The rule of three? It is also made for the virtual!

Technopedagogue Marie-Andrée Ouimet presents her advice on transforming activities designed for the classroom into online activities.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

It's true, our habits have changed over the past year. But if there is one thing that remains for teachers, it is their desire to ensure that students are engaged, even from a distance. To this end, technopedagogue Marie-Andrée Ouimet puts into practice a “rule of three” specially designed for online courses.

Originally from Hawkesbury, in Eastern Ontario, and former educational advisor, Marie-Andrée Ouimet regularly presents workshops on the integration of educational tools. Recently, at the request of theACELF, she presented her advice on turning activities designed for the classroom into online activities.

Marie-Andrée Ouimet during a CréaCamp with the École branchée team in 2019

Three things to remember

To make students want to learn even from a distance, they must be given the chance to collaborate in real time with their peers. Young people definitely need to forge social and emotional bonds.

The objective, as teachers, is therefore to recreate this human bond so that students can continue to collaborate even online and that they remain engaged in their learning.

To do that, here are three ways to take up the challenge.

  1. Create a collaborative wall

Creating a collaborative wall allows students to share ideas, write a group plan, and communicate with others. Remember that a collaborative wall is in a way a whiteboard or a shared screen allowing participants to interact by entering ideas, suggestions or by sharing links, images or videos.

  1. Use video

Using video helps give students a voice. They can use it to express their opinions, demonstrate their understanding, and respond to communications from others.

  1. Leverage a variety of digital tools

It can be interesting to create a list of digital tools that students are already familiar with. The teacher then benefits from the students' know-how and can discover new tools. Then, by integrating them into educational activities, it allows students to stay on familiar ground. Nothing prevents you from exploring others together as well.

A concrete example

Let us now present a concrete example, assuming that the students have to introduce inspiring Francophone personalities to their peers.

In class, you would start with a discussion on this subject, giving examples of people from the cultural, sports or scientific world. Subsequently, your students would come together to form teams and reflect on the presentation of a committed Francophone personality. Then, they would share the portrait of the chosen personality.

In virtual mode ...

The initial discussion can take place through a video conferencing application. A summary of the discussion can be recorded in real time on a collaborative wall (eg Padlet, Miro) by screen sharing. Students can refer to it later.

Students can then be separated into sub-groups to work on their project. A variety of digital tools are available to help them record their research results and then prepare a presentation for the class (eg Canva, Genially, PowerPoint or Google Presentations). They will be able to insert digital images, photos or drawings as well as links to other digital resources. The presentation can be made live during a video conference, or they can film themselves and present their video afterwards. You can let them choose the app of their choice depending on your level of fluency.

Moreover, Marie-Andrée Ouimet insists on saying that you do not need to be an expert: “whatever the tool, the important thing is to be at least at ease” with it. here if you have to troubleshoot the students. To guide you, you can also choose according to the compatibility with the platform used in the school (generally Microsoft or Google).

Once all the portraits of French-speaking personalities have been completed, you can even take the activity further by bringing them together to make a virtual exhibition that will be accessible to all. It will be extremely motivating for the students to share all these important role models for them.

Looking for other online classroom activities? ACELF offers more than 500 in its Educational activity bank (BAP).

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La règle de trois? C’est aussi fait pour le virtuel!

La technopédagogue Marie-Andrée Ouimet présente ses conseils sur la transformation d’activités conçues pour la classe en activités en ligne.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

C’est vrai, nos habitudes ont changé depuis la dernière année. Mais s’il y a une chose qui demeure pour les enseignants, c’est bien leur désir de faire en sorte que les élèves soient engagés, même à distance. À cet effet, la technopédagogue Marie-Andrée Ouimet met en pratique une « règle de trois » spécialement conçue pour les cours en ligne.

Originaire de Hawkesbury, dans l’Est ontarien, et ancienne conseillère pédagogique, Marie-Andrée Ouimet présente régulièrement des ateliers sur l’intégration d’outils pédagogiques. Récemment, à la demande de l’ACELF, elle a présenté ses conseils sur la transformation d’activités conçues pour la classe en activités en ligne.

Marie-Andrée Ouimet lors d’un CréaCamp avec l’équipe de l’École branchée en 2019

Trois choses à retenir

Pour donner envie aux élèves d’apprendre même à distance, il faut leur donner la chance de collaborer en temps réel avec leurs camarades. Les jeunes ont définitivement besoin de tisser des liens sociaux et affectifs.

L’objectif, en tant qu’enseignants, est donc de recréer ce lien humain pour que les élèves puissent continuer de collaborer même en ligne et qu’ils demeurent engagés dans leurs apprentissages.

Pour ce faire, voici trois façons de relever le défi.

  1. Créer un mur collaboratif

La création d’un mur collaboratif permet aux élèves de partager des idées, de rédiger un plan de groupe et de communiquer avec les autres. Rappelons qu’un mur collaboratif est en quelque sorte un tableau blanc ou un écran partagé permettant à des participants d’interagir en y inscrivant des idées, des suggestions ou en partageant des liens, des images ou des vidéos.

  1. Utiliser la vidéo

L’utilisation de la vidéo permet de donner une voix aux élèves. Ils peuvent s’en servir pour donner leurs opinions, démontrer leur compréhension et réagir aux communications des autres.

  1. Miser sur une variété d’outils numériques

La création d’une liste d’outils numériques que les élèves connaissent déjà peut s’avérer intéressante. L’enseignant profite alors du savoir-faire des élèves et peut découvrir de nouveaux outils. Puis, en les intégrant aux activités pédagogiques, il permet aux élèves de demeurer en terrain connu. Rien ne vous empêche d’en explorer d’autres ensemble également.

Un exemple concret

Présentons maintenant un exemple concret, en supposant que les élèves doivent faire découvrir des personnalités francophones inspirantes à leurs pairs.

En classe, vous débuteriez avec une discussion sur ce sujet en donnant des exemples de personnes issues du monde culturel, sportif ou scientifique. Par la suite, vos élèves se regrouperaient pour former des équipes et cogiter sur la présentation d’une personnalité francophone engagée. Puis, ils partageraient le portrait de la personnalité choisie.

En mode virtuel…

La discussion initiale peut avoir lieu via une application de vidéoconférence. Un résumé de la discussion peut être consigné en temps réel sur un mur collaboratif (ex. Padlet, Miro) en partage d’écran. Les élèves pourront s’y référer par la suite.

Les élèves peuvent ensuite être séparés en sous-groupes pour travailler sur leur projet. Une panoplie d’outils numériques sont disponibles pour les aider à consigner les résultats de leur recherche, puis à préparer une présentation pour la classe (ex. Canva, Genially, PowerPoint ou Google Présentations). Ils pourront y insérer des images, des photos ou des dessins numériques ainsi que des liens vers d’autres ressources numériques. La présentation pourra être faite en direct lors d’une vidéoconférence, ou bien ils pourront se filmer et présenter leur vidéo ensuite. Vous pouvez les laisser choisir l’application de leur choix selon votre degré d’aisance.

D’ailleurs, Marie-Andrée Ouimet insiste pour dire que vous n’avez pas besoin d’être un expert : « peu importe l’outil, l’important, c’est d’être minimalement à l’aise » avec celui-ci si vous avez à dépanner les élèves. Pour vous guider, vous pouvez aussi choisir en fonction de la compatibilité avec la plateforme utilisée dans l’école (généralement Microsoft ou Google).

Une fois tous les portraits de personnalités francophones réalisés, vous pouvez même pousser l’activité plus loin en les rassemblant pour en faire une exposition virtuelle qui sera accessible à tous. Ce sera ultra-motivant pour les élèves de partager tous ces modèles importants pour eux.

Vous cherchez d’autres activités pour la classe en ligne? L’ACELF en offre plus de 500 dans sa Banque d’activités pédagogiques (BAP).

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!