Les #Édubrèves - September 5, 2021 edition

Here are the #Édubrèves of the week. In this edition: Curium magazine as a gift, a new collective work on practices promoting the digital transformation of education, teachers who make TikTok videos, Canadian video game history, tech tutorials, an overview of the school of the future and much more! Good reading.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Good Sunday! Here I am with the #Édubrèves of the week. Do not hesitate to share them or write to me if you have any news to circulate.

In this edition: Curium magazine as a gift, a new collective work on practices promoting the digital transformation of education, teachers who make TikTok videos, Canadian video game history, tech tutorials, an overview of the school of the future and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


A back-to-school gift from Curium

Here is a link which will give you direct and free access to the digital version of the September issue of Curium, the science, techno and society magazine for 14-17 year olds. A small back-to-school gift from Publications BLD. 

You can also consult the educational activity sheets for the exploitation of the contents of this magazine with your pupils.

Did you order hard copies last spring? You should receive them in the mail shortly.


Videos on TikTok that transform teaching 

In this article, published in University Affairs, Anna Blackney, professor of biomedical engineering at the University of British Columbia, testifies to her use of TikTok to distribute educational and playful video clips to her students. She says the videos, in addition to catching the interest of young people, has taught her to be more concise and more creative in imparting knowledge. 

Will you try the experiment?

For those who will, Kate Tilleczek, professor of education at York University and director of the Young Lives Research laboratory, recommends in this same article, to involve your students from the beginning of the project. According to her, educators have a duty to "reflect on the educational value of the tools they use", but they must also allow young people to participate in the reflection. 


School Success is preparing the launch of its fall semester

Since 2016, the organization Succès scolaire, now recognized as a virtual school by the Ministry of Education, has helped more than 10,000 students continue their education. It sets itself apart with its entirely online courses and its teaching practices which focus on co-teaching and promote educational differentiation. 

With a new course offer that allows young people from 4e and 5secondary school to continue their school career by completing their DES or obtaining the necessary prerequisites for their admission to college, École Succès Scolaire is a resource for some students to discover.

To learn more


To read

Digital transformation of the educational institution: sharing of professional practices

A new collective work, under the direction of Under the direction of France Gravelle, Nathalie Frigon and Julie monette, has just been published by the Presses de l'Université du Québec. It is made up of nine chapters with the objective of promoting professional practices that have fostered the digital transformation of educational institutions in Quebec. A great read for inspiration.

Distance learning: a disaster for college students

In this article, published on La Conversation this week, Émilie Delage from the University of Montreal, takes stock of the year and a half of online courses for CEGEP students. There is no doubt that it was catastrophic for them: overexposure to screens, sedentary lifestyle, lack of motivation and concentration, cheating, etc.

A Canadian History of Video Games

If you are interested in the gamification of teaching, you may be interested in browsing the story of Canadian video game history. A reading that could even captivate some students, as we present Canada's place in this global ecosystem. 


Tech tools tutorials

The pedagogical team of the Laval School Services Center brought together numerous tutorials and created self-study paths to help students (and maybe even teachers and parents) to appropriate different digital tools. 


To put on the agenda

September 9-10, 2021: Training days on digital integration in educational counseling

The site of the event, organized by the professor of the University of Sherbrooke, Nancy Granger, is available. You can consult the schedule and signify your choices for the workshop blocks.

October 13: MTL Connecte - The Future of Education

École branchée CEO Audrey Miller to present the conference Digital challenges and opportunities for education, at 1:40 p.m., and Stéphanie Dionne, Director of Business Development, will lead a panel discussion on the theme Digital technology as a lever for well-being and learning, from 2.15 p.m.

Book your ticket now.


Find out what the school of the future will look like

Teachers in holograms, software that follow the movement of readers' eyes to adapt to their reading rhythm, etc. Changes, which are not science fiction, are still to be expected in schools in the coming decades. 


A picture is worth a thousand words

Spotted on the Twitter feed of Manon Richardson, with greetings to Marius Bourgeoys


In closing, how is your return to school going?

See you soon! Until then, don't hesitate to “tag” us (in good French…) on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so that we can talk about your project / resource in a future review of the week! Have a great week!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 5 septembre 2021

Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. Dans cette édition : le magazine Curium en cadeau, un nouvel ouvrage collectif sur les pratiques favorisant la transformation numérique de l’éducation, des professeures qui font des vidéos TikTok, l’histoire canadienne du jeu vidéo, des tutoriels technos, un aperçu de l’école du futur et bien plus! Bonne lecture.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Bon dimanche! Me voici avec les #Édubrèves de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : le magazine Curium en cadeau, un nouvel ouvrage collectif sur les pratiques favorisant la transformation numérique de l’éducation, des professeures qui font des vidéos TikTok, l’histoire canadienne du jeu vidéo, des tutoriels technos, un aperçu de l’école du futur et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Un cadeau de la rentrée de la part de Curium

Voici un lien qui vous permettra d’accéder directement et gratuitement à la version numérique du numéro de septembre de Curium, le magazine science, techno et société des 14-17 ans. Un petit cadeau de la rentrée de la part de Publications BLD. 

Vous pouvez aussi consulter les fiches d’activités pédagogiques pour l’exploitation du contenu de ce magazine avec vos élèves.

Vous aviez commandé des exemplaires papier au printemps dernier? Vous devriez les recevoir sous peu par la poste.


Des vidéos sur TikTok qui transforment l’enseignement 

Dans cet article, paru dans Affaires universitaires, Anna Blackney, professeure de génie biomédical à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, témoigne de son utilisation de TikTok pour diffuser des capsules vidéos éducatives et ludiques à ses étudiants. Elle dit que les vidéos, en plus de susciter l’intérêt des jeunes,  lui ont appris à être plus concise et plus créative pour transmettre des connaissances. 

Tenterez-vous l’expérience?

Pour ceux qui le feront, Kate Tilleczek, professeure en éducation à l’Université York et directrice du laboratoire Young Lives Research, recommande dans ce même article, d’impliquer vos élèves dès le début du projet. Selon elle, les éducateurs ont le devoir de « réfléchir à la valeur éducative des outils qu’ils utilisent », mais ils doivent aussi permettre aux jeunes de participer à la réflexion. 


Succès Scolaire prépare le lancement de sa session d’automne

Depuis 2016, l’organisation Succès scolaire, maintenant reconnue comme école virtuelle par le ministère de l’Éducation, a aidé plus de 10 000 élèves à poursuivre leur parcours scolaire. Elle se démarque par ses cours entièrement en ligne et ses pratiques pédagogiques qui misent sur le co-enseignement et favorisent la différenciation pédagogique. 

Avec une nouvelle offre de cours qui permet aux jeunes de 4e et 5secondaire de poursuivre leur parcours scolaire en complétant leur DES ou encore en obtenant les préalables nécessaires à leur admission au collégial, l’École Succès Scolaire est une ressource à découvrir pour certains élèves.

Pour en apprendre davantage


À lire

Transformation numérique de l’établissement d’enseignement : partage de pratiques professionnelles

Un nouvel ouvrage collectif, sous la direction de Sous la direction de France Gravelle, Nathalie Frigon et Julie Monette, vient de paraître aux Presses de l’Université du Québec. Il est composé de neuf chapitres ayant pour objectif de mettre de l’avant des pratiques professionnelles qui ont favorisé la transformation numérique d’établissements d’enseignement québécois. Une belle lecture pour s’inspirer.

Cours à distance : une catastrophe pour les étudiants du collégia

Dans cet article, paru sur La Conversation cette semaine, Émilie Delage de l’Université de Montréal, fait le bilan de l’année et demie de cours en ligne pour les cégépiens. Il ne fait aucun doute que cela a été catastrophique pour eux : surexposition aux écrans, sédentarité, manque de motivation et de concentration, tricherie, etc.

Une histoire canadienne du jeu vidéo

Si vous vous intéressez à la ludicisation de l’enseignement, vous pourrez être intéressé de parcourir le récit de l’histoire canadienne du jeu vidéo. Une lecture qui pourrait même captiver certains élèves, alors qu’on présente la place du Canada dans cet écosystème mondial. 


Des tutoriels d’outils technos

L’équipe pédagonumérique du Centre de services scolaires de Laval a rassemblé de nombreux tutoriels et à créé des parcours d’autoformation pour aider les élèves (et peut-être même les enseignants et les parents) à s’approprier différents outils numériques. 


À mettre à l’agenda

9-10 septembre 2021 : Journées de formation sur l’intégration du numérique en conseillance pédagogique

Le site de l’événement, organisé par la professeure de l’Université de Sherbrooke, Nancy Granger, est disponible. Vous pouvez consulter la programmation et signifier vos choix pour les blocs d’ateliers.

13 octobre : MTL Connecte – Le futur de l’éducation

La directrice générale de l’École branchée, Audrey Miller, présentera la conférence Défis et occasions du numérique pour l’éducation, à 13h40, et Stéphanie Dionne, directrice du développement des affaires, animera un panel de discussion sur le thème Le numérique comme levier de bien-être et d’apprentissage, dès 14h15.

Réserver votre billet maintenant.


Découvrez à quoi ressemblera l’école du futur

Des enseignants en hologramme, des logiciels qui suivent le mouvement des yeux des lecteurs pour s’adapter à leur rythme de lecture, etc. Des changements, qui ne sont pas de la science-fiction, sont encore à prévoir dans les écoles dans les prochaines décennies. 


Un image vaut mille mot

Repéré sur le fil Twitter de Manon Richardson, avec salutations à Marius Bourgeoys


En terminant, comment se passe votre rentrée?

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct