ADVERTISEMENT

Be meaningful for Hooked on School Days

The challenges of the pandemic that we have been experiencing since 2020 spare no one and even less young people. This year, as part of Hooked on School Days, the Quebec Network for Educational Success, instigator of the event, would like to say “Thank you” to those who give meaning to the educational path of young people. All the players in the school environment are of course part of it.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

For several years, Quebec has been mobilizing for the educational success of young people within the framework of School Perseverance Days (JPS), which are celebrated during the 3e week of February. The 2022 edition will be held from February 14 to 18 under the theme "Thank you for being meaningful".

The challenges of the pandemic that we have been experiencing since 2020 spare no one and even less young people. This year, the Quebec Network for Educational Success (RQRE), instigator of the event, would like to say "Thank you" to those who give meaning to the educational path of young people. All the players in the school environment are of course part of it.

A survey on school perseverance

To mark the start of the JPS 2022, the RQRE unveiled the results of a Leger survey conducted among 500 young Quebecers aged 15 to 22 who are currently studying. While 47 % of young people in school say that the pandemic has had a negative effect on their perception of the future, a large majority (77 %) of them nevertheless see their future with optimism. 

According to the results of the survey, nearly one in three young people (32 %) have considered leaving school in the face of the scale of the health crisis. However, they seem to remain confident and resilient. In fact, 81 % of the respondents indicated that they felt competent and capable of succeeding with regard to the academic goals they had set for themselves and 78 % said they were satisfied with their academic results.

When asked about their motivating factors, 89 % of respondents mentioned being surrounded by at least one person who had a positive influence on their school career. “The general portrait of the survey is encouraging. Young people in school seem resilient and confident about their future, but let's remain vigilant since we know that the situation is currently difficult for young people,” says Audrey McKinnon, Executive Director of the RQRE.

“What the data confirms to us, however, is the importance of encouraging and valuing the young people we meet from near and far. All the gestures of their close or extended circle count and can have a real effect on their school perseverance. »

37 % of young people cite a teacher as being a factor of positive influence on their school perseverance.

The entourage of a young person in school can indeed take on several faces. In the survey, more than half of the respondents (57 %) cite a parent as being a factor of positive influence on their school perseverance; 37 % a teacher; 33 % their circle of friends and 29 % an adult in their family circle other than their parents.

However, it should not be overlooked that one in ten young people (11 %) say they have no positive influence from those around them on their academic progress, a proportion that increases among young people who are not motivated compared to their studies (17 %).

Programming of Hooked on School Days 2022

Until February 18, several activities are taking place across Quebec. On February 16 at 1 p.m., the JPS offer students aged 11 to 14 from all over Quebec a space for discussion with spokesperson Laurent Duvernay-Tardif and his guests during a virtual meeting. From 2:15 p.m., it will be the turn of young people aged 15 to 17 to hear the JDT and its guests talk about self-esteem, commitment and motivation.

To find out more, visit: journeesperseverancescolaire.com

To discover the activities organized by the regional consultation bodies (IRC) within the framework of the JPS, consult the section In your region.


A message from the Montreal Success Network

Our Montreal Success Network (RRM) is the Montreal coordinator of the JPS. The organization invites everyone to take an interest in the issue of school perseverance and to plan a time to encourage the young people around them.

A survey conducted by the University of Sherbrooke and the CIUSSS de l'Estrie – CHUS on the psychological health of 12 to 25 year olds, whose data was published last Wednesday, also mentions a decline in the attractiveness of young people. for the school between 2021 and 2022, underlines the RRM in a press release.

"If we add to this the receipt of a report card with less than expected results, the winter slump and still half a year to go, we can understand that some young people have the impression of being in this moment facing an insurmountable mountain. Yes, young people are resilient, they have demonstrated it. However, we must remain vigilant, among other things by being concerned about these students whose motivation seems to be deteriorating. Our presence and support can really make a difference,” illustrates Andrée Mayer-Périard, RRM's Executive Director.


A message from the Federation of Parents' Committees

The Federation of Parents' Committees of Quebec (FCPQ) is participating once again this year in Hooked on School Days.

“Holded on to School Days is an annual event that always comes at the right time in the month of February, when we notice that motivation and perseverance are difficult for many young people, and even for their parents. It's time to show kindness and be bearers of meaning for our young people. Thank you to all those who make efforts to encourage students to persevere, whether through their words or their individual and collective actions! “, shares Kévin Roy, president of the FCPQ.

The results of recurring surveys conducted by the FCPQ among parents of Quebec students during the last school year indicate that motivation hits a low point in February, showing the relevance of holding this event at this time. The third survey of the 2021-2022 school year is also In progress, coinciding with the delivery of the first bulletin of the year.

The general manager of the FCPQ, Corinne Payne, will also take part in a lunchtime chat with the theme "How to support my child's school perseverance?" », Friday, February 18 at noon, in collaboration with Catherine Ratelle, full professor at the Faculty of Education.


A big contest for Hooked on School Days

Alloprof took advantage of the JPS to launch the Gagner à s'aider contest. It will allow three people to win a scholarship of 1000 TP2T by participating in the Zone d'entraide d'Alloprof. Until April 17, 2022, parents and students are invited to ask a question or provide a school explanation.

“It's a great way to keep young people motivated and to encourage them to help each other and seek help with less well-understood concepts or subjects,” sums up Marc-Antoine Tanguay.

Alloprof also launches for the occasion the series of videos Confessions of parents which puts forward parents who confide in the challenges they face on a daily basis and their little tips about course choices, homework time or exam preparation, for example.

The organization also invites parents, the first allies of academic success, to draw inspiration from the many tips, tricks and tools offered in the Alloprof Parents section, including files to support perseverance and prevent stalling

Finally, Alloprof takes the opportunity to recall the results of a national study carried out in collaboration with the Center for Studies on Learning and Performance (CEAP) at UQAM on its impact in a pandemic.

“The results show in particular that Alloprof is a valuable ally in the school career of students, especially when the learning routine is turned upside down,” explains the spokesperson. 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Être porteurs de sens pour les Journées de la persévérance scolaire

Les défis de la pandémie que nous vivons depuis 2020 n’épargnent personne et encore moins les jeunes. Cette année, dans le cadre des Journées de la persévérance scolaire, le Réseau québécois pour la réussite éducative, instigateur de l'événement, souhaite dire « Merci » à ceux qui donnent du sens au parcours scolaire des jeunes. Tous les acteurs du milieu scolaire en font bien sûr partie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Depuis plusieurs années, le Québec se mobilise pour la réussite éducative des jeunes dans le cadre des Journées de la persévérance scolaire (JPS), qui sont célébrées durant la 3e semaine du mois de février. L’édition 2022 se tient du 14 au 18 février sous le thème « Merci d’être porteur de sens ».

Les défis de la pandémie que nous vivons depuis 2020 n’épargnent personne et encore moins les jeunes. Cette année, le Réseau québécois pour la réussite éducative (RQRE), instigateur de l’événement, souhaite dire « Merci » à ceux qui donnent du sens au parcours scolaire des jeunes. Tous les acteurs du milieu scolaire en font bien sûr partie.

Un sondage sur la persévérance scolaire

Pour marquer le début des JPS 2022, le RQRE a dévoilé les résultats d’un sondage Léger mené auprès de 500 jeunes Québécois de 15 à 22 ans qui sont actuellement aux études. Alors que 47 % des jeunes en parcours scolaire affirment que la pandémie a eu un effet négatif sur leur perception d’avenir, une forte majorité (77 %) d’entre eux entrevoient toutefois leur futur avec optimisme. 

Selon les résultats du sondage, près d’un jeune sur trois (32 %) a songé à quitter les bancs de l’école face à l’ampleur de la crise sanitaire. Ceux-ci semblent toutefois demeurer confiants et résilients. En effet, 81 % des répondants ont indiqué se sentir compétents et capables de réussir en regard des objectifs scolaires qu’ils se sont fixés et 78 % se sont dits satisfaits de leurs résultats scolaires.

Lorsqu’interrogés sur leurs facteurs de motivation, 89 % des répondants mentionnent être entourés d’au moins une personne ayant une influence positive sur leur parcours scolaire. « Le portrait général du sondage est encourageant. Les jeunes en parcours scolaires semblent résilients et confiants envers leur avenir, mais restons vigilants puisqu’on sait que la situation est actuellement difficile pour les jeunes », affirme Audrey McKinnon, directrice générale du RQRE.

« Ce que les données nous confirment toutefois, c’est l’importance d’encourager et de valoriser les jeunes que nous côtoyons de près ou de loin. Tous les gestes de leur cercle proche ou élargi comptent et peuvent avoir un réel effet sur leur persévérance scolaire. »

37 % des jeunes citent un enseignant comme étant un facteur d’influence positif sur leur persévérance scolaire.

L’entourage d’un jeune en parcours scolaire peut effectivement revêtir plusieurs visages. Dans le sondage, plus de la moitié des répondants (57 %) citent un parent comme étant un facteur d’influence positif sur leur persévérance scolaire ; 37 % un enseignant ; 33 % leur cercle d’amis et 29 % un adulte de leur cercle familial autre que leurs parents.

Toutefois, il ne faut pas passer sous silence qu’un jeune sur dix (11 %) affirme ne pas avoir d’influence positive de la part de son entourage sur leur cheminement scolaire, une proportion qui augmente chez les jeunes qui ne sont pas motivés par rapport à leurs études (17 %).

Programmation des Journées de la persévérance scolaire 2022

Jusqu’au18 février, plusieurs activités sont déployées à travers le Québec. Le 16 février à 13 h, les JPS offrent aux élèves âgés de 11 à 14 ans de partout au Québec un espace de discussion avec le porte-parole Laurent Duvernay-Tardif et ses invités lors d’un rendez-vous virtuel. Dès 14 h 15, ce sera au tour des jeunes âgés de 15 à 17 ans d’entendre le JDT et ses invités parler d’estime de soi, d’engagement et de motivation.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez : journeesperseverancescolaire.com

Pour découvrir les activités organisées par les Instances régionales de concertation (IRC) dans le cadre des JPS, consultez la section Dans votre région.


Un message du Réseau réussite Montréal

Le Réseau réussite Montréal (RRM) est le coordonnateur montréalais des JPS. L’organisme invite toute la population à s’intéresser à l’enjeu de la persévérance scolaire et à prévoir un moment pour encourager les jeunes autour d’elle.

Une enquête menée par l’Université de Sherbrooke et le CIUSSS de l’Estrie – CHUS sur la santé psychologique des 12 à 25 ans, dont les données ont été publiées mercredi dernier, fait également mention d’une baisse de l’attrait des jeunes pour l’école entre 2021 et 2022, souligne le RRM dans un communiqué de presse.

« Si on ajoute à ceci la réception d’un bulletin avec des résultats moindres qu’espérés, le creux de l’hiver et encore une demi-année à tenir, on peut comprendre que certains jeunes ont l’impression de se trouver en ce moment face à une montagne insurmontable. Oui, les jeunes sont résilients, ils en ont fait la démonstration. Cependant, il faut demeurer vigilant, entre autres en se préoccupant de ces élèves dont la motivation semble se détériorer. Notre présence et notre appui peuvent vraiment faire une différence », illustre Andrée Mayer-Périard, directrice générale de RRM.


Un message de la Fédération des comités de parents

La Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ) participe encore cette année aux Journées de la persévérance scolaire.

« Les Journées de la persévérance scolaire sont un rendez-vous annuel qui tombent toujours à point dans le mois de février, alors qu’on remarque que la motivation et la persévérance sont difficiles pour plusieurs jeunes, et même pour leurs parents. C’est le moment de faire preuve de bienveillance et d’être des porteurs de sens pour nos jeunes.  Merci à tous ceux qui font des efforts pour encourager les élèves à persévérer, que ce soit par leurs mots ou leurs actions individuelles et collectives! », partage Kévin Roy, président de la FCPQ.

Les résultats de sondages récurrents menés par la FCPQ auprès des parents d’élèves du Québec pendant la dernière année scolaire indiquent que la motivation atteint un creux en février, montrant toute la pertinence de tenir cet événement à cette période. Le troisième sondage de l’année scolaire 2021-2022 est d’ailleurs en cours, coïncidant avec la remise du premier bulletin de l’année.

La directrice générale de la FCPQ, Corinne Payne, participera par ailleurs à un midi-causerie ayant pour thème « Comment soutenir la persévérance scolaire de mon enfant? », le vendredi 18 février à midi, en collaboration avec Catherine Ratelle, professeur titulaire de la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation.


Un grand concours pour les Journées de la persévérance scolaire

Alloprof a profité des JPS pour lancer le concours Gagner à s’entraider. Il permettra à trois personnes de gagner une bourse d’études de 1000 $ en participant à la Zone d’entraide d’Alloprof. Jusqu’au 17 avril 2022, les parents et élèves sont invités à y poser une question ou à y fournir une explication scolaire.

« C’est une belle façon de garder les jeunes motivés et de les encourager à s’entraider et à chercher de l’aide en lien avec les notions ou matières moins bien comprises », résume Marc-Antoine Tanguay.

Alloprof lance également pour l’occasion la série de vidéos Confessions de parents qui met de l’avant des parents qui se confient sur les défis qu’ils vivent au quotidien et leurs petits trucs à propos des choix de cours, de la période des devoirs ou de la préparation aux examens, par exemple.

L’organisme invite aussi les parents, premiers alliés de la réussite scolaire, à s’inspirer des nombreux trucs, astuces et outils proposés dans la section Alloprof Parents, dont les dossiers pour soutenir la persévérance et prévenir le décrochage

Enfin, Alloprof en profite pour rappeler les résultats d’une étude nationale réalisée en collaboration avec le Centre d’études sur l’apprentissage et la performance (CEAP) de l’UQAM sur son impact en pandémie.

« Les résultats démontrent notamment qu’Alloprof est un allié précieux dans le parcours scolaire des élèves, en particulier quand la routine d’apprentissage est chamboulée  », explique le porte-parole. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :