ADVERTISEMENT

Twitter at the service of spelling: discover the "#twictées"

Teachers are constantly finding new uses for the social network that is Twitter. Here is a recently appeared, the #twictée, to reinforce spelling learning.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Teachers are constantly finding new uses for the social network that is Twitter. Here is a recently appeared, the #twictée, to reinforce spelling learning.

The #twictées are micro-dictations. "Micro", because the words must respect the format of Twitter, ie 140 characters maximum. They are created by one #twittclass for the attention of another. The #twittclasse is a class with an identity on Twitter and using it in an educational way.

Concretely, class A prepares the dictation and sends it to the attention of class B, with which it is twinned. The teachers first agreed on the points to be included. The text is read and worked on in class B like a traditional dictation, then an exchange between the students follows to arrive at an orthographic consensus, which will be sent back to class A.

Following the return of their #twictée, the “twictonauts” of class A are invited to collectively write, still in 140 characters or less, justifications on the spelling difficulties posed by their text. These explanations are called "#twoutils", which are then sent to class B. Finally, class B performs the correction in the light of these #twoutils and returns it without fail to class A. We can watch this presentation on Prezi to understand well.

In this exercise, the students are sometimes transmitters, sometimes recipients, which reinforces the learning of spelling in a fun way. In addition, the use of the Twitter network gives a social dimension to spelling.

"It is an activity in which the students live an experience where the relationship to writing is positive", sums up Nathalie Couzon, a French secondary school teacher. She is more and more interested in it. “In the #twictées, collaboration effectively supports the construction of knowledge and reflection on digital identity. It's the renewal in mode 2.0 of the dictation ritual! "

To participate in the official global #défitwictée, 2014-2015 season, you must come forward to the animators @teachers Where @Karabasse77. Otherwise, we can surely organize ourselves among colleagues!

To read, a meeting with one of the creators of the #twictées, Fabien Hobart.

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Twitter au service de l’orthographe : découvrez les « #twictées »

Les pédagogues ne cessent de trouver de nouvelles utilités au réseau social qu’est Twitter. En voici une récemment apparue, la #twictée, pour renforcer les apprentissages orthographiques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Les pédagogues ne cessent de trouver de nouvelles utilités au réseau social qu’est Twitter. En voici une récemment apparue, la #twictée, pour renforcer les apprentissages orthographiques.

Les #twictées sont des micro-dictées. « Micro », car les mots doivent respecter le format de Twitter, c’est à dire 140 caractères au maximum. Elles sont créées par une #twittclasse à l’attention d’une autre. La #twittclasse est une classe possédant une identité sur Twitter et s’en servant de façon pédagogique.

Concrètement, la classe A prépare la dictée et l’achemine à l’attention de la classe B, avec laquelle elle est jumelée. Les enseignants se sont d’abord concertés sur les points à inclure. Le texte est lu et travaillé dans la classe B comme une dictée traditionnelle, puis s’ensuit un échange entre les élèves pour en arriver à un consensus orthographique, qui sera renvoyé à la classe A.

Suite au retour de leur #twictée, les « twictonautes » de la classe A sont invités à rédiger collectivement, toujours en 140 caractères ou moins, des justifications sur les difficultés orthographiques posées par leur texte. On appelle ces explications les « #twoutils », qui sont ensuite envoyés à la classe B. Finalement, la classe B effectue la correction à la lumière de ces #twoutils et la renvoie sans faute à la classe A. On peut visionner cette présentation sur Prezi pour bien comprendre.

Dans cet exercice, les élèves sont tantôt émetteurs, tantôt destinataires, ce qui renforce les apprentissages orthographiques de façon amusante. De plus, l’utilisation du réseau Twitter donne une dimension sociale à l’orthographe.

« C’est une activité dans laquelle les élèves vivent une expérience où le rapport à l’écriture est positif », résume Nathalie Couzon, enseignante de français au secondaire. Elle s’y intéresse d’ailleurs de plus en plus. « Dans les #twictées, la collaboration supporte efficacement la construction du savoir et la réflexion sur l’identité numérique. C’est le renouvellement en mode 2.0 du rituel de la dictée! »

Pour participer au #défitwictée global officiel, saison 2014-2015, il faut se manifester auprès des animateurs @profdesecoles ou @Karabasse77. Sinon, on peut sûrement s’organiser entre collègues!

À lire, une entrevue avec avec l’un des idéateurs des #twictées, Fabien Hobart.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :