A humanizing school year (or praise for the unfinished)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard looks back on the end of the 2020-2021 school year and expresses a wish for the year 2021-2022. Will resilience, flexibility, solidarity become values at the center of teaching practices?

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Last June, many of us proclaimed that an interminable school year had finally come to an end. Several of my teaching or management colleagues claimed to be leaving for the summer vacation with the feeling of having done their duty. In all fairness, at this point, I did not share their enthusiasm. I found that possibilities had remained on the table in favor of the emergency and related tasks that had become too important.

I would have liked to take my team elsewhere, showcase what I can do best, but the needs were completely different then. In short, in June, I was rather animated by the feeling of unfulfilled duty. I wanted to write this text and thus praise… the unfinished.

However, I hesitated for a long time before writing this text and, with a little hindsight, I come to the conclusion that, contrary to my first reactions, we have accomplished great things in our schools during the last one. school year.

In fact, we have been working on what really matters: education. Yes, I distinguish education from what we too often emphasize: education. In our schools, everything is put forward to ensure that our students retain knowledge and develop disciplinary skills. From this perspective, education is learning something from someone.

Education, on the other hand, is much broader: it includes the development of the child as a whole, with an emphasis on what is not necessarily on the program and which also helps him grow.

Human skills and those of the 21e century

Thus, human skills and those of the 21e century have been highlighted. For example, young people have learned to collaborate even more closely than before, and in different contexts. Sometimes there was collaboration in the classroom, but it was also necessary to take into account the fact that a comrade could be absent or that the class could be closed.

We have also developed tolerance for ambiguity in students (and in each of us, let's face it!) By helping them to accept the situations imposed on us and thus accept to live in a changing world. These changes certainly threaten the famous routine, but at the same time, they bring opportunities.

Moreover, these opportunities have propelled the creative potential of each of us. Many of us have used creativity to carry out various projects, to mobilize students, parents and other colleagues so that they use educational resources as a lever for innovation.

The famous educational resources

In this regard, it is difficult to ignore the extent to which educational resources have imposed themselves as essential tools in the pursuit of the school career of students in times of pandemic.

Digital technology will have served, among other things, as a tool for communication, teaching, feedback, evaluation and collaboration. It was used to support the students in their progression towards success. It also created new collaborations between teachers. These spontaneous gestures of mutual aid will have made all the difference in giving confidence to teachers who are more hesitant about digital technology, to enable them in turn to transform their teaching practices.

The year that changed everything

The 2020-2021 school year will go down in history as having been the year of the pandemic, the year of the discontinuity, of the divide between who we were as educators, what our schools were and what we are called to become. Above all, this will have been the year of humanized, humanizing education, the one placing our students in the long term at the center of our concerns.

So, is this a year to forget? No. We learned a lot more about what really matters: humans, their vulnerability, their resilience, their flexibility, their ability to adapt and their solidarity. I now hope that we continue to be a constant concern in our communities.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Une année scolaire humanisante (ou l’éloge de l’inachevé)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard revient sur la fin de l'année scolaire 2020-2021 et formule un souhait pour l'année 2021-2022. La résilience, la flexibilité, la solidarité deviendront-elles des valeurs au centre des pratiques pédagogiques?

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

En juin dernier, nous étions nombreux à proclamer qu’une année scolaire interminable s’était finalement terminée. Plusieurs de mes collègues enseignants ou à la direction prétendaient quitter pour les vacances estivales avec le sentiment du devoir accompli. En toute honnêteté, à ce moment, je ne partageais pas leur enthousiasme. Je trouvais que des possibles étaient demeurés sur la table au profit de l’urgence et de tâches connexes qui étaient devenues trop importantes.

J’aurais aimé amener mon équipe ailleurs, mettre en valeur ce que je sais faire de mieux, mais les besoins étaient alors tout autres. Bref, en juin, j’étais plutôt animé du sentiment du devoir inaccompli. Je voulais écrire ce texte et ainsi faire l’éloge… de l’inachevé.

Or, j’ai longuement hésité avant d’écrire ce texte et, avec un peu de recul, j’en viens à la conclusion que, contrairement à mes premières réactions, nous avons accompli de grandes choses dans nos écoles au cours de la dernière année scolaire.

Dans les faits, nous avons travaillé sur ce qui compte vraiment : l’éducation. Oui, je distingue l’éducation de ce sur quoi nous mettons trop souvent l’accent : l’instruction. Dans nos écoles, tout est mis de l’avant pour faire en sorte que nos élèves retiennent des savoirs et qu’ils développent des compétences disciplinaires. Dans cette perspective, l’instruction, c’est apprendre quelque chose de quelqu’un.

L’éducation, quant à elle, est beaucoup plus large : elle comprend le développement de l’enfant dans sa globalité, en mettant l’accent sur ce qui n’est pas nécessairement au programme et qui contribue à le faire grandir aussi.

Les compétences humaines et celles du 21e siècle

Ainsi, les compétences humaines et celles du 21e siècle ont été mises en valeur. Par exemple, les jeunes ont appris à collaborer encore plus étroitement qu’avant, et ce, dans des contextes différents. Parfois, il y avait la collaboration en classe, mais il fallait aussi tenir compte du fait qu’un camarade pouvait être absent ou que la classe pouvait être fermée.

Nous avons aussi développé la tolérance à l’ambiguïté chez les élèves (et chez chacun de nous, avouons-le!) en les aidant à accepter les situations qui nous sont imposées et ainsi accepter à vivre dans un monde en changement. Ces changements menacent certainement la fameuse routine, mais en même temps, ils sont porteurs d’opportunités.

D’ailleurs, ces opportunités ont propulsé le potentiel créatif de chacun de nous. Nous avons été nombreux à user de créativité pour mener divers projets à bien, à mobiliser élèves, parents et autres collègues pour qu’ils utilisent les ressources pédagonumériques comme levier d’innovation.

Les fameuses ressources pédagonumériques

À cet égard, il est difficile de passer sous silence à quel point les ressources pédagonumériques se sont imposées d’elles-mêmes comme outils incontournables dans la poursuite du parcours scolaire des élèves en temps de pandémie.

Le numérique aura, entre autres, servi d’outil de communication, d’enseignement, de rétroaction, d’évaluation, de collaboration. Il a servi à soutenir les élèves dans leur progression vers la réussite. Il a aussi fait naître de nouvelles collaborations entre les enseignants. Ces gestes d’entraide spontanés auront fait toute la différence pour donner confiance aux enseignants plus hésitants envers le numérique, pour leur permettre de transformer, à leur tour, leurs pratiques pédagogiques.

L’année qui a tout changé

L’année scolaire 2020-2021 passera à l’histoire comme ayant été l’année de la pandémie, l’année de la discontinuité, de la fracture entre qui nous étions en tant qu’éducateurs, ce qu’étaient nos établissements scolaires et ce que nous sommes appelés à devenir. Cela aura surtout été l’année de l’éducation humanisée, humanisante, celle plaçant durablement nos élèves au centre de nos préoccupations.

Ainsi, est-ce une année à oublier? Non. Nous avons appris beaucoup plus sur ce qui compte vraiment : les humains, leur vulnérabilité, leur résilience, leur flexibilité, leur capacité à s’adapter et leur solidarité. Je souhaite maintenant que l’on continue d’être une préoccupation constante dans nos milieux.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct