The slow decline of Finnish education

Surprise! Finland has climbed to the top of the list of the best school systems in the world. Since that time, Finnish education has exercised a certain fascination among many education players from all over the world, including Quebec. However, since then Finland has started its slow decline in the same list. Why ?

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and documents it here.

When I announced that I was going to Finland to visit schools and meet researchers in education, reactions to the antipodes manifested themselves: there are those who envied me and who are interested in " Finnish miracle And those who find it ridiculous to seek inspiration from a model in decline.

In 2006, against all odds, Finland climbed to the top of the world education ranking. Rather than taking the usual means to stay there, for example imposing a results-based management of the system, it has chosen to strengthen its student-centered approach: “Finland has the particularity of having little applied the global principles. school reform. It does not provide for standardized tests [for all pupils] nor for inspection of establishments ”. (Aedo, Alasuutari and Välijärvi, 2017). As a result, it declined, but for the past 15 years it has nonetheless remained among the best education systems.

Some blame the constructivist approach for this decline, the same approach that propelled this system to the top of the charts. Indeed, Finnish constructivism in education is certainly not the most effective approach, but it has been part of the school fabric since the early 1990s (Rantala, 2012). Moreover, the term constructivism is broad and used in all sauces, but when it comes to Finnish education, it is a question of two key terms grouped under the constructivist approach: collaboration and realism. According to Professor Tapio Puolimatka of the University of Jyväskylä, “the conception of learning in Finland is mixed, namely that it is both an individual and a collective process, based on the pupil's activity but also those of his learning environment ”(Puolimatka, 2002, p. 91-92). Following the first conclusions drawn by the pupils, there is a confrontation between the individual and collective conclusions to, subsequently, begin a negotiation of meaning making it possible to transform the whole, thanks to the guidance of the teacher, into learning. The teacher's role is essentially one of facilitation focused on the knowledge of his students and his ability to implement universal and differentiated teaching approaches.

On the spot, when I discussed Finland's decline in the world education ranking with several interlocutors, no one seemed moved by this situation. For them, the goal is not to be at the top of the list. Rather, it is to ensure that the students are at school as they are at home: happy, comfortable and very relaxed, as the tradition of wandering around the school in slippers or on "Bottom foot". The importance of “living together” is evident in each of the schools visited. The level of stress seemed minimal to us, even if our teacher interlocutors said they were stressed given the end of the stage and the delivery of notes, correction requires. It is not for nothing that Finland is, once again, designated as the happiest country in the world. The article following highlights the balance between students' academic performance and their well-being at school.

I was talking about it with Pasi sahlberg, professor at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia. He explained to me that you don't have to go to North America to hear the criticisms of the Finnish model in education. Even within the country's university network, voices are being raised to say that constructive pedagogy explains Finland's decline. However, other elements would explain this decline, elements which vary according to the people questioned and their epistemological position. According to teachers we met, the number of students in class would be detrimental to the quality of the link and to the teacher's ability to properly support each of the students placed under his responsibility. Also, Professor Sahlberg mentions that students' lifestyles have changed drastically since 2010 with the advent of video games and social media. He is currently conducting research in this direction and, although the conclusions are still not known, he thinks he finds some elements of answer.

However, we live in an age of polarization and, as a result, it seems that all social debates have to take a Manichean form: this is good and everything else is bad. It seems to me that there are so many factors and nuances in education, especially these days, that it is rather risky to draw up comparisons one way or the other, which includes rankings like that of the Program for International Student Assessment (PISA). This writes, the fact remains that the Finnish system does not operate solely on a constructivist basis. Teachers demonstrate, model, explain, problem-solve, and employ directive approaches as well. The inspiration for the entire system is decidedly constructivist, but the approaches vary according to the needs of the students and the themes to be taught.

Finally, several Western systems emphasize the importance of standardization and uniformity, on disciplinary knowledge and skills and on a principle of individual accountability for student results. In Finland, it's different. Instead, according to Puolimatka, the emphasis is on flexibility and diversity (also known as " small data »), On general knowledge, on transversal skills and, finally, on trust in teachers, thanks to a monitoring system carried out by school administrators. Obviously, each of the professionals working with the students is de facto responsible for the results of the students, but they are not "held responsible". If there are similarities, there is nevertheless a major difference: in Finland, the results obtained by the pupils serve as a basis for a discussion of a reflective nature on the pedagogical approaches deployed and the assistance to be given to pupils in difficulty, which differs from a system, such as in the United States, where schools deemed to be inefficient may be closed.

It is also important to underline, in conclusion, that teachers, management, decision-makers and the school network in general are very close to the educational research community. Researchers play a preponderant role in the implementation of educational approaches, but also in establishing the general orientations of the system. Faculties of education are very influential, and in Finland as in many other countries, educational research has a tradition of rigor, excellence, and it produces theoretical and professional knowledge at an impressive rate, perhaps because do teachers have a master's degree and have a teacher-researcher profile?

Aedo, C., Alasuutari, H. and Välijärvi, J. (2017). Education: the Finnish miracle? Spotted at https://blogs.worldbank.org/fr/voices/education-le-miracle-finlandais.

Puolimatka, T. (2002). Opetuksen teoria: Konstruktivismista realismiin. Tammi.

Rantala, J. (2012). How Finnish adolescents understand history: Disciplinary thinking in history and its assessment among 16-year-old Finns. Education Sciences, 2(4), 193-207.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le lent déclin de l’éducation finlandaise

Surprise ! La Finlande s'est hissée au sommet du palmarès des meilleurs systèmes scolaires au monde. Depuis ce temps, l'éducation finlandaise exerce une certaine fascination chez plusieurs acteurs de l'éducation issus de partout dans le monde, incluant le Québec. Toutefois, depuis, la Finlande a amorcé son lent déclin dans ce même palmarès. Pourquoi ?

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici.

Quand j’ai annoncé que j’allais en Finlande visiter des écoles et rencontrer des chercheurs en éducation, des réactions aux antipodes se sont manifestées : il y a ceux qui m’enviaient et qui s’intéressent au « miracle Finlandais » et ceux qui trouvent ridicule de chercher à s’inspirer d’un modèle sur son déclin.

En 2006, contre toute attente, la Finlande s’est hissée au sommet du palmarès mondial de l’Éducation. Plutôt que de prendre les moyens habituels pour y demeurer, par exemple imposer une gestion du système axée sur les résultats, elle a choisi de raffermir son approche centrée sur l’élève : « la Finlande a comme particularité d’avoir peu appliqué les principes mondiaux de réforme scolaire. Elle ne prévoit ni épreuves standardisées [pour tous les élèves] ni inspection des établissements ». (Aedo, Alasuutari et Välijärvi, 2017). En conséquence, elle a périclité, mais, depuis 15 ans, elle demeure néanmoins dans le palmarès des meilleurs systèmes d’éducation.

Certains blâment l’approche constructiviste pour ce déclin, la même approche qui a propulsé ce système à la tête des palmarès. En effet, le constructivisme finlandais en éducation n’est certainement pas l’approche la plus efficace, mais elle fait partie du tissu scolaire depuis le début des années 1990 (Rantala, 2012). D’ailleurs, le terme constructivisme est large et employé à toutes les sauces, mais lorsqu’il est question de l’éducation finlandaise, il est question de deux termes-clés regroupés sous l’approche constructiviste : la collaboration et le réalisme. Selon le professeur Tapio Puolimatka de l’Université de Jyväskylä, « la conception de l’apprentissage en Finlande est mixte, à savoir qu’elle est un processus à la fois individuel et collectif, basé sur l’activité de l’élève mais aussi celles de son environnement d’apprentissage » (traduction libre) (Puolimatka, 2002, p. 91-92). Suite aux premières conclusions tirées par les élèves, il y a confrontation entre les conclusions individuelles et collectives pour, par la suite, entamer une négociation de sens permettant de transformer le tout, grâce à la guidance de l’enseignant, en apprentissage. Le rôle de l’enseignant en est essentiellement un de facilitation axé sur la connaissance de ses élèves et sa capacité à implanter des approches d’enseignement universelles et différenciées.

Sur place, lorsque j’ai discuté du déclin de la Finlande au palmarès mondial de l’éducation avec plusieurs interlocuteurs, personne n’a semblé ému par cette situation. Pour eux, le but n’est pas de figurer à la tête du palmarès. Plutôt, c’est de faire en sorte que les élèves soient à l’école comme ils sont à la maison : heureux, confortables et bien décontractés comme le veut, à titre anecdotique, la tradition de déambuler à l’école en pantoufle ou en « pied de bas ». L’importance du « vivre-ensemble » transpire dans chacune des école visitées. Le niveau de stress nous a paru minimal, et ce, même si nos interlocuteurs enseignants se disaient stressés vu la fin de l’étape et la remise des notes, correction oblige. Ce n’est pas pour rien que la Finlande est, une fois de plus, désignée comme étant le pays le plus heureux au monde. L’article suivant met en exergue l’équilibre entre la performance académique des élèves et leur bien être à l’école.

J’échangeais à ce sujet avec Pasi Sahlberg, professeur à l’Université de la Nouvelle-Galles du Sud à Sydney, en Australie. Il m’expliquait qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’aller en Amérique du Nord pour entendre les critiques du modèle finlandais en éducation. Au sein même du réseau universitaire du pays, des voix s’élèvent pour dire que la pédagogie constructive explique le déclin de la Finlande. Or, d’autres éléments expliqueraient ce déclin, éléments qui varient en fonction des personnes questionnées et leur posture épistémologique. Selon des enseignants rencontrés, le nombre d’élèves en classe nuirait à la qualité du lien et à la capacité de l’enseignant de bien accompagner chacun des élèves placés sous sa responsabilité. Aussi, le professeur Sahlberg mentionne que les habitudes de vie des élèves ont changé drastiquement depuis 2010 avec l’avènement des jeux vidéo et des médias sociaux. Il mène actuellement des recherches en ce sens et, bien que les conclusions ne soient toujours pas connues, il pense y trouver quelques éléments de réponse.

Toutefois, nous vivons à une époque de polarisation et, en conséquence, il semble que tous les débats sociaux doivent prendre une forme manichéenne : ceci est bien et tout le reste est mal. Il me semble qu’il y a tellement de facteurs et de nuances en éducation, surtout par les temps qui courent, qu’il est plutôt hasardeux de dresser des comparatifs dans un sens comme dans un autre, ce qui inclut les classements comme celui du Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA). Cela écrit, il n’en demeure pas moins que le système finlandais ne fonctionne pas uniquement sur une base constructiviste. Les enseignants démontrent, modèlent, expliquent, résolvent des problèmes et emploient des approches directives également. L’inspiration du système en entier est résolument constructiviste, mais les approches varient en fonction des besoins des élèves et des thèmes à enseigner.

Enfin, plusieurs systèmes occidentaux mettent l’accent sur l’importance de la standardisation et l’uniformisation, sur les connaissances et les compétences disciplinaires et sur un principe de responsabilisation de chacun face aux résultats des élèves. En Finlande, c’est différent. Selon Puolimatka, on y met plutôt l’accent sur la flexibilité et la diversité (aussi appelées « small data »), sur les connaissances générales, sur les compétences transversales et, enfin, sur la confiance envers les enseignants, grâce à un système de suivi réalisé par les directions d’école. Évidemment, chacun des professionnels à pied d’oeuvre auprès des élèves est, de facto, responsable des résultats des élèves, mais ils ne sont pas « tenus responsables ». S’il y a des similitudes, il y a néanmoins une différence majeure : en Finlande, les résultats obtenus par les élèves servent de base à une discussion de nature réflexive sur les approches pédagogiques déployées et l’aide à apporter aux élèves en difficulté, ce qui diffère d’un système, comme aux États-Unis, où des écoles jugées peu performantes peuvent être fermées.

Il est aussi important de souligner, en conclusion, que les enseignants, la direction, les décideurs et le réseau scolaire en général sont très près du milieu de la recherche en éducation. Les chercheurs jouent un rôle prépondérant dans la mise en place des approches pédagogiques, mais aussi dans l’établissement des orientations générales du système. Les facultés d’éducation sont très influentes et, en Finlande comme dans plusieurs autres pays, la recherche en éducation a une tradition de rigueur, d’excellence, et elle produit des connaissances théoriques et professionnelles à un rythme impressionnant, peut-être parce que les enseignants détiennent une maîtrise et qu’ils ont un profil d’enseignant-chercheur ?

Aedo, C., Alasuutari, H. et Välijärvi, J. (2017). Éducation : le miracle finlandais ? Repéré à https://blogs.worldbank.org/fr/voices/education-le-miracle-finlandais.

Puolimatka, T. (2002). Opetuksen teoria: Konstruktivismista realismiin. Tammi.

Rantala, J. (2012). How Finnish adolescents understand history: Disciplinary thinking in history and its assessment among 16-year-old Finns. Education Sciences, 2(4), 193-207.

Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :