The Keys to Education in the Context of a Pandemic, Across Canada: Sharing, Collaboration and Caring

Actors in French-speaking schools in Canada explain how their work experience has changed since the start of the pandemic.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Actors from French-speaking schools in Canada explain how their work experience has changed since the start of the pandemic. The observation: sharing, collaboration and benevolence make a difference, both inside school and at home.

Benoit Douillette, educational advisor at the Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario (CSPGNO), Michel Gariépy, director of the Francophone Center for Distance Education in Alberta, Amélie Bédard, professional in inclusive education at the CSS des Premieres-Seigneuries and Dominique Côté, remedial teacher at CSS du Chemin-du-Roy, participated in a virtual round table moderated by Nadia Rousseau, professor at the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières, as part of the event “A distance, but present in secondary education”.

While the majority of schools were destabilized at the start of the pandemic, the majority also managed to reorganize themselves afterwards. Since the start of the September 2020 school year, a new routine has taken hold, winning practices have been identified. New gains have also been made and none of the four panelists wants a step back.

(…) None of the four panelists wants a step back.

Specialist Dominique Côté acknowledges that she sometimes had to show imagination to keep in touch with certain students in the spring of 2020. Even today, “flexibility and benevolence are the watchwords, both towards the students and their students. parents, ”she says.

However, she is delighted with the implementation of new practices that help her in her work. Previously, she did not always have access to the work of the students she accompanied. She now has access to their Google Classroom spaces and can more easily follow their progress by subject. “What was developed for distance learning remains available and useful for the future, even if we are back to school,” notes Ms. Côté.

The fact of adopting common technologies in the school service centers will have made it possible to standardize practices and allow more collaboration and exchanges between teachers, members of school teams and even parents. This point was mentioned by the four panelists.

Thus, at the Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario (CSPGNO), for example, the teams have relied heavily on the sharing of resources. Benoit Douillette explains that a lot of educational material has been created and made available to teachers across the province, creating a solidarity movement that is still growing today.

Student well-being: starting from small, simple things

Beyond the technological aspect, if the pandemic has enabled one thing, it is to put the student back at the center of all school concerns: maintaining a strong teacher-student relationship, adopting a reassuring posture for the students, create arrival and departure rituals, focus on meaningful feedback, offer a stable schedule with clear expectations, etc.

“It may sound simplistic as a statement, but that's what is happening. Teachers tell me: I knew it was important to have a good relationship with my students, but I didn't realize how important it was to them, ”said Ms. Bédard.

Moreover, the need to maintain human contact despite the distance was mentioned on a few occasions during the discussion. In Ontario, virtual lounges have been created for teachers who work remotely in order to recreate “the teachers' room”. In Alberta, a “student lounge”, open every Thursday afternoon, allows students attending the virtual school full-time to socialize and discuss among peers. Since the start of the September 2020 school year, with its some 600 students, the virtual school of the Francophone school boards of Alberta is also the largest school in this province.

For the virtual school to be a success, the presence of parents is identified as decisive by Michel Gariépy, director of the Francophone Distance Education Center of the Federation of Francophone School Boards of Alberta. “This project could never survive if we did not have the collaboration of the parents. We need them to make the distance school project a success. "

In closing, the four panelists were optimistic about the future. After the upheavals of 2020, communities are falling back on their feet and implementing new ways of doing things that are proving to be winning.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les clés de l’éducation en contexte de pandémie, partout au Canada : partage, collaboration et bienveillance

Des acteurs du milieu scolaire francophone au Canada expliquent comment leur expérience de travail a changé depuis le début de la pandémie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Des acteurs du milieu scolaire francophone au Canada expliquent comment leur expérience de travail a changé depuis le début de la pandémie. Le constat : partage, collaboration et bienveillance font une différence, autant à l’intérieur de l’école qu’à la maison.

Benoit Douillette, conseiller pédagogique au Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario (CSPGNO), Michel Gariépy, directeur du Centre francophone d’éducation à distance de l’Alberta, Amélie Bédard, professionnelle en inclusion scolaire au CSS des Premières-Seigneuries et Dominique Côté, orthopédagogue au CSS du Chemin-du-Roy, ont participé à une table ronde virtuelle animée par Nadia Rousseau, professeur à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, dans le cadre de l’événement « À distance, mais présent en enseignement au secondaire ».

Si la majorité des milieux scolaires ont été déstabilisés au début de la pandémie, la majorité a aussi su se réorganiser par la suite. Depuis la rentrée de septembre 2020, une nouvelle routine s’est installée, des pratiques gagnantes ont été identifiées. De nouveaux acquis ont aussi été réalisés et aucun des quatre panélistes ne souhaite un retour en arrière.

(…) aucun des quatre panélistes ne souhaite un retour en arrière.

L’orthopédagogue Dominique Côté reconnaît qu’elle a parfois dû faire preuve d’imagination pour garder le contact avec certains élèves au printemps 2020. Encore aujourd’hui, « souplesse et bienveillance sont les mots d’ordre, autant envers les élèves que leurs parents », dit-elle.

Cependant, elle se réjouit de la mise en place de nouvelles pratiques qui l’aident dans son travail. Auparavant, elle n’avait pas toujours accès aux travaux des élèves qu’elle accompagnait. Elle a désormais accès aux espaces Google Classroom de ceux-ci et peut suivre plus facilement leur évolution par matière. « Ce qui a été développé pour l’apprentissage à distance demeure disponible et utile pour la suite, même si nous sommes de retour à l’école », fait remarquer Mme Côté.

Le fait d’adopter des technologies communes dans les centres de services scolaires aura d’ailleurs permis d’uniformiser des pratiques et de permettre plus de collaboration et d’échanges entre les enseignants, les membres des équipes-écoles et même les parents. Ce point a été mentionné par les quatre panélistes.

Ainsi, au Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario (CSPGNO), par exemple, les équipes ont beaucoup misé sur le partage de ressources. Benoit Douillette explique que beaucoup de matériel pédagogique a été créé et mis à disposition des enseignants de partout dans la province, créant un mouvement de solidarité qui prend encore de l’ampleur actuellement.

Le bien-être de l’élève : partir de petites choses simples

Au-delà de l’aspect technologique, si la pandémie a permis une chose, c’est bien de replacer l’élève au centre de toutes les préoccupations scolaires : entretenir une relation enseignant-élève forte, adopter une posture sécurisante pour les élèves, créer des rituels d’arrivée et de départ, miser sur les rétroactions significatives, offrir un horaire stable avec des attentes claires, etc.

« Cela peut paraître simpliste comme affirmation, mais c’est bien ce qui se produit. Des enseignants me disent : Je savais que c’était important d’avoir une belle relation avec mes élèves, mais je ne réalisais pas à quel point c’était important pour eux », a indiqué Mme Bédard.

D’ailleurs, le besoin de maintenir un contact humain malgré la distance a été mentionné à quelques occasions au cours de la discussion. En Ontario, des salons virtuels ont été créés pour les enseignants qui travaillent à distance afin de recréer « la salle des profs ». En Alberta, un « salon étudiant », ouvert à tous les jeudis après-midi, permet aux élèves qui fréquentent l’école virtuelle à temps plein de socialiser et de discuter entre pairs. Depuis la rentrée de septembre 2020, avec ses quelque 600 élèves, l’école virtuelle des conseils scolaires francophones de l’Alberta est d’ailleurs la plus grosse école de cette province.

Pour que l’école virtuelle soit un succès, la présence des parents est identifiée comme déterminante par Michel Gariépy, directeur du Centre francophone d’éducation à distance de la Fédération des conseils scolaires francophones de l’Alberta. « Ce projet ne pourrait jamais vivre si nous n’avions pas la collaboration des parents. Nous avons besoin d’eux pour réussir le projet de l’école à distance. »

En terminant, les quatre panélistes se sont montrés optimistes pour l’avenir. Après les bouleversements de 2020, les milieux retombent sur leurs pattes et mettent en place de nouvelles façons de faire qui s’avèrent gagnantes.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :