Quebec - Finland educational expedition: answers to your questions (part 2)

Several of you have sent us questions to ask Finnish education professionals. Here is the second and last part of the answers you have been waiting for!

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and documents it here.

Several readers have asked us a number of questions for Finnish education professionals. here is following (and the end) answers to your questions.

Getting back to the fact that students and staff do not wear shoes, why is that the case?

Basically, we identify two major reasons:

  1. It is a question of cleanliness of the school. They are spotlessly clean. In addition, in many of the schools visited, the classroom floors are covered with rugs. This has a sound absorbing effect. If children returned to classrooms or other premises with their boots or shoes on, the standard of cleanliness would inevitably drop.
  2. It's all about feeling comfortable like at home. It is a deeply convivial approach, because the school is seen as an extension of the home. Get out your slippers, woolen socks, sandals, Crocs and come to school! Obviously, many also choose to wear shoes that they leave at school.

Note that several schools have built changing rooms at the entrance for all students. There are even dryers for drying children's snow clothes!

You regularly mentioned that the sun sets early and rises late in December. How do Finns cope with this lack of natural light?

In Utsjoki, the northernmost village in Finland, the sun set at 12:22 pm on November 25, 2021 and rose again at 12:09 pm on January 16, 2022. This is what the Finns call the Kaamos where we call polar night, because the phenomenon also exists in northern Canada. During this period, the sun does not rise above the horizon. In places, it is as if there is a long sunrise followed by a long sunset. It is therefore not as dark as it is in the middle of the night and the degrees of darkness vary depending on the time of day. We do not see the sun, but there is still a certain light, very weak, emanating from it. To use an old expression, it's a bit as if it was “between dog and wolf” for a prolonged period of the day!

When asked how he copes with this period of continual darkness, the principal of the Utsjoki school replied that, in fact, there is no shortage of light. The snow reflects what little light there is. There is the light that humans create during the holiday season. Then there is the moon and often there is the light dancing in the sky (Northern Lights). Also, he did not fail to remind us that from mid-May to the end of July, it is quite the opposite: the sun does not set and it is the midnight Sun where the polar day !

According to the director, you get used to this phenomenon. The students do not appear to be affected. The rinks are lit and, often, the bike paths too. The phenomenon may seem distressing to those who observe it from the outside, but for people who were born there or who experience it regularly, it is not a problem.

Finally, vitamin D, generally provided by regular exposure to the sun, is also found in the diet of Finns, particularly rich in fish, eggs and dairy products.

For more information on the length of the day in Utsjoki: https://www.timeanddate.com/sun/finland/utsjoki

If there is no organized school transport, how do the young people go to school in the winter?

For the Finns, winter is a season like any other. The students take their bikes! Ditto for university students. We were surprised to find that in all the educational institutions we visited, bicycle racks are widely used. For secondary schools, scooters are also popular, even in the dead of winter. Believe it or not, they also have studded tires like cars.

Are there special classes in Finland?

Yes. The principle is the same as in Quebec: the inclusion of students is targeted, teachers deploy universal or differentiated approaches, but when these efforts prove insufficient, students can be classified in a specialized class.

What does the school calendar look like?

The school year lasts 190 days in Finland. It runs from mid-August to the end of May. The summer vacation lasts 10 weeks. The rest of the leaves are similar to those in Quebec.

How many languages do Finnish pupils learn?

In addition to Finnish, the pupils also learn Swedish, the second national language in the country, and English. We were very surprised to find that practically everyone who gravitates to the school or tourist industry speaks English very well, which includes older students. Students can also learn Russian, German and French if they wish.

Are there linguistic integration classes for immigrants?

Yes, they last about a year, while the immigrant student has mastered the language well to join a regular class.

Note that the Finns are welcoming more and more migrants from the Middle East and Africa. These migrants often cross the Mediterranean in makeshift boats and return to Europe on foot or by public transport.

We were very surprised to find that everyone speaks Finnish. For example, people from visible minorities spoke Finnish very well.

How important are the Finns to the PISA test. Is it true that the country is dropping in the world rankings?

Read here.

Are students allowed to use their cell phones in school?

It depends on the age, but as a rule, it mostly depends on the school. There are no centralized lockers.

The students have access to a portal that looks like Pluriportail or the GRICS at our place and they consult their agenda on their digital device.

Is it true that teachers don't give homework?

No it is wrong. They can give it away, but as a rule they donate very little. The Finns attach great importance to the overall development of the child. Teachers want their students to play when they are not at school. Consequently, they give little homework.

Do students and staff wear the procedural mask at school?

As in Quebec, it depends (or depended) on the regions. For example, when we were in Oulu, the mask had just been imposed and we saw the management interrupt our visit to go to students and teachers to tell them to wear the mask immediately.

Note: wearing a mask is "recommended" in Finland. However, as a cultural feature, such a recommendation is tantamount to an imposition.

Are there any classes closed due to COVID?

Yes ! Some schools are grappling with cases of COVID, as is the case in Quebec. Moreover, we were unable to visit the Punkaharju school for this reason and the Rovaniemi Normal School could not accommodate us. However, in the latter case, we were lucky and were able to visit another school in the city.

Note that the classes are closed by the municipality under the recommendation of Public Health. In short, it's a bit like in Quebec.

Have Finnish schools observed any changes in student behavior and performance since the return of COVID?

Yes. A bit like in Quebec, there are delays in student learning, but these delays are more obvious in terms of social skills.

In addition, two directorates told us that there is an observable increase in hospitalizations of young people for mental health problems. Times are tough for all young Westerners.

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Expédition pédagogique Québec – Finlande : des réponses à vos questions (2e partie)

Vous avez été plusieurs à nous envoyer des questions à poser aux professionnels de l'éducation finlandaise. Voici la seconde et dernière partie des réponses que vous attendiez !

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici.

Plusieurs lecteurs nous ont posé un bon nombre de questions à poser à des professionnels de l’éducation finlandaise. Voici la suite (et la fin) des réponses à vos questions.

Pour en revenir au fait que les élèves et membres du personnel ne portent pas de souliers, pourquoi est-ce le cas ?

Essentiellement, nous identifions deux raisons majeures :

  1. C’est une question de propreté de l’école. Elles sont impeccablement propres. De plus, dans bon nombre d’écoles visitées, les planchers des classes sont recouverts de tapis. Cela a un effet insonorisant. Si les enfants rentraient dans les classes ou dans d’autres locaux avec leurs bottes ou souliers, le niveau de propreté serait inévitablement à la baisse.
  2. C’est une question de se sentir confortable comme à la maison. C’est une approche profondément conviviale, car l’école est vue comme un prolongement de la maison. Sortez vos pantoufles, bas de laine, sandales, Crocs et venez à l’école ! Évidemment, plusieurs choisissent aussi de porter des souliers qu’ils laissent à l’école.

Noter que plusieurs écoles ont construit des vestiaires à l’entrée pour tous les élèves. Il y existe même des séchoirs pour sécher les vêtements de neige des enfants !

Vous avez mentionné régulièrement que le soleil se couche tôt et se lève tard en décembre. Comment les Finlandais vivent-ils ce manque de lumière naturelle ?

À Utsjoki, village le plus septentrional de Finlande, le soleil s’est couché à 12h22 le 25 novembre 2021 pour se relever à 12h09 le 16 janvier 2022. C’est ce que les Finlandais appellent le Kaamos ou que nous appelons nuit polaire, car le phénomène existe aussi au nord du Canada. Pendant cette période, le soleil de se lève pas au-dessus de l’horizon. Par endroit, c’est un peu comme s’il y avait un long lever de soleil suivi d’un long coucher de soleil. Il ne fait donc pas aussi noir qu’au milieu de la nuit et les degrés de noirceur varient selon le moment de la journée. On ne voit pas le soleil, mais il y a quand même une certaine lumière, très faible, qui en émane. Pour reprendre une vieille expression, c’est un peu comme si c’était « entre chien et loup » de façon prolongée dans la journée !

Lorsque questionné à savoir comment il vit avec cette période de noirceur continuelle, le directeur de l’école d’Utsjoki a répondu que, dans les faits, il ne manque pas de lumière. La neige réfléchit le peu de lumière qu’il y a. Il y a la lumière que les humains créent pendant le temps des Fêtes. Puis, il y a la lune et, souvent, il y a la lumière qui danse dans le ciel (aurores boréales). Également, il n’a pas manqué de nous rappeler que de la mi-mai à la fin juillet, c’est tout le contraire : le soleil ne se couche pas et c’est le soleil de minuit ou le jour polaire !

Selon le directeur, on s’habitue à ce phénomène. Les élève ne semblent pas affectés. Les patinoires sont éclairées et, bien souvent, les pistes cyclables aussi. Le phénomène peut sembler pénible pour ceux qui l’observent de l’extérieur, mais pour les gens qui y sont nés ou qui le vivent régulièrement, ce n’est pas un problème.

Enfin, la vitamine D, généralement fournie par une exposition régulière au soleil, se trouve aussi dans la diète des Finlandais, particulièrement riche en poisson, en oeufs et en produits laitiers.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la durée du jour à Utsjoki : https://www.timeanddate.com/sun/finland/utsjoki

S’il n’y a pas de transport scolaire organisé, comment les jeunes vont-ils à l’école l’hiver ?

Pour les Finlandais, l’hiver est une saison comme une autre. Les élèves prennent leur vélo ! Idem pour les étudiants d’université. Nous avons été surpris de constater que dans tous les établissements d’enseignement visités, les supports à vélos sont largement utilisés. Pour les écoles secondaires, les scooters ont également la cote, même en plein hiver. Croyez-le ou non, ils sont aussi dotés de pneus cloutés, comme les voitures.

Existe-t-il des classes spécialisées en Finlande ?

Oui. Le principe est le même qu’au Québec : l’inclusion des élèves est visée, les enseignants déploient des approches universelles ou différenciées, mais lorsque ces efforts s’avèrent insuffisants, les élèves peuvent être classés dans une classe spécialisée.

À quoi ressemble le calendrier scolaire ?

L’année scolaire dure 190 jours en Finlande. Elle s’étale de la mi-août à la fin mai. Le congé estival dure 10 semaines. Le reste des congés est similaire à ceux du Québec.

Combien de langues apprennent les élèves finlandais ?

Outre le finnois, les élèves apprennent aussi le suédois, seconde langue nationale au pays, et l’anglais. Nous avons été très surpris de constater que pratiquement toutes les personnes qui gravitent dans le milieu scolaire ou le milieu touristique parlent très bien l’anglais, ce qui inclut les élèves plus âgés. Les élèves peuvent aussi apprendre le russe, l’allemand et le français s’ils le désirent.

Y a-t-il des classes d’intégration linguistiques pour les immigrants ?

Oui, elles durent environ un an, le temps que l’élève immigrant maîtrise bien la langue pour intégrer une classe ordinaire.

Noter que les Finlandais accueillent de plus en plus de migrants provenant du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique. Ces migrants traversent souvent la Méditerranée en bateau de fortune et remontent l’Europe à pied ou en transport en commun.

Nous avons été très surpris de constater que tout le monde parle le finnois. Par exemple, des gens issus de minorités visibles, parlaient très bien le finnois.

Quelle importance les Finlandais accordent-ils au test PISA. Est-il vrai que le pays est en chute dans les classements mondiaux ?

Lire ici.

Les élèves ont-ils le droit d’utiliser leur téléphone cellulaire dans l’école ?

Cela dépend de l’âge, mais règle générale, cela dépend surtout de l’école. Il n’y a pas de consignes centralisées.

Les élèves ont accès à un portail qui ressemble à Pluriportail ou la GRICS chez nous et ils consultent leur agenda sur leur appareil numérique.

Est-ce vrai que les enseignants ne donnent pas de devoirs ?

Non, c’est faux. Ils peuvent en donner, mais, règle générale, ils en donnent très peu. Les Finlandais accordent beaucoup d’importance au développement global de l’enfant. Les enseignants tiennent à ce que leurs élèves jouent lorsqu’ils ne sont pas à l’école. Conséquemment, ils donnent peu de devoirs.

Les élèves et le personnel portent-ils le masque de procédure à l’école ?

Comme au Québec, cela dépend (ou dépendait) des régions. Par exemple, lorsque nous étions à Oulu, le masque venait tout juste d’être imposé et nous avons vu la direction interrompre notre visite pour aller voir des élèves et des enseignants pour leur dire de porter le masque immédiatement.

Nuance : le port du masque est « recommandé » en Finlande. Toutefois, trait culturel, une telle recommandation équivaut à une imposition.

Y a-t-il des classes fermées à cause de la COVID ?

Oui ! Certaines écoles sont aux prises avec des cas de COVID, comme c’est le cas au Québec. D’ailleurs, nous n’avons pu visiter l’école de Punkaharju pour cette raison et l’école normale de Rovaniemi n’a pu nous accueillir. Toutefois, dans ce dernier cas, nous avons été chanceux et avons pu visiter une autre école dans la ville.

Noter que les classes sont fermées par la municipalité sous la recommandation de la Santé publique. Bref, c’est un peu comme au Québec.

Est-ce que les écoles finlandaises ont observé des changements dans le comportement et la performance des élèves depuis le retour de la COVID ?

Oui. Un peu comme au Québec, il y a des retards dans les apprentissages des élèves, mais ces retards sont plus flagrants sur le plan des habiletés sociales.

De plus, deux directions nous ont mentionné qu’il y a une hausse des hospitalisations observable des jeunes pour des problèmes de santé mentale. Les temps sont difficiles pour tous les jeunes occidentaux.

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :