WHY use current events in class?

These answers are generally consensus among teachers during our activities and training on the subject: 

  • increase student motivation through varied content;
  • provide meaningful learning opportunities;
  • make learners aware of what is happening in the world;
  • allow students to form an opinion on various realities;
  • foster a rich general culture;
  • focus on a specialized lexicon;
  • Etc.

Here is a statement that helps guide the educational intent:

"The news offers engaging contexts to train the citizens of tomorrow through a concrete reflective approach, all in  mobilizing their resources for imagine real solutions to the proposed challenges. "

HOW TO use current events in the classroom to achieve our educational intentions?

Educational guides SCOOP! make this HOW possible. Indeed, every week, new learning situations are made available to primary and secondary teachers to enable them to teach with current events, to develop the digital skills of their students and to carry out education. to the media. Let's take a look at the structure of SCOOP! and let's see how to take full advantage of this digital resource.

Educational guides

Introduction of the current topic: Each guide begins with an introduction situating the current topic. The information is made simple and several quotes from the main players concerned put the issue in question into context.

Links to the training program: Then, indications are given to the teachers about the didactic and pedagogical notions to be exploited. Targeted skills, suggested digital tools, targeted pedagogical intention, etc. Everything is there to properly plan the learning sequence that the students will experience.

Activities : A variety of activity ideas follow. Each proposed action will find its purpose in one or more dimensions of digital competence, in addition to enabling media education.

Enrichment: Often, a 'Go Further' section, which provides ideas for additional activities, allows you to delve deeper into the current topic or explore another digital tool to complete a new task.

Resources and references: Finally, there is often a “Find out more” section where there are several Web resources that document the current topic put forward in the guide. Articles, videos, podcasts, infographics, everything is there so that both the teacher and his students can find a maximum of reliable information to use in a media education process.

Media education

Media literacy is a process that enables learners to develop a critical view and form an opinion about what they see and hear in the media sphere. The pupils therefore learn to decipher information and images to enable them to be more aware of the increasingly complex landscape which surrounds them. SCOOP! facilitates questioning and dialogue around media issues. The learning situations contained in the guides place learners in a concrete, creative and reflective context mobilizing their resources to imagine real solutions to the challenges of the 21st century.

Digital competence

Since April 2019, the MEES has made a reference framework for digital competence available. This includes 12 dimensions that allow the development of skills relating to a confident, critical and creative use of digital technology and thus achieve objectives related to various aspects of the learner's life:

  1. act as an ethical citizen in the digital age;
  2. develop and mobilize their technological skills;
  3. harness the potential of digital technology for learning;
  4. develop and mobilize its information culture;
  5. collaborate digitally;
  6. communicate digitally;
  7. produce content with digital;
  8. take advantage of digital technology as a vector of inclusion and to meet diverse needs;
  9. adopt a perspective of personal and professional development with digital technology in a position of empowerment;
  10. solve a variety of digital issues;
  11. develop critical thinking with regard to digital technology;
  12. innovate and be creative with digital technology.

Educational guides SCOOP! target one or more of these dimensions through the achievement of educational intentions. Learners, in concrete and meaningful learning situations, will be able, for example, to produce an interactive video, communicate using a podcast or collaborate on a virtual wall.

 

For a request for training or questions, write U.S!

Receive new topics every week

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Use our presentation and training videos

If you need to present the teaching guides SCOOP! to new users, here are two video clips that can help you. The first 2 are brief introductions.

This explains different ways to use SCOOP! in class.

POURQUOI se servir de l’actualité en classe?

Ces réponses font généralement consensus chez les enseignants lors de nos animations et formations sur le sujet : 

  • accroître la motivation des élèves par des contenus variés;
  • fournir des occasions signifiantes d’apprentissage;
  • conscientiser les apprenants à ce qui se passe dans le monde;
  • permettre aux élèves de se façonner une opinion sur diverses réalités;
  • favoriser une culture générale riche;
  • s’attarder à un lexique spécialisé;
  • Etc.

Voici un énoncé qui permet de guider l’intention pédagogique :

« L’actualité propose des contextes engageants pour former les citoyens de demain à travers une démarche réflexive concrète, tout en  mobilisant leurs ressources pour imaginer des solutions réelles aux défis proposés. »

COMMENT utiliser l’actualité en classe pour atteindre nos intentions pédagogiques?

Les guides pédagogiques SCOOP! rendent possible ce COMMENT. En effet, toutes les semaines, de nouvelles situations d’apprentissage sont mises à disposition des enseignants du primaire et du secondaire pour leur permettre d’enseigner avec l’actualité, de développer la compétence numérique de leurs élèves et de faire de l’éducation aux médias. Décortiquons ensemble la structure de SCOOP! et voyons comment tirer pleinement profit de cette ressource numérique.

Les guides pédagogiques

Introduction du sujet d’actualité : Chaque guide débute par une introduction situant le sujet d’actualité. L’information y est vulgarisée et plusieurs citations des principaux acteurs concernés mettent en contexte l’enjeu dont il est question.

Liens avec le programme de formation : Ensuite, des indications sont données aux enseignants à propos des notions didactiques et pédagogiques à exploiter. Compétences visées, outils numériques suggérés, intention pédagogique ciblée, etc. Tout y est pour bien planifier la séquence d’apprentissage que vivront les élèves.

Les activités : Suivent des idées d’activités variées. Chaque action proposée trouvera sa finalité dans une ou plusieurs dimensions de la compétence numérique, en plus de permettre l’éducation aux médias.

Enrichissement : Souvent, une section « Pour aller plus loin », qui fournit des idées d’activités supplémentaires, permettent d’approfondir davantage le sujet d’actualité ou d’explorer un autre outil numérique pour mener à terme une nouvelle tâche.

Ressources et références : Finalement, on trouve souvent une section « En savoir plus » où se trouvent plusieurs ressources Web qui documentent le sujet d’actualité mis de l’avant dans le guide. Articles, vidéos, balados, infographies, tout y est pour qu’autant l’enseignant(e) que ses élèves y retrouvent un maximum d’informations fiables à utiliser dans une démarche d’éducation aux médias.

L’éducation aux médias

L’éducation aux médias est un processus qui permet aux apprenants d’acquérir une vision critique et de se forger une opinion sur ce qu’ils voient et entendent dans la sphère médiatique. Les élèves apprennent donc à décrypter l’information et l’image pour leur permettre d’être plus conscients du paysage de plus en plus complexe qui les entoure. SCOOP! facilite les questionnements et le dialogue autour des enjeux médiatiques. Les situations d’apprentissages contenues dans les guides placent les apprenants dans un contexte concret, créatif et réflexif mobilisant leurs ressources à imaginer des solutions réelles aux défis du 21e siècle.

La compétence numérique

Depuis avril 2019, le MEES rend disponible un cadre de référence de la compétence numérique. Celle-ci comprend 12 dimensions qui permettent le développement d’aptitudes relatives à une utilisation confiante, critique et créative du numérique et ainsi atteindre des objectifs liés à divers aspects de la vie de l’apprenant :

  1. agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique;
  2. développer et mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques;
  3. exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage;
  4. développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle;
  5. collaborer à l’aide du numérique;
  6. communiquer à l’aide du numérique;
  7. produire du contenu avec le numérique;
  8. mettre à profit le numérique en tant que vecteur d’inclusion et pour répondre à des besoins diversifiés;
  9. adopter une perspective de développement personnel et professionnel avec le numérique dans une posture d’autonomisation;
  10. résoudre une variété de problèmes avec le numérique;
  11. développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du numérique;
  12. innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique.

Les guides pédagogiques SCOOP! visent une ou plusieurs de ces dimensions à travers l’atteinte des intentions pédagogiques. Les apprenants, dans des situations d’apprentissage concrètes et signifiantes, pourront, par exemple, produire une vidéo interactive, communiquer à l’aide d’une baladodiffusion ou collaborer sur un mur virtuel.

 

Pour une demande de formation ou des questions, écrivez-nous!

Recevez les nouveaux sujets chaque semaine

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

Utilisez nos vidéos de présentation et de formation

Si vous devez présenter les guides pédagogiques SCOOP! à de nouveaux utilisateurs, voici deux capsules vidéo qui pourront vous appuyer. Les 2 premières sont de brèves introductions.

Celle-ci explique différentes façons d’exploiter SCOOP! en classe.