Posted in:

In French in Quebec… when a cultural immersion trip goes digital

Our collaborator André Magny is a teacher in the summer program En français à Québec, which allows young people from around the world to experience French immersion in Québec City. What happens when these language trips have to be held online? André shares his experience with us in this text.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



Add to favorites (0)

For 15 years, young people from Mexico, Canada and some European countries have been enrolled in the program In French in Quebec, offered by the Collège Saint-Charles-Garnier. This year, a first: COVID-19 requires, it was necessary to bring the online immersion stay to groups of a dozen students each across three different time zones. Quite a challenge for teachers, including your humble servant! Testimony. 

Usually, the immersion lasts a month in Quebec City to allow young people to take advantage of the Summer Festival and the many other cultural outings. For summer 2021, everything has been set up - French lessons, optional activities, workshops, conferences, tourist capsules - virtually.

For teachers, the first challenge was to familiarize themselves with the tools in the Google suite. In principle, Google Drive, Classroom and Meet should no longer have any secrets from us if we wanted to be in the least effective!

D-day

Even though training had been offered to us, the excitement was palpable on the first Monday among the teachers. We could have heard a pixel fly in the hallway of the establishment where we were gathered. Others, braver, had stayed at their homes.

After the usual presentations and the first activity, the moment so dreaded by all - especially by me - has come: the separation of the class into small groups in different virtual places. I said to myself: "I'm sure I'm going to lose some, I won't be able to get into a room." They are not going to speak in French… the disaster is coming. "

Even though I finally had to lose 15 kg the first day - anyway, I needed it - it ended without a hitch. Everyone stayed at the post. Little by little, I got used to all these new keys and functions. Perhaps most distressing is the moment when I asked a question and 12 pairs of eyes weren't blinking.

Yet they were listening, we could see it on the screen. Shyness? Was the question in French too difficult? But no! Obviously, my microphone was off! In fact, it is a bit of all this that made it so that the answers were sometimes slow in coming: we must not forget that it is also a learning process for the students.

“I saw it as an opportunity. I wanted to improve my French, ”says Monica Beyere without hesitation. She is 16 years old. She lives in Happy Valley-Goosebay in Labrador. In his family, his brother and sister also went through immersion.

For parents from Ghana, French is an important value. His intermediate French is at an excellent level. She was supposed to enroll in the Quebec college program last year. COVID 19 has forced management to cancel everything.

Virtually rubbing shoulders with other cultures

Whether they are from Newfoundland - Labrador, Ontario or British Columbia, these young Canadians not only learn French, but they also have the chance to meet other teens from elsewhere in the world.

The director of the language workshops and international programs as well as the program In French in Quebec at the Garnier College, Luis René Ayala, has contacts with the Technological University establishment of Monterey in Mexico. According to the Quebec director of Mexican origin, “cultural exchange is an asset for the students; it ensures an open mind ”.

It's not Sanuda Jayasinghe who will contradict the director. Also living in Happy Valley - Goose Bay, he will be entering university in two years, hoping to become a doctor and thus “help people in French and in English”. He now stays in touch on Instagram with his new Mexican acquaintances. “It was very important to see another culture, because it showed me the way of life in Mexico. "

If the classic photo in front of the Frontenac castle did not take place this summer, the fact remains that the participants seem to have had the bite of French. As for me, the challenge has been met. Not always brilliantly, perhaps, but often with humor!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Classé dans :

En français à Québec… quand un séjour d’immersion culturelle prend le virage numérique

Notre collaborateur André Magny est enseignant dans le cadre du programme estival En français à Québec qui permet à des jeunes du monde de vivre des séjours d'immersion en français dans la ville de Québec. Que se passe-t-il lorsque ces séjours linguistiques doivent se tenir en ligne? André nous partage son expérience dans ce texte.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Depuis 15 ans, des jeunes du Mexique, du Canada et de quelques pays européens s’inscrivent au programme En français à Québec, offert par le Collège Saint-Charles-Garnier. Cette année, une première : COVID-19 oblige, il a fallu faire vivre le séjour d’immersion en ligne à des groupes d’une douzaine d’élèves chacun à travers trois fuseaux horaires différents. Tout un défi pour les enseignants, dont votre humble serviteur! Témoignage. 

Habituellement, l’immersion dure un mois dans la ville de Québec pour permettre aux jeunes de profiter notamment du Festival d’été et des nombreuses autres sorties culturelles. Pour l’été 2021, tout a été mis en place – cours de français, activités optionnelles, ateliers, conférences, capsules touristiques – de façon virtuelle.

Pour les enseignants, le premier défi a été de se familiariser avec les outils de la suite Google. En principe, les Google Drive, Classroom et Meet ne devaient plus avoir de secret pour nous si nous voulions être le moindrement efficaces!

Le jour J

Même si de la formation nous avait été offerte, la fébrilité était palpable lors du premier lundi chez les enseignants. On aurait entendu un pixel voler dans le corridor de l’établissement où nous étions rassemblés. D’autres, plus braves, étaient restés à  leur domicile.

Après les présentations d’usage et la première activité, le moment tant redouté par tous – surtout par moi – est venu : la séparation de la classe en petits groupes dans des lieux virtuels différents. Je me disais : « C’est sûr que je vais en perdre, je n’arriverai pas à entrer dans une salle. Ils ne vont pas parler en français… la catastrophe s’en vient. »

Même si j’ai finalement bien dû perdre 15 kg la première journée – de toute façon, j’en avais besoin -, celle-ci s’est terminée sans anicroche. Tout le monde est resté au poste. Petit à petit, j’ai réussi à me faire à toutes ces nouvelles touches et fonctions. Le plus angoissant est peut-être le moment où je posais une question et que 12 paires d’yeux ne bronchaient pas.

Pourtant, ils écoutaient, on le voyait à l’écran. La timidité? La question en français était trop difficile? Mais non! Évidemment, mon micro était fermé! En fait, c’est un peu tout ça qui faisait en sorte que les réponses tardaient parfois à venir : il ne faut pas oublier que c’est aussi un apprentissage pour les élèves.

« J’ai vu ça comme une opportunité. Je voulais améliorer mon français », affirme sans hésiter Monica Beyere. Elle a 16 ans. Elle habite Happy Valley-Goosebay au Labrador. Dans sa famille, son frère et sa sœur sont aussi passés par l’immersion.

Pour les parents originaires du Ghana, le français est une valeur importante. Son français intermédiaire est à un excellent niveau. Elle devait s’inscrire au programme du collège québécois l’année dernière. La COVID 19 a contraint la direction à tout annuler.

Côtoyer virtuellement d’autres cultures

Qu’ils soient de Terre-Neuve – Labrador, de l’Ontario ou de la Colombie-Britannique, ces jeunes Canadiens apprennent non seulement le français, mais ils ont aussi la chance de côtoyer d’autres ados d’ailleurs dans le monde.

Le directeur des Ateliers de langues et programmes internationaux ainsi que du programme En français à Québec au Collège Garnier, Luis René Ayala, a des contacts avec l’établissement universitaire Technólogico de Monterey au Mexique. Selon le directeur québécois d’origine mexicaine, « l’échange culturel est une richesse pour les élèves; ça assure une ouverture d’esprit ».

Ce n’est pas Sanuda Jayasinghe qui contredira le directeur. Habitant lui aussi Happy Valley – Goose Bay, il entrera à l’université dans deux ans, espère devenir médecin et ainsi « aider les gens en français et en anglais ». Il reste maintenant en contact sur Instagram avec ses nouvelles connaissances mexicaines. « C’était très important de voir une autre culture, car cela m’a montré le mode de vie au Mexique. »

Si la classique photo devant le château Frontenac n’a pas eu lieu cet été, il n’en reste pas moins que les participants semblent avoir eu la piqûre du français. Quant à moi, le défi a été relevé. Pas toujours avec brio, peut-être, mais souvent avec humour!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Prochaines formations en direct