La plateforme québécoise Mazaam utilise la musique classique pour contribuer au développement global des enfants de 4 à 6 ans. L’application a été conçue à partir de travaux menés par la Chaire de recherche du Canada en musique et apprentissages de l’Université Laval. Nous avons parlé à un enseignant qui l’utilise en classe de maternelle depuis septembre.

« À quelques jours de la rentrée, j’ai appris que je devrais enseigner la musique à des élèves de maternelle. N’ayant jamais enseigné à ce niveau, je n’avais aucun matériel sous la main. Puis, je me suis souvenu de Mazaam dont m’avait parlé Jonathan Bolduc, professeur à l’Université Laval », confie Jonathan Bédard, enseignant de musique à l’École Madeleine-de-Verchères au Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM).

En fait, Jonathan Bolduc est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en musique et apprentissage. Il a collaboré étroitement avec François Mario Labbé, président de la maison de disques Analekta, et la violoniste Angèle Dubeau, qui ont eu l’idée de concevoir une application qui soutiendrait le développement musical et global des enfants d’âge préscolaire. La méthode pédagogique derrière Mazaam est le résultat des années de recherche scientifique menée par la Chaire du professeur Bolduc.

Pour Jonathan Bédard, il ne fait aucun doute que les fiches pédagogiques et l’univers ludique de l’Académie Mazaam, la version scolaire, permettent de rejoindre la majorité des objectifs du programme du préscolaire en ce qui concerne l’enseignement de la musique. « Je constate présentement que mes élèves de maternelle seront plus forts en arrivant en 1re année l’an prochain que mes élèves qui sont actuellement en 1re année », dit-il.

L’univers de Mazaam est composé de 5 mondes, de 15 jeux d’apprentissage d’une durée de 15 à 30 minutes et de 5 notions musicales (hauteur, tempo, intensité, timbre et harmonie). Les activités, qui amènent les élèves à bouger et à interagir entre eux, peuvent être vécues autant en ligne que hors ligne. Les pièces musicales intégrées dans l’application sont des enregistrements authentiques réalisés par des musiciens canadiens. Une version de l’application est aussi disponible pour une utilisation à la maison.

Selon l’enseignant, le matériel qui accompagne la plateforme est accessible à tous. « Il peut arriver qu’en maternelle, ce soit le titulaire de la classe qui enseigne aussi la musique et non un spécialiste. La clarté du matériel permet de s’y retrouver facilement ».

De son côté, il travaille en association avec les titulaires de ses petits élèves. En effet, ceux-ci peuvent venir dans sa classe de musique afin d’observer des compétences sociales qui font partie de l’évaluation du nouveau programme du préscolaire.

Au-delà de la musique

Au-delà de l’éveil musical qu’elle permet de concrétiser, l’application Mazaam devient un outil de développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles chez les petits. « Mazaam installe le calme dans la classe et amène les élèves à se concentrer », témoigne Jonathan Bédard. Il débute également ses cours par cinq minutes de yoga, qui permettent aussi de travailler la respiration, la posture et la détente.

« Avec la musique, il est possible de développer des compétences comme l’écoute, l’expression du sentiment, la communication, la patience aussi », ajoute-t-il. Dans son approche pédagogique, l’application cible d’ailleurs les fonctions cognitives (aussi appelées fonctions exécutives) d’un enfant de 4 à 6 ans, soit la mémoire de travail, l’inhibition et la flexibilité mentale.

Des recherches ont déjà montré que les interactions musicales influencent le développement social et émotionnel des enfants et jouent un rôle dans leur acquisition de capacités telles que l’autorégulation, indispensable, à bien des égards, pour la réussite de leur vie future.

Une application primée

Lancée en 2019, l’application Mazaam a déjà reçu quelques distinctions à l’international. Elle vient entre autres d’être sélectionnée comme la meilleure application éducative de l’année en musique (Best for Music) par le magazine américain PARENTS, pour une deuxième année consécutive.

La santé mentale des jeunes est préoccupante et l’école doit jouer son rôle dans le développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles. Surveillez d’ailleurs le prochain numéro du magazine L’École branchée qui portera entièrement sur l’enseignement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles. Abonnez-vous d’ici le 30 novembre pour l’obtenir.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :