ADVERTISEMENT

Principals: 5 leadership must-haves for a more zen end of the year

With so much uncertainty, how can school administrators stay focused on student success and end the school year with a sense of calm? Our contributor Marc-André Girard answers the question.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

With so much uncertainty in the air, how can principals stay focused on student success and end the school year feeling more relaxed?

1- Taking care of your team members

This will have been repeated ad nauseam since the beginning of the pandemic: caring must guide all teachers' actions and decisions. It should certainly guide the actions of school leaders as well. Indeed, logic dictates that a happy team is more motivated. This motivation not only creates enthusiasm for the work, but also shows up in the students. 

The key is a happy mix of openness, listening, tolerance and altruism. It's not rocket science, you may say, but in the end, isn't that what we expect from our own teachers towards our students?

2- Focus on student success

Principals can contribute to student success by being actively engaged in the development of the professional skills and teaching practices of their school team. When it is understood and perceived that every decision the principal makes is aimed at ensuring the success of every student, the tone is set and teachers know that the principal is always their ally in this critical process.

3- Focus on continuous training for all

One of the ways in which management is concerned with the development of the professional skills of its school team is to collaborate in its ongoing training. This opens up new professional horizons and sometimes even makes them aware of the power to act that each of them holds on a daily basis. The case of classroom management is a good example.

However, it is pointless to advocate for the ongoing development of your school team when you, as a principal, are not leading by example! The professional development of the principal is just as important. It ensures that you are equipped to deal with the new needs of students and their parents, as well as the challenges posed by daily school life. All of this, without neglecting the importance of understanding the subtleties of the laws and various regulations that apply to the school.

4- Cultivate the bond of trust with teachers

It has been shown by Balyer (2017) that to exercise pedagogical leadership, one must have the trust of one's team and that to enjoy this trust, one must primarily demonstrate consistency in one's duties. Indeed, staff engagement as well as their "job performance" would be directly influenced by the degree of trust they have in the leadership, in addition to directly influencing the organizational climate of the institution (Daly, 2009; Balyer, 2017).

Three elements appear to be essential for building this confidence among teachers:

  1. Act in the best interests of teachers: they must know and understand that decisions are made to make their jobs easier and to ensure the success of all students;
  2. Keeping promises: when a principal commits to something, he or she must keep his or her word. For example, an annual goal set at the beginning of the school year should be met;
  3. Intervene in a consistent manner, regardless of who you are talking to (teacher, student, parent, etc.): posture, discourse and decisions should always be the same.

5- Sharing leadership

The principal must trust his or her team and clarify the roles expected of everyone so that everyone can take an active part in the day-to-day activities of the school, in all areas.

Leadership is not the prerogative of the principal and, in a perspective of shared leadership, measures must be taken to decentralize certain decisions, certain initiatives related to school organization, school life, student success, etc. In addition, decentralized leadership allows teachers to better exercise their professional autonomy.

Instructional leadership is a form of power that allows one to put oneself into action for the benefit of student success. Ultimately, the principal is exercising power over herself: the power to move through the waves and pitfalls, while maintaining a zen-like mindset.  

References :
Balyer, A. (2017). Trust in School Principals: Teachers' Opinions. Journal of Education and Learning, 6(2). 317-325.
Daly, J. A. (2009). Rigid response in an age of accountability: the potential of leadership and trust. Educational Administration Quarterly, 45(2), 168-216.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Directions d’école : 5 incontournables de leadership pour une fin d’année plus zen

Face à l’incertitude qui règne en ce moment, comment les directions d’établissements scolaires peuvent-elles garder le cap sur la réussite des élèves et ainsi terminer l’année scolaire en étant plus zen? Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard répond à la question.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Face à l’incertitude qui règne en ce moment, comment les directions d’établissements scolaires peuvent-elles garder le cap sur la réussite des élèves et ainsi terminer l’année scolaire en étant plus zen?

1- Prendre soin des membres de son équipe

Cela aura été répété ad nauseam depuis le début de la pandémie : la bienveillance doit guider toutes les actions et les décisions des enseignants. Elle doit certainement guider les actions des directions d’établissement scolaire également. En effet, la logique veut qu’une équipe heureuse soit plus motivée. Cette motivation crée non seulement de l’ardeur au travail, mais aussi, elle transparaît sur les élèves. 

La clé? Un heureux mélange d’ouverture, d’écoute, de tolérance et d’altruisme. Rien de bien sorcier vous direz, mais, dans le fond, n’est-ce pas ce que nous attendons de nos propres enseignants envers nos élèves?

2- Centrer ses interventions en gardant en tête la réussite des élèves

La direction peut contribuer à la réussite des élèves en s’engageant activement dans le développement des compétences professionnelles et des pratiques d’enseignement de son équipe-école. Quand il est compris et perçu que chaque décision de la direction vise à s’assurer de la réussite de chacun des élèves, le ton est donné et les enseignants savent qu’elle est toujours leur alliée dans cette démarche capitale.

3- Miser sur la formation continue de tous

Une des façons pour la direction de se préoccuper du développement des compétences professionnelles de son équipe-école est de collaborer à sa formation continue. Celle-ci permet d’ouvrir de nouveaux horizons professionnels et parfois même de prendre conscience du pouvoir d’agir que chacun détient au quotidien.  Le cas de la gestion de classe en est un bon exemple.

Toutefois, il est vain de militer pour la formation continue de son équipe-école quand, en tant que direction, on ne montre pas l’exemple! Le développement professionnel de la direction est tout aussi important. Il permet de s’assurer d’être outillé pour faire face aux nouveaux besoins des élèves et de leurs parents ainsi qu’aux défis posés par le quotidien scolaire. Le tout, sans négliger l’importance de bien comprendre la subtilité des lois et des divers règlements qui s’appliquent à l’école.

4- Cultiver le lien de confiance avec les enseignants

Il a été démontré par Balyer (2017) que pour exercer un leadership pédagogique, il faut avoir la confiance de son équipe et que pour jouir de cette confiance, il faut principalement faire preuve de cohérence dans ses fonctions. En effet, la mobilisation du personnel ainsi que sa « performance professionnelle » seraient directement influencées par le degré de confiance qu’ils portent envers la direction, en plus d’influencer directement le climat organisationnel de l’établissement (Daly, 2009; Balyer, 2017).

Trois éléments apparaissent incontournables pour susciter cette confiance chez les enseignants :

  1. Agir dans le meilleur intérêt des enseignants : ils doivent savoir et comprendre que les décisions visent à faciliter leur travail et qu’elles visent la réussite de tous les élèves;
  2. Tenir ses promesses : lorsqu’une direction s’engage à quelque chose, elle doit tenir parole. Par exemple, un objectif annuel fixé en début d’année scolaire devrait être respecté;
  3. Intervenir de façon cohérente, peu importe l’interlocuteur (enseignant, élève, parent, etc.) : la posture, le discours et les décisions devraient toujours être les mêmes.

5- Partager le leadership

La direction doit faire confiance à son équipe et préciser les rôles attendus de chacun afin que tous puissent prendre activement part aux activités quotidiennes de l’école, et ce, dans toutes les sphères.

Le leadership n’est pas l’apanage de la direction et, dans une perspective de leadership partagé, des mesures doivent être prises pour décentraliser certaines décisions, certaines initiatives liées à l’organisation scolaire, à la vie scolaire, à la réussite des élèves, etc. De plus, la décentralisation du leadership permet aux enseignants de mieux exercer leur autonomie professionnelle.

Le leadership pédagogique est une forme de pouvoir qui permet de se mettre en action au bénéfice de la réussite des élèves. Ultimement, la direction exerce un pouvoir envers elle-même : celui de se mettre en marche pour traverser les flots et les écueils, tout en gardant un esprit zen.  

Références :
Balyer, A. (2017). Trust in School Principals: Teachers’ Opinions. Journal of Education and Learning, 6(2). 317-325.
Daly, J. A. (2009). Rigid response in an age of accountability: the potential of leadership and trust. Educational Administration Quarterly, 45(2), 168-216.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :