ADVERTISEMENT

Autoscopie techno: The digital tablet at the service of oral skills

Marie-Philippe Goyer, a remedial teacher and educational consultant, and Marie-Ève Cypihot, a Grade 3 teacher and master's student, are using the digital tablet as a tool to promote the oral skills of students with specific language difficulties. We present you their project.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Some will say that it's very simple, that all you had to do was think about it! Marie-Philippe Goyer, a remedial teacher and educational consultant, and Marie-Ève Cypihot, a teacher in grade 3, were right.e year and master's student, use the digital tablet as a tool to support the oral skills of students with specific language difficulties.

The two partners from École St-Joseph de Montréal even won a prize at the May Innovation Awards Gala of the Federation of Private Education (FEEP)Ms. Cypihot's master's project won first place in the "Innovation - Support for Students with Special Challenges" category: Technology as a tool for instructional differentiation in oral communication instruction for students with special needs (disabled or with adjustment or learning difficulties).

Why such a project? Because the observations of both of them, who are teachers, point in the same direction: oral presentations are sometimes a skill that is insufficiently prepared compared to other aspects of teaching, mainly because of the classic lack of time. Very often, the only instruction children receive is, "Prepare your oral presentation at home!

However, they were convinced that if the student had the opportunity to practice before the presentation, as he or she does when rereading before handing in a paper, perhaps the oral presentation would be less stressful, even more stimulating. This is even more true for students with special needs.

Techno autoscopy

Based on the premise that theautoscopya practice that consists in giving an image of oneself through, for example, a video recordingThe Goyer-Cypihot duo used digital tablets to improve the oral performance of 5e and 6e year.

By being filmed and having the opportunity to watch themselves afterwards, the student making the presentation can make judgments about their intonation, or posture.

Marie-Philippe Goyer, who at the time of the research was teaching a class of students with learning disabilities, explains that it is important "for students to know what they need to work on" when they are going to listen to themselves again. That's why her colleague Marie-Ève created mini-lessons for them to identify different components of a successful oral presentation.

In the experiment conducted at St. Joseph SchoolWhen the two women filmed the students filming themselves, they noticed that the peers who gave feedback to their peers did so in a respectful manner. Marie-Philippe, of course, also made recommendations.

And the results?

Already skilled in handling digital tablets, the students will have taken an average of two hours to experience the project.

The teacher of 3e who initially developed a rubric with specific points to observe, believes that each student improved "by a good 10 % minimum".

She adds that the project demonstrated that the students were also self-directed. Since there are no tablets for everyone, the children had to be able to manage the one assigned to their small group or team. Marie-Ève Cypihot also adds that the tablet has the advantage of being mobile, so it can be easily moved around the classroom.

Will there be a follow-up to this research? While Ms. Goyer hopes to share the good news with other colleagues in her school, one thing is certain: "I'm not going back!

The use of digital tablets in the context of oral skills training convinced her of the need to integrate such a tool into teaching. There is no doubt in the minds of both teachers that between the first and the third grade, the use of digital tablets in the learning of oral skills has convinced them of the need to integrate such a tool into their teaching.e or 4e taken, there has been quite an improvement!

On the front page image:

Technology as a tool for instructional differentiation in oral communication instruction for students with special needs.

Credit: courtesy of École St-Joseph

In addition :

In the Fall 2022 issue of École branchée magazine, find the article Recording your reading and sharing it for tips: A practice that improves reading fluency (reserved for subscribers of the magazine). Not a subscriber? Follow this link.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Autoscopie techno : La tablette numérique au service des compétences orales

Marie-Philippe Goyer, orthopédagogue et conseillère pédagogique, ainsi que Marie-Ève Cypihot, enseignante en 3e année et étudiante à la maîtrise, utilisent la tablette numérique comme outil pour favoriser les compétences orales des élèves présentant des difficultés particulières au niveau du langage. On vous présente leur projet.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Certains diront que c’est tout simple, qu’il suffisait d’y penser! Justement Marie-Philippe Goyer, orthopédagogue et conseillère pédagogique, ainsi que Marie-Ève Cypihot, enseignante en 3e année et étudiante à la maîtrise, utilisent la tablette numérique comme outil pour favoriser les compétences orales des élèves présentant des difficultés particulières au niveau du langage.

Les deux complices à l’École St-Joseph de Montréal ont même remporté en mai dernier, lors du gala des prix Innovation de la Fédération de l’enseignement des établissements privés (FEEP), la première place dans la catégorie « Innovation – Soutien aux élèves ayant des défis particuliers » avec le projet de maîtrise de Mme Cypihot : La technologie comme outil de différenciation pédagogique dans l’enseignement de la communication orale pour les élèves HDAA (handicap ou en difficulté d’adaptation ou d’apprentissage).

Pourquoi un tel projet? Parce que les observations de l’une et l’autre, qui sont toutes les deux enseignantes, vont dans le même sens : les présentations orales sont parfois une compétence insuffisamment préparée par rapport à d’autres aspects de l’enseignement, en raison notamment du classique manque de temps. Très souvent, la seule consigne que reçoivent les enfants, c’est : « Préparez votre présentation orale à la maison! ».

Par contre, elles étaient convaincues que si l’élève avait la possibilité de se reprendre, de se pratiquer avant sa présentation comme il ou elle le fait en se relisant avant de donner sa copie, peut-être que l’oral serait moins stressant, voire plus stimulant. C’est encore plus vrai pour les élèves HDAA.

Autoscopie techno

À partir du principe que l’autoscopie, une pratique consistant à donner une image de soi grâce, par exemple, à un enregistrement vidéo, le duo Goyer-Cypihot a misé sur les tablettes numériques pour améliorer les performances orales d’élèves de 5e et 6e année.

En étant filmé et en ayant la possibilité de se regarder par la suite, l’élève devant faire la présentation peut porter un jugement sur son intonation, ou encore sa posture.

Marie-Philippe Goyer, qui au moment de la recherche était titulaire d’une classe d’élèves ayant des troubles d’apprentissage, explique qu’il est important « que les élèves sachent ce sur quoi ils doivent travailler » quand ils vont se réécouter. C’est pour cela que sa collègue Marie-Ève a créé des mini-leçons afin qu’ils puissent identifier différentes composantes d’une présentation orale réussie.

Dans l’expérience menée à l’École St-Joseph, où les deux femmes ont filmé les élèves en train de se filmer, elles ont remarqué que les pairs qui donnaient des rétroactions à leurs camarades le faisaient de façon respectueuse. Marie-Philippe y allait aussi, bien sûr, de ses recommandations.

Et les résultats?

Habiles déjà dans la manipulation des tablettes numériques, les élèves auront pris en moyenne deux heures pour vivre l’expérience.

L’enseignante de 3e année, qui avait élaboré au départ une grille d’analyse avec des points bien précis à observer, estime que chaque élève s’est amélioré « d’un bon 10 % minimum ».

Elle ajoute que le projet a démontré que les élèves étaient également autonomes. Comme il n’y a pas de tablettes pour chacun, il fallait que les enfants soient en mesure de gérer celle assignée à leur petit groupe ou à leur équipe. Marie-Ève Cypihot ajoute aussi que la tablette possède l’avantage d’être mobile, donc facilement déplaçable dans la classe.

Y aura-t-il une suite à cette recherche? Si Mme Goyer espère partager la bonne nouvelle avec les autres collègues de son école, une chose est sûre : « Je ne reviendrai pas en arrière! ».

L’utilisation des tablettes numériques dans le cadre de l’apprentissage des compétences orales l’a convaincue de la nécessité d’intégrer à l’enseignement un tel outil. Il ne fait pas de doute pour les deux enseignantes : entre la première et la 3e ou 4e prise, il y a eu toute une amélioration!

Sur l’image à la une :

La technologie comme outil de différenciation pédagogique dans l’enseignement de la communication orale pour les élèves HDAA.

Crédit : courtoisie École St-Joseph

En complément :

Dans le numéro de l’automne 2022 du magazine École branchée, retrouvez l’article Enregistrer ses lectures et les partager pour recevoir des conseils : Une pratique qui améliore la fluence en lecture (réservé aux abonnés du magazine). Vous n’êtes pas abonnés? Suivez ce lien.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :