ADVERTISEMENT

Quebec - Finland educational expedition: answers to your questions (part 1)

Several of you have sent us questions to ask Finnish education professionals. Here are some of the answers you've been waiting for!

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and document it here!

(co-written with Marie-Andrée Croteau)

Several readers have asked us a number of questions for Finnish education professionals. Here are the ones we have received responses to so far. We're halfway through our expedition, and we're hopeful that the other answers you've been waiting for will come later this week.

Let's go in no specific order:

Does the school close for storms in the winter?
To our surprise, the answer is no! The school is always open, regardless of the type of weather: snow, ice, cold. We were told that the closure of schools during the pandemic was the first time in a very long time that the school had to close.

One exception: on the southwest coast of Finland, off Helsinki to the coast of Turku, there are just over 450 islands that are permanently inhabited. Since students have to travel by boat to get to school, sea conditions can occasionally prevent them from going to school. Their education is therefore dependent on navigation conditions and maritime safety.

Do the students play outside even if it is very cold?
When we were in eastern Finland, we could see the students playing outside in -20 ° C excluding the wind chill. Schools have all the autonomy necessary to set the threshold at which the student does not go out because of the temperature. It seems that southern schools usually have a lower tolerance for cold than northern schools in Lapland!

Is there a school bus network?
There is no yellow bus network like the one we know in Quebec. At least not in urban areas. Less than 3 km from the school, students from Kindergarten to Grade 2 walk or are escorted to school by their parents. The distance increases to 5 km for students in Grades 3 to 12. However, students living further than these distances in rural areas can obtain bus tickets to board a “regional” bus, organized by municipal authorities. These tickets are free.

For disabled or injured students for a fixed period, the taxi network is accessible and paid for by the school.

Is school free in Finland?
Yes, completely free. As previously stated, transportation to the school is free when required. Also, the law has changed over the past year. From now on, digital devices required by the school, as well as books and manuals are also free, which was not the case before.

There is one exception: schools that have a particular educational project can ask parents to buy the necessary equipment related to this project: musical instrument, sportswear, etc.

Are there private schools in Finland?

Contrary to popular belief, there are around 70 Finnish private schools spread out mostly in the south of the country, out of a total of over 3200 total schools. Many are religious or cultural in nature. Some of these schools are publicly funded.

Are there school service centers or school boards?
No. Schools are the responsibility of the city or the regional body. Essentially, they are the ones who are responsible for the school, which enjoys great autonomy with a view to decentralizing powers.

Is it true that students do not wear shoes at school?
There is no national rule in this sense, but it is indeed a cultural element. Many wear sandals, slippers and also “Crocs”. However, some schools impose this rule; they have a vestibule when entering and the pupils leave their boots or shoes there before entering the school.

The same goes for school personnel. It is therefore not uncommon to see them well dressed, but with slippers!

With our North American eyes, we asked the killer question: what do they do if there's a fire alarm and it's -10 ° C? We were told: "well ... they are going out"!

Is dinner included at school?
Yes, Finnish schools offer free lunch to students. It is a buffet style meal with two choices of hot meal, salad and bread. However, it is not free for staff members unless they have to eat with the students for a professional reason: educational activity, supervision, etc.

Finnish school is compulsory at what age?
School is compulsory from the age of 7 for admission to the 1st year. However, Finnish kindergarten is compulsory, unlike in Quebec. Over the past year, the age for school attendance has increased from 17 to 18. More information in this item appeared earlier in the Expedition.

Can a pupil resume his school year?

It is indeed possible, although rare. As in Quebec, it is a situation of last resort and what is best for the student is considered.

Is there a phenomenon of dropping out of school in Finland?

Yes and it varies according to the course of the students. See this item appeared earlier in the Expedition.

Do teachers have to have a master's degree in education?
Yes, see the previous article here. They all have a research profile in addition to that of a practitioner.

Is there a quota for the initial training program?
Yes. About 10% of candidates are admitted to teaching. University studies are free. Yes, see the previous article here.

Note that there are also two phenomena similar to those observed in Quebec: there are teachers who drop out profession and there is also a shortage of teachers in some parts of Finland. However, the school benches in the Faculty of Education are busy, so this shortage is not a long-term problem for the moment.

How much are teachers paid?
On average, a Finnish teacher earns around € 3,600 per month up to a maximum of around € 5,700.

A school principal can earn up to almost € 8,000 per month. It should be noted that the salaries of the directors are negotiated every two years with the administration of the municipality and bonuses exist depending on the influence of the school and the involvement of the administration in various extracurricular tasks in connection with the improvement of conditions of student learning and teaching of teachers.

Are there two teachers per class?

Sometimes yes. There are teacher assistants, remedial teachers and the equivalent of special education technicians who can be added according to the needs of the students. The socio-economic background of the school is taken into account and these aids are allocated either to the group or to a few regrouped groups. It is very rare that such a resource is allocated to a single student!

What is the number of students in class?

There is no class limit or ratio, except in kindergarten. However, there is an element of Finnish law that dictates that pupils must be safe and well in school. We can therefore conclude that it is unlikely to place 40 or 50 pupils per class! The number of students in a class depends on the municipality, the size of the premises, the age of the students and the number of teachers available. One exception: there is a maximum of 20 students in a special class, sometimes less, depending on the student profiles. According to our observations, we can report:

Kindergarten: 10 students per teacher. Since classes frequently exceed this number, there are two teachers in the group;

Grades 1 to 6: between 22 and 24 students per group with a teacher;

7th to 12th year: it depends on the courses (compulsory or optional) and the number of students can vary greatly, for example from 5 or 6 students to more than 30!

Are teachers unionized?

Yes, they are and their role is similar to those in Quebec who work in education. However, they do offer additional insurance for teachers, such as personal travel insurance. School principals are also unionized.

Further answers to your questions will follow shortly. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us using the links below.

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Expédition pédagogique Québec – Finlande : des réponses à vos questions (1re partie)

Vous avez été plusieurs à nous envoyer des questions à poser aux professionnels de l'éducation finlandaise. Voici une partie des réponses que vous attendiez !

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

(co-écrit avec Marie-Andrée Croteau)

Plusieurs lecteurs nous ont posé un bon nombre de questions à poser à des professionnels de l’éducation finlandaise. Voici celles auxquelles nous avons reçu des réponses jusqu’à maintenant. Nous en sommes à la moitié de notre expédition et nous avons bon espoir que les autres réponses que vous attendez viendront plus tard, cette semaine.

Allons-y sans ordre précis :

L’école ferme-t-elle pour des tempêtes l’hiver?
À notre grande surprise, la réponse est non! L’école est toujours ouverte, peu importe le type de météo : neige, verglas, froid. On nous a dit que la fermeture des écoles pendant la pandémie était la première fois depuis très longtemps que l’école devait fermer.

Une exception : sur la côte sud-ouest de la Finlande, au large d’Helsinki jusqu’au large de Turku, il y a un peu plus de 450 îles qui sont habitées de façon permanente. Vu que les élèves doivent voyager en bateau pour se rendre à l’école, les conditions maritimes peuvent occasionnellement empêcher ces derniers d’aller à l’école. Leur scolarisation est donc tributaire des conditions de navigation et de la sécurité maritime.

Les élèves jouent-ils dehors même s’il fait très froid?
Lorsque nous étions dans l’Est finlandais, nous avons pu voir les élèves jouer dehors par -20°C excluant le refroidissement éolien. Les écoles ont toute l’autonomie nécessaire pour fixer le seuil auquel l’élève ne sort pas à cause de la température. Paraît-il que les écoles du sud ont habituellement une tolérance moindre au froid que les écoles du nord en Laponie!

Y a-t-il un réseau d’autobus scolaires?
Il n’existe pas de réseau d’autobus jaunes comme celui que nous connaissons au Québec. Du moins, pas dans les régions urbaines. À moins de 3 km de l’école, l’élève de la maternelle à la 2e année marche ou est reconduit à l’école par ses parents. La distance monte à 5 km pour les élèves de 3e année à 12e année. Toutefois, les élèves vivant plus loin de ces distances en milieu rural peuvent obtenir des billets d’autobus pour embarquer dans un autobus « régional », organisé par les instances municipales. Ces billets sont gratuits.

Pour des élèves handicapés ou blessés pour une durée déterminée, le réseau de taxi est accessible et payé par l’école.

L’école est-elle gratuite en Finlande?
Oui, complètement gratuite. Comme indiqué au préalable, le transport vers l’école est gratuit lorsqu’il est requis. Aussi, la loi a changé depuis un an. Dorénavant, les appareils numériques requis par l’école, ainsi que les livres et manuels sont aussi gratuits, ce qui n’était pas le cas avant.

Il y a une exception : les écoles qui ont un projet pédagogique particulier peuvent demander aux parents d’acheter le matériel nécessaire en lien avec ce projet : instrument de musique, tenue sportive, etc.

Y a-t-il des écoles privées en Finlande?

Contrairement à la croyance répandue, il y aurait environ 70 écoles privées finlandaises réparties surtout au sud du pays, et ce, sur un total de plus de 3200 écoles totales. Plusieurs sont de nature religieuses ou culturelles. Certaines de ces écoles sont financées par l’État.

Y a-t-il des centres de service scolaires ou des commissions scolaires ?
Non. Les écoles sont sous la responsabilité de la ville ou de l’organisme régional. Essentiellement, ce sont eux qui ont la responsabilité de l’école qui jouit d’une grande autonomie dans une perspective de décentralisation des pouvoirs.

Est-ce vrai que les élèves ne portent pas de souliers à l’école?
Il n’y a pas de règle nationale en ce sens, mais c’est effectivement un élément culturel. Plusieurs portent des sandales, pantoufles et aussi des « Crocs ». Certaines écoles imposent toutefois cette règle; elles sont dotées d’un vestibule en entrant et les élèves y laissent leurs bottes ou souliers avant d’entrer dans l’école.

Il en va de même pour le personnel scolaire. Il n’y donc pas rare de les voir bien habillés, mais avec des pantoufles!

Avec nos yeux de nord-américains, nous avons posé la question qui tue : que font-ils s’il y a une alarme de feu et qu’il fait -10°C ? On nous a répondu : « eh bien… ils sortent »!

Le dîner est-il inclus à l’école?
Oui, les écoles finlandaises offrent le dîner gratuitement aux élèves. C’est un repas de style buffet avec deux choix de repas chaud, de la salade et du pain. Toutefois, ce n’est pas gratuit pour les membres du personnel à moins que ceux-ci doivent manger avec les élèves pour une raison professionnelle : activité pédagogique, surveillance, etc.

L’école finlandaise est obligatoire à quel âge?
L’école est obligatoire dès 7 ans pour une admission en 1re année. Toutefois, la maternelle finlandaise est obligatoire, et ce, contrairement au Québec. Depuis un an, l’âge de la fréquentation scolaire est passé de 17 à 18 ans. Plus d’information dans cet article paru plus tôt dans l’Expédition.

Un élève peut-il reprendre son année scolaire?

C’est effectivement possible, quoique rare. Comme au Québec, c’est une situation de dernier recours et ce qui a de mieux pour l’élève est envisagé.

Y a-t-il un phénomène de décrochage scolaire en Finlande?

Oui et il varie selon les parcours des élèves. Voir cet article paru plus tôt dans l’Expédition.

Les enseignants doivent-ils détenir une maîtrise en éducation?
Oui, voir l’article précédent ici. Ils détiennent tous un profil de recherche qui s’ajoute à celui de praticien.

Le programme de formation initiale est-il contingenté?
Oui. Environ 10% des candidats sont admis en enseignement. Les études universitaires sont gratuites. Oui, voir l’article précédent ici.

Noter qu’il existe aussi deux phénomènes semblables à ceux observés au Québec : il y a des enseignants qui décrochent de la profession et il existe aussi une pénurie d’enseignants dans certaines régions finlandaises. Toutefois, les bancs d’école de la faculté d’éducation sont bien occupés, ce qui fait que, pour le moment, cette pénurie ne pose pas de problème à long terme.

Combien sont payés les enseignants?
En moyenne, un enseignant finlandais gagne environ 3600€ par mois jusqu’à un maximum d’environ 5700€.

Une direction d’école peut gagner jusqu’à près de 8000€par mois. À noter que le salaire des directions est négocié à toutes les deux années avec la direction de la municipalité et des bonus existent en fonction du rayonnement de l’école et l’implication de la direction dans diverses tâches extrascolaires en lien avec l’amélioration des conditions d’apprentissage des élèves et d’enseignement des enseignants.

Les enseignants sont-ils deux par classe?

Parfois, oui. Il existe des aide-enseignants, des orthopédagogues et l’équivalent des techniciens en éducation spécialisée qui peuvent venir s’ajouter en fonction des besoins des élèves. Le milieu socio-économique de l’école est pris en compte et ces aides sont attribuées soit au groupe ou à quelques groupes regroupés. Il est très rare qu’une telle ressource soit attribuée à un seul élève !

Quel est le nombre d’élèves en classe?

Il n’y a pas de limite d’élèves en classe ou de ratio, sauf en maternelle. Toutefois, il y a un élément de la loi finlandaise dictant que les élèves doivent être bien à l’école et en sécurité. Nous pouvons donc en conclure qu’il est peu probable de placer 40 ou 50 élèves par classe ! Le nombre d’élèves dans une classe dépend de la municipalité, de la superficie des locaux, de l’âge des élèves et du nombre d’enseignants disponible. Une seule exception : il y a un maximum de 20 élèves en classe spécialisée, parfois moins, selon les profils des élèves. Selon nos observations, nous pouvons rapporter :

Maternelle : 10 élèves par enseignants. Vu que les classes dépassent fréquemment ce nombre, il y a deux enseignantes dans le groupe;

1re à 6e année : entre 22 et 24 élèves par groupe avec un enseignant;

7e à 12e année : cela dépend des cours (obligatoires ou optionnels) et les nombres d’élèves peuvent grandement varier, par exemple de 5 ou 6 élèves à plus d’une trentaine!

Les enseignants sont-ils syndiqués?

Oui, ils le sont et leur rôle s’apparente à ceux du Québec qui oeuvrent en éducation. Toutefois, ils offrent des assurances supplémentaires aux enseignants, comme une assurance pour les voyages personnels. Les directions d’écoles sont aussi syndiquées.

D’autres réponses à vos questions suivront sous peu. Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous grâce aux liens plus bas.

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :