“Around the adult of tomorrow”: digital literacy education

The École branchée attended the second international conference on the teaching of literature with digital technology which was held on May 8 and 9 at the Grande Bibliothèque BAnQ (Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec). Entitled "Around the adult of tomorrow", this event brought together some 100 participants and speakers from all over the world.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

École branchée attended the second conference conference on the teaching of literature with digital technology, which was held on May 8 and 9 at the Grande Bibliothèque BAnQ (Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec). Entitled "Around the adult of tomorrow", this event brought together some 100 participants and speakers from all over the world.

After Grenoble, Montreal

After a first edition in Grenoble, Nathalie Lacelle, professor of media literacy in the language teaching department at UQAM and organizer of the conference, made this gathering in Montreal possible and, by the same token, was able to inspire many teachers. , educational advisers, professors and researchers working in Quebec.

Educate in digital literature

During the two days of this conference, we were able to attend various panels and conferences that offered a scientific perspective on the issues and challenges facing society, universities, schools and cultural institutions in educating the adults of tomorrow in literature. digital. All communications were structured around the following four axes:

  • the social issues and challenges of redefining the purposes of literacy in a digital context;
  • the issues and challenges facing universities in training teachers to teach digital literature;
  • the issues and challenges facing the school in training young people in the reception, production and distribution of digital literature;
  • the issues and challenges for cultural institutions to support the dissemination and training of digital literature.

So this is what the people gathered for the occasion looked at to reflect on how to harness the full potential of the digital revolution in schools and, more specifically, how this revolution can redefine the teaching of reading.

This literary culture must be taken care of, it must be maintained, like Voltaire's garden in Candide. The advent of digital technology in the literary garden of students can then be seen as a device which maximizes what literature has to offer them, which reconciles them with books.

A literary Facebook

Several proposals and activities were presented in this direction during the discussion panels. For example, the use of " Fakebook », This platform which is used to create fake Facebook profiles for anyone who wants a digital identity. The idea is then to create accounts for the protagonists and other secondary characters of a story to make them interact in this parallel reality. Photos, biographies, mutual friends, significant events, various publications… Everything is there so that the pupils can recontextualize the interactions between the various actors and, for example, identify the actantial diagram. The appropriation of literature through a social network like Fakebook places young people in a position where their reality merges with that of a work that may have been written several centuries ago. Learning is then increased tenfold in this type of approach where decontextualization allows learners to use their benchmarks to better integrate knowledge.

Fan one day, always fan

Another great activity to do with students to bring them closer to literacy is creating “fanfictions”. Whether it's from a television series like Sherlock, a Harry Potter novel or a character in the Assassin's Creed video game, learners are invited to reinvent the universe of their favorite protagonists by extending a chapter, by changing the end or by totally transforming the work that they particularly like. Writing “fanfictions” then allows us to take control of our favorite characters, to stage what we would have liked to find in the original work. Once again, the contextualization of learning takes on its full meaning here, while the initial narrative must be mastered at the outset, before being deconstructed, then rebuilt while keeping the essence. The means of distribution for “fanfictions” can be very varied, going from a tweet in 280 characters, to a blog post or to writing on a collaborative document.

Change of posture

In short, the conference “Around the adult of tomorrow” demonstrated all the richness and potential that the 21st century has to offer to literature. Digital is no longer something that we add to our practice, but is now part of the learning process. This change of posture must begin with the initial training of teachers and be integrated into all the productions and dissemination of literature. When will a course be called “digital literature” at the university? Sooner rather than later, hopefully ...

You can click here to consult the entire program of the conference “Around the adult of tomorrow”.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme is an educational advisor and project manager at École branchée. He is also editor-in-chief of the SCOOP! Educational guides. He has a bachelor's degree in preschool education and elementary education from the University of Sherbrooke and is pursuing a graduate degree in school management at Laval University. He transmits his passion for digital education and innovative practices through CréaCamps, conferences and workshops throughout the French-speaking world.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

« Autour de l’adulte de demain » : éducation à la littératie numérique

0

L’École branchée a assisté au deuxième colloque international sur l’enseignement de la littérature avec le numérique qui se tenait les 8 et 9 mai derniers à la Grande Bibliothèque BAnQ (Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec). Intitulé « Autour de l’adulte de demain », cet événement rassemblait quelque 100 participants et conférenciers venus d’un peu partout à travers le monde.

Après Grenoble, Montréal

Après une première édition à Grenoble, Nathalie Lacelle, professeure en littératie médiatique au département de didactique des langues à l’UQAM et organisatrice du colloque, a rendu possible ce rassemblement à Montréal et, du même fait, a pu inspirer bon nombre d’enseignants, conseillers pédagogiques, professeurs et chercheurs oeuvrant au Québec.

Éduquer à la littérature numérique

Lors des deux journées de ce colloque, nous avons pu assister à différents panels et conférences qui proposaient un regard scientifique sur les enjeux et les défis de la société, des universités, des écoles et des institutions culturelles à éduquer les adultes de demain à la littérature numérique. L’ensemble des communications se sont articulées autour des quatre axes suivants :

  • les enjeux et les défis sociaux d’une redéfinition des finalités de la littératie en contexte numérique;
  • les enjeux et les défis des universités à former les enseignants à l’enseignement de la littérature numérique;
  • les enjeux et les défis de l’école à former les jeunes à la réception, à la production et à la diffusion de la littérature numérique;
  • les enjeux et les défis des institutions culturelles à soutenir la diffusion et la formation à la littérature numérique.

Voilà donc sur quoi les gens réunis pour l’occasion se sont penchés pour réfléchir à comment exploiter le plein potentiel de la révolution numérique à l’école et, plus particulièrement, comment cette révolution peut redéfinir l’enseignement de la lecture.

Cette culture littéraire, il faut en prendre soin, il faut l’entretenir, comme le jardin de Voltaire dans Candide. La venue du numérique dans le jardin littéraire des élèves peut alors être perçue comme un dispositif qui maximise ce que la littérature a à leur offrir, qui les réconcilie avec les livres.

Un Facebook littéraire

Plusieurs propositions et activités ont été présentées en ce sens lors des panels de discussion. Par exemple, l’utilisation de « Fakebook », cette plateforme qui sert à créer de faux profils Facebook à quiconque voulant une identité numérique. L’idée est alors de créer des comptes aux protagonistes et autres personnages secondaires d’un récit pour les faire interagir dans cette réalité parallèle. Photos, biographies, amis en commun, événements marquants, publications variées… Tout y est pour que les élèves puissent recontextualiser les interactions entre les différents acteurs et, par exemple, en dégager le schéma actanciel. L’appropriation de la littérature grâce à un réseau social comme Fakebook place les jeunes dans une posture où leur réalité se fusionne à celle d’une oeuvre qui peut avoir été écrite il y a plusieurs siècles. Les apprentissages se voient alors décuplés dans ce genre d’approche où la décontextualisation permet aux apprenants de se servir de leurs repères pour mieux intégrer les savoirs.

Fan un jour, fan toujours

Une autre activité intéressante à réaliser avec les élèves pour les rapprocher de la littératie est la création de « fanfictions ». Que ce soit à partir d’une série télévisée comme Sherlock, d’un roman de Harry Potter ou d’un personnage dans le jeu vidéo Assassin’s Creed, les apprenants sont invités à réinventer l’univers de leurs protagonistes favoris en prolongeant un chapitre, à changeant la fin ou en transformant totalement l’oeuvre qu’ils affectionnent particulièrement. L’écriture de « fanfictions » permet alors de prendre le contrôle de nos personnages préférés, de mettre en scène ce que l’on aurait aimé retrouver dans l’oeuvre originale. Encore une fois, la contextualisation des apprentissages prend tout son sens ici, alors que le récit initial doit être maîtrisé au départ, avant d’être déconstruit, puis rebâti en gardant l’essence. Les moyens de diffusion pour les « fanfictions » peuvent être très variés, passant du tweet en 280 caractères, au billet de blogue ou à l’écriture sur un document collaboratif.

Changement de posture

Bref, le colloque « Autour de l’adulte de demain » a su démontrer toute la richesse et le potentiel qu’a à offrir le 21e siècle à la littérature. Le numérique n’est plus quelque chose qu’on ajoute à notre pratique, mais est maintenant partie prenante du processus d’apprentissage. Ce changement de posture doit débuter dès la formation initiale des enseignants et être intégré dans l’ensemble des productions et des diffusions de la littérature. À quand un cours qui se nommerait « littérature numérique » à l’université? Plus tôt que tard, espérons-le…

Vous pouvez cliquer ici pour consulter l’ensemble de la programmation du colloque « Autour de l’adulte de demain ».

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :