pandemic

Higher Education Council urges new normal

The Superior Council of Education (CSE) recently published one of its most comprehensive and interesting reports. Without detour, the objective of the CSE with this publication is to avoid a return to "normality" and thus take advantage of the collective awareness to improve the education system for good. Here is our summary.

Here's how high school students in Quebec experienced a pandemic school year

Professor Sylvie Barma and her colleagues at Laval University surveyed teenagers in Quebec about the pandemic. They found the prevailing climate of uncertainty particularly difficult. “The physical place of learning fluctuated in ways that were unpredictable for them. They didn't like the changes in their routine and a majority said they were bored of school, which had a big impact on their academic motivation. Read for other findings!

Alloprof's confirmed pandemic impact: Study reveals that the organism is a valuable ally for students and parents

Press release - Alloprof has unveiled the results of a national study carried out in collaboration with the Center for Studies on Learning and Performance (CEAP) at UQAM. In addition to demonstrating the importance of Alloprof's resources in the educational success of students, the results highlight the extent of the educational support offered by parents during the pandemic.

When technology increases the human

Caroline Smith, educational advisor, shares her experience of support in times of pandemic and in the context of the creation of a new mentoring program at the Educational Services of the CSS de Montréal.

Class management strategies in the anti-COVID-19 response: an experience in Cameroon

Our collaborator testifies to his experience of teaching mathematics at the secondary level in Ngaoundéré, Cameroon, during the resumption of post-containment COVID-19 classes. It appears that distance education efforts during confinement were reinforced by the resumption of the same face-to-face courses. 

First day of school "postponed indefinitely" for 140 million students worldwide, UNICEF says

News Release - UNICEF urges governments to reopen schools to face-to-face education as soon as possible, and provide students with a comprehensive solution to get them back to school.

8 principles that guide the actions of school administrators in a crisis context

Researchers from the University of Quebec at Rimouski conducted a research project to better understand the role played by school principals in a crisis context. Their work helped identify eight management principles, in addition to highlighting the importance of leadership.

Design thinking - Better discernment, for better self-esteem

Our team had the pleasure of attending the second edition of creative workshops created by Collège Sainte-Anne in collaboration with Factry. Just like in the first edition, we met teachers committed to finding creative solutions to overcome the challenges of COVID-19 and distance education.

Impact of COVID-19 on educational success - Recovery plan for educational success: 110 M$

Today, at a press conference, the Minister of Education of Quebec, Mr. Jean-François Roberge, unveiled the Recovery Plan for Success: Education Beyond the Pandemic, representing investments totaling 110 M$. Here is the official press release from the MEQ, as well as some reactions from various organizations received at the École branchée by way of a press release.

Minister Roberge unveils his Recovery Plan for Educational Success 2021-2022

Following the Rendezvous for Educational Success held at the end of April, Quebec's Minister of Education, Jean-François Roberge, unveiled a Recovery Plan for Educational Success. Here is the report École branchée has prepared for you.

pandémie

Voici comment les élèves du secondaire au Québec ont vécu une année scolaire en pandémie

La professeure Sylvie Barma et ses collègues de l’Université Laval ont sondé des adolescents québécois au sujet de la pandémie. Ceux-ci ont trouvé particulièrement difficile le climat d’incertitude qui régnait. « Le lieu physique d’apprentissage fluctuait d’une façon imprévisible pour eux. » Ils n’ont pas aimé les changements dans leur routine et une majorité disait s’ennuyer de l’école, ce qui a beaucoup joué sur leur motivation scolaire. Lisez pour d'autres constats!

L’impact confirmé d’Alloprof en pandémie: Une étude révèle que l’organisme est un précieux allié pour les élèves et les parents

Communiqué - Alloprof a dévoilé les résultats d'une étude nationale réalisée en collaboration avec le Centre d'études sur l'apprentissage et la performance (CEAP) de l'UQAM. En plus de démontrer l'importance des ressources d'Alloprof dans la réussite éducative des élèves, les résultats mettent en lumière l'ampleur de l'accompagnement scolaire offert par les parents durant la pandémie.

Quand la technologie augmente l’humain

Caroline Smith, conseillère pédagogique, partage son expérience d’accompagnement en temps de pandémie et dans le contexte de la création d’un nouveau programme de mentorat aux Services pédagogiques du CSS de Montréal.

Les stratégies de gestion de classes dans la riposte anti-COVID-19 : une expérience au Cameroun

Notre collaborateur témoigne de son expérience d’enseignement des mathématiques au secondaire à Ngaoundéré, au Cameroun, lors de la reprise des cours post-confinement de la COVID-19. Il en ressort que les efforts d’enseignement à distance pendant le confinement ont été renforcés par la reprise des mêmes cours en présentiel. 

Selon UNICEF, le premier jour d’école est « reporté indéfiniment » pour 140 millions d’élèves dans le monde

Communiqué - L'UNICEF exhorte les gouvernements à rouvrir les écoles à l'enseignement en présentiel dès que possible, et à apporter aux élèves une solution globale pour qu'ils reprennent les cours.

8 principes qui guident les actions des directions d’école en contexte de crise

Des chercheurs de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski ont mené un projet de recherche afin de mieux comprendre le rôle joué par les directions d’école en contexte de crise. Leurs travaux ont permis de dégager huit principes de gestion, en plus de mettre en lumière l’importance du leadership.

Design thinking – Un meilleur discernement, pour une meilleure estime de soi

Notre équipe a eu le plaisir d’assister à la deuxième édition d’ateliers créatifs créés par le Collège Sainte-Anne en collaboration avec la Factry. Tout comme lors de la première édition, nous avons rencontré des enseignants engagés à trouver des solutions créatives pour surmonter les défis engendrés par la COVID-19 et l’enseignement à distance.

Impact de la COVID-19 sur la réussite éducative – Plan de relance pour la réussite scolaire : 110 M$

Aujourd'hui, en conférence de presse, le ministre de l’Éducation du Québec, M. Jean-François Roberge, a dévoilé le Plan de relance pour la réussite : l'éducation au-delà de la pandémie, représentant des investissements totalisant 110 M$. Voici le communiqué officiel du MEQ, ainsi que quelques réactions de différentes organisations reçues à l’École branchée par voie de communiqué .

Le ministre Roberge dévoile son Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative 2021-2022

À la suite du Rendez-vous pour la réussite éducative qui s’est tenu à la fin avril, le ministre de l’Éducation du Québec, Jean-François Roberge, a dévoilé un Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative. Voici le compte-rendu que l'École branchée a préparé pour vous.

Les #Édubrèves – Des ressources pour la classe

Si vous êtes à la recherche d'activités clé en main ou de ressources simples à utiliser avec vos élèves, en salle de classe comme à distance, consultez immédiatement cette nouvelle édition des #Édubrèves!