Chess and digital game

Students with cognitive disorders often seek avoidance strategies in the face of learning. A project was tested in order to use their know-how while playing chess and their ability to move on a grid with the help of the digital medium.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The pupils of the regular secondary classes all have an unusual educational path which requires constant adaptations by all the pedagogical, educational, social, medical and administrative teams. Having often experienced academic failure, students with cognitive disorders have little self-confidence and often seek avoidance strategies in the face of learning.

By Karen Coureau Tournat, Doctorate in language sciences and education sciences
Research Center on Education, Learning and Didactics, University of Brittany

One of the solutions proposed by the pedagogues is to get the pupils to enter into the learning process by relying on their knowledge and highlighting it. In the present case, the objective is to put into perspective the observation of the difficulties of the pupils of the regular classes of the secondary, to use their know-how while playing the game of chess and their capacity to move on a grid with the digital support.

Enter into learning through play

Students suffering from cognitive disorders have difficulty in synthesizing their knowledge in order to reinvest it on a grid support. This leads to the inability to see, perceive a movement work on grid. At the same time, the group of students on which the study is based take part in a chess workshop, some for several years, and have less or little difficulty in locating themselves on this grid support in a situation. game.

This questioning arose from the first chess session when I noticed that the students had a real pleasure to sit in front of the chessboards and to play by applying the movement codes. They carried out, sometimes with several attempts, the adequate displacements and spontaneously used the displacement codes while at the same time most of them were unable to explain the displacements of each piece of the chess game.

In order to confirm this observation, several chessboard exercises were carried out individually. I asked the student to move different pieces in turn, respecting their movement codes. The difficulties regained the upper hand even as these movements were made much more naturally when they were playing.

Chess game and didactics

The didactic objective was to identify the difficulties of the pupils on grids by making a parallel with the activities on chessboards and to make them work on different digital and non-digital spaces. This with the aim of making them aware of their ability to find their bearings on a grid support and of their ability to carry out school activities based on them. These activities aim to help students to feel involved in their learning during work on grids, but also to be able to use the knowledge acquired in other contexts such as carpentry, the plastic arts, to mention than them, without forgetting the goal of becoming better chess players.

The students had the opportunity to use a variety of media on a daily basis and on different levels in order to test different approaches to grid space in connection with the game of chess. For example, board and wall chess boards for learning by handling, the TNI (Interactive Digital Board) with the objective of working the grid of chess vertically, activities in small groups on TNI, tablet or computer in order to not to be alone in the face of the difficulty and to be able to share. Communication then became an objective in its own right and was the consequence of the link that was made around a screen. Finally, the students had access during scheduled sessions, as well as during free time, to computer software in order to practice, play down, communicate, exchange, win, accept to lose, develop strategies individually or in teams, s '' isolate when the need is felt, progress, and learn at your own pace.

Digital as a learning medium

The digital medium allows the teacher to have access to the work, the progress and the difficulties of the pupils without them feeling the omnipresence of the adult gaze. Depending on the software, students can register so that their results can be accessed on the teacher's computer, or a quick glance and more or less distant from the latter makes it possible to make an inventory of the progress of the teacher. the pupil. The prerequisite for adults is to have a good knowledge of the software on which the pupils are working in order to determine, with a simple glance at the screen, the evolution of the pupils who use it.

The crossed objectives between a game of chess and grids with the digital medium were that the pupils be able to locate, reproduce, code, decode the movements of the pieces of the chess game in order to learn to play and to progress in intuitively using the movements, then the combinations which are then popular on a board or digital chess board. The purpose of these activities was to make the pupils aware that the pieces move while respecting a code specific to the game of chess, follow the rules of movement that can be found on a grid. There are codes to follow when reading the grid when playing chess, just like using a grid on paper during a school activity.

Educational tools to remove obstacles and sticking points

The free Matoumatheux software offers various math and logic activities as well as games including chess. Whether students are beginners, intermediate or advanced level, they can learn and progress.

The pupils have the opportunity to work, while playing, on the identification of the coordinates, on the differentiation of squares, lines and nodes, on the vertical, horizontal and oblique symmetries, on the work of moving the pieces on a chessboard (grid ) and on the marking of the axes of symmetry between the pieces in order to better orient themselves in the game.

The software was presented to all the students on the TNI so that they could understand its structure. Regular activities were then offered collectively on the digital board so that everyone could soak up the operation of the software, the organization of activities, requests and objectives.

At each session, previous activities were reviewed and commented on. The exchanges between the students during the assessments, as well as at the beginning of the sessions, highlighted the successes, strategies and difficulties that had been overcome. Students should not find themselves stranded during an activity; they asked, if necessary, for the help of a comrade or that of an adult.

The digital medium offers flexibility in the pace of the activities to be accomplished, allowing each student to get involved according to his or her own abilities. Mutual assistance and tutoring happen naturally; the intervention of the adult gradually disappears in favor of that of the other pupils.

Positive evaluation

These sessions were based on positive evaluation in order to establish self-confidence as well as a collaborative dynamic in the class and between the students. Each progressed at their own pace without the deadline of an evaluation, a time limit or even institutional pressure. Interactions and mutual aid quickly took over individualism, a recurring consequence of digital screen activities. The students had everything to gain from sharing their knowledge since this pooling offered them the opportunity to learn and understand more quickly.

This confidence building allowed easier and spontaneous verbalization of the activities. The students were able to explain their successes and their difficulties. Over the weeks, they were also able to put forward the unfolding of their strategies in order to succeed in the activities. Meta-cognition was becoming a reality vis-à-vis this project.

The identity of the specialist teacher with pupils with cognitive disorders is to determine the Special Educational Needs of the pupils who, in this case, have difficulties in controlling movements on chessboards and school grids. For that, it is essential to analyze and understand the blocking points and to find solutions adapted to each one in order to overcome these difficulties. The computer tool and the work on the Matoumatheux software are tools adapted to these students and to their way of functioning.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Jeu d’échecs et numérique

0

Les élèves des classes régulières du secondaire ont tous un parcours scolaire peu ordinaire qui nécessite des adaptations constantes de l’ensemble des équipes pédagogique, éducative, sociale, médicale et administrative. Ayant souvent vécu l’échec scolaire, les élèves ayant des troubles cognitifs ont peu confiance en eux et cherchent souvent des stratégies d’évitement face aux apprentissages.

Par Karen Coureau Tournat, Docteure en sciences du langage et sciences de l’éducation
Centre de Recherche sur l’Education, les Apprentissages et la Didactique, Université de Bretagne

Une des solutions proposées par les pédagogues est d’amener les élèves à entrer dans les apprentissages en s’appuyant sur leurs connaissances et en les mettant en valeur. Dans le cas présent, l’objectif est de mettre en perspective le constat des difficultés des élèves des classes régulières du secondaire, à utiliser leurs savoir-faire en jouant au jeu d’échecs et leur capacité à se déplacer sur un quadrillage avec l’aide du support numérique.

Entrer dans les apprentissages par le jeu

Les élèves souffrant de troubles cognitifs ont des difficultés à synthétiser leurs connaissances afin de les réinvestir sur un support quadrillé. Ceci entraine l’incapacité à voir, percevoir un travail de déplacement sur quadrillage. Dans un même temps, le groupe d’élèves sur lequel se base l’étude participe à un atelier de jeu d’échecs, pour certains depuis plusieurs années, et ont moins, voire peu de difficultés à se repérer sur ce support quadrillé en situation de jeu.

Ce questionnement s’est imposé dès la première séance de jeu d’échecs lorsque j’ai constaté que les élèves avaient un réel plaisir à s’installer devant les échiquiers et à jouer en appliquant les codes de déplacements. Ils réalisaient, parfois avec plusieurs essais, les déplacements adéquats et utilisaient spontanément les codes de déplacements alors que dans un même temps la plupart d’entre eux étaient dans l’impossibilité d’expliquer les déplacements de chaque pièce du jeu d’échecs.

Afin de confirmer ce constat, plusieurs exercices sur échiquier ont été réalisés de manière individuelle. Je demandais à l’élève de déplacer différentes pièces à tour de rôle en respectant leurs codes de déplacements. Les difficultés reprenaient le dessus alors même que ces déplacements se faisaient beaucoup plus naturellement lorsqu’ils jouaient.

Jeu d’échecs et didactique

L’objectif didactique visé était d’identifier les difficultés des élèves sur quadrillages en faisant le parallèle avec les activités sur échiquiers et de les faire travailler sur différents espaces numériques et non numériques. Ceci avec la finalité de leur faire prendre conscience de leurs aptitudes à se repérer sur un support quadrillé et de leurs capacités à réaliser des activités scolaires en s’appuyant sur celles-ci. Ces activités ayant comme but d’aider les élèves à se sentir acteurs de leurs apprentissages lors de travaux sur quadrillages, mais également à être capables d’utiliser les connaissances acquises dans d’autres contextes comme la menuiserie, les arts plastiques, pour ne citer qu’eux, sans oublier l’objectif de devenir de meilleurs joueurs d’échecs.

Les élèves avaient l’opportunité de manipuler quotidiennement et sur différents plans, des supports variés afin de tester des approches distinctes de l’espace quadrillé en lien avec le jeu d’échecs. A titre d’exemple, des échiquiers plateaux et muraux pour apprendre en manipulant, le TNI (Tableau Numérique Interactif) avec comme objectif de travailler le quadrillage des échecs en vertical, des activités en petits groupes sur TNI, tablette ou ordinateur dans le but de ne pas être seul face à la difficulté et de pouvoir partager. La communication devenait alors un objectif à part entière et était la conséquence du lien qui se faisait autour d’un écran. Enfin, les élèves avaient accès lors de séances programmées, ainsi que lors de temps libres, à des logiciels sur ordinateur afin de s’exercer, dédramatiser, communiquer, échanger, gagner, accepter de perdre, développer des stratégies individuellement ou en équipe, s’isoler lorsque le besoin se ressent, progresser, et apprendre à son rythme.

Le numérique comme médium d’apprentissage

Le support numérique permet pour l’enseignant d’avoir accès au travail, aux progrès et aux difficultés des élèves sans que ceux-ci ne ressentent l’omniprésence du regard de l’adulte. Selon les logiciels, les élèves peuvent s’enregistrer afin que leurs résultats soient accessibles sur l’ordinateur de l’enseignant, ou alors un regard rapide et plus ou moins éloigné de ce dernier permet de faire un état des lieux de l’avancement de l’élève. Le pré-requis pour l’adulte est de bien connaître le logiciel sur lequel les élèves travaillent afin de déterminer, d’un simple regard sur l’écran, l’évolution des élèves qui l’utilisent.

Les objectifs croisés entre jeu d’échecs et quadrillages avec le support numérique étaient que les élèves soient capables de repérer, de reproduire, de coder, de décoder les déplacements des pièces du jeu d’échecs afin d’apprendre à jouer et à progresser en utilisant de manière intuitive les déplacements, puis les combinaisons qui sont plébiscitées ensuite sur un échiquier plateau ou numérique. Ces activités avaient pour but de faire prendre conscience aux élèves que les pièces se déplacent en respectant un code spécifique au jeu d’échecs, suivent des règles de déplacement que l’on retrouve sur un quadrillage. Il y a des codes à respecter dans la lecture du quadrillage lorsque l’on joue aux échecs, au même titre que sur un quadrillage sur feuille lors d’une activité scolaire.

Des outils didactiques pour lever les obstacles et les points de blocage

Le logiciel gratuit Matoumatheux propose différentes activités mathématiques, de logique ainsi que des jeux dont celui des échecs. Que les élèves soient débutants, intermédiaires ou bien de niveau avancé, ils peuvent apprendre et progresser.

Les élèves ont l’occasion de travailler, tout en jouant, sur l’identification des coordonnées, sur la différenciation des cases, lignes et nœuds, sur les symétries verticales, horizontales et obliques, sur le travail de déplacement des pièces sur échiquier (quadrillage) et sur le repérage des axes de symétrie entre les pièces afin de mieux s’orienter dans le jeu.

Le logiciel a été présenté à l’ensemble des élèves sur le TNI afin qu’ils en comprennent la structure. Des activités régulières étaient ensuite proposées en collectif sur le tableau numérique de manière à ce que chacun puisse s’imprégner du fonctionnement du logiciel, de l’organisation des activités, des demandes et des objectifs.

À chaque séance, les activités précédentes étaient revues et commentées. Les échanges entre les élèves lors des bilans, ainsi qu’au début des séances, mettaient de l’avant les réussites, les stratégies et les difficultés dépassées. Les élèves ne devaient pas se retrouver bloqués lors d’une activité; ils demandaient, le cas échéant, l’aide d’un camarade ou bien celle d’un adulte.

Le support numérique offre une souplesse dans le rythme des activités à accomplir permettant à chaque élève de s’impliquer en fonction de ses propres capacités. L’entraide et le tutorat se font naturellement; l’intervention de l’adulte s’efface peu à peu au profit de celle des autres élèves.

L’évaluation positive

Ces séances se sont appuyées sur l’évaluation positive afin d’instaurer la prise de confiance en soi ainsi qu’une dynamique collaborative dans la classe et entre les élèves. Chacun progressait à son rythme sans l’échéance d’une évaluation, d’une limitation de temps ou bien d’une pression institutionnelle. Les interactions et l’entraide ont rapidement pris le dessus sur l’individualisme, conséquence récurrente des activités sur écran numérique. Les élèves avaient tout à gagner à partager leurs connaissances puisque cette mutualisation leur offrait l’opportunité d’apprendre et de comprendre plus vite.

Cette mise en confiance a permis une verbalisation plus facile et spontanée face aux activités. Les élèves étaient dans la capacité d’expliquer leurs réussites et leurs difficultés. Au fil des semaines, ils étaient aussi en mesure de mettre de l’avant le déroulé de leurs stratégies afin de réussir les activités. La méta-cognition devenait une réalité vis-à-vis de ce projet.

L’identité du maître spécialisé avec des élèves ayant des troubles cognitifs est de déterminer les Besoins Éducatifs Particuliers des élèves qui, dans le cas présent, ont des difficultés à maîtriser les déplacements sur échiquiers et quadrillages scolaires. Pour cela, il est indispensable d’analyser et de comprendre les points de blocages et de trouver des solutions adaptées à chacun afin de palier ces difficultés. L’outil informatique et le travail sur le logiciel Matoumatheux sont des outils adaptés à ces élèves et à leur manière de fonctionner.

Commentaires

Vous avez aimé lire cet article?

Recevez gratuitement l'Hebdo de l'École branchée en ligne!