ADVERTISEMENT

Testimonial: Digital technology to adopt a posture aimed at universal pedagogy

Véronique Chouinard, BÉPEP student at Université Laval, presents a reflection on how teachers can take advantage of the accessibility of digital tools and use them effectively as a means of learning?

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Véronique Chouinard, student of the BÉPEP of Laval University

According to Cathy Brazeau (2019), technology should be favored by the teacher because of its great flexibility, which makes it possible to meet the needs of learners and increase accessibility to learning […]. It is also important to stress that digital is omnipresent in the lives of students. So how can the teacher take advantage of this accessibility and use it effectively as a learning medium?

Does the use of technological tools promote learning?

When planning teaching-learning situations, the teacher must take into account an important factor, namely the cognitive heterogeneity of his learners. It is therefore essential that the teacher knows the strengths, challenges and interests of his students in order to optimize the integration of content. 

When a student learns, three areas of his brain are involved. According to Belleau (2015), when the motor cortex, the limbic system and the prefrontal cortex are called upon at the same time, they mobilize the brain, which promotes learning. For this process to take place, you need an interested and engaged learner. This vision of the learning process is the key element of Universal Design for Learning (UDL). 

Senécal (2018) explains that it is a set of principles related to curriculum development that promotes equal learning opportunities for all individuals. By opting for this pedagogical posture, the teacher uses technologies in a central way in order to offer students an inclusive classroom environment. He knows the diversity of the needs of his learners and chooses technological tools adapted to them.

The digital tool as a source of learning

From this perspective, the teacher must promote the digital tool as a source of learning and not only as a means of entertainment. To do this, he must supervise the use of digital tools and use them moderately. Depending on the pedagogical intentions, the teacher ensures that their use generates a real impact in the learning process rather than being a distraction or an obstacle.

In addition, the use of technological tools also promotes inclusion. Depending on the different needs, the use of digital tablets, interactive whiteboards and educational applications offers a variety of inclusive means. Here are therefore various interventions proposed in connection with the three fundamental principles of the AUC.

Commitment : Focus on stimulating tasks

It is essential to offer stimulating tasks to the students in order to promote the learning process. Several teachers use the free writing routine. In order to promote the virtual engagement of students, the teacher can, for example, integrate it digitally. Using the tools of Google Slides or from Google docs, the teacher can more easily provide feedback to the students and they can come back to work on a text without having to start all over again. 

In addition, they can add images related to their texts, vary the fonts and collaboratively write a text remotely. This greatly promotes student autonomy and keeps them engaged in the task. If free writing is a class routine, digital free writing can also become so in order to see the progress of students, both in terms of their digital autonomy and in terms of the learning achieved.

To adapt to the different rhythms of the students and facilitate the continuity of learning, the teacher can offer the submission of work electronically using Wizer.me. This tool looks like Google Forms, but offers several digital devices such as text holes, multiple choices, identification of elements in an image, etc. 

The teacher can send a previously constructed assessment to the platform and the students can thus perform the assessment. Using this tool, the teacher can create weekly reviews, dictations, cards for the number of the day, questionnaires, etc. Its operation is similar to that of platforms Seesaw and Google Classroom. The teacher must create an account and register his students on the platform. He can thus ensure the follow-up of the discounts, see the progress of the students and vary the assessment formats. Finally, it is also possible to provide written or vocal feedback when the evaluation is delivered. 

Representation: Opt for interactivity

Knowing the variety of learner needs, it is important for teachers to offer content in different formats during learning activities. The educational differentiation is therefore promoted by focusing on the different interests of the students. 

Among the panoply of means, the teacher can present the information by using educational videos, diagrams, sketches or images to support his teaching. He can then deposit them on a platform such as Seesaw, Teams or Google Classroom so that students can access it at all times. The pupils can then review the content and make sure that they have understood the material correctly. 

Not only does this accessibility promote their capacity for self-evaluation with regard to their learning, but it also allows students to develop strategies that they can reuse in other contexts using the same tools. 

To promote digital interaction and check students' understanding, the teacher can ask them to give feedback on their learning via an audio or video recording. Beforehand, the teacher will have supervised the students in order to teach them how to verbalize their understanding and he will use clear learning objectives. The pupils will therefore have an easier time performing the task and they will also develop their digital skills.

