Biblius, the digital school library

After a successful pilot project phase, the Biblius digital school library is now being deployed in primary and secondary schools in Quebec. By the end of the school year, all school service centers and school boards will be connected.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

In collaboration with Martine Rioux

After a successful pilot project phase, the Biblius digital school library is now being deployed in primary and secondary schools in Quebec. By the end of the school year, all school service centers and school boards will be connected.

“At a time when the school library is undergoing changes with the introduction of digital, it is now considered a learning hub. The digital is inserted there with the digital books and the robotics ”, indicated Nancy Lusignan of Bibliopresto, the organization behind the development of Biblius. She presented the new platform at the most recent Digital Education Day.

The digital book can be a PDF, ePub, or audio file. It is subject to the Copyright Act in the same way as a paper book. It is important to remember this point, according to Ms. Lusignan. Thus, to allow lending in school libraries, licenses had to be signed with the publishers.

The shared collection of digital books, acquired by the Ministry of Education and available in Biblius, currently has over 400 children's literature available to all students and staff who have (or will have) access to it. Additions will be made during the year.

School service centers wishing to do so can purchase other books. These will then be available to them only through the service. At the moment, it is not possible to make purchases by school or by class. 

Each loan is valid for 41 days, after which the book will be returned automatically. It is also possible to return a book in advance. If a reader has already checked out a book, but had not finished reading it before returning it, on the second checkout, the book will open where it left off.

Reading and Features

The digital books offered in Biblius can be read on tablet, computer, smartphone. Teachers can screen the works available on TNI or in distance education. On the other hand, in this case, it must be live, without video recording.

Teachers can assign a reading to their students in Biblius. Once chosen by a reader, the books can be read offline, giving young people the flexibility to read wherever they are. The book will always automatically open at the page where the reader was at each connection.

Basic accessibility features are available, such as the ability to magnify characters, adjust line spacing or margins, switch to night mode. A text-to-speech function is integrated, but Lexibar or WordQ tools can also be used. Ms. Lusignan indicated that other features are in development, such as annotation and dictionary. In addition, teachers may be able to assign readings to a particular student.

Several video clips are available on the site to understand and learn how to use it. Otherwise, most of the training will be provided by educational advisers, librarians and RÉCIT advisers in each setting.

Deployment in progress

The deployment of digital book lending in school libraries is one of the measures of the Digital Education Action Plan. Currently, 90 % of students in the public school network have access to Biblius. The connection is made through the Mozaik portal of Société GRICS by an intervention of the information technologies department of each school service center. 

The deployment schedule in private educational institutions is expected to be published in the coming months. The deployment should also be done by the end of 2022. Regarding educational establishments outside CSS (indigenous and Inuit communities), a needs analysis is underway.

To follow the deployment and access Biblius: https://projetbiblius.ca/me-connecter-a-biblius/

Already published on the École branchée website: Digital books are coming to school libraries

Also: a post from Jean-Benoît Dumais from operation of the independent Libraries of Quebec : The consensus to give birth to Biblius

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Biblius, la bibliothèque scolaire numérique

Après une phase de projet-pilote concluante, la bibliothèque scolaire numérique Biblius se déploie maintenant dans les écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec. D’ici la fin de l’année scolaire, tous les centres de services scolaires et les commissions scolaires seront branchés.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

En collaboration avec Martine Rioux

Après une phase de projet-pilote concluante, la bibliothèque scolaire numérique Biblius se déploie maintenant dans les écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec. D’ici la fin de l’année scolaire, tous les centres de services scolaires et les commissions scolaires seront branchés.

« À l’heure où la bibliothèque scolaire vit des changements avec l’introduction du numérique, elle est maintenant considérée comme un carrefour d’apprentissage. Le numérique s’y insère avec les livres numériques et la robotique », a indiqué Nancy Lusignan de Bibliopresto, l’organisme derrière le développement de Biblius. Elle présentait la nouvelle plateforme lors de la plus récente Journée du numérique en éducation.

Le livre numérique peut être un fichier en format PDF, ePub ou audio. Il est soumis à la Loi sur le droit d’auteur au même titre qu’un livre papier. Il est important de rappeler ce point, selon Mme Lusignan. Ainsi, pour permettre le prêt en bibliothèque scolaire, des licences ont dû être signées avec les éditeurs.

La collection partagée de livres numériques, acquise par le ministère de l’Éducation et disponible dans Biblius, compte présentement plus de 400 ouvrages de littérature jeunesse  accessibles à tous les élèves et membres du personnel qui y ont (ou auront) accès. Des ajouts seront fait en cours d’année.

Les centres de services scolaires qui le souhaitent pourront faire l’achat d’autres livres. Ceux-ci seront alors disponibles pour eux uniquement à travers le service. Pour l’instant, il n’est pas possible de faire des achats par école ou par classe. 

Chaque prêt est valide pour 41 jours, au bout duquel, le livre sera retourné automatiquement. Il est aussi possible de retourner un livre à l’avance. Si un lecteur a déjà emprunté un livre, mais qu’il n’en avait pas terminé la lecture avant de le rendre, au deuxième emprunt, le livre s’ouvrira là où il était rendu.

Lecture et fonctionnalités

Les livres numériques offerts dans Biblius peuvent être lus sur tablette, ordinateur, téléphone intelligent. Les enseignants peuvent projeter les œuvres disponibles sur le TNI ou en enseignement à distance. Par contre, dans ce cas, cela doit être en direct, sans enregistrement vidéo.

Les enseignants peuvent assigner une lecture à leurs élèves dans Biblius. Une fois choisis par un lecteur, les livres peuvent être lus hors ligne, ce qui donne la flexibilité aux jeunes de lire où qu’ils soient. Le livre s’ouvrira toujours automatiquement à la page où était rendu le lecteur à chaque connexion.

Des fonctionnalités d’accessibilité de base sont disponibles, comme la possibilité de grossir les caractères, ajuster les interlignes ou les marges, passer en mode nuit. Une fonction de synthèse vocale est intégrée, mais les outils Lexibar ou WordQ peuvent également être utilisés. Mme Lusignan a indiqué que d’autres fonctionnalités sont en développement, comme l’annotation et le dictionnaire. De plus, les enseignants pourront éventuellement pouvoir assigner des lectures à un élève en particulier.

Plusieurs capsules vidéos sont disponibles sur le site pour comprendre et apprendre comment l’utiliser. Autrement, la formation passera majoritairement par les conseillers pédagogiques, les bibliothécaires et les conseillers RÉCIT de chaque milieu.

Déploiement en cours

Le déploiement du prêt de livres numériques en bibliothèque scolaire est l’une des mesures du Plan d’action numérique en éducation. Actuellement, 90 % des élèves du réseau scolaire public ont accès à Biblius. Le branchement se fait à travers le portail Mozaik de la Société GRICS par une intervention du service des technologies de l’information de chaque centre de services scolaire. 

Le calendrier de déploiement dans les établissements d’enseignement privés devrait être publié dans les prochains mois. Le déploiement devrait aussi se faire d’ici la fin de 2022. En ce qui concerne, les établissements d’enseignement en dehors des CSS (communautés autochtones et Inuits), une analyse de besoins est en cours

Pour suivre le déploiement et accéder à Biblius : https://projetbiblius.ca/me-connecter-a-biblius/

Déjà paru sur le site de l’École branchée : Les livres numériques arrivent dans les bibliothèques scolaires

Aussi : un billet de Jean-Benoît Dumais de oopérative des Librairies indépendantes du Québec : Le consensus pour faire naître Biblius

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :