"It's a beautiful language, with superb words ..."

Updated on

Do your students know that French is spoken in Canada other than in Quebec? Here is an opportunity to make them aware of this reality through meetings with francophone students from Alberta and activities aimed at enriching their vocabulary by discovering surprising expressions!

ATTENTION: If you are browsing the English version of our site, you will probably see an automatic translation of this guide. 😱 You can change the language from the menu in the header of the site or consult our English language guides here.

The main activities aim to:

Discipline(s)/Subject(s):

👀 Background

Yves Duteil sang in La langue de chez nous the beauties of the French language around the world ...

In Canada, the two official languages are French and English. Less well known, French is not only spoken and taught in Quebec, but also in some communities in other provinces.  

For example, at Notre-Dame School in Edmonton, Alberta, students are learning to speak French and they are proud of it. In this update video, we hear them name expressions or words that they like and talk about their vision of the French language in their predominantly English-speaking province. Their wish? May French take more place in their community!  

Organizations like ACELF support the identity construction of Francophones outside Quebec according to 8 principles that can be discover in these humorous video clips from the Franco-Ontarian group Improtéine.

🗞 SCOOP! SUBSCRIBE!

To get the suggestions for educational activities, you must subscribe to SCOOP! or be a staff member of a member institution!

Add to favorites (0)

Search for activities >

The search engine allows you to search by keyword, level, learning area, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Back to the home page >

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! activity guides and resources to discover

ANNONCE

« C’est une langue belle, avec des mots superbes… »

Mis à jour le

Vos élèves savent-ils qu’on parle français au Canada ailleurs qu’au Québec? Voici une occasion de les sensibiliser à cette réalité à travers la rencontre d'élèves francophones de l'Alberta et d'activités visant à enrichir leur vocabulaire en découvrant des expressions surprenantes!

Les activités principales visent :

Discipline(s) / Matière(s) :

👀 Le contexte

Yves Duteil chantait dans La langue de chez nous les beautés de la langue française à travers le monde…

Au Canada, les deux langues officielles sont le français et l’anglais. Fait moins connu, le français n’est pas seulement parlé et enseigné au Québec, mais également dans certaines communautés des autres provinces.  

Par exemple, à l’école Notre-Dame d’Edmonton, en Alberta, les élèves apprennent à parler le français et ils en sont fiers. Dans cette vidéo de MAJ, on les entend d’ailleurs nommer des expressions ou des mots qu’ils aiment et parler de leur vision de la langue française dans leur province majoritairement anglophone. Leur vœu? Que le français prenne plus de place dans leur milieu!  

Des organismes comme l’ACELF soutiennent la construction identitaire des francophones hors Québec selon 8 principes qu’on peut découvrir dans ces capsules vidéo humoristiques du groupe franco-ontarien Improtéine.

🗞 SCOOP! ABONNEZ-VOUS!

Pour obtenir les suggestions d'activités pédagogiques, vous devez vous abonner à SCOOP! ou faire partie du personnel d'un établissement membre!

Outils pratiques

Marquer comme favori (0)

Télécharger un graphique SSA

PDF : Ce que je sais, ce que je veux savoir, ce que j'ai appris.

Recherche d'activités >

Trouvez une activité par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Retour à la page d'accueil >

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir