Youth and Social Media: Beyond Prejudice

Jérôme Desjarlais-Lessard and Annie Turbide from the Service national du RÉCIT, in the field of personal development, offer a host of activities to address social media and its issues in the classroom. The themes are numerous: from private life to body image, including political engagement.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In a conference presented as part of the Digital Education Day, Jérôme Desjarlais-Lessard and Annie Turbide from the Service national du RÉCIT, field of personal development, wanted to offer teachers a host of activities to address social media and their issues with their students.

At the start of the presentation, the two hosts presented some statistics to remind us of the omnipresence of social media in our lives. In 2020, social media gained 490 million new users. On average, a user takes between 3 to 7 minutes to respond to a notification. Users scroll around 93 meters of screen on average per day, which is equivalent to the height of the Statue of Liberty.

The facilitators then offered participants a series of questions to answer using the Wooclap application. The objective was to compare the perceptions related to the use of social media by young people and the actual statistics published on the subject. This was intended to put into perspective the time that young people spend in front of their screens and to remind people that it is necessary to show nuance in any interpretation of a situation.

Moreover, they insisted on the fact that one should not generalize when comparing the use of digital technology by young people and their level of competence. “There is a significant cleavage between young people depending on where they belong. But, it is still possible to say that they learn by doing, they are part of a generation which experiments and which discovers together, ”argued Annie Turbide. 

During this presentation, several themes were covered, such as the link between anxiety and the use of social media, concentration (or loss of…), friendship, aggressive behavior, etc. They are all here in the presentation support. Here are a few, with activities available on the website Citnum.ca.

Distinguish between addiction and excess

“Even if we find that young people make excessive use of social media, that does not make them addicts. In fact, less than 5 % of adolescents are really dependent on technologies ”, reminded the two facilitators.

It should not be forgotten that for teenagers and even more and more adults, online activities are quite simply a part of everyday life. We are witnessing an integration of real life with online life.

On the other hand, excessive use can affect a person's daily functioning. It becomes relevant to get young people to think about their uses and the time they spend online. “Let’s educate them instead of banning,” said Annie Turbide.

Resources available

Primary: My digital pie

Secondary: Screen time, that hot potato / My time: my choice?

Online privacy

“You can get the impression that teens are exposing their privacy online. However, 81 % of Canadian students say they understand the consequences of making information public online on platforms such as Facebook or Instagram, ”notes Jérôme. 

In addition, a European study reveals that 76 % of young people have private accounts on social media, which they reserve access to their friends.

Resources available

Secondary: In your face / Big Brother / Public or private?

Political involvement

“Young people are no less politically engaged than we could be. They are just in a different way. For them, social media is becoming a political networking tool. They will get involved in causes and relay their opinion online. These are sometimes specific causes, which may be ephemeral, but which are important to them. One thing is certain, they are not interested in official "structures", "said the two hosts.

Resources available

Secondary: (Revolution? / I look, who pays? 

Body image

“The use of social media can certainly have an impact on the body image of adolescents, but the impact can be both positive and negative. Likewise, contrary to popular belief, it can affect both girls and boys, ”explained the two hosts.

While social media can lead some young people to have negative perceptions of their bodies, they are increasingly aware that photos shown to them online are being altered. This would fuel their skepticism and therefore lessen the negative effect on body image. Also, being exposed to images of "plus size" models would lead to greater bodily satisfaction and less comparison among young people.

Resources available

Secondary: The good life

Many other resources are available on the site Citnum.ca, in particular the series of five episodes of the podcast Modern times, which deal with hyperconnectivity and screen time. 

You can also consult the full presentation which contains the link to all the resources mentioned during the conference.

Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
1- Act as an ethical citizen in the digital age
11- Develop critical thinking with regard to digital technology

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les jeunes et les médias sociaux : au-delà des préjugés

Jérôme Desjarlais-Lessard et Annie Turbide du Service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne, proposent une foule d’activités pour aborder les médias sociaux et leurs enjeux en classe. Les thèmes sont nombreux : de la vie privée à l'image corporelle, en passant par l'engagement politique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Dans une conférence présentée dans le cadre de la Journée du numérique en éducation, Jérôme Desjarlais-Lessard et Annie Turbide du Service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne, ont voulu offrir aux enseignants une foule d’activités pour aborder les médias sociaux et leurs enjeux avec leurs élèves.

En début de la présentation, les deux animateurs ont présenté quelques statistiques afin de rappeler l’omniprésence des médias sociaux dans nos vies. En 2020, les médias sociaux ont gagné 490 millions de nouveaux utilisateurs. En moyenne, un utilisateur met entre 3 à 7 minutes pour répondre à une notification. Les utilisateurs défilent environ 93 mètres d’écran en moyenne par jour, ce qui équivaut à la hauteur de la Statue de la Liberté.

Les animateurs ont ensuite proposé aux participants une série de questions à répondre à l’aide de l’application Wooclap. L’objectif était de comparer les perceptions en lien avec l’usage des médias sociaux par les jeunes et les statistiques réelles publiées sur le sujet. Ceci visait à relativiser le temps que les jeunes passent devant leur écran et à rappeler qu’il faut faire preuve de nuance dans toute interprétation d’une situation.

D’ailleurs, ils ont insisté sur le fait qu’il ne faut pas généraliser lorsqu’on compare l’usage du numérique par les jeunes et leur niveau de compétence. « Il existe un clivage important entre les jeunes en fonction de leur milieu d’appartenance. Mais, il est quand même permis d’affirmer qu’ils apprennent en faisant, ils font partie d’une génération qui expérimente et qui découvre ensemble », a fait valoir Annie Turbide. 

Au cours de cette présentation, plusieurs thèmes ont été survolés, tels que le lien entre l’anxiété et l’usage des médias sociaux, la concentration (ou la perte de…), l’amitié, les comportements agressifs, etc. Ils sont tous ici dans le support de présentation. En voici quelques-uns, avec des activités disponibles sur le site Web Citnum.ca.

Faire la distinction entre dépendance et excès

« Même si on trouve que les jeunes font un usage excessif des médias sociaux, cela n’en fait pas des dépendants pour autant. Dans les faits, moins de 5 % des adolescents sont réellement dépendants aux technologies », ont tenu à rappeler les deux animateurs.

Il ne faut pas oublier que, pour les adolescents et même pour de plus en plus d’adultes, les activités en ligne font partie du quotidien tout simplement. On assiste à une intégration de la vie réelle avec la vie en ligne.

Par contre, un usage excessif peut nuire au fonctionnement d’une personne au quotidien. Il devient à propos d’amener les jeunes à réfléchir sur leurs usages et le temps qu’ils passent en ligne. « Éduquons-les au lieu d’interdire », a dit Annie Turbide.

Ressources disponibles

Primaire : Ma tarte numérique

Secondaire : Le temps d’écran, cette patate chaude / Mon temps : mon choix?

Vie privée en ligne

« On peut avoir l’impression que les adolescents exposent leur vie privée en ligne. Pourtant, 81 % des élèves canadiens disent comprendre les conséquences de rendre publics des renseignements en ligne sur des plateformes comme Facebook ou Instagram », fait remarquer Jérôme. 

De plus, une étude européenne révèle que 76 % des jeunes ont des comptes privés sur les médias sociaux, dont ils réservent l’accès à leurs amis.

Ressources disponibles

Secondaire : Dans ta face / Grand frère / Public ou privé?

Implication politique

« Les jeunes ne sont pas moins engagés politiquement que nous pouvions l’être. Ils le sont simplement de façon différente. Pour eux, les médias sociaux deviennent un outil de réseautage politique. Ils vont s’engager dans des causes et relayer leur opinion en ligne. Ce sont parfois des causes précises, qui peuvent être éphémères, mais qui sont importantes à leurs yeux. Chose certaine, ils se désintéressent des “structures” officielles », ont précisé les deux animateurs.

Ressources disponibles

Secondaire : (R)évolution? / Je regarde, qui paie? 

Image corporelle

« L’usage des médias sociaux peut certes avoir un impact sur l’image corporelle des adolescents, mais cet impact peut être autant positif que négatif. De même, contrairement à la croyance populaire, il peut toucher autant les filles que les garçons », ont expliqué les deux animateurs.

Si les médias sociaux peuvent amener certains jeunes à avoir une perception négative de leur corps, ils sont de plus en plus conscients que des photos qu’on leur présente en ligne sont modifiées. Cela ferait en sorte d’alimenter leur scepticisme et atténuerait, par conséquent, l’effet négatif sur l’image corporelle. Également, le fait d’être exposé à des images de mannequins « grande taille » entraînerait une plus grande satisfaction corporelle et une moins grande comparaison chez les jeunes.

Ressources disponibles

Secondaire : La belle vie

Beaucoup d’autres ressources sont disponibles sur le site Citnum.ca, notamment la série de cinq épisodes du balado Les temps modernes, qui traitent de l’hyperconnectivité et du temps d’écran. 

Vous pouvez aussi consulter la présentation complète qui contient le lien vers toutes les ressources mentionnées au cours de la conférence.

Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
1- Agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique
11- Développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du numérique

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :