ADVERTISEMENT

YouTube: a tool for teachers and students

Young people use technology quite independently and often discuss the videos they watch on YouTube. Here are some ideas for using this free platform as a learning tool.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

As a teacher in a secondary school, I rub shoulders with young people who use technology quite independently. They often discuss among themselves the games they play, their exchanges on various social networks or the videos they watch on YouTube. Lately, I got interested in this platform. If I already use it in my teaching on an ad hoc basis to question the students or to vary the methods, I am convinced that I can go further. Here is the fruit of my reflection.  

YouTube channels

For those who do not know what a YouTube channel is, this platform offers the possibility for users with an account (it's free!) To record different videos and organize them in the form of custom playlists. You can use YouTube to make music, but also to make educational videos. For example, HelloProf has its own channel where you can find explanations for all types of content, in all subjects.

So, given that it's free and it's a platform that students use for entertainment, why not make it a learning tool? It is possible to share the videos one by one to the students, but it seems even more relevant to create your own channel that the students can consult at any time. For example, reading lists can be organized by themes addressed in a social universe or by skills in French (reading, writing, grammar, etc.). The students will then be able to access the videos to complete their learning.

Do you want to go further? Why not produce your own video content that you will then post on YouTube? You do not have the knowledge related to the different applications to use? Here are some interesting ones.

Tutorials

There are a multitude of tutorials available on YouTube to acquire new knowledge. Whether it is related to the use of an application, the programming of a robot or even knitting, you can find several tutorials that will guide you towards new learning.  

As a result, it is possible to distribute these tutorials in class or to use this educational content to learn and improve as a teacher and thus better support students.

Here are examples of tutorials related to the applications mentioned in the section on YouTube channels.

The inverted class

From the previous suggestions, it is possible to deduce that YouTube is a wonderful tool for taming and establishing some flipped classroom projects.

What is the flipped classroom?

It works as follows: Students receive lessons as online resources (usually videos) that they watch at home instead of doing homework. On the other hand, what was previously done at home is now accomplished in the classroom, hence the idea of an “inverted” classroom. In reality, we will especially take advantage of the time freed up in class to organize activities, group projects and discussions that will give real meaning to the academic content. Many variations are possible, but the goal is to move from a teacher-centered model to a student-centered model in order to meet individual needs.[1]

Based on this philosophy, the teacher gives the student access to resources (his channel or another YouTube channel) and, when necessary, to tutorials helping him to develop skills that will be necessary for a project. The latter learns at his own pace at home or in another context. 

Why not push your limits and try this experience?

To deepen your reading or for ideas of channels to follow, I invite you to go read this article.

Frame21 offers comprehensive training on the flipped classroom.


[1] https://www.classeinversee.com/presentation/

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

YouTube : un outil pour les enseignants et les élèves

0

En tant qu’enseignante dans une école secondaire, je côtoie des jeunes qui utilisent la technologie de façon assez autonome. Ils discutent souvent entre eux des jeux auxquels ils jouent, de leurs échanges sur les divers réseaux sociaux ou encore des vidéos qu’ils consultent sur YouTube. Dernièrement, je me suis intéressée à cette plateforme. Si je l’exploite déjà dans mon enseignement de façon ponctuelle pour questionner les élèves ou encore pour varier les méthodes, je suis convaincue que je peux aller plus loin. Voici le fruit de ma réflexion.  

Les chaînes YouTube

Pour ceux qui ne savent pas ce qu’est une chaîne YouTube, cette plateforme offre la possibilité aux utilisateurs possédant un compte (c’est gratuit!) d’enregistrer différentes vidéos et de les organiser sous forme de listes de lecture sur mesure. On peut utiliser YouTube pour faire de la musique, mais également pour faire des vidéos éducatifs. Par exemple, AllôProf possède sa propre chaîne où l’on retrouve des explications pour tous les types de contenus, et ce dans toutes les matières.

Alors, étant donné que c’est gratuit et qu’il s’agit d’une plateforme utilisée par les élèves comme divertissement, pourquoi ne pas en faire un outil d’apprentissage? Il est possible de partager les vidéos une à une aux élèves, mais il semble encore plus pertinent de créer sa propre chaîne que les élèves peuvent consulter à tout moment. Par exemple, les listes de lecture peuvent être organisées par thèmes abordés en univers social ou encore par compétences en français (lecture, écriture, grammaire…). Les élèves pourront alors accéder aux vidéos pour compléter leurs apprentissages.

Vous désirez aller plus loin? Pourquoi ne pas produire votre propre contenu vidéo que vous publierez ensuite sur YouTube? Vous n’avez pas les connaissances en lien avec les différentes applications à utiliser? En voici quelques-unes intéressantes.

Les tutoriels

Il existe une multitude de tutoriels disponibles sur YouTube permettant de s’approprier de nouvelles connaissances. Que ce soit en lien avec l’utilisation d’une application, la programmation d’un robot ou encore le tricot, vous pouvez y retrouver plusieurs tutoriels qui vous guideront vers de nouveaux apprentissages.  

De ce fait, il est possible de diffuser ces tutoriels en classe ou bien d’utiliser ce contenu pédagogique pour apprendre et se perfectionner comme enseignant et ainsi mieux accompagner les élèves.

Voici des exemples de tutoriels en lien avec les applications mentionnées dans la section sur les chaînes YouTube.

La classe inversée

À la suite des suggestions précédentes, il est possible de déduire que YouTube est un merveilleux outil pour apprivoiser et établir quelques projets en classe inversée.

Qu’est-ce que la classe inversée?

Le fonctionnement est le suivant : les élèves reçoivent des cours sous forme de ressources en ligne (en général des vidéos) qu’ils regardent chez eux à la place de faire des devoirs. De l’autre côté, ce qui était auparavant fait à la maison s’accomplit désormais en classe, d’où l’idée de classe “inversée”. En réalité, on va surtout profiter du temps libéré en classe pour organiser des activités, des projets de groupe et des échanges qui vont donner un vrai sens au contenu scolaire. Beaucoup de variantes sont possibles, mais la finalité est de passer d’un modèle centré sur le professeur à un modèle centré sur l’élève afin de répondre aux besoins individuels de chacun[1]

Partant de cette philosophie, l’enseignant donne à l’élève l’accès aux ressources (sa chaîne ou une autre chaîne YouTube) et, lorsque nécessaire, à des tutoriels l’aidant à développer des compétences qui lui seront nécessaires pour un projet. Ce dernier apprend à son propre rythme chez lui ou dans un autre contexte. 

Pourquoi ne pas repousser vos limites et essayer cette expérience?

Pour approfondir votre lecture ou pour des idées de chaînes à suivre, je vous invite à aller lire cet article.

Cadre21 offre une formation complète sur la classe inversée.


[1] https://www.classeinversee.com/presentation/

Commentaires

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.