A creative laboratory that comes to life thanks to plants (and that smells good!)

Developing the creative spirit of science students by transforming plants is quite possible. We present to you a project experienced at Collège Sainte-Anne.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Alexandra Bernier and Keivan Farzaneh, respectively teacher of the SciMaTIC program and technopedagogue at Collège Sainte-Anne 

Developing the creative spirit of science students by transforming plants is quite possible. Soap, herbal tea, soup, lip balm, inks or antiseptics ...  large-scale projects that do not require the use of complex technologies. Let's take a closer look!

During the fall of 2020, students of 5e secondary school of the SciMaTIC program at Collège Sainte-Anne, located in the Lachine borough in Montreal, were able to use the scientific knowledge they acquired throughout their school career by carrying out a botanical project. Under the supervision of their teacher Alexandra Bernier, the students let their imaginations run wild to transform a plant into a product of their choice. At the same time, they also produced herbaria. All of this took place within the College's creative lab. The result is a digital portfolio, produced by the students, where their projects are listed.

The transformation of a plant, from A to Z

Soap, herbal tea, soup, lip balm, inks or antiseptics… The students did not lack imagination to transform a wild plant of their choice by applying the concepts of the scientific process. They were masters of their protocol, materials and resources, as well as control of their variables and results.

In order to complete their project, the students were accompanied by Alexandra Bernier, teacher of the SciMaTIC program, Pierre Guiot-Guillain, educational advisor of the College's creative laboratory and Anthony Pilorzé, laboratory technician. Educators and students also received advice from Alice Roy-Bolduc, naturalist, at all stages of the project. Considering the great freedom granted to the students, the interveners acted more as consultants and facilitators to help each team achieve its own objectives. Students were then assessed on their ability to plan and manage a scientific project, provide reflective feedback and demonstrate resilience in their results.

Inès Elkaissouni, Élodie Fouejieu & Olivia Qin

Some examples of student achievements:

According to Keivan Farzaneh, technopedagogical advisor at Collège Sainte-Anne, this type of project shows that it is possible to carry out large-scale projects without resorting to the use of complex technologies.

Herbaria, do you want some here?

Along with their scientific project, the students also carried out herbaria featuring local plants. These herbaria were intended to connect them to nature near school or home by using technological tools for identifying plants in a practical context. To highlight their work, certain herbaria have been chosen to decorate the school's creative laboratory.

Link: Portfolio gathering the botany projects of secondary 5 students (2020-2021)

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Un laboratoire créatif qui prend vie grâce aux plantes (et qui sent bon!)

Développer l’esprit créatif des élèves en sciences par la transformation des plantes, c’est tout à fait possible. On vous présente un projet vécu au Collège Sainte-Anne.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Alexandra Bernier et Keivan Farzaneh, respectivement enseignante du programme SciMaTIC et technopédagogue au Collège Sainte-Anne 

Développer l’esprit créatif des élèves en sciences par la transformation des plantes, c’est tout à fait possible. Savon, tisane, soupe, baume à lèvres, encres ou antiseptiques…  des projets d’envergure qui ne nécessitent pas d’avoir recours à l’utilisation de technologies complexes. Allons voir de plus près!

Au cours de l’automne 2020, les élèves de 5e secondaire du programme SciMaTIC au Collège Sainte-Anne, situé dans l’arrondissement Lachine à Montréal, ont pu mettre à profit les connaissances scientifiques qu’ils ont acquises tout au long de leur parcours scolaire en réalisant un projet botanique. Sous la supervision de leur enseignante Alexandra Bernier, les élèves ont laissé libre cours à leur imagination pour transformer une plante en un produit de leur choix. Parallèlement, ils ont également réalisé des herbiers. Tout ceci s’est déroulé au sein du laboratoire créatif du Collège. Le résultat est un portfolio numérique, réalisé par les élèves, où sont répertoriés leurs projets.

La transformation d’une plante, de A à Z

Savon, tisane, soupe, baume à lèvres, encres ou antiseptiques… Les élèves n’ont pas manqué d’imagination pour transformer une plante sauvage de leur choix en appliquant les concepts de la démarche scientifique. Ils étaient maîtres de leur protocole, matériel et ressources, ainsi que du contrôle de leurs variables et résultats.

Afin de mener leur projet à terme, les élèves ont été accompagnés par Alexandra Bernier, enseignante du programme SciMaTIC, Pierre Guiot-Guillain, conseiller pédagogique du laboratoire créatif du Collège et Anthony Pilorzé, technicien en laboratoire. Les éducateurs et les élèves ont aussi reçu les conseils d’Alice Roy-Bolduc, naturaliste, à toutes les étapes du projet. Considérant la grande liberté accordée aux élèves, les intervenants ont agi plutôt à titre de consultants et de facilitateurs pour aider chaque équipe à mener à terme ses propres objectifs. Les élèves étaient par la suite évalués sur leur capacité à planifier et piloter un projet scientifique, réaliser des retours réflexifs et faire preuve de résilience quant à leurs résultats.

Inès Elkaissouni, Élodie Fouejieu & Olivia Qin

Quelques exemples de réalisations des élèves :

Selon Keivan Farzaneh, conseiller technopédagogique au Collège Sainte-Anne, ce type de projet démontre qu’il est possible de réaliser des projets d’envergure sans avoir recours à l’utilisation de technologies complexes.

Des herbiers, en veux-tu en voilà

Parallèlement à leur projet scientifique, les élèves ont également réalisé des herbiers mettant en vedette des plantes locales. Ces herbiers avaient pour objectif de les connecter à la nature près de l’école ou la maison en utilisant les outils technologiques d’identification des plantes dans un contexte pratique. Pour souligner leur travail, certains herbiers ont été choisis pour décorer le laboratoire créatif de l’école.

Lien : Portfolio recueillant les projets de botanique des élèves de 5e secondaire (2020-2021)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!