ADVERTISEMENT

Digital technology in Quebec schools: the equipment is there, uses still need to be developed

Although there are still disparities between schools, since 2014, we have observed "a significant increase" in the use of technology in elementary and secondary schools in Quebec. This is the main finding of the most recent survey carried out by the Academy of Digital Transformation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Although there are still disparities between schools, since 2014, we have observed "a significant increase" in the use of technology in elementary and secondary schools in Quebec. This is the main finding of the most recent survey carried out by the Academy of Digital Transformation.

This survey, carried out within the framework of the Digital Action Plan in Education and Higher Education, aimed to provide a current portrait of the use of digital technology in Quebec schools. It also aimed to measure the progress made since 2014 when a similar study had also been carried out. A third data collection is planned for the 2022-2023 school year.

The results are based on responses from some 600 school principals who completed an online questionnaire. The participation rate of public schools is 23 % and it is 21 % for private schools. As the data collection took place during the year 2020, it should be noted that some results may have been influenced by the pandemic.

Internet and computing devices

  • In 2020, 97 % from public schools and 100 % from private schools had Internet access in all their classrooms.
  • 95 % schools now provide computer equipment to each of their teachers. In 2014, they were only 50 % to do so.
  • Whether or not computer equipment is provided by the school, on average there is now one digital device per two students (50 %) in all schools.
  • Likely due to the pandemic, almost half of schools (47 %) now allow their students to bring home school-provided computer equipment. In 2014, this was the case for just over one in ten schools (11 %).
  • Conversely, a significant number of schools now allow their students to bring their personal tablets and laptops to school (52 % from secondary schools and 77 % from private schools).
  • Half of the elementary and secondary schools in Quebec have at least one traditional computer lab (53 %) or a creative lab (51 %). Some 40 %s also have a robotics lab.

Classroom integration

  • In 2020, more and more schools were integrating digital technology into student learning from preschool (76 % compared to 67 % in 2014).
  • Teachers in private schools use digital technology more in the classroom than teachers in public schools. While 60 % teachers in private schools spend an average of 7 hours or more per week using digital technology in the classroom, 14 % teachers in public schools do the same.
  • Secondary school teachers also use digital technology more than preschool and elementary school teachers.
  • In addition, almost all school administrators and teachers (98 %) now use digital technology to communicate with the parents of students, a marked increase since 2014 (82 %).

Digital skills

  • According to their own perception, 79 % of private school directors say they are very comfortable with the use of digital technology. They are only 44 % in public schools.
  • The difference between private and public schools is also marked for teachers. According to the results, 53 % of teachers in private schools would be very comfortable with digital, compared to 15 % of those in public schools.
  • Moreover, overall, respondents estimate that around 10 % teachers still have very limited knowledge of digital technology and find it difficult to integrate it into their teaching.
  • Likewise, 27 % of teachers would use digital simply to reproduce the same tasks as before, but using digital technology (eg writing on the keyboard rather than with a pencil).
  • Finally, 25 % of teachers in private schools and 15 % of teachers in public schools would use it to carry out new tasks that were impossible before the advent of digital (e.g. have students produce a collaborative document using digital tools). 'an online tool).

Professional development

  • In general, the resources available to improve the digital competence of teachers were more accessible in 2020 than in 2014.
  • In 2020, schools are offering teachers resources to improve their digital competence, for example training (99 %), support, coaching or mentoring (87 %), free time in their schedule to improve their skills. digital competence (63 %).
  • Interestingly, public schools (64 %) are relatively more likely than private schools (49 %) to free up time in their teachers' schedules to improve their digital skills.

Link with the training program

  • Only one in three school directors (34 %) considers digital technology to be a very high priority for teaching and ensuring the success of the Quebec school training program (PFÉQ).
  • In addition, according to the point of view of 16 % of school principals interviewed, more than 50 % of teachers in their school find it difficult to integrate digital into their practices because of the requirements of the training program of the Quebec school. (PFÉQ).

The use of digital technology is growing. The results of the survey show that computer equipment is readily available and that several projects are underway. Nevertheless, significant disparities are observed from one school to another, especially between those in the public sector and those in the private sector. The development of digital skills for all remains at the heart of concerns and becomes a priority.

The full report can be read online.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le numérique dans les écoles québécoises : l’équipement est là, reste à développer les usages

Bien qu’il existe encore des disparités entre les milieux scolaires, depuis 2014, on observe « une augmentation notable » de l’usage des technologies dans les écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec. C’est la principale conclusion de la plus récente enquête réalisée par l’Académie de la transformation numérique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Bien qu’il existe encore des disparités entre les milieux scolaires, depuis 2014, on observe « une augmentation notable » de l’usage des technologies dans les écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec. C’est la principale conclusion de la plus récente enquête réalisée par l’Académie de la transformation numérique.

Cette enquête, réalisée dans le cadre du Plan d’action numérique en éducation et en enseignement supérieur, visait à dresser le portrait actuel de l’usage du numérique dans les écoles québécoises. Elle visait également à mesurer le chemin parcouru depuis 2014 alors qu’une étude semblable avait aussi été réalisée. Une troisième collecte de données est prévue au cours de l’année scolaire 2022-2023.

