Les #Édubrèves - week of May 23, 2021

In this delivery of #Édubrèves: a webinar on co-modal education presented by the Ministry of Education, young girls awarded for their techno projects, indoor gardens and the promotion of outdoor education. There are also a few more surprises!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

The big countdown at the end of the school year has officially started since there is less than a month left before the end of classes. Until then, the École branchée team continues to search the web for information that is relevant to you. Here are your #Édubrèves for the week.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


Educational approaches and co-modality

The Ministry of Education presents a webinar on pedagogical approaches in the context of distance education. It's a meeting on May 28 from 11 a.m.. This activity, offered to teaching staff and educational advisers, aims to offer teaching practices that optimize the use of audiovisual kits, installed in schools, which are intended to facilitate distance education. Offered in French and English, the presentation will be followed by a period of discussion on various distance learning modalities such as co-modal education.  


The winners of Technovation Montreal's 2021 Demo Day

More than twenty teams made up of young girls from elementary and secondary schools in Montreal and Ottawa-Gatineau, accompanied by their mentors, recently presented their Technovation Girls technological project.

Photo credit : Matteo zamaria

We invite you to discover the winners:

Grand prize (senior category) : Womensture of Quintessence Quintet is an app that empowers girls from disadvantaged backgrounds in Africa by educating them about the importance of menstrual hygiene and donating menstrual products in their region.

Grand prize (junior category) : Planet Pets of Kawaii chan girls is an educational app that educates children about endangered species.

The jury's favorite : UBored? of SparKL aims to decrease depressive symptoms through hobbies by generating daily challenges to motivate users to achieve goals.

Favorite Technology of the jury : Spectrum of Mobius is an educational mobile adventure game that educates users about environmental impacts through easy-to-enter information, while inspiring them to think ethically about their actions. 

Photo credit : Matteo zamaria

This is an initiative of the organization Technovation Montreal. The 24 local teams also submitted their projects to the international jury of the Technovation World Summit, which will take place on August 12 and 13, 2021. The semi-finalists from around the world will be announced on June 2.


Track the disinfo 

As part of the Covid-19 project: Screening for disinfo, Agence Science-Presse offers four podcasts which explore the phenomenon of disinformation and fake news in the unusual context of the global pandemic. This podcast is a production ofScience-Press Agency, in collaboration with the Professional Federation of Quebec Journalists (FPJQ), the content agency 37th AVENUE and My notebook. It was made possible thanks to the financial support of Canadian Heritage.


Indoor gardens for schools

Vireo offers teachers to bring nature into their classroom with the installation of educational, connected, immersive and fun indoor gardens. Students grow plants, fruits and vegetables and learn through projects throughout the school year! Watch the video presenting the project.


Promote outdoor education in Quebec

The Monique-Fitz-Back Foundation invites stakeholders in the field of education, from early childhood to university, through alternative environments, to participate in the Challenge Open your door. A Facebook event was also created to present inspiring and varied examples to help people not initiated by this pedagogy to take the plunge at their own pace and in their own way. Participants have until June 17, 2021 to share their initiatives by going to the www.defiouvretaporte.ca and thus be eligible for several participation prizes.

Photo credit: Andréanne Gervais-Crête

A helping hand for success at school

School boost recalls that it offers a one-off or regular support service for children from preschool to university. It offers support for homework help and development in the form of individualized and personalized courses in all subjects as well as follow-up in remedial education. We had already spoken about it on the École branchée.


To read : 

  • GAFAM, the beast with 5 heads : This dossier, prepared by Phylippe Gendreau of Carrefour education, mainly aims to equip today's young people so that they understand the issues dictated, controlled and dominated by the web giants called GAFAM: Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon , and Microsoft.
  • In the shadow of the Covid-19 crisis, school principals had to review their practices : Three professors from the University of Quebec at Rimouski wanted to understand the role of school principals in the current context. Their research revealed eight principles that guide the actions of school administrators in this time of crisis.

In closing… let's make the most of the weekend!

See you soon! Until then, don't hesitate to “tag” us (in good French…) on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so that we can talk about your project / resource in a future review of the week! Have a great weekend!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Les #Édubrèves – semaine du 23 mai 2021

Dans cette livraison des #Édubrèves : un webinaire sur l'enseignement comodal présenté par le ministère de l'Éducation, des jeunes filles primées pour leurs projets techno, des jardins intérieurs et la promotion de l'éducation en plein air. Il y a aussi quelques surprises en plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Le grand décompte de la fin de l’année scolaire est officiellement débuté puisqu’il reste moins d’un mois avant la fin des classes. D’ici là, l’équipe de l’École branchée continue de fouiller le Web à la recherche d’information pertinente pour vous. Voici vos #Édubrèves de la semaine.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Approches pédagogiques et comodalité

Le ministère de l’Éducation présente un webinaire sur les approches pédagogiques en contexte d’enseignement à distance. C’est un rendez-vous le 28 mai dès 11h. Cette activité, proposée au personnel enseignant et conseillers pédagogiques, vise à proposer des pratiques pédagogiques qui optimisent l’utilisation des trousses audiovisuelles, installées dans les écoles, qui sont destinées à faciliter l’enseignement à distance. Offerte en français et en anglais, la présentation sera suivie d’une période d’échange sur différentes modalités d’enseignement à distance telles que l’enseignement comodal.  


Les gagnantes de la Journée Démo 2021 de Technovation Montréal

Plus d’une vingtaine d’équipes composées de jeunes filles d’écoles primaires et secondaires de Montréal et d’Ottawa-Gatineau, accompagnées de leurs mentors, ont récemment présenté leur projet technologique Technovation Girls.

Crédit photo : Matteo Zamaria

Nous vous invitons à découvrir les gagnantes:

Grand prix (catégorie senior) : Womensture de Quintessence Quintet est une application qui donne du pouvoir aux filles issues de milieux défavorisés en Afrique en les sensibilisant à l’importance de l’hygiène menstruelle et en faisant don de produits menstruels dans leur région.

Grand prix (catégorie junior) : Planet Pets de Kawaii Chan Girls est une application éducative qui sensibilise les enfants aux espèces en voie de disparition..

Coup de cœur du jury : UBored? de SparKL vise à diminuer les symptômes dépressifs par le biais de passe-temps en générant des défis quotidiens pour motiver les utilisateurs à atteindre des objectifs.

Coup de cœur Technologie du jury : Spectrum de Mobius est un jeu mobile d’aventure éducatif qui sensibilise les utilisateurs aux impacts environnementaux par le biais d’infos faciles à saisir, tout en les incitant à réfléchir de manière éthique à leurs actions. 

Crédit photo : Matteo Zamaria

Il s’agit d’une initiative de l’organisme Technovation Montréal. Les 24 équipes locales ont également soumis leurs projets au jury international du Sommet mondial Technovation, qui aura lieu les 12 et 13 août 2021. Les demi-finalistes du monde entier seront annoncées le 2 juin prochain.


Dépister la désinfo 

Dans le cadre du projet Covid-19 : Dépister la désinfo, l’Agence Science-Presse propose quatre balados qui explorent le phénomène de la désinformation et des fausses nouvelles dans le contexte inusité de la pandémie mondiale. Cette balado est une production de l’Agence Science-Presse, en collaboration avec la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), l’agence de contenu 37e AVENUE et MonCarnet. Elle a été rendue possible grâce au soutien financier de Patrimoine canadien.


Des jardins intérieurs pour les écoles

Vireo propose aux enseignants d’amener la nature dans leur salle de classe avec l’installation de jardins intérieurs pédagogiques, connectés, immersifs et ludiques. Les élèves cultivent des plants, des fruits et des légumes et font des apprentissages par projets pendant toute l’année scolaire! Voyez la vidéo qui présente le projet.


Promouvoir l’éducation en plein air au Québec

La Fondation Monique-Fitz-Back invite les intervenants du domaine de l’éducation, de la petite enfance à l’université, en passant par les milieux alternatifs, à participer au Défi Ouvre ta porte. Un événement Facebook a également été créé pour présenter des exemples inspirants et variés pour aider les personnes non initiées par cette pédagogie à franchir le pas à leur rythme et à leur manière. Les participants ont jusqu’au 17 juin 2021 pour partager leurs initiatives en se rendant au www.defiouvretaporte.ca et ainsi être admissibles à plusieurs prix de participation.

Crédit photo : Andréanne Gervais-Crête

Un coup de pouce pour réussir à l’école

Coup de pouce scolaire rappelle qu’elle offre un service de soutien ponctuel ou régulier pour les enfants du préscolaire à l’université. Elle propose de l’accompagnement pour l’aide aux devoirs et du perfectionnement sous forme de cours individualisés et personnalisés dans toutes les matières ainsi que des suivis en orthopédagogie. Nous en avions déjà parlé sur l’École branchée.


À lire : 

  • GAFAM, la bête à 5 têtes : Ce dossier, préparé par Phylippe Gendreau de Carrefour éducation,  vise principalement à outiller les jeunes d’aujourd’hui pour qu’ils comprennent les enjeux dictés, contrôlés et dominés par les géants du Web appelés GAFAM : Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, et Microsoft.
  • À l’ombre de la crise de la Covid-19, les directions d’écoles ont dû revoir leurs pratiques : Trois professeurs de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski ont voulu comprendre le rôle des directions d’école dans le contexte actuel. Leur recherche a permis de dégager huit principes qui guident les actions des directions d’école dans ce temps de crise.

En terminant… on profite de la fin de semaine!

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente fin de semaine!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!