What will the city of the future look like?

Published / Updated on

What will the world look like in 30 years? In 40 years? The health crisis that we have been experiencing since March 2020 has accelerated certain changes that tend towards the vision we can have of the city of the future. Through an independent learning path, students will look at various ways of envisioning the future of cities and at the sustainable actions to be taken.
 

What will the world be like in 30 years? In 40 years? The health crisis that we have been experiencing since March 2020 has accelerated certain changes which tend towards the vision that we can have of the city of the future ...

For example, teleworking has become the norm in several professional sectors, which at the same time leads to a decrease in traffic on major roads. On the other hand, the pandemic has caused many people to want to leave large centers because urban areas do not adequately meet the needs of citizens in times of crisis. This urban sprawl is often synonymous with long distances to be traveled by car to meet one's needs (work, eat, have fun, etc.) and is therefore undesirable in the fight against climate change.

But how do you keep urbanites back? How to adapt and transform the city to the various realities of the future? With this in mind, a group of Canadian and American researchers carried out an interdisciplinary study published in the journal Environmental Research who imagines what Montreal and its northern and southern crowns could look like in 40 years:

"We must bring nature back to the city and make housing more affordable, suggests in particular [Researchers]. But the most important thing is to discourage the use of the automobile and, at the moment, little is done to get someone out of their car. The government should be less permissive by taxing more gasoline, large cars, registration […]. And in return, we must offer more substitutes for the car by improving the supply of public transport services. "

Le Devoir, September 14, 2020

“A rebalancing of space is also necessary to discourage motorized travel. By implementing teleworking, we are certainly taking a lot of cars off the road, but we also make car use more attractive since there is less congestion. We must reverse the trend, make pedestrian streets, shared streets, more cycle paths. We then create more pleasant living environments. "

Le Devoir, September 14, 2020

Your challenge

Have you ever imagined what your future might look like in 30 or 40 years? To sum up your thinking, design a croquinote (or sketchnote) which brings together some characteristics of your vision of the future. You can include things about:

  • work;
  • travel;
  • hobbies;
  • interpersonal exchanges;
  • housing;
  • and any other aspect of your life as you imagine it in the future!

You can use the app Tayasui Sketches on your iPad to make your sketch-note, or any other drawing app you know well. You can of course also do it on paper!


 
Click on the section titles to display them!
GENERAL PRESENTATION

Disciplines and levels targeted

1- Science and technology (lower secondary)

  • Propose explanations or solutions to scientific or technological problems: identify a problem, choose an investigation or design scenario.

2- ECR (2nd cycle of secondary)

  • Theme: the future of humanity

3- French (1st and 2nd cycles of secondary education)

  • Communicate orally (recording on Flipgrid)
  • Write a variety of texts (summarized using a mind map)

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Develop and mobilize its culture
    informational
  • Exploit the potential of digital technology to
    learning
  • Develop critical thinking about
    digital
  • Innovate and be creative with
    digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Tayasui Sketches
  • Microsoft Forms
  • Popplet
  • Flipgrid

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to use various ways of envisioning the future of humanity to lead them to examine different contemporary situations, while considering possible actions or solutions.

Learning Path Objectives

  • Introduce the subject with the help of a video on the city of the future.
  • Collect the learners' assumptions and their initial conceptions on the subject with a questionnaire.
  • Have a digital creation (mind map) made in order to summarize the main lines of an article on the subject in question.
  • Integrate new learning with the design of a video on Flipgrid.
  • Arrange for a moment of feedback using Flipgrid.
LEARNING JOURNEY

ACTIVITY 1

Here is a short video clip that summarizes what the city of the future could look like. Listen to her carefully so that you can answer a few questions later.


ACTIVITY 2

Answer the questionnaire below to validate your understanding of the video capsule on the city of the future and to reflect on how you see the future of humanity.

* For teachers who want to integrate this questionnaire into their class on Teams, here is the link to duplicate it and thus access your students' answers. Alternatively, students can, once the quiz is completed and submitted, go back to their answers and share them with you by screenshot, for example.


ACTIVITY 3

You will find an article from Duty which provides the broad outlines of research published this summer in the journal Environmental Research. She imagines what Montreal might look like in 40 years. Several scenarios were modeled in order to find the one that comes closest to a sustainable city, that is to say with limited health and environmental consequences. So read this article and summarize the highlights with the creation of a mind map. To do this, you can use the tool Popplet in web version or the application if it is installed on your tablet.


ACTIVITY 4

The last step of this learning journey is to make a short video recording on Flipgrid to share your vision of a green future and provide solutions so that the Earth of tomorrow is to your liking. Once your video is ready and you hit "submit", a web address will be generated; you can copy it and send it to your teacher so that he or she can view your video.

FOR FURTHER

Online media Gross imagined the world in 2050 from various angles and shares his observations in a few videos accessible below:

  1. Is 10 billion inhabitants in 2050 on Earth too much for the planet?
  2. 143 million climate refugees by 2050?
  3. What diet to adopt in 2050?
  4. Is it possible to feed the planet with 100% organic agriculture in 2050?
  5. Environment: what will the United States look like in 2050?

It would be possible to make the pupils react on Mentimeter, for example, after viewing these capsules. Creation of word clouds, open questions, choice of answers, value scales… Several possibilities are available to you!

TO KNOW MORE

In Montreal, a denser future, without cars
Le Devoir, September 14, 2020

What will the city of the future look like?
Brut, August 10, 2017

The city of the future, sustainable and connected
Bouygues Immobilier, July 22, 2014

CITIES OF THE FUTURE (Smart City)
Hello World, February 23, 2019



Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

À quoi ressemblera la ville du futur?

Paru le

 

À quoi ressemblera le monde dans 30 ans? Dans 40 ans? La crise sanitaire que nous vivons depuis mars 2020 a accéléré certains changements qui tendent vers la vision que nous pouvons avoir de la ville du futur…

Par exemple, le télétravail est devenu la norme dans plusieurs secteurs professionnels, ce qui entraîne du même coup une diminution du trafic sur les grands axes routiers. Par contre, la pandémie a provoqué une envie pour plusieurs personnes de quitter les grands centres parce que les milieux urbains ne répondent pas adéquatement aux besoins des citoyens en temps de crise. Cet étalement urbain est souvent synonyme de longues distances à parcourir en auto pour répondre à ses besoins (travailler, s’alimenter, se divertir, etc.) et n’est donc pas souhaitable dans une lutte aux changements climatiques.

Mais comment faire pour retenir les urbains? Comment adapter et transformer la ville aux diverses réalités du futur? Dans cette optique, un groupe de chercheurs canadiens et américains a réalisé une étude interdisciplinaire publiée dans la revue Environmental Research qui imagine à quoi pourraient ressembler Montréal et ses couronnes nord et sud dans 40 ans :

« Il faut ramener la nature en ville et rendre les logements plus abordables, suggère notamment [les chercheurs]. Mais le plus important est de décourager l’utilisation de l’automobile et, pour le moment, peu de choses sont mises en place pour sortir quelqu’un de son auto. Le gouvernement devrait se montrer moins permissif en taxant davantage l’essence, les grosses voitures, l’immatriculation […]. Et en contrepartie, il faut offrir plus de substituts à la voiture en améliorant l’offre de services en transport collectif. »

Le Devoir, 14 septembre 2020

« Un rééquilibrage de l’espace est aussi nécessaire pour décourager les déplacements motorisés. En implantant le télétravail, on retire certes beaucoup de voitures sur les routes, mais on rend aussi l’utilisation de l’automobile plus attrayante puisqu’il y a moins de congestion. Il faut inverser la tendance, faire des rues piétonnes, des rues partagées, plus de pistes cyclables. On crée alors des milieux de vie plus agréables. »

Le Devoir, 14 septembre 2020

Ton défi

As-tu déjà imaginé ce à quoi pourrait ressembler ton futur dans 30 ou 40 ans? Pour résumer ta pensée, conçois un croquinote (ou sketchnote) qui regroupe quelques caractéristiques de ta vision du futur. Tu peux y inclure des éléments concernant :

  • le travail;
  • les déplacements;
  • les loisirs;
  • les échanges interpersonnels;
  • l’habitation;
  • et tout autre aspect de ta vie telle que tu l’imagines dans le futur!

Tu peux utiliser l’application ‎Tayasui Sketches sur ton iPad pour faire ton croquis-note, ou toute autre application de dessin que tu connais bien. Tu peux bien sûr aussi le faire sur papier!


 
Cliquez sur les titres de sections pour les afficher!
PRÉSENTATION GÉNÉRALE

Disciplines et niveaux visés

1- Science et technologie (1er cycle du secondaire)

  • Proposer des explications ou des solutions à des problèmes d’ordre scientifique ou technologique : cerner un problème, choisir un scénario d’investigation ou de conception.

2- ECR (2e cycle du secondaire)

  • Thème : l’avenir de l’humanité

3- Français (1er et 2e cycles du secondaire)

  • Communiquer oralement (enregistrement sur Flipgrid)
  • Écrire des textes variés (résumé à l’aide d’une carte mentale)

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture
    informationnelle
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour
    l’apprentissage
  • Développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du
    numérique
  • Innover et faire preuve de créativité avec
    le numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Tayasui Sketches
  • Microsoft Forms
  • Popplet
  • Flipgrid

Intention pédagogique du guide

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves de prendre appui sur diverses façons d’entrevoir l’avenir de l’humanité pour amener ces derniers à examiner différentes situations contemporaines, tout en envisageant des actions ou des solutions possibles.

Objectifs du parcours d’apprentissage

  • Introduire le sujet à l’aide d’une vidéo sur la ville du futur.
  • Recueillir les hypothèses des apprenants et leurs conceptions initiales sur le sujet avec un questionnaire.
  • Faire réaliser une création numérique (carte mentale) afin de résumer les grandes lignes d’un article sur le sujet en question.
  • Intégrer les nouveaux apprentissages avec la conception d’une vidéo sur Flipgrid.
  • Aménager un moment de rétroaction à l’aide de Flipgrid.
PARCOURS D’APPRENTISSAGE

ACTIVITÉ 1

Voici une courte capsule vidéo qui résume à quoi pourrait ressembler la ville du futur. Écoute-la attentivement pour être en mesure de répondre à quelques questions par la suite.


ACTIVITÉ 2

Réponds au questionnaire ci-dessous pour valider ta compréhension de la capsule vidéo sur la ville du futur et pour réfléchir à comment tu entrevois l’avenir de l’humanité.

*Pour les enseignants voulant intégrer ce questionnaire à leur classe sur Teams, voici le lien pour le dupliquer et ainsi accéder aux réponses de vos élèves. Sinon, les élèves peuvent, une fois le questionnaire terminé et envoyé, revenir à leurs réponses et vous les partager par capture d’écran, par exemple.


ACTIVITÉ 3

Vous trouverez un article du Devoir qui propose les grandes lignes d’une recherche publiée cet été dans la revue Environmental Research. Elle imagine à quoi pourrait ressembler Montréal dans 40 ans. Plusieurs scénarios ont été modélisés dans le but de trouver celui qui s’approche le plus d’une ville durable, c’est-à-dire aux conséquences sanitaires et environnementales limitées. Lis donc cet article et résumes-en les grandes lignes avec la création d’une carte mentale. Pour ce faire, tu peux utiliser l’outil Popplet en version Web ou bien l’application si elle est installée sur ta tablette.


ACTIVITÉ 4

La dernière étape de ce parcours d’apprentissage est de réaliser un court enregistrement vidéo sur Flipgrid pour partager ta vision d’un futur vert et donner des pistes de solutions pour que la Terre de demain soit à ton goût. Une fois que ta vidéo sera prête et que tu auras appuyé sur « submit », une adresse Web sera générée; tu pourras la copier et l’envoyer à ton enseignant pour qu’il ou elle puisse visionner ta capsule.

POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN

Le média en ligne Brut a imaginé le monde en 2050 sous divers angles et fait part de ses observations dans quelques vidéos accessibles ci-dessous :

  1. 10 milliards d’habitants en 2050 sur Terre, c’est trop pour la planète ?
  2. 143 millions de réfugiés climatiques d’ici 2050 ?
  3. Quel régime alimentaire adopter en 2050 ?
  4. Nourrir la planète avec une agriculture 100% bio en 2050, c’est possible ?
  5. Environnement : à quoi ressembleront les États-Unis en 2050 ?

Il serait possible de faire réagir les élèves sur Mentimeter, par exemple, suite au visionnement de ces capsules. Création de nuages de mots, questions ouvertes, choix de réponses, échelles de valeurs… Plusieurs possibilités s’offrent à vous!

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

À Montréal, un futur plus dense, sans voitures
Le Devoir, 14 septembre 2020

À quoi ressemblera la ville du futur ?
Brut, 10 août 2017

La ville du futur, durable et connectée
Bouygues Immobilier, 22 juillet 2014

LES VILLES DU FUTUR (Smart City)
Bonjour Monde, 23 février 2019



Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Taxer le carbone

Le gouvernement fédéral canadien vient d’annoncer la création d’une taxe sur le carbone. Cette taxe a pour objectif de diminuer la production d’émissions de carbone par les entreprises et par le fait même par la population. Comment cette taxe fonctionnera-t-elle? Quels seront les impacts sur la population?

Un triste anniversaire pour le Rwanda

Il y a 25 ans, le 6 avril 1994, l'écrasement de l'avion du président rwandais Juvénal Habyarimana, lors d'un attentat, allait causer une série d'assassinats contre les membres les plus influents du parti d'opposition. De ce fait, une liste de noms qui visait particulièrement les Tutsis avait été établie et c'est ainsi que débuta un génocide qui durera 13 semaines. Au total, plus de 800 000 Rwandais perdirent la vie dans une des pires catastrophes de l'humanité.

Le 1er octobre, on célèbre les personnes âgées

Le 1er octobre, c'est la Journée internationale des personnes âgées. Elle est soulignée ainsi depuis une proposition de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU en 1990. En effet, depuis 2002, l’ONU considère que la population mondiale est vieillissante.