L'École branchée, un organisme à but non lucratif
ADVERTISEMENT
0.00 $

No products in the cart.

Digital and self-confidence: the example of a geography project

7 Secondary 3 groups had a particularly enriching experience this year on a human level thanks to a project leading to the production of a video report. The teacher Laurent Di Pasquale tells us.

Published on :

Posted in:
ADVERTISEMENT

7 groups of 3e This year, secondary school students have had a particularly enriching experience on a human level thanks to a project leading to the production of a video report. The teacher Laurent Di Pasquale tells us.   

Laurent Di Pasquale is professor of geography and social sciences at the Athénée royal de l'Air Pur in Seraing, a French-speaking secondary school in Belgium. This year, he made the students of his 7 geography groups of 3e secondary school a major educational project supported by digital technology. Yes, 7 groups at a time! “I knew I wasn't going to make it easy for myself, but I also told myself that if I was doing it with a group, I had to do it with everyone in order to give them the chance to experience the same thing. "

This project concerned the study of the risks linked to the proximity of nuclear power plants, which are numerous in Belgium and in neighboring countries. He explains it in this presentation video:

The project and the contribution of digital technology

From the outset, the teacher provided a activity guide to the students by first explaining to them the expected results and the elements that would be evaluated. Then, for 6 weeks, the students collected the information, identified the dangers, designed their video by writing their script, then filmed. For the teacher, they were really actors in their learning. “The motivation was there, and all the groups achieved their goals,” he explains.

Originally, Laurent Di Pasquale had planned to have them do the video editing themselves, but unfortunately, the school computers did not allow it. He therefore admits having invested a lot of time in preparing the 37 montages for this first edition… However, in the meantime he has submitted two projects to the special “Digital School” fund for Belgium, which have just been accepted. This will allow him in particular to acquire the necessary equipment to add this stage next year, because he intends to continue.

The classes closed the project with a virtual reality tour of the Chernobyl power plant using Oculus Go headsets and the Google Expeditions app.

Develop self-confidence and bond with students

“Carrying out a project with your students is to discover yourself, it is to discover the deepest capacities of our students. "

Laurent Di Pasquale

Along with school concepts, Laurent Di Pasquale aimed to develop a very important aspect in his students: self-confidence. “Getting the students to agree to put themselves in an acting position like this took a lot of positive reinforcement. In fact, he remembers that at the beginning, most of them felt incapable of doing so. “Digital technology, in this project, made it possible to exercise a more social skill, by showing that nothing is impossible and that we are all capable of achieving it at different levels. "

I wanted to know if the use of digital technology had an impact on the quality of the relationship he was able to develop with his students this year. To this question, he answered yes without hesitation. “I can say that we already got along very well at the base, but after that, we could all have won the moon for each other because the energy deployed was so positive. "

He adds that solidarity in the groups quickly took hold as well. For example, since he has to change premises each period, he sometimes had to dismantle and reinstall all the equipment 3 times a day. “The groups did everything they could to make it happen together, it was very rewarding. He also indicates that he witnessed some moving situations during the shootings, such as the time when a whole group applauded to give courage to one of its members who literally burst into tears while in front of the camera, or this other time when all the students turned around to give courage to another… “It was beautiful, and it made us grow. "

Discover the details of the project and the students' productions here on his site!

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique cette année notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité d'orientation stratégique de l'ACELF.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!


You might also like:

Tips for moving forward with flipped classroom

The flipped classroom consists of transmitting more theoretical knowledge to students through video capsules. Annick Arsenault Carter, a Grade 7 teacher at École Le Mascaret in New Brunswick, recently shared her advice.

Low motivation for writing: a primary school team transforms its entire approach

Annie Guay, teacher and pedagogical leader at L'Accueil de Scott, continues her reflection on the keys to success when a school team decides to change its approaches in order to give more value to student learning.

Writing stories without a predefined structure promotes creativity

Who hasn't had to write a plan before producing a story? This practice is well anchored in school practices. A team of researchers from Laval University wanted to know more about the impact of the use of the plan in the writing of stories and is now questioning this practice.

Distance learning: between change and continuity

Steve Quirion and Danny Legault, advisers at the RÉCIT national service, social universe domain (RÉCITus), share observations, practical tools and avenues for reflection in connection with distance education after one year of a pandemic. These can easily be transposed into other disciplines.

Numérique et confiance en soi : l’exemple d’un projet en géographie

Publié le :

7 groupes de 3e secondaire ont vécu cette année une expérience particulièrement enrichissante sur le plan humain grâce à un projet menant à la réalisation d’un reportage vidéo. L’enseignant Laurent Di Pasquale nous raconte.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

7 groupes de 3e secondaire ont vécu cette année une expérience particulièrement enrichissante sur le plan humain grâce à un projet menant à la réalisation d’un reportage vidéo. L’enseignant Laurent Di Pasquale nous raconte.   

Laurent Di Pasquale est professeur de géographie et sciences sociales à l’Athénée royal de l’Air Pur à Seraing, une école secondaire francophone de Belgique. Cette année, il a fait vivre aux élèves de ses 7 groupes de géographie de 3e secondaire un grand projet pédagogique appuyé par le numérique. Oui, 7 groupes à la fois! « Je savais que je n’allais pas me faciliter la tâche, mais je me suis également dis que si je le faisais avec un groupe, il fallait que je le fasse avec tous pour pouvoir leur donner la chance de vivre la même chose. »

Ce projet concernait l’étude des risques liés à la proximité des centrales nucléaires, qui sont nombreuses en Belgique et dans les pays voisins. Il l’explique dans cette vidéo de présentation :

Le projet et l’apport du numérique

D’entrée de jeu, l’enseignant a fourni un guide d’activité aux élèves en leur expliquant d’abord les résultats attendus et les éléments qui seraient évalués. Ensuite, pendant 6 semaines, les élèves ont récolté les informations, identifié les dangers, conçu leur vidéo en écrivant leur script, puis réalisé le tournage. Pour l’enseignant, ils ont réellement été des acteurs de leurs apprentissages. « La motivation était au rendez-vous, et tous les groupes ont atteint leurs objectifs », explique-t-il.

À la base, Laurent Di Pasquale avait prévu leur faire réaliser le montage vidéo eux-mêmes, mais malheureusement, les ordinateurs de l’école ne l’ont pas permis. Il avoue donc avoir investi un temps fou à préparer les 37 montages pour cette première édition… Il a cependant entretemps déposé deux projets au fonds spécial « École numérique » pour la Belgique, qui viennent tout juste d’être acceptés. Ceci lui permettra notamment d’acquérir l’équipement nécessaire pour ajouter cette étape l’an prochain, car il compte bien continuer.

Les classes ont clôturé le projet par une visite en réalité virtuelle de la centrale de Tchernobyl à l’aide de casques Oculus Go et de l’application Google Expeditions.

Développer la confiance en soi et le lien avec les élèves

« Réaliser un projet avec ses élèves, c’est se découvrir soi-même, c’est découvrir les capacités les plus profondes de nos élèves. »

Laurent Di Pasquale

Parallèlement aux notions scolaires, Laurent Di Pasquale visait le développement d’un aspect bien important chez ses élèves : la confiance en eux. « Pour que les élèves acceptent de se mettre dans une position d’acteur comme celle-ci, il a fallu une grande dose de renforcement positif. » En effet, il se rappelle qu’au départ, la plupart s’en sentaient incapables. « Le numérique, dans ce projet, a permis d’exercer une compétence plus sociale, en montrant que rien n’est impossible et que l’on est tous capables d’y arriver à différents niveaux. »

J’ai voulu savoir si l’usage du numérique avait eu un impact sur la qualité de la relation qu’il a pu développer avec ses élèves cette année. À cette question, il a répondu oui sans hésiter. « Je peux dire qu’on s’entendait déjà très bien à la base, mais qu’après cela, on aurait tous pu décrocher la lune les uns pour les autres tellement l’énergie déployée était positive. »

Il ajoute que la solidarité dans les groupes s’est vite installée aussi. Par exemple, comme il doit changer de local à chaque période, il lui fallait parfois démonter et réinstaller tout le matériel 3 fois par jour. « Les groupes ont tout mis en oeuvre pour qu’on y arrive ensemble, c’était très gratifiant. » Il indique aussi avoir assisté à des situations émouvantes lors des tournages, comme la fois où un groupe entier a applaudi pour donner du courage à l’un de ses membres qui fondait littéralement en larmes étant devant la caméra, ou cette autre fois où tous les élèves se sont retournés pour donner du courage à un autre… « C’était beau, et ça nous a fait grandir. »

Découvrez les détails du projet et les productions des élèves ici sur son site!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'AQUOPS, Edteq et en tant que membre du comité #Francosphère de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!