ADVERTISEMENT

Increasing student services in speech therapy with digital technology: a reality at the CSS des Patriotes

The pandemic has brought forward new ways of providing services to students in the public school system. Remote speech therapy has proven to be more than conclusive, making it possible not only to provide services but also to improve existing practices. At a time when waiting lists are stretching for school speech therapy, is the key at hand?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

By Josée Beaudoin, collaborator, Networked school

The pandemic has brought forward new ways of providing services to students in the public school system. Remote speech therapy has proven to be more than conclusive, making it possible not only to provide services but also to improve existing practices. At a time when waiting lists are stretching for school speech therapy, is the key at hand?

Kathleen Roy, speech therapist for more than twenty years in Montérégie, began her career as a violinist and teacher, graduating from the Vincent-d'Indy School of Music and the University of Montreal. She had to opt for a second career and chose to complete a bachelor's and master's degree in speech therapy afterwards. "Music and speech therapy have similarities in fact, it's about communication, language, voice too," she says.

Kathleen's leitmotif, like that of many speech therapists, is to help young people experiencing language difficulties as much as possible. Because these difficulties leave traces for life if they are not taken care of enough: learning disabilities, low self-esteem, strained social relations, isolation, behavioral problems to compensate for the difficulty in communicating, etc. And the arrival of the pandemic has amplified the urgency of offering these services to students, everywhere in Quebec.

Kathleen Roy, who was not particularly keen on the use of digital technology, quickly developed an approach for remote speech therapy, in the context where she had to be teleworking. She thought about the choice of tools, having to quickly appropriate other ways of intervening. “I got out of my comfort zone, that's for sure, but it was the right thing to do so that the services were accessible and met the needs of young people,” she explains.

The Center de services scolaire des Patriotes thus created a telespeech therapy service dedicated to schools where no speech therapist was present on the premises. This service, offered by Kathleen Roy, was operational five (5) days a week in 2020-2021, and it is still operational in 2021-2022 in addition to the services offered in person. It is a sort of one-stop shop for student assessment and follow-up services. Tools and platforms are used with online material. Kathleen Roy has developed totally remote work processes with students from 8 schools this year.

“Remote speech therapy has been done for a long time in the private sector, particularly in France and also in Quebec in private clinics. Why not introduce it into the public sector? I am originally from the Côte-Nord, where distances do not always facilitate the provision of services to students. Much more can be done remotely; every half hour or hour of travel for the speech therapist means reduced services for the students. »

Go further with students

The results observed are astonishing, not only in terms of service capacity, but also in terms of clinical effects. On the one hand, young people are receptive to this mode of intervention and their motivation is there. There is increased attention among students and the opportunity to devote more time to speech therapy exercises and follow-ups between meetings. 

On the other hand, and this is an aspect particularly noted by Kathleen Roy, remote speech therapy is an asset for going further with students because observation in the living environment makes it possible to improve the evaluation. The case of a very shy child in class made it possible in remote intervention from home (and with parents) to understand the origin of language problems more quickly and thus accelerate support for the student. 

The case of an autistic child made it possible to intervene much better in the remote link, by discovering that the child had much more potential, and thus to adjust the follow-up accordingly. And of course, we must not neglect the facilitated link with parents in remote intervention, which is much appreciated because it offers a lot of flexibility.

Kathleen Roy also stresses the importance of structures in support of remote practice. For the youngest students (kindergarten and first cycle), collaboration with the special education technicians (TES) was required so that they accompanied the student to the school premises provided to meet the speech therapist remotely, and can manipulate the computer if necessary. 

The mandate of the school speech therapist is to evaluate and support students, of course, but also to carry out prevention, promotion and collaboration activities, coaching and knowledge transfer to teachers. Remote practice saves time to devote to all of these roles, for the benefit of students.

What are the limitations of remote speech therapy, are there clinically restricted areas? For Kathleen Roy, it is certain that certain manipulations, such as the use of a tongue depressor, are not done in virtual mode. But she believes that one can imagine that the work of the school speech therapist could be done 70 % remotely and 30 % in person, which would ensure a quality and quantity of services to students much greater than what it is currently possible to do: "We are in a helping relationship, the young people need speech therapy, too many of them do not benefit from the services they need, we do not have time to take good care of them and that's dramatic. Digital is the solution to finally explode the services for them. »

An innovation to generalize

Kathleen Roy was able to adapt certain administrative processes to take account of remote intervention, whether it was session recording practices, parental consent forms or record-keeping tools. She tested videoconferencing platforms, online exercisers and learned to integrate such tools into her daily life. The leadership of the CSS (additional services, legal, technological, etc.) is crucial here to ensure the deployment of the required conditions. 

As Geneviève Lapointe, head of professional services at the CSS des Patriotes, points out, "Kathleen's initiative and the results achieved with telespeech therapy are major for our mission, it is essential for us to support such innovation and ensure its generalization on the scale of our territory. »

For Kathleen, the pandemic will have been a moment of significant professional growth, which provides a glimpse of solutions to the problem of the lack of speech therapy services in the public school system. Because as a speech therapy professional, one dream remains: that of eradicating as soon as possible the language problems that mortgage the adult lives of thousands of Quebecers.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Accroître les services aux élèves en orthophonie avec le numérique : une réalité au CSS des Patriotes

La pandémie a mis de l’avant de nouvelles façons de faire pour assurer les services aux élèves dans le système scolaire public. L’orthophonie à distance s’est avérée plus que concluante, permettant non seulement d’assurer les services mais également de bonifier les pratiques existantes. À l’heure où les listes d’attente s’étirent en orthophonie scolaire, la clé serait-elle à portée de main?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Par Josée Beaudoin, collaboratrice, École en réseau

La pandémie a mis de l’avant de nouvelles façons de faire pour assurer les services aux élèves dans le système scolaire public. L’orthophonie à distance s’est avérée plus que concluante, permettant non seulement d’assurer les services mais également de bonifier les pratiques existantes. À l’heure où les listes d’attente s’étirent en orthophonie scolaire, la clé serait-elle à portée de main?

Kathleen Roy, orthophoniste depuis plus de vingt ans en Montérégie, a commencé son parcours par une carrière de violoniste et d’enseignante, issue de l’École de musique Vincent-d’Indy et de l’Université de Montréal. Elle a dû opter pour une seconde carrière et a choisi de compléter baccalauréat et maîtrise en orthophonie par la suite. « La musique et l’orthophonie ont des similarités en fait, il s’agit de communication, de langage, de la voix aussi », souligne-t-elle.

Le leitmotiv de Kathleen, tout comme celui de nombreuses orthophonistes, c’est d’aider au maximum les jeunes éprouvant des difficultés avec le langage. Car ces difficultés laissent des traces pour toute la vie si on ne s’en occupe pas suffisamment : troubles d’apprentissage, faible estime de soi, relations sociales tendues, isolement, troubles de comportement pour compenser la difficulté à communiquer, etc. Et l’arrivée de la pandémie a amplifié l’urgence d’offrir ces services aux élèves, partout au Québec.

Kathleen Roy, qui n’était pas particulièrement portée sur l’usage du numérique, a rapidement mis au point une approche pour l’orthophonie à distance, dans le contexte où elle devait être en télétravail. Elle a réfléchi au choix des outils, devant rapidement s’approprier d’autres façons d’intervenir. « Je suis sortie de ma zone de confort, c’est sûr, mais c’était la chose à faire pour que les services soient accessibles et répondre aux besoins des jeunes », explique-t-elle.

Le Centre de services scolaire des Patriotes a ainsi créé un service de téléorthophonie dédié aux écoles où aucune orthophoniste n’était présente sur les lieux. Ce service, offert par Kathleen Roy, a été opérationnel cinq (5) jours par semaine en 2020-2021, et il l’est toujours en 2021-2022 en complément aux services offerts en présence. Il s’agit en quelque sorte d’un guichet unique pour des services d’évaluation et de suivi des élèves. Des outils et des plateformes sont utilisés avec du matériel en ligne. Kathleen Roy a mis au point des processus de travail totalement à distance avec les élèves de 8 écoles cette année.

« L’orthophonie à distance, cela se fait depuis longtemps dans le secteur privé, en France notamment et aussi au Québec en clinique privée. Pourquoi ne pas l’introduire dans le secteur public? Je suis originaire de la Côte-Nord, où les distances ne facilitent pas toujours l’offre de services aux élèves. On peut faire beaucoup plus à distance; chaque demie-heure ou heure de déplacement pour l’orthophoniste, ça veut dire des services réduits pour les élèves. »

Aller plus loin avec les élèves

Les résultats observés sont étonnants, non seulement en termes de capacité de services, mais aussi en termes d’effets cliniques. D’une part, les jeunes sont réceptifs à ce mode d’intervention et leur motivation est au rendez-vous. On observe une attention accrue chez les élèves et l’opportunité de consacrer plus de temps à des exercices et suivis d’orthophonie entre les rencontres. 

D’autre part, et c’est là un aspect particulièrement noté par Kathleen Roy, l’orthophonie à distance est un atout pour aller plus loin avec des élèves parce que l’observation en milieu de vie permet de bonifier l’évaluation. Le cas d’un enfant très timide en classe a permis dans l’intervention à distance depuis la maison (et avec les parents) de comprendre plus rapidement l’origine des problèmes de langage et ainsi accélérer le soutien à l’élève. 

Le cas d’un enfant autiste a permis d’intervenir beaucoup mieux dans le lien à distance, en découvrant que l’enfant avait beaucoup plus de potentiel, et ainsi ajuster le suivi en conséquence. Et bien sûr, il ne faut pas négliger le lien facilité avec les parents dans l’intervention à distance, très apprécié car offrant beaucoup de flexibilité.

Kathleen Roy souligne également l’importance des structures en soutien à la pratique à distance. Pour les plus jeunes élèves (maternelle et premier cycle), la collaboration avec les techniciennes en éducation spécialisée (TES) était requise pour que celles-ci accompagnent l’élève dans le local de l’école prévu pour rencontrer l’orthophoniste à distance, et puissent au besoin manipuler l’ordinateur. 

Le mandat de l’orthophoniste scolaire est d’évaluer et de soutenir les élèves bien sûr, mais aussi de mener des activités de prévention, de promotion et de collaboration, de coaching et de transfert de savoirs auprès des enseignants. La pratique à distance permet de gagner du temps pour se consacrer à l’ensemble de ces rôles, au bénéfice des élèves.

Quelles sont les limites de l’orthophonie à distance, y a-t-il des zones sur le plan clinique qui en restreignent la pratique? Pour Kathleen Roy, il est certain que certaines manipulations, comme l’utilisation d’un abaisse-langue, ne se font pas en mode virtuel. Mais elle estime qu’on peut imaginer que le travail de l’orthophoniste scolaire pourrait se faire à 70 % à distance et à 30 % en présence, ce qui permettrait d’assurer une qualité et une quantité de services aux élèves beaucoup plus importante que ce qu’il est possible de faire actuellement : « On est en relation d’aide, les jeunes ont besoin d’orthophonie, trop d’entre eux ne bénéficient pas des services dont ils ont besoin, on n’a pas le temps de bien s’occuper d’eux et c’est dramatique. Le numérique est la solution pour faire enfin exploser les services pour eux. »

Une innovation à généraliser

Kathleen Roy a pu adapter certains processus administratifs pour tenir compte de l’intervention à distance, qu’il s’agisse des pratiques d’enregistrement de séance, des formulaires de consentement des parents ou des outils de tenue de dossier. Elle a testé des plateformes de visioconférence, des exerciseurs en ligne et appris à intégrer de tels outils dans son quotidien. Le leadership du CSS (services complémentaires, juridiques, technologiques, etc.) s’avère ici crucial pour assurer le déploiement des conditions requises. 

Comme le souligne Geneviève Lapointe, responsable des services professionnels au CSS des Patriotes, « l’initiative de Kathleen et les résultats atteints avec la téléorthophonie sont majeurs pour notre mission, il est primordial pour nous de soutenir une telle innovation et d’en assurer la généralisation à l’échelle de notre territoire. »

Pour Kathleen, la pandémie aura été un moment d’épanouissement professionnel important, qui permet d’entrevoir des solutions au problème de l’insuffisance de services en orthophonie dans le système scolaire public. Parce qu’à titre de professionnelle de l’orthophonie, un rêve demeure : celui d’éradiquer le plus tôt possible les problèmes de langage qui hypothèquent la vie adulte de milliers de Québécois.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :