ADVERTISEMENT

Teaching in kindergarten and elementary school: same course, same practice?

New university graduates in preschool and elementary education are called upon to teach children between the ages of 4 and 12, from toddlers to almost teenagers. These age differences necessarily have an effect on the educational practices of teachers. Researchers from the University of Quebec in Rimouski are interested in the subject.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Through Charlaine St-Jean, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR); Marilyn Dupuis Brouillette, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR); Naomie Fournier Dube, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR) and Thomas Rajotte, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR)

New university graduates in preschool and elementary education are called upon to teach children between the ages of 4 and 12, from toddlers to almost teenagers. These age differences necessarily have an effect on the educational practices of teachers.

Can teachers easily move from one level to another? This question has been around for several years.

In Quebec, teachers must hold a teaching certificate after obtaining a four-year university bachelor's degree. Their initial training (a bachelor's degree in preschool education and primary education) includes preschool and primary. At the end of his baccalaureate, a student can teach either level. However, the experience he will have during his first contracts will be decisive. Specialization therefore leads to different practices, despite a common baccalaureate.

We were first teachers at the primary level. Then we became university professors in education and didactics, with a sensitivity for preschool education. These two hats therefore allow us to analyze the differences in practices.

The developmental approach

Pre-school education differs from primary education insofar as it not only has an educational aim, even instruction, but first and foremost a socialization aim.

This materializes in particular with the developmental approach advocated by the preschool education cycle program. Indeed, the kindergarten class is generally designed as a transition and a first step in the educational path. It allows the child to socialize, develop a taste for school and flourish before arriving at primary education where disciplinary requirements have a more important place in the training program.

This developmental approach “targets the overall development of the child, while respecting his rhythm, his needs and his interests. It advocates the integration of child-initiated activities, such as play and exploration," write Krasimira Marinova and Roxane Drainville. These two Quebec researchers are interested in the pressure that some teachers may feel to use schooling practices when learning written language in preschool.

This developmental approach is central to the philosophy of kindergarten. It guides all the interventions of the teacher and puts forward the place of the child as the main actor of his learning.

She emphasizes student initiative and their learning, while remaining accompanied by the teacher. For example, when returning to class, the teacher listens to the students wondering about the rank. Why is such a student in front of another? The teacher can take this questioning on the leap in order to introduce the notion of measurement and compare the height of the students by positioning them back to back or according to another process. Learning here is based on the children's interests and according to their own initiatives, all with the support of the teacher.

In reality, there is no teaching related to specific knowledge that should be done in preschool education. Nor by heart. For example, a teacher might ask, "Is it possible or impossible for you to have a banana for your snack this morning?" » with the children during the talk, in order to awaken their probabilistic thinking. However, it is not like teaching probability with specific expectations of the skills to be developed by students (as is the case in elementary school).

In the context of kindergarten, knowledge and mathematical concepts are present, there is no doubt, but learning takes place more in the context of play. Expectations vary from one child to another.

The issue that concerns us here is the coexistence of so-called "developmental" practices in the face of so-called "educational" practices which are inconsistent.

Schooling practices

“Schooling” practices are in fact the opposite. They aim to transmit certain key knowledge or skills for learning, in this case at primary level. The role of the teacher is quite different: to direct instead of to accompany. A posture that ignores a majority of children's initiatives.

Let's take the example of a teacher who organizes a teaching activity during the planting of sunflower seeds. It will give step by step what the students must do. The schooling approach advocates varied activities directed by the teacher. Ultimately, this approach has the role of guiding children towards predefined learning ".

So what are the recommended approaches? Are there pedagogical directions that teachers could put into practice from preschool to the end of primary school?

Exploratory learning

Exploratory learning puts the learner (whether the preschooler or even the university student) at the center, knowing that they must be active and engaged in their learning. It is relevant because it is consistent with the developmental approach and is not part of a schooling approach.

Learning by exploration is oriented towards the active construction of knowledge by students. Reflection, research and the development of thought by students promote the creation of new knowledge. As such, the role of the child is absolutely central in the development of his thought.

In a learning situation that promotes learning by exploration, student initiatives drive their learning, as do the different experiences that are essential to the development of their thinking and their understanding of knowledge. Manipulating and being questioned promotes understanding. Moreover, the the child's rhythm is respected. Indeed, it is the child who explores the problem situation, reflects and tries to respond to it: the teacher does not dictate the pace of learning.

The roles of the teacher in exploratory learning

By using exploratory learning in their practice, the teacher sees their role as that of a coach. Thus, the activities are planned and controlled by the teacher taking into account the interests, needs and pace of the students.

Some activity guidelines can be planned, but the teacher adapts them to the situation and the needs of his group. Its place is quite other than in an educational approach.

He supports the efforts of the children, observes them, accompanies them and questions them while they are in action. It promotes trade. The student has a lot of latitude since he is allowed to question himself, to reflect, to take initiatives: he is responsible for his learning. This requires a great deal of skill on the part of the teacher since he must be ready to respond quickly to the needs of the pupils.

Could exploratory learning in preschool classes be found in elementary school? Isn't it the fundamental role of the teacher, to observe, to accompany and to question pupils who take initiatives, make experiments and all this according to their own rhythm?

The active construction of knowledge by students is essential for teachers. It is about not receiving knowledge passively in order to push the reflection while promoting the creation of new knowledge. It therefore remains to wonder how to find the right balance between accompanying and guiding the student while allowing him to build his learning.

By Charlaine St-Jean, Early Childhood Education Teacher, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR); Marilyn Dupuis Brouillette, Professor, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR); Naomie Fournier Dube, , University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR) and Thomas Rajotte, Professor of Didactics and Orthopedagogy of Mathematics, University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR)

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read theoriginal article.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Enseigner à la maternelle et au primaire : même parcours, même pratique?

Les nouveaux diplômés universitaires en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement primaire sont appelés à enseigner à des enfants âgés entre 4 et 12 ans, soit des tout-petits aux presqu’ados. Ces différences d’âge ont nécessairement un effet sur les pratiques éducatives des enseignants. Des chercheurs de l'Université du Québec à Rimouski se sont intéressés au sujet.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Charlaine St-Jean, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR); Marilyn Dupuis Brouillette, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR); Naomie Fournier Dubé, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) et Thomas Rajotte, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR)

Les nouveaux diplômés universitaires en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement primaire sont appelés à enseigner à des enfants âgés entre 4 et 12 ans, soit des tout-petits aux presqu’ados. Ces différences d’âge ont nécessairement un effet sur les pratiques éducatives des enseignants.

Les enseignants peuvent-ils aisément passer d’un niveau à l’autre ? Ce questionnement existe depuis plusieurs années.

Au Québec, les enseignants doivent détenir un brevet d’enseignement à la suite de l’obtention d’un baccalauréat universitaire d’une durée de quatre années. Leur formation initiale (un baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement primaire) englobe donc le préscolaire et le primaire. À la fin de son baccalauréat, un étudiant peut enseigner l’un ou l’autre niveau. Toutefois, l’expérience qu’il aura au cours de ses premiers contrats sera déterminante. La spécialisation amène donc des pratiques différentes, malgré un baccalauréat commun.

Nous avons d’abord été enseignant et enseignantes au niveau primaire. Puis nous sommes devenus professeurs d’université en enseignement et en didactique, avec une sensibilité pour l’éducation préscolaire. Ces deux chapeaux nous permettent donc d’analyser les différences dans les pratiques.

L’approche développementale

L’éducation préscolaire se distingue de l’enseignement primaire dans la mesure où elle a non seulement une visée éducative, voire d’instruction, mais d’abord et avant tout une visée de socialisation.

Cela se concrétise notamment avec l’approche développementale qui est prônée par le programme-cycle de l’éducation préscolaire. En effet, la classe de maternelle est généralement conçue comme une transition et un premier pas dans le parcours d’instruction. Elle permet à l’enfant de socialiser, de prendre goût à l’école et de s’épanouir avant son arrivée à l’enseignement primaire où les exigences disciplinaires ont une place plus importante dans le programme de formation.

Cette approche développementale « vise le développement global de l’enfant, dans le respect de son rythme, de ses besoins et de ses intérêts. Elle préconise l’intégration d’activités initiées par l’enfant, tels le jeu et l’exploration », écrivent Krasimira Marinova et Roxane Drainville. Ces deux chercheuses québécoises se sont intéressées à la pression que peuvent ressentir certains enseignants à avoir recours aux pratiques scolarisantes lors des apprentissages du langage écrit au préscolaire.

Cette approche développementale est centrale dans la philosophie de la maternelle. Elle guide toutes les interventions de l’enseignant et met de l’avant la place de l’enfant comme acteur principal de ses apprentissages.

Elle met l’accent sur l’initiative de l’élève et ses apprentissages, tout en restant accompagné par l’enseignant. Par exemple, lors du retour en classe, l’enseignant écoute les élèves s’interroger sur le rang. Pourquoi un tel élève est devant un autre ? L’enseignant peut prendre ce questionnement au bond afin d’amener la notion de la mesure et comparer la grandeur des élèves en les positionnant dos à dos ou selon un autre processus. L’apprentissage est ici basé sur les intérêts des enfants et selon leurs propres initiatives, tout cela avec l’accompagnement de l’enseignant.

En réalité, il n’y a pas d’enseignement lié à un savoir spécifique qui devrait se faire à l’éducation préscolaire. Ni de par cœur. Par exemple, un enseignant peut demander : « est-ce possible ou impossible que tu aies une banane pour ta collation ce matin ? » avec les enfants lors de la causerie, afin d’éveiller leur pensée probabiliste. Toutefois, ce n’est pas comme enseigner les probabilités avec des attentes précises quant aux compétences à développer par les élèves (comme c’est le cas au primaire).

Dans le cadre de la maternelle, les savoirs et les concepts mathématiques sont présents, il n’y a pas de doutes, mais l’apprentissage se fait davantage en contexte de jeu. Les attentes varient d’un enfant à un autre.

L’enjeu qui nous préoccupe ici est la coexistence des pratiques dites « développementales » face à celles dites « scolarisantes » qui sont incohérentes.

Les pratiques scolarisantes

Les pratiques « scolarisantes » se situent en effet à l’opposé. Elles visent la transmission de certains savoirs ou compétences clés pour les apprentissages, dans ce cas-ci au primaire. Le rôle de l’enseignant est tout autre : diriger au lieu d’accompagner. Une posture qui fait abstraction d’une majorité des initiatives des enfants.

Prenons l’exemple d’une enseignante qui organise une activité d’enseignement lors de la plantation des graines de tournesol. Elle va donner étapes par étapes ce que les élèves doivent faire. L’approche scolarisante préconise des activités variées et dirigées par l’enseignante. Finalement, cette approche a le rôle de guider les enfants vers des apprentissages prédéfinis ».

Alors quelles sont les approches à préconiser ? Y’a-t-il des directions pédagogiques que les enseignants pourraient mettre en pratique du préscolaire jusqu’à la fin du primaire ?

L’apprentissage par exploration

L’apprentissage par exploration donne une place centrale à l’apprenant (que ce soit l’enfant du préscolaire ou même l’étudiant universitaire), sachant qu’il doit être actif et engagé dans ses apprentissages. Il est pertinent parce qu’il est cohérent avec l’approche développementale et ne s’inscrit pas dans une approche scolarisante.

L’apprentissage par exploration s’oriente vers la construction active des savoirs par les élèves. La réflexion, la recherche et le développement de la pensée par les élèves favorisent la création de nouvelles connaissances. À ce titre, le rôle de l’enfant est absolument central dans le développement de sa pensée.

Lors d’une situation d’apprentissage qui prône l’apprentissage par exploration, les initiatives des élèves sont le moteur de leurs apprentissages, tout comme les différentes expériences qui sont essentielles au développement de leur pensée et à leur compréhension des savoirs. Le fait de manipuler et de se faire questionner favorise sa compréhension. De plus, le rythme de l’enfant est respecté. En effet, c’est l’enfant qui explore la situation problème, réfléchit et tente d’y répondre : l’enseignant ne dicte pas le rythme des apprentissages.

Les rôles de l’enseignant dans l’apprentissage par exploration

En utilisant l’apprentissage par exploration dans sa pratique, l’enseignant voit son rôle comme celui d’accompagnateur. Ainsi, les activités sont planifiées et pilotées par l’enseignant en tenant compte des intérêts, des besoins et du rythme des élèves.

Certaines balises de l’activité peuvent être planifiées, mais l’enseignant les adapte à la situation et aux besoins de son groupe. Sa place est toute autre que dans une approche scolarisante.

Il soutient les efforts des enfants, les observe, les accompagne et les interroge pendant qu’ils sont en action. Il favorise les échanges. L’élève dispose de beaucoup de latitude puisqu’on lui permet de se questionner, de réfléchir, de prendre des initiatives : il est responsable de ses apprentissages. Cela demande une grande part de compétence de la part de l’enseignant puisqu’il doit être prêt à répondre rapidement aux besoins des élèves.

Est-ce que l’apprentissage par exploration dans les classes du préscolaire pourraient se retrouver au primaire ? N’est-ce pas le rôle fondamental de l’enseignant, d’observer, d’accompagner et de questionner des élèves qui prennent des initiatives, font des expériences et tout cela selon leur propre rythme ?

La construction active des savoirs par les élèves est un incontournable pour les enseignants. Il s’agit de ne pas recevoir des connaissances passivement afin de pousser la réflexion tout en favorisant la création de nouvelles connaissances. Il reste ainsi à se demander comment trouver le juste milieu entre accompagner et guider l’élève tout en lui permettant de construire ses apprentissages.

Par Charlaine St-Jean, Professeure à l’éducation préscolaire, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR); Marilyn Dupuis Brouillette, Professeure, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR); Naomie Fournier Dubé, , Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) et Thomas Rajotte, Professeur en didactique et orthopédagogie des mathématiques, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR)

Cet article est republié à partir de The Conversation sous licence Creative Commons. Lire l’article original.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :