ADVERTISEMENT

A laboratory of innovations at the service of teachers

Our contributor presents a testimonial on how the staff of the Moser School, a trilingual educational institution for students aged 8 to 18, in Switzerland, has weathered the pandemic and has perpetuated the use of digital technology, in particular by setting up a Teams space dedicated to sharing content among teachers.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Karine Yoakim Pasquier for the Moser Lab, within the Moser School 

Our contributor presents a testimonial on how the staff of the Moser School, a trilingual educational institution for students aged 8 to 18, in Switzerland, has weathered the pandemic and has perpetuated the use of digital technology, in particular by setting up a Teams space dedicated to sharing content among teachers.

Moser School in Geneva

While the Covid-19 pandemic has changed society in many ways, education has not been spared. In Switzerland, on March 13, 2020, the Federal Council announced various measures, including the closure of schools and universities, forcing teachers to reinvent themselves and students to attend classes from home for two months. 

Then, starting in September, the school year was organized in a blended format, offering both online and face-to-face classes, thus giving the quarantined students the opportunity to attend classes anyway. This forced the teachers to work differently and to integrate computers into their daily practice for good.  

It is in this context that the Moser School, founded in 1961 in Geneva and present in Nyon and Berlin, reflected on how to perpetuate the experience of its teachers. Offering a trilingual curriculum to more than 1,500 students from 8 to 18 years old, the school has always been considered ahead of its time when it comes to integrating new technologies... and the crisis has allowed to verify that everything that had been put in place previously was solid and functional. The experience was a positive one, highlighting the resilience and creativity of the teachers in dealing with an exceptional situation.  

The library of the elementary school in Geneva

The teaching profession: resilience and reinvention 

As of March 13, 2020, the teachers of the Moser School reorganized themselves: from the 3rd grade of primary school (equivalent to CE2 in France) to the end of secondary school (corresponding to high school), the students were to be able to continue their school curriculum. Videos, courses live Through Teams software, making short films at home, setting up online assignments, the faculty kept reinventing themselves. However, it was all done in a hurry and each employee then had to learn how to manage their classes, schedules and content in record time. 

In order to learn about the challenges faced by the 116 teachers at the school during this time, a survey was sent to them to learn a little more about what they had experienced. 46.6 % of those surveyed identified the context of distance learning as both quite stressful, but challenging.  

The experience has been a source of renewal and inspiration for most. However, it has also been an enormous workload, forcing many teachers to reorganize their content to fit online, as well as to learn multiple digital skills in a rapid manner.  

Moser Channel, a space for exchange and valorization 

For the past 4 years, the Moser School has had a department called Moser Lab, which has multiple objectives: staff training in digital technology, implementation of various digital projects, personalized assistance. The Moser Lab aims to be the reference in terms of digital pedagogy within the school and is intended to guide teachers in the evolution of their practices. In passing, the Lab also touches on themes such as leadership, organizational culture, technologies, data and communication, which are all very present in the digital age.

Creative workshop during which students had to imagine the city of tomorrow.

In order to face these challenges, the laboratory has taken on the mission of taking complex problems and turning them into opportunities. In this context, and to follow up on the observations made by the teachers between March and May 2020, the team imagined a platform that would value all the work developed by the teachers during this period of distance learning. Entitled Moser Channel, this virtual space collected and organized by grade and subject the pedagogical content created by the teachers.  

From French to history, science, mathematics, art or body expression: each of them reinterpreted their subject in a digital way, sometimes conceiving small digital jewels or sessions full of inventiveness to compensate for the possibility of seeing themselves in flesh and blood.  

In addition, many teachers have allowed students to be actively involved. The "Check out our student-made videos" tab showcases rich and unexpected content. From drama to music to prose to biology, students became actors in their own teaching, leveraging their digital skills and the topics they learned in class.  

The platform currently has 317 online courses. Created on Sharepoint (Office 365), it meets several objectives: first of all, to allow the exchange of content between the different Moser schools (located in Geneva, Nyon and Berlin), but also to inspire teachers and to bring them to discuss their practices.  

Its use remains simple: access by level and then by discipline. The courses are then listed, mentioning the topics covered, the target level and the author. Teachers wishing to enrich the platform can write to the Moser Lab team or upload their videos to Microsoft Stream. The videos are then reorganized and classified according to their content and relevance.  

If until now teachers kept their materials separately, Moser Channel values their work and creates an exchange among the school staff, making life easier for them and thus allowing for better collaboration.  

A positive change 

The pandemic has therefore been a vector of positive change for education. Teachers have discovered and integrated into their daily practices the concept of flipped classrooms, the use of videos, the integration of activities via tools such as Forms, Socrative, Quizlet or Teams, the organization of online support or the use of OneNote for homework management. 

Use of the Ipad in class at the Moser School of Nyon

The Moser Channel platform continues to evolve and grow, offering a variety of content that reflects the world we live in today. In addition, MoserLab has also developed a training catalog that provides teachers, students and administrators with tutorials on all the software and applications they use on a daily basis.  

The Moser Lab is constantly on the lookout for new educational opportunities and will regularly enrich its training catalog and the Moser Channel platform and develop new projects.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un laboratoire d’innovations au service des enseignants

Notre collaboratrice présente un témoignage sur la façon dont le personnel de l’École Moser, un établissement d’enseignement trilingue accueillant des élèves de 8 à 18 ans, en Suisse, a traversé la pandémie et a pérennisé les usages du numérique, notamment par la mise en place d’un espace Teams dédié au partage de contenu entre les enseignants.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Par Karine Yoakim Pasquier pour le Moser Lab, au sein de l’École Moser 

Notre collaboratrice présente un témoignage sur la façon dont le personnel de l’École Moser, un établissement d’enseignement trilingue accueillant des élèves de 8 à 18 ans, en Suisse, a traversé la pandémie et a pérennisé les usages du numérique, notamment par la mise en place d’un espace Teams dédié au partage de contenu entre les enseignants.

Ecole Moser à Genève

Si la pandémie de Covid-19 a modifié la société sur de multiples points, l’éducation n’a pas été épargnée. En Suisse, le 13 mars 2020, le Conseil Fédéral a annoncé diverses mesures, dont la fermeture des écoles et des universités, forçant les enseignants à se réinventer et les élèves à suivre les cours depuis chez eux, et ce, pour une durée de deux mois. 

Puis, à partir de septembre, la rentrée s’est organisée en formation mixte, proposant en parallèle des classes en ligne et en présentiel, offrant ainsi la possibilité aux élèves en quarantaine d’assister aux cours malgré tout. Les professeurs ont donc été contraints de travailler différemment, en plus d’intégrer l’informatique à leur pratique journalière, et ce, pour de bon.  

C’est dans ce cadre que l’École Moser, fondée en 1961 à Genève et présente à Nyon et Berlin, a réfléchi sur comment pérenniser l’expérience traversée par ses enseignants. Proposant un cursus trilingue à plus de 1 500 élèves de 8 à 18 ans, l’établissement a toujours été considéré comme étant en avance sur son temps en matière d’intégration des nouvelles technologies… et la crise a permis de vérifier que tout ce qui avait été mis en place précédemment était solide et fonctionnel. L’expérience s’est révélée positive, mettant en lumière la résilience et la créativité des enseignants qui ont su faire face à une situation exceptionnelle.  

La bibliothèque de l’école primaire à Genève

Le métier d’enseignant, fait de résilience et de réinvention 

Dès le 13 mars 2020, les enseignants de l’École Moser se sont réorganisés : de la 3 année du primaire (équivalent du CE2 en France) à la fin du secondaire (correspondant au lycée), les élèves devaient pouvoir continuer leur cursus scolaire. Vidéos, cours en live via le logiciel Teams, réalisation de courts métrages à la maison, mise en place de devoirs en ligne, le corps professoral n’a cessé de se réinventer.  Toutefois, tout s’est fait dans l’urgence et chaque employé a alors dû apprendre à gérer ses classes, ses horaires et son contenu, en un temps record. 

Afin de connaître les défis rencontrés par les 116 enseignants de l’école au cours de cette période, un sondage leur a été envoyé pour en apprendre un peu plus sur ce qu’ils avaient vécu. 46,6 % des sondés ont identifié le contexte des cours à distance à la fois comme assez stressante, mais stimulante.  

L’expérience a été une source de renouveau et d’inspiration pour la plupart des intéressés. Elle a néanmoins aussi représenté une énorme charge de travail, qui a forcé de nombreux enseignants à réorganiser leur contenu pour l’adapter en ligne, ainsi qu’à acquérir de multiples compétences numériques de manière rapide.  

Moser Channel, un espace d’échange et de valorisation 

Depuis 4 ans, l’École Moser s’est dotée d’un département appelé Moser Lab dont l’objectif est multiple : formation du personnel au numérique, mise en place de divers projets digitaux, aide personnalisée. Le Moser Lab se veut la référence en termes de pédagogie numérique au sein de l’École et se destine à guider les enseignants dans l’évolution de leurs pratiques. Au passage, le Lab touche aussi à des thématiques comme le leadership, la culture organisationnelle, les technologies, les données et la communication, qui sont des enjeux bien présents à l’ère du numérique.

Atelier créatif pendant lequel les élèves devaient imaginer la ville de demain.

Pour faire face à ces enjeux, le laboratoire s’est donné comme mission de prendre des problématiques complexes et de les transformer en opportunité. Dans ce cadre-là, et pour donner suite aux observations réalisées par les enseignants entre mars et mai 2020, l’équipe a imaginé une plateforme valorisant tout le travail développé par les enseignants pendant cette période d’enseignement à distance. Intitulé Moser Channel, cet espace virtuel a donc récolté puis organisé par degrés et par matières, les contenus pédagogiques créés par les enseignants.  

Du français à l’histoire en passant par les sciences, les mathématiques, l’art ou l’expression corporelle : chacun a réinterprété sa matière de manière numérique, concevant parfois de petits bijoux numériques ou des séances regorgent d’inventivité pour pallier la possibilité de se voir en chair et en os.  

En complément, de nombreux enseignants ont permis aux élèves de s’impliquer activement. L’onglet « Découvrez nos vidéos réalisées par les élèves » met de l’avant un contenu riche et inattendu. Du théâtre à la musique, en passant par la lecture suivie ou la biologie, les élèves sont devenus acteurs de leur propre enseignement, mettant à profit leurs compétences numériques et les sujets appris en classe.  

La plateforme compte à l’heure actuelle 317 cours en ligne. Créée sur Sharepoint (Office 365), elle répond à plusieurs objectifs : tout d’abord de permettre l’échange de contenus entre les différentes écoles Moser (situées à Genève, Nyon et Berlin), mais également, d’inspirer les enseignants ainsi que de les amener à discuter de leurs pratiques.  

Son utilisation reste simple : un accès par niveau puis par discipline. Les cours sont alors listés en mentionnant les thématiques abordées, le degré cible et son auteur. Les enseignants souhaitant enrichir la plateforme peuvent écrire à l’équipe du Moser Lab ou déposer leurs vidéos sur Microsoft Stream. Celles-ci sont ensuite réorganisées et classées en fonction de leur contenu et de leur pertinence.  

Si jusqu’alors, les enseignants conservaient leurs matériels chacun de leur côté, Moser Channel valorise leur travail et instaure un échange parmi le personnel de l’école, leur facilitant la vie et permettant par conséquent une meilleure collaboration.  

Un changement positif 

La pandémie a donc été un vecteur de changement positif pour l’éducation. Les enseignants ont découvert puis intégré dans leurs pratiques quotidiennes le concept de classe inversée, l’usage de vidéos, l’intégration d’activités via des outils tels que Forms, Socrative, Quizlet ou encore Teams, l’organisation de soutien en ligne ou l’utilisation de OneNote pour la gestion des devoirs. 

Utilisation de l’Ipad en cours à l’Ecole Moser de Nyon

De son côté, la plateforme Moser Channel continue d’évoluer et ne cesse de grandir, offrant une variété de contenu qui reflète le monde dans lequel nous vivons désormais. En complément, le MoserLab a aussi mis en place un catalogue de formations proposant au personnel enseignant ainsi qu’aux élèves et aux équipes administratives des tutoriels sur l’ensemble des logiciels et applications qu’ils utilisent au quotidien.  

Menant une veille pédagogique constante, le Moser Lab veillera à enrichir régulièrement son catalogue de formations ainsi que la plateforme Moser Channel et à développer de nouveaux projets.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :