The conversation

Here's why elementary and high school students should learn to program

In Ontario, learning computer programming will be mandatory as early as September 2022 in elementary and secondary schools. This decision will have several advantages, say researchers. But beware, they say, teacher training will be an essential condition for this integration to be successful.

Male role models for developing boys' desire to read

Reading with Son is a family literacy project that promotes the creation of male trios (dad, son, and student teacher) who share reading time at home. The idea was to build on the reading interests of boys with reading difficulties (or who are not motivated to read) to develop their desire to read... And it works!

Ukrainian refugees: the urgent need to educate young people

Many Ukrainian children and teenagers have sought refuge in neighboring countries. An education system needs to be set up quickly so that they can return to some form of normalcy, researchers say. In emergency situations, education is a major factor in the psychological and physical protection of students. However, to establish an emergency education system in the context of armed conflict, several elements must be carefully planned: teacher and child welfare, conflict-sensitive education, and psychosocial support.

Teaching in kindergarten and elementary school: same course, same practice?

New university graduates in preschool and elementary education are called upon to teach children between the ages of 4 and 12, from toddlers to almost teenagers. These age differences necessarily have an effect on the educational practices of teachers. Researchers from the University of Quebec in Rimouski are interested in the subject.

On screens, helping children become informed consumers

Recent work by consumer researchers within the French consortium ALIMNUM provides new information to consider about young online consumers. Researchers are now launching the idea of deploying “a form of digital consumer education”.

Academic motivation: teachers play a more important role than parents

Based on the results of their most recent study, Julien Bureau and Frédéric Guay of Laval University reaffirm the teaching effect to mobilize the motivation of young people and guide them towards success. “The teacher has a privileged learning context,” they write.

Here's how high school students in Quebec experienced a pandemic school year

Professor Sylvie Barma and her colleagues at Laval University surveyed teenagers in Quebec about the pandemic. They found the prevailing climate of uncertainty particularly difficult. “The physical place of learning fluctuated in ways that were unpredictable for them. They didn't like the changes in their routine and a majority said they were bored of school, which had a big impact on their academic motivation. Read for other findings!

The citizenship education course must teach the essentials: democracy and the rule of law

In a context where many observers see a decline in democracy across the world, a citizenship education course is an initiative that must be welcomed. Frédérick Guillaume Dufour, professor in the Department of Sociology at the University of Quebec in Montreal, explains why in this text.

To better manage screen time, distinguish between “good” and “bad” practices?

Research shows that we have to look beyond screen time when it comes to regulating digital uses. The type of use is also important: in many cases the negative effects would be caused by the passive use of the screen, while the interactive use can have positive influences, such as better academic results and abilities. increased cognitive skills.

Debate: Why digital must be learned at school

If the constraint of distance education of the last year had the merit of accelerating the appropriation of digital technology by teachers and students, it also highlighted issues that did not date from yesterday.

La Conversation

Voici pourquoi les élèves du primaire et du secondaire devraient apprendre à programmer

En Ontario, l’apprentissage de la programmation informatique sera obligatoire dès septembre 2022 au primaire et au secondaire. Cette décision aura plusieurs avantages, disent des chercheurs. Mais, attention, précisent-ils, la formation des enseignants représentera une condition essentielle pour que cette intégration soit une réussite.

Des modèles masculins pour développer l’envie de lire chez les garçons

Lire avec fiston est un projet de littératie familiale qui favorise la création de trios masculins (papa, fiston et étudiant en enseignement) qui partagent un temps de lecture à la maison. Son était de partir des intérêts de lecture des garçons en difficulté de lecture (ou non motivés à lire) pour développer leur envie de lire... Et ça marche!

Réfugiés ukrainiens : l’urgence de scolariser les jeunes

De nombreux enfants et adolescents ukrainiens ont trouvé refuge dans les pays voisins. Il faut mettre rapidement sur pied un système éducatif afin qu’ils retrouvent une certaine forme de normalité, disent les chercheurs. Dans les situations d’urgence, l’éducation est un facteur majeur dans la protection psychologique et physique des élèves. Cependant, pour mettre sur pied un système éducatif d’urgence dans un contexte de conflit armé, plusieurs éléments doivent être planifiés avec précaution : le bien-être des enseignantes et des enfants, une éducation sensible aux conflits, et un soutien psychosocial.

Enseigner à la maternelle et au primaire : même parcours, même pratique?

Les nouveaux diplômés universitaires en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement primaire sont appelés à enseigner à des enfants âgés entre 4 et 12 ans, soit des tout-petits aux presqu’ados. Ces différences d’âge ont nécessairement un effet sur les pratiques éducatives des enseignants. Des chercheurs de l'Université du Québec à Rimouski se sont intéressés au sujet.

Sur les écrans, aider les enfants à devenir des consommateurs avertis

Les récents travaux des chercheurs en consommation au sein du consortium français ALIMNUM apportent de nouvelles informations à prendre en considération au sujet des jeunes consommateurs en ligne. Les chercheurs lancent aujourd'hui l'idée du déploiement « d'une forme d'éducation à la consommation numérique ».

Motivation scolaire : les enseignants jouent un rôle plus important que les parents

À partir des résultats de leur plus récente étude, Julien Bureau et Frédéric Guay de l'Université Laval réaffirment l'effet enseignant pour mobiliser la motivation des jeunes et les guider vers la réussite. « L'enseignant dispose d'un contexte d'apprentissage privilégié », écrivent-ils.

Voici comment les élèves du secondaire au Québec ont vécu une année scolaire en pandémie

La professeure Sylvie Barma et ses collègues de l’Université Laval ont sondé des adolescents québécois au sujet de la pandémie. Ceux-ci ont trouvé particulièrement difficile le climat d’incertitude qui régnait. « Le lieu physique d’apprentissage fluctuait d’une façon imprévisible pour eux. » Ils n’ont pas aimé les changements dans leur routine et une majorité disait s’ennuyer de l’école, ce qui a beaucoup joué sur leur motivation scolaire. Lisez pour d'autres constats!

Le cours d’éducation à la citoyenneté doit enseigner l’essentiel : la démocratie et l’État de droit

Dans un contexte où plusieurs observateurs constatent un recul de la démocratie à travers le monde, un cours d’éducation à la citoyenneté est une initiative qui doit être saluée. Frédérick Guillaume Dufour, professeur au Département de sociologie à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, explique pourquoi dans ce texte.

Pour mieux gérer le temps d’écran, distinguer « bonnes » et « mauvaises » pratiques ?

Des recherches révèlent qu'il faut voir au-delà du temps d'écran lorsqu'il s'agit d'encadrer les usages du numérique. Le type d’usage a aussi son importance : dans de nombreux cas, les effets négatifs seraient causés par l’utilisation passive de l’écran, alors que l’utilisation interactive peut avoir des influences positives, comme de meilleurs résultats scolaires et des capacités cognitives accrues.

Débat : Pourquoi le numérique doit s’apprendre à l’école

Si la contrainte de l'enseignement à distance de la dernière année a eu le mérite d'accélérer l'appropriation du numérique par les enseignants et les élèves, elle a aussi mis en lumière des enjeux qui ne dataient pourtant pas d'hier.