ADVERTISEMENT

The professional order of teachers inspires public confidence

Our interview with Pascale Pellerin, director of two schools of the Navigators school board who spent part of her career in Ontario. We wanted to know how the Ontario College of Teachers inspired its practice.

You might also like:

We met Pascale Pellerin who is director of two schools of the Navigators school board. Pascale has spent part of her career in Ontario. We wanted to know how the Ontario College of Teachers inspired her practice and what she keeps with her today.

Text by Alexane St-Amant Ringuette

First of all, Pascale reminds us that directors are also part of this professional order since they are above all pedagogues and teachers. The order is a rigorous body that first takes care of accreditation so that the courses offered at the university meet the needs of future teachers. The order brings together both management staff and teachers around a code of ethics with common values and principles: respect for the student, respect for the profession, well-being and the progression of the student. children are at the heart of their actions. All professional decisions are thus taken for the well-being, improvement and progress of the child.

" We want a successful child, but above all we want a child who progresses " Pascale pellerin

Assessment for learning

It is with this in mind that Pascale uses evaluation in the service of learning rather than experiencing the evaluation of learning as such. In this interview, she emphasizes the progress of children through diagnostic or formative assessment tools that allow children to get involved. It changes practices.

Assessment for learning is made up of the following ingredients:

  • Clear learning outcomes
  • The co-construction of criteria and proofs of learning
  • Feedback description
  • Peer assessment (educational discourse is developed in children)
  • Self-assessment
  • Setting a personal goal

Listen to Pascale share her experience with the Ontario College of Teachers and her expertise in Assessment for Learning.

" Instead of telling students “this is what you are going to do”, they are told “how do you think we could do the best writing job. " Pascale pellerin

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stéphanie Dionne
Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

L’ordre professionnel des enseignants inspire la confiance du public

0

Nous avons rencontré Pascale Pellerin qui est directrice de deux écoles de la commission scolaire des Navigateurs. Pascale a passé une partie de sa carrière en Ontario. Nous avons voulu savoir comment l’ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario a inspiré sa pratique et ce qu’elle garde avec elle aujourd’hui.

Texte par Alexane St-Amant Ringuette

En premier lieu, Pascale nous rappelle que les directeurs et directrices font également partie de cet ordre professionnel puisque qu’ils sont avant tout des pédagogues et enseignants. L’ordre est un organisme rigoureux qui s’occupe d’abord de l’agrément afin que les cours offerts à l’université répondent bien aux besoins des futurs enseignants. L’ordre rassemble à la fois le personnel de direction et les enseignants autour d’un code de déontologie aux valeurs et aux principes communs : le respect de l’élève, le respect de la profession, le bien-être et la progression de l’enfant sont au coeur de leurs actions. Toutes les décisions professionnelles sont ainsi prises pour le bien-être, l’amélioration et la progression de l’enfant.

« On veut un enfant performant, mais on veut surtout un enfant qui progresse » Pascale Pellerin

L’évaluation au service de l’apprentissage

C’est dans cette optique que Pascale utilise l’évaluation au service des apprentissages plutôt que de vivre l’évaluation de l’apprentissage comme tel. Dans cette entrevue elle met l’emphase sur la progression des enfants au travers des outils d’évaluation diagnostique ou formative qui permettent aux enfants de s’engager. Cela change les pratiques.

L’évaluation au service de l’apprentissage est composé des ingrédients suivants :

  • Des résultats d’apprentissage clairs
  • La co-construction de critères et de preuves d’apprentissage
  • La rétroaction description
  • L’évaluation par les pairs (discours pédagogique est développé chez les enfants)
  • L’autoévaluation
  • L’établissement d’un objectif personnel

Écoutez Pascale vous partager son expérience sur l’ordre professionnel des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario et son expertise au sujet de l’évaluation au service de l’apprentissage.

« Au lieu de dire aux élèves “voici ce que vous allez faire”, on leur dit “comment pensez-vous qu’on pourrait réussir à faire le meilleur travail de rédaction » Pascale Pellerin

Commentaires

Vous avez aimé lire cet article?

Recevez gratuitement l'Hebdo de l'École branchée en ligne!