Les résultats sont basés sur les réponses de quelque 600 directeurs d’école qui ont complété un questionnaire en ligne. Le taux de participation des écoles publiques est de 23 % et il est de 21 % du côté des écoles privées. Comme la collecte de données a eu lieu en cours d’année 2020, il est à noter que certains résultats ont pu être influencés par la pandémie.

Internet et les appareils informatiques

  • En 2020, 97 % des écoles publiques et 100 % des écoles privées disposaient d’un accès à Internet dans toutes leurs salles de classe.
  • 95 % des écoles fournissent maintenant du matériel informatique à chacun de leurs enseignants. En 2014, elles n’étaient que 50 % à le faire.
  • Que les équipements informatiques soient fournis ou non par l’école, en moyenne, il y a maintenant un appareil numérique par deux élèves (50 %) dans l’ensemble des écoles.
  • Probablement en raison de la pandémie, presque la moitié des écoles (47 %) permettent aujourd’hui à leurs élèves d’apporter le matériel informatique fourni par l’école à la maison. En 2014, c’était le cas seulement d’un peu plus d’une école sur dix (11 %).
  • À l’inverse, un nombre significatif d’écoles autorisent maintenant leurs élèves à apporter leurs tablettes et ordinateurs portables personnels à l’école (52 % des écoles secondaires et 77 % des écoles privées).
  • La moitié des écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec disposent d’au moins un laboratoire informatique traditionnel (53 %) ou d’un laboratoire créatif (51 %). Quelque 40 % ont aussi un laboratoire de robotique.

Intégration en classe

  • En 2020, de plus en plus d’écoles intégraient le numérique dans les apprentissages des élèves dès le préscolaire (76 % contre 67 % en 2014).
  • Les enseignants des écoles privées utilisent davantage le numérique en classe que les enseignants des écoles publiques. Alors que 60 % des enseignants des écoles privées passent en moyenne par semaine 7 heures et plus à utiliser le numérique en classe, ce sont 14 % des enseignants des écoles publiques qui en font de même.
  • Les enseignants du secondaire utilisent aussi davantage le numérique que ceux du préscolaire et du primaire.
  • Par ailleurs, la presque totalité des directions d’école et des enseignants (98 %) utilisent désormais le numérique pour communiquer avec les parents des élèves, une nette augmentation depuis 2014 (82 %).

Compétences numériques

  • Selon leur propre perception, 79 % des directeurs d’écoles privées se disent très à l’aise avec l’utilisation du numérique. Ils ne sont que 44 % dans les écoles publiques.
  • La différence entre les écoles privées et publiques est aussi marquée pour les enseignants. Selon les résultats, 53 % des enseignants des écoles privées seraient à très à l’aise avec le numérique, comparativement à 15 % de ceux des écoles publiques.
  • Par ailleurs, dans l’ensemble, les répondants estiment qu’environ 10 % des enseignants auraient encore une connaissance très limitée du numérique et l’intégreraient difficilement dans leur enseignement.
  • De même, 27 % des enseignants utiliseraient le numérique simplement pour reproduire les mêmes tâches qu’avant, mais à l’aide du numérique (ex. écrire au clavier plutôt qu’avec un crayon).
  • Finalement, 25 % des enseignants des écoles privées et 15 % des enseignants des écoles publiques l’utiliseraient pour réaliser de nouvelles tâches qui étaient impossibles avant l’apparition du numérique (ex. faire produire un document collaboratif par les élèves à l’aide d’un outil en ligne).

Développement professionnel

  • De façon générale, les ressources disponibles pour améliorer la compétence numérique des enseignants étaient plus accessibles en 2020 qu’en 2014.
  • En 2020, les écoles offrent aux enseignants des ressources pour améliorer leur compétence numérique, par exemple des formations (99 %), de l’accompagnement, du coaching ou du mentorat (87 %), du temps de libération dans leur horaire pour améliorer leur compétence numérique (63 %).
  • Fait intéressant : les écoles publiques (64 %) sont relativement plus nombreuses que les écoles privées (49 %) à libérer du temps dans l’horaire de leurs enseignants pour améliorer leur compétence numérique.

Lien avec le programme de formation

  • Seulement un directeur d’école sur trois (34 %) considère le numérique comme étant un enjeu très prioritaire pour enseigner et faire réussir le programme de formation de l’école québécoise (PFÉQ).
  • De plus, selon le point de vue de 16 % des directeurs d’école interrogés, plus de 50 % des enseignants de leur école trouvent difficile d’intégrer le numérique dans leurs pratiques en raison des exigences du programme de formation de l’école québécoise (PFÉQ).

L’utilisation du numérique est en croissance. Les résultats de l’enquête démontrent que le matériel informatique est bien disponible et que plusieurs projets sont en cours. Néanmoins, des disparités importantes sont observées d’une école à l’autre, notamment entre celles du secteur public et celles du secteur privé. Le développement des compétences numériques de tous demeure au cœur des préoccupations et devient prioritaire.

On peut lire le rapport complet en ligne.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct