ADVERTISEMENT

Day 9 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: educational research for the benefit of businesses

Day 9 of the Quebec-Finland expedition: There is often talk of educational research in Finland and, naturally, it is contextualized in the school environment. However, the Finnish business community is very interested in the digital aspect in education, and this is having a definite impact.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and documents it here!

The Finnish school environment is closely connected with the university research community in education. And for good reason: all teachers have a master's degree in education. They all therefore have the profile of an educational researcher and, to do so, they had to carry out research themselves under the supervision of a professor or a researcher. The bond uniting school and university as well as that uniting teacher and researcher is solid and well anchored in Finnish school culture.

What is surprising, however, is that the business community is just as interested in educational research! In fact, should we be surprised? The teacher Heli ruokamo exclaims: “everyone learns, right? ". The latter heads the Center for Research on Media Education, which studies the contribution of digital media in pedagogy, in addition to addressing the development of 21st century skills among teachers and students as well as digital citizenship such as than experienced by them.

Beyond the contribution of the research of the team of this center, which already broached this subject ... 21 years ago (!), Professor Ruokamo and her colleague, Professor Marjanaa Kangas, observe annually the increase in the interest of the business community towards their research, in particular with regard to three fields related to education: artificial intelligence, virtual reality and augmented reality.

According to them, artificial intelligence will notably make it possible to reduce the teaching task by relieving it of other related tasks that prevent the teacher from exercising his teaching expertise. For example: homework help, data entry, preparation of certain documents, etc. As for virtual and augmented realities, they will allow employees to practice better in contexts where simulations are closer to reality, all from a perspective of feedback and the development of professional skills.

Research in these areas is heavily funded by the business community through Business Finland, a government agency funding initiatives aimed at fostering innovation in the Finnish business world. Clearly, the impact of this research has enormous potential in terms of professional development and continuing education, not only for employees of the granting companies, but also for the strength and competitiveness of the Finnish workforce as a whole. .

The Research Center works on several axes:

1. The potential of digital media in teaching and learning;
2. The role of these media in society and the development of a critical mind;
3. Digital media and the well-being of learners.

While Professor Kangas mentions the importance for students to be thinkers, creators, to be critical and to collaborate to solve complex problems, the fact remains that employers are also looking for the same attributes in their employees so that they are autonomous and responsible in their tasks and that they show initiative, with an innovative aim.

Educational research, particularly that related to media literacy, arouses keen interest in all learning environments, including the business community. Quality continuing education is a guarantee of success for companies around the world and is probably an essential comparative and strategic advantage.

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 9 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : la recherche en éducation au service des entreprises

Jour 9 de l'expédition Québec-Finlande : Il est souvent question de la recherche en éducation en Finlande et, naturellement, elle se contextualise dans le milieu scolaire. Toutefois, le milieu des affaires finlandais s'intéresse beaucoup à l'aspect du numérique en éducation, et cela a un impact certain.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

Le milieu scolaire finlandais est étroitement connecté au milieu de la recherche universitaire en éducation. Et pour cause : tous les enseignants sont détenteurs d’une maîtrise en éducation. Ils ont donc tous un profil de chercheur en éducation et, pour ce faire, ils ont dû mener eux-mêmes des recherches en étant encadrés par un professeur ou un chercheur. Le lien unissant l’école et l’université ainsi que celui unissant l’enseignant et le chercheur est solide et bien ancré dans la culture scolaire finlandaise.

Ce qui surprend, cependant, c’est que le milieu des affaires s’intéresse tout autant à la recherche en éducation! Dans les faits, faut-il être surpris? La professeure Heli Ruokamo s’exclame : « tout le monde apprend, non? ». Cette dernière dirige le Centre de recherches sur l’éducation aux médias, lequel étudie l’apport des médias numériques dans la pédagogie, en plus d’aborder le développement des compétences du 21e siècle chez les enseignants et les élèves ainsi que la citoyenneté numérique telle que vécue par ces derniers.

Au-delà de l’apport des recherches de l’équipe de ce centre, qui abordait déjà ce sujet il y a… 21 ans(!), la professeure Ruokamo et sa collègue, la professeure Marjanaa Kangas, constatent annuellement l’augmentation de l’intérêt du milieu des affaires envers leurs recherches, notamment en ce qui concerne trois domaines liés à l’éducation : l’intelligence artificielle, la réalité virtuelle et la réalité augmentée.

Selon elles, l’intelligence artificielle permettra notamment de diminuer la tâche enseignante en la soulageant des autres tâches connexes qui empêchent l’enseignant d’exercer son expertise pédagogique. Par exemple : l’aide aux devoirs, l’entrée de données, la confection de certains documents, etc. Quant aux réalités virtuelles et augmentées, elles pourront permettre aux employés de mieux pratiquer dans des contextes où des simulations se rapprochent de la réalité, le tout dans une perspective de rétroaction et de développement des compétences professionnelles.

Le milieu des affaires finance de façon très importante les recherches dans ces domaines par l’entremise de Business Finland, une agence gouvernementale de financement d’initiatives visant à susciter l’innovation dans le monde des affaires finlandais. Clairement, les retombées de ces recherches ont un potentiel énorme sur le plan du développement professionnel et de la formation continue, non seulement des employés des entreprises subventionnaires, mais aussi de la force et de la compétitivité de la main d’oeuvre finlandaise dans sa globalité.

Le Centre de recherches travaille sur plusieurs axes :

1. Le potentiel des médias numériques dans l’enseignement et l’apprentissage;
2. Le rôle de ces médias dans la société et le développement d’un esprit critique;
3. Les médias numériques et le bien-être des apprenants.

Si la professeure Kangas mentionne l’importance pour les élèves d’être des penseurs, des créateurs, de faire preuve d’un esprit critique et de collaborer pour résoudre des problématiques complexes, il n’en demeure pas moins que les employeurs cherchent eux aussi les mêmes attributs chez leurs employés afin qu’ils soient autonomes et responsables dans leurs tâches et qu’ils fassent preuve d’initiative, dans une visée innovante.

La recherche en éducation, particulièrement celle touchant à l’éducation aux médias, suscite un vif intérêt dans tous les milieux d’apprentissage, incluant le milieu des affaires. Une formation continue de qualité est gage de succès pour les entreprises du monde entier et probablement un avantage comparatif et stratégique incontournable.

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :