second languages

3 ways to unite the teaching and development of oral skills in French and English in secondary school

In this article, our collaborators, France Legault, Maxime Paquet and Dave Parenteau, offer a few ways to maximize efforts and promote collaboration between all language teachers.

Entertaining projects for teachers and students

Sara Hurley and Kali-Anne Monneret are two teachers from Quebec who are currently working at Lycée Antoine-de-Saint-Exupéry in Santiago, Chile. They are passionate about educational innovation and have undertaken various educational projects aimed at improving education in their primary school. They tell us about it here!

Learning languages in the digital age: challenges and opportunities

The New Media Consortium, an influential American association that brings together specialists in educational technology, has just published an expected report on trends, challenges and opportunities related to language learning in the digital age.

Learning a new language: possible and beneficial at any age

For cognitive reasons, it is often easier for children to learn a foreign language than for adults. A recent study indicates that the benefits of learning a new language on the brain are significant, for both children and adults.

Singing in a foreign language significantly promotes learning

According to a study by the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, published in the journal Memory & Cognition, it is proven that singing in another language promotes the learning of the latter. Do your vocalizations!

Explore, a premier second-language immersion program, celebrates 40 years

News Release - This year marks the 40th anniversary of Explore (formerly the Summer Language Bursary Program), which was created by the federal government and the provinces and territories in 1971 to promote the study of French and English as a second language among young people in Canada.

langues secondes

3 pistes pour unir l’enseignement et le développement des compétences à l’oral en français et en anglais au secondaire

Dans cet article, nos collaborateurs, France Legault, Maxime Paquet et Dave Parenteau, proposent quelques pistes afin de maximiser les efforts et favoriser la collaboration entre tous les enseignants de langues.

Des projets divertissants pour les enseignants et les élèves

Sara Hurley et Kali-Anne Monneret sont deux enseignantes québécoises qui travaillent présentement au Lycée Antoine-de-Saint-Exupéry à Santiago, au Chili. Elles sont passionnées d’innovation pédagogique et ont entrepris divers projets éducatifs ayant comme objectif d’améliorer l’éducation dans leur école primaire. Elles nous en parlent ici!

Apprendre les langues à l’ère du numérique : défis et opportunités

Le New Media Consortium, une association américaine influente qui rassemble des spécialistes des technologies éducatives, vient de publier un rapport attendu portant sur les tendances, les défis et les opportunités en lien avec l’apprentissage des langues à l’ère du numérique.

Apprendre une nouvelle langue : possible et bénéfique à tout âge

Pour des raisons cognitives, il est souvent plus facile pour les enfants d’apprendre une langue étrangère que pour les adultes. Une étude récente indique que les bienfaits de l’apprentissage d’une nouvelle langue sur le cerveau sont importants, et ce, autant chez les enfants que chez les adultes.

Chanter dans une langue étrangère favorise significativement son apprentissage

Selon une étude de l’Université d’Edimbourg en Écosse, publiée dans le journal Memory & Cognition, il est prouvé que chanter dans une autre langue favorise l’apprentissage de cette dernière. Faites vos vocalises!

Explore, un programme d’immersion en langue seconde de premier ordre, célèbre ses 40 ans

Communiqué - Cette année marque le 40e anniversaire d'Explore (anciennement le Programme de bourses d'été de langues), qui a été créé par le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces et territoires en 1971 pour favoriser l'étude du français et de l'anglais langue seconde chez les jeunes au Canada.