ADVERTISEMENT

The RECIT Rendezvous: the program

During the webinar on programming that mobilized nearly 100 people, RÉCIT advisers shared strategies, ideas and a variety of resources to start or continue integrating programming into their class.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

On January 15, the second virtual Rendez-vous du RÉCIT was held. Six free workshops were offered online in order to introduce educational actors to various themes that could be explored within the framework of the Digital education action plan. The recordings of these workshops as well as the resources presented will be available on the RÉCIT website.

The first webinar presented as part of this Rendez-vous RÉCIT mobilized nearly 100 people, proof that interest in programming is gaining ground. At the end of the presentation led by RÉCIT advisors Pierre Lachance, Sonya Fiset, Stéphanie Rioux and Marc-André Mercier, the participants left with strategies, ideas and a variety of resources to begin or continue integrating the programming in their classroom.

Why do programming in the classroom?

What could be more stimulating than the testimony of a mathematics teacher who made the choice a few years ago to integrate programming activities and who saw the positive impact on the commitment, motivation and sense of accomplishment of His students? Before getting to the heart of the matter, Stéphanie Rioux recalled that programming not only makes it possible to address the knowledge of the Training Program, it is also a tool for developing skills such as creativity and resolution. of problem.

Make a choice according to the educational intention 

Marc-André Mercier continued the webinar by reassuring the uninitiated: it is not necessary to know how to teach programming to benefit from it in his pedagogy. The teacher does not need to have the answers to everything. There are several tools to introduce students in a progressive way and while respecting their educational intention. For example, Blockly games and code.org are two platforms that promote learning to code through problem solving.

In order to help teachers identify the programming tool adapted to their educational intention and to the level of their students, the facilitators proposed the following diagram:

"It is important that the students succeed in challenges, and that they want to continue" - Marc-André Mercier

Scratch vs. Algobox 

Stéphanie Rioux and Sonya Fiset then explained the advantages of two interfaces frequently used for programming in the classroom. They underlined that the playful universe of Scratch makes it possible to exploit creativity, to engage students in short-term projects. In addition, Scratch offers the possibility of carrying out interdisciplinary projects and evaluating programming activities.

For its part, Algobox is an interface that looks more like raw programming and that allows you to go further in mathematics while remaining easy to use. However, it is recommended to work with Scratch first before turning to Algobox.

"Error is not inevitable in programming, but an educational opportunity"

Examples of tasks

Subsequently, the two counselors shared many examples of tasks in mathematics, as well as some examples in the social world, languages and the arts. A sharing that highlighted the usefulness of programming to achieve a learning objective, that it consists of working on geometric concepts (distance, angle, direction of rotation, repetition, perimeter, area, similarity ratio) , create a map of Canada or do a quiz on groups of words in French.

Stéphanie's mathematical challenges are accessible via these two Padlets:

Fait avec Padlet

 

Fait avec Padlet

 

Sonya also insisted on the importance of making the students think before, during and after the programming activity, as well as of having them keep written records of their mathematical reasoning.

She presents her useful tips for programming through this Padlet:

Fait avec Padlet

 

To go further: train and learn

The facilitators ended the webinar by reminding them that they are available to travel to schools and accompany teachers throughout Quebec. Whether it is to get started or to fill a more specific need, do not hesitate to call on the RÉCIT MST team, which now has several new advisors!

In addition, the self-study offer can be found on the RÉCIT Campus website. You can also visit the site robot-tic.qc.ca, a RÉCIT MST initiative to centralize resources and classroom experiences relating to programming and robotics. It is on this site that you will find all the links presented during the webinar.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le Rendez-vous RÉCIT : la programmation

0

Le 15 janvier dernier se tenait le deuxième Rendez-vous virtuel du RÉCIT. Six ateliers gratuits étaient offerts en ligne afin d’introduire les acteurs éducatifs à diverses thématiques pouvant être explorées dans le cadre du Plan d’action numérique en éducation. Les enregistrements de ces ateliers ainsi que les ressources présentées seront disponibles sur le site Web du RÉCIT.

Le premier webinaire présenté dans le cadre de ce Rendez-vous RÉCIT a mobilisé près de 100 personnes, preuve que l’intérêt pour la programmation gagne du terrain. Au terme de la présentation animée par les conseillers RÉCIT Pierre Lachance, Sonya Fiset, Stéphanie Rioux et Marc-André Mercier, les participants sont repartis avec des stratégies, des idées ainsi qu’une panoplie de ressources pour débuter ou poursuivre l’intégration de la programmation dans leur classe.

Pourquoi faire de la programmation en classe?

Quoi de plus stimulant que le témoignage d’une enseignante de mathématiques qui a fait le choix il y a quelques années d’intégrer des activités de programmation et qui vu les retombées positives sur l’engagement, la motivation et le sentiment d’accomplissement de ses élèves? Avant d’entrer dans le vif du sujet, Stéphanie Rioux a rappelé que la programmation permet non seulement d’aborder les connaissances du Programme de formation, il s’agit également d’un outil pour développer des compétences telles que la créativité et la résolution de problème.

Faire un choix en fonction de l’intention pédagogique 

Marc-André Mercier a poursuivi le webinaire en rassurant les non-initiés : il n’est pas nécessaire de savoir enseigner la programmation pour en tirer profit dans sa pédagogie. L’enseignant n’a pas besoin d’avoir la réponse à tout. Il existe plusieurs outils pour initier ses élèves de façon progressive et en respectant son intention pédagogique. Par exemple, Jeux blockly et code.org sont deux plateformes qui favorisent l’apprentissage du code à travers la résolution de problème.

Afin d’aider les enseignants à identifier l’outil de programmation adapté à leur intention pédagogique et au niveau de leurs élèves, les animateurs ont proposé le schéma suivant :

« C’est important que les élèves réussissent des défis, et qu’ils aient envie de continuer » – Marc-André Mercier

Scratch vs. Algobox 

Stéphanie Rioux et Sonya Fiset ont ensuite expliqué les avantages de deux interfaces fréquemment utilisées pour faire de la programmation en classe. Elles ont souligné que l’univers ludique de Scratch permet d’exploiter la créativité, d’engager les élèves dans des projets de courte durée. En outre, Scratch offre la possibilité de réaliser des projets interdisciplinaires et d’évaluer les activités de programmation.

Pour sa part, Algobox est une interface qui ressemble davantage à la programmation brute et qui permet d’aller plus loin en mathématiques tout en demeurant simple d’utilisation. Il est toutefois recommandé de travailler d’abord avec Scratch avant de se tourner vers Algobox.

« L’erreur n’est pas une fatalité en programmation, mais une opportunité pédagogique »

Des exemples de tâches

Par la suite, les deux conseillères ont partagé de nombreux exemples de tâches en mathématiques, ainsi que quelques exemples en univers social, en langues et en arts. Un partage qui a mis en évidence l’utilité de la programmation pour atteindre un objectif d’apprentissage, que celui-ci consiste à travailler les concepts géométriques (distance, angle, sens de rotation, répétition, périmètre, aire, rapport de similitude), à créer une carte du Canada ou à réaliser un jeu questionnaire sur les groupes de mots en français.

Les défis mathématiques de Stéphanie sont accessibles via ces deux Padlet :

Fait avec Padlet

 

Fait avec Padlet

 

Sonya a également insisté sur l’importance de faire réfléchir les élèves avant, pendant et après l’activité de programmation, ainsi que de leur faire garder des traces écrites de leur raisonnement mathématique.

Elle présente ses conseils utiles pour faire de la programmation via ce Padlet :

Fait avec Padlet

 

Pour aller plus loin : se former et s’informer

Les animateurs ont terminé le webinaire en rappelant qu’ils sont disponibles pour se déplacer dans les écoles et accompagner les enseignants partout au Québec. Que ce soit pour vous initier ou pour combler un besoin plus spécifique, n’hésitez pas à faire appel à l’équipe du RÉCIT MST qui compte désormais plusieurs nouveaux conseillers!

Par ailleurs, l’offre d’autoformation se trouve sur le site du Campus RÉCIT. Vous pouvez aussi visiter le site robot-tic.qc.ca, une initiative du RÉCIT MST pour centraliser les ressources et les expériences en classe qui touchent à la programmation et à la robotique. C’est d’ailleurs sur ce site que vous trouverez tous les liens présentés lors du webinaire.

Commentaires

Vous avez aimé lire cet article?

Recevez gratuitement l'Hebdo de l'École branchée en ligne!