Another interesting way is the use of podcasts. To assess competence Read various texts, students are offered different types of everyday or literary texts in order to develop the different strategies relating to text comprehension. But, what about their listening understanding? Given the accessibility and diversity of existing podcasts, it is relevant to use them to assess students differently. Depending on their educational intent, the teacher can choose a podcast and provide the student with questions on paper or electronically. Students can therefore listen to the podcast at their own pace and answer the various questions afterwards. 

Both in class and at home, students can complete the task using their digital tablet, phone or computer. There are several interesting podcasts on the website of Radio-Canada And the one of Flea in the ear. To go even further, the teacher can suggest that the students record their own podcasts and thus explore the skill of communicating orally.

Expression: Encourage the creativity of learners

The guiding principles of the AUC encourage the teacher to focus on the creativity of the learner and to prioritize the different modes of expression. According to Couture (2020), in the article Organize your ideas efficiently & creatively, "Creativity helps to attract attention and to make connections with our vision of the world". From this perspective, certain digital tools allow students to interact and participate in the teacher's presentations. 

Using extensions Pear Deck or Near Pod on presentations Google Slides, the teacher can engage the students in teaching a concept. It can add different types of interaction in the slides such as whiteboard, word wall or interactive questions. The teacher must first share the presentation code like the quizzes Kahoot and students can access the presentation on their digital tablet, phone or computer. 

The teacher can choose different display types for responses and manage student responses. The teacher can ask the students to draw an element related to the subject taught or to write a simple word to give feedback on the learning. In short, the use of these tools offers several interesting possibilities.

Finally, to encourage learners' creativity, the teacher can allow the students to express themselves freely in relation to the concepts retained using the croquinote method and the application. Sketchbook. However, in order for the students to truly benefit from this method, it is important that the teacher explains the basics of it to the students. 

Using a sheet of paper, he can simply ask them to draw shapes such as a circle, square, cloud and use different colors to emphasize their drawings. Subsequently, he can ask them to write or draw the information retained on any subject. 

At another time, the teacher can give the same instructions to the students, but they must use the app Sketchbook. This app allows students to use colored pencils, felt-tip pens, paintbrushes, create shapes, etc. They can therefore express themselves in their own way. 

The teacher can use this method as a return to the end of a teaching-learning situation or set aside an entire period so that students can write down their knowledge on a topic before an assessment. They will be able to develop their skills to synthesize information and to represent important information in their own way and according to them. Moreover, the Coach Mao resources offer several great resources to learn about croquinote.

In short, the use of digital technology allows teachers to opt for a posture aimed at universal pedagogy. They become aware of the diversity of learners and choose technological tools that aim to develop the full potential of students. The effects are thus maximized. 

References

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Témoignage : Le numérique pour adopter une posture visant la pédagogie universelle

Véronique Chouinard, étudiante du BÉPEP de l’Université Laval, présente une réflexion sur comment l’enseignant peut tirer avantage de l'accessibilité des outils numériques et les utiliser de façon efficace comme moyen d’apprentissage?

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Véronique Chouinard, étudiante du BÉPEP de l’Université Laval

Selon Cathy Brazeau (2019), la technologie devrait être privilégiée par l’enseignant en raison de sa très grande flexibilité qui permet de répondre aux besoins des apprenants et d’augmenter l’accessibilité à l’apprentissage […]. Il est également important de souligner que le numérique est omniprésent dans la vie des élèves. Ainsi, comment l’enseignant peut-il tirer avantage de cette accessibilité et l’utiliser de façon efficace comme moyen d’apprentissage?

L’utilisation d’outils technologiques favorise-t-elle les apprentissages?

Lors de la planification de situations d’enseignement-apprentissage, l’enseignant doit prendre en compte un facteur important, soit l’hétérogénéité cognitive de ses apprenants. Il est donc primordial que l’enseignant connaisse les forces, les défis et les intérêts de ses élèves afin d’optimiser l’intégration des contenus. 

Lorsqu’un élève apprend, trois zones de son cerveau sont sollicitées. Selon Belleau (2015), lorsque le cortex moteur, le système limbique et le cortex préfrontal sont sollicités en même temps, ils mobilisent le cerveau, ce qui favorise l’apprentissage. Pour que ce processus soit enclenché, il faut un apprenant intéressé et engagé. Cette vision du processus d’apprentissage est l’élément clé de la conception universelle de l’apprentissage (CUA). 

Senécal (2018) explique que c’est un ensemble de principes liés au développement du curriculum qui favorise les possibilités d’apprentissage égales pour tous les individus. En optant pour cette posture pédagogique, l’enseignant utilise les technologies de façon centrale afin d’offrir aux élèves un environnement de classe inclusif. Il connaît la diversité des besoins de ses apprenants et choisit des outils technologiques adaptés à ces derniers.

L’outil numérique comme source d’apprentissage

Dans cette optique, l’enseignant doit promouvoir l’outil numérique comme une source d’apprentissage et non seulement comme un moyen de divertissement. Pour ce faire, il doit encadrer l’utilisation des outils numériques et les utiliser modérément. Selon les intentions pédagogiques, l’enseignant s’assure que leur utilisation engendre un réel impact dans le processus d’apprentissage plutôt que d’être une distraction ou un obstacle.

De plus, l’utilisation des outils technologiques favorise également l’inclusion. Selon les différents besoins, l’utilisation de tablettes numériques, de tableaux interactifs et d’applications pédagogiques offre une panoplie de moyens inclusifs. Voici donc différentes interventions proposées en lien avec les trois principes fondamentaux de la CUA.

Engagement : Miser sur des tâches stimulantes

Il est essentiel de proposer des tâches stimulantes aux élèves afin de favoriser le processus d’apprentissage. Plusieurs enseignants utilisent la routine d’écriture libre. Afin de favoriser l’engagement virtuel des élèves, l’enseignant peut, par exemple, l’intégrer de façon numérique. En utilisant les outils de Google Slides ou de Google Docs, l’enseignant peut plus facilement fournir des rétroactions aux élèves et ces derniers peuvent revenir travailler sur un texte sans devoir tout recommencer. 

De plus, ils peuvent ajouter des images en lien avec leurs textes, varier les polices d’écriture et écrire collaborativement un texte à distance. Cela favorise grandement l’autonomie de l’élève et le garde engagé dans la tâche. Si l’écriture libre constitue une routine de classe, l’écriture libre numérique peut également le devenir afin de voir le progrès des élèves, autant en ce qui concerne leur autonomie numérique qu’en ce qui concerne les apprentissages réalisés.

Pour s’adapter aux différents rythmes des élèves et faciliter la continuité des apprentissages, l’enseignant peut offrir la remise de travaux électroniquement à l’aide de Wizer.me. Cet outil ressemble à Google Forms, mais offre plusieurs dispositifs numériques tels que des textes troués, des choix multiples, l’identification d’éléments dans une image, etc. 

L’enseignant peut envoyer une évaluation préalablement construite sur la plateforme et les élèves peuvent ainsi réaliser l’évaluation. À l’aide de cet outil, l’enseignant peut créer des revues de semaine, des dictées, des fiches pour le nombre du jour, des questionnaires, etc. Son fonctionnement est similaire à celui des plateformes Seesaw et Google Classroom. L’enseignant doit créer un compte et inscrire ses élèves sur la plateforme. Il peut ainsi assurer le suivi des remises, voir le progrès des élèves et varier les formats d’évaluation. Finalement, il est également possible de fournir des rétroactions écrites ou vocales lors de la remise de l’évaluation. 

Représentation : Opter pour l’interactivité

Connaissant la variété des besoins des apprenants, il est important pour les enseignants de proposer des contenus sous différents formats lors des activités d’apprentissages. La différenciation pédagogique est donc favorisée en misant sur les différents intérêts des élèves. 

Parmi la panoplie de moyens, l’enseignant peut présenter l’information en utilisant des vidéos éducatives, des schémas, des croquinotes ou des images afin d’appuyer son enseignement. Il peut ensuite les déposer sur une plateforme telle que Seesaw, Teams ou Google Classroom afin que les élèves puissent y avoir accès en tout temps. Les élèves peuvent revoir, par la suite, les contenus et s’assurer qu’ils ont bien compris la matière. 

Non seulement cette accessibilité favorise leur capacité d’autoévaluation en ce qui concerne leurs apprentissages, mais cela permet également aux élèves de développer des stratégies qu’ils pourront réutiliser dans d’autres contextes en utilisant les mêmes outils. 

Pour favoriser l’interaction numérique et vérifier la compréhension des élèves, l’enseignant peut demander à ces derniers de faire un retour sur leurs apprentissages via un enregistrement audio ou une vidéo. Préalablement, l’enseignant aura encadré les élèves afin de leur apprendre comment verbaliser leur compréhension et il utilisera des objectifs d’apprentissage clairs. Les élèves auront donc plus de facilité à réaliser la tâche et ils développeront également leurs compétences numériques.

Un autre moyen intéressant est l’utilisation des balados. Pour évaluer la compétence Lire des textes variés, on propose aux élèves différents types de textes courants ou littéraires afin de développer les différentes stratégies se rapportant à la compréhension de texte. Mais, qu’en est-il de leur compréhension à l’écoute? Étant donné l’accessibilité et la diversité des balados existants, il est pertinent de les utiliser pour évaluer les élèves autrement. Selon son intention pédagogique, l’enseignant peut choisir un balado et fournir à l’élève des questions sur papier ou électroniquement. L’élève peut donc écouter le balado à son rythme et répondre aux différentes questions par la suite. 

Autant en classe qu’à la maison, les élèves peuvent réaliser la tâche en utilisant leur tablette numérique, leur téléphone ou leur ordinateur. On retrouve plusieurs balados intéressants sur le site de Radio-Canada et celui de La puce à l’oreille. Pour aller encore plus loin, l’enseignant peut proposer aux élèves d’enregistrer leurs propres balados et ainsi explorer la compétence à communiquer oralement.

Expression : Encourager la créativité des apprenants

Les principes directeurs de la CUA encouragent l’enseignant à miser sur la créativité de l’apprenant et à prioriser les différents modes d’expression. Selon Couture (2020), dans l’article Organiser ses idées de façon efficace & créative, « la créativité aide à attirer l’attention et à faire des liens avec notre vision du monde ». Dans cette optique, certains outils numériques permettent aux élèves d’interagir et de participer aux présentations de l’enseignant. 

En utilisant les extensions Pear Deck ou Near Pod sur les présentations Google Slides, l’enseignant peut engager les élèves dans l’enseignement d’une notion. Il peut ajouter différents types d’interaction dans les diapositives telles que le tableau blanc, le mur de mots ou des questions interactives. L’enseignant doit d’abord partager le code de la présentation comme les questionnaires Kahoot et les élèves peuvent ainsi avoir accès à la présentation sur leur tablette numérique, leur téléphone ou leur ordinateur. 

L’enseignant peut choisir différents types d’affichage pour les réponses et gérer les réponses des élèves. L’enseignant peut demander aux élèves de dessiner un élément en lien avec la matière enseignée ou d’écrire un simple mot pour faire un retour sur les apprentissages. Bref, l’utilisation de ces outils offre plusieurs possibilités intéressantes.

Finalement, pour encourager la créativité des apprenants, l’enseignant peut permettre aux élèves de s’exprimer librement en lien avec les notions retenues à l’aide de la méthode du croquinote et de l’application Sketchbook. Toutefois, afin que les élèves puissent vraiment bénéficier de cette méthode, il est important que l’enseignant explique les bases de celle-ci aux élèves. 

En utilisant une feuille de papier, il peut simplement leur demander de dessiner des formes telles qu’un cercle, un carré, un nuage et d’utiliser différentes couleurs pour mettre l’accent sur leurs dessins. Par la suite, il peut leur demander d’écrire ou de dessiner les informations retenues sur un sujet quelconque. 

À un autre moment, l’enseignant peut donner les mêmes consignes aux élèves, mais ils doivent utiliser l’application Sketchbook. Cette application permet aux élèves d’utiliser des crayons de couleur, des crayons-feutre, des pinceaux, de créer des formes, etc. Ils peuvent donc amplement s’exprimer à leur façon. 

L’enseignant peut utiliser cette méthode comme retour à la fin d’une situation d’enseignement-apprentissage ou réserver une période entière afin que les élèves puissent écrire leurs connaissances sur un sujet avant une évaluation. Ils pourront ainsi développer leurs compétences à synthétiser les informations et à représenter, à leur façon et selon eux, les informations importantes. D’ailleurs, les ressources de Coach Mao offrent plusieurs ressources intéressantes pour s’informer sur le croquinote.

En somme, l’utilisation du numérique permet aux enseignants d’opter pour une posture visant la pédagogie universelle. Ils prennent conscience de la diversité des apprenants et choisissent des outils technologiques qui visent à développer le plein potentiel des élèves. Les effets sont ainsi maximisés. 

Références

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct