Learn to code in the classroom with Ozobot

Ozobot is a small robot with simple and fun technology, aiming to teach the basics of programming thanks to its color sensors.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Ozobot is a small robot with simple and fun technology, aiming to teach the basics of programming thanks to its color sensors.

The educational use of robotic is increasingly popular because it encourages learning programming while promoting academic motivation. It also helps develop many skills in young people.

In this sense, do you know Ozobot? It is a small robot with simple and fun technology, aimed at teaching the basics of programming. Of educational activities for primary and secondary levels, following a progressive learning, as well as guides for using the robot are available free of charge on the company's website.

How it works?

Ozobot is a small robot with a color detection system. It is able to decode the paths traced with colored markers on a sheet of paper or to follow the paths on an electronic tablet. A specific action is associated with each color sequence (black, blue, red and green). Depending on the order chosen, the robot can accelerate, turn, turn around, light up, zigzag, pause or slow down. Each line must start and end with a black line. This short video explains the basic operation of this robot.

Ozobot in the classroom

The use of this type of technology in the classroom allows the students to create the paths that the little robot can then follow. The student becomes familiar with the algorithms in a concrete way by manipulating the robot. The student draws a path on a white sheet, using felt-tip pens, following models or following the instructions of his teacher. The guide to the different actions that Ozobot can perform helps visualize the multiple possibilities of actions and routes.

The many lessons courses, designed by teachers, address different aspects of programming. For example, one of the lessons offered on the site allows you to understand how the robot chooses the actions to be carried out and to understand why it backs up, moves left or right or decides to turn around. It is also possible to print out ready-to-use routes with Ozobot or to use self-adhesive labels with pre-entered color codes.

Students therefore learn to code and create simple algorithms without having to master a more complex programming language.

Skills developed in students

Programming with Ozobot promotes the development of several skills in students. In addition to acquiring basic notions in computer science and mathematics, students can exercise their logic, reason, work in a team, solve problems, design routes, learn about geometry, explain and justify their choice of programming. . More advanced Ozobot functions are also possible for high school students.

Are you interested in this new class mascot? We can get a basic kit at a cost of 59 $US.

To learn more about coding in general, the book Vibot the robot by Professor of Educational Technology at Laval University, Margarida Romero, is designed to introduce children to the world of robotics and coding.

Photo : Maurizio Pesce, via Flickr

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Josée Tardif
Josée is a reviser, translator and blogger. She holds a bachelor's degree in French studies, a master's degree in information science and a certificate in translation. She is interested in the world of books, education, family and social issues. She also contributes to the blog of the web magazine Planet F and has his own blog Life Etc.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Apprendre à coder en classe avec Ozobot

Ozobot est un petit robot à la technologie simple et ludique, visant à enseigner les notions de base de la programmation grâce à ses capteurs de couleurs.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ozobot est un petit robot à la technologie simple et ludique, visant à enseigner les notions de base de la programmation grâce à ses capteurs de couleurs.

L’utilisation pédagogique de la robotique est de plus en plus populaire car elle encourage l’apprentissage de la programmation tout en favorisant la motivation scolaire. Elle permet également de développer de nombreuses compétences chez les jeunes.

Dans ce sens, connaissez-vous Ozobot? C’est un petit robot à la technologie simple et ludique, visant à enseigner les notions de base de la programmation. Des activités pédagogiques pour les niveaux primaire et secondaire, suivant un apprentissage progressif, ainsi que des guides d’utilisation du robot sont disponibles gratuitement sur le site Web de l’entreprise.

Comment ça marche?

Ozobot est un petit robot doté d’un système de détection de couleurs. Il est capable de décoder les trajets tracés avec des marqueurs de couleur sur une feuille de papier ou de suivre des trajets sur une tablette électronique. Une action spécifique est associée à chaque séquence de couleur (noir, bleu, rouge et vert). Selon l’ordre choisi, le robot peut notamment accélérer, tourner, faire demi-tour, s’illuminer, zigzaguer, effectuer une pause ou ralentir. Chaque tracé doit débuter et se terminer par un trait noir. Cette courte vidéo explique le fonctionnement de base de ce robot.

Ozobot en classe

L’utilisation en classe de ce type de technologie permet aux élèves de créer eux-mêmes les parcours que le petit robot pourra ensuite suivre. L’élève se familiarise avec les algorithmes de façon concrète en manipulant le robot. L’élève dessine un trajet sur une feuille blanche, à l’aide de crayons feutres, en suivant des modèles ou en suivant les directives de son enseignant. Le guide des différentes actions qu’Ozobot peut exécuter aide à visualiser les multiples possibilités d’actions et de trajets.

Les nombreuses leçons pédagogiques, conçues par des enseignants, abordent différents aspects de la programmation. À titre d’exemple, l’une des leçons offertes sur le site permet de comprendre comment le robot choisit les actions à exécuter et de comprendre pourquoi il recule, se déplace à gauche ou à droite ou décide de faire demi-tour. Il est également possible d’imprimer des trajets prêts à être utilisés avec Ozobot ou d’utiliser des étiquettes autocollantes avec des codes de couleur préalablement inscrits.

Les élèves apprennent donc à coder et à créer des algorithmes simples sans avoir à maîtriser un langage de programmation plus complexe.

Compétences développées chez les élèves

Programmer avec Ozobot favorise le développement de plusieurs compétences chez les élèves. En plus d’acquérir des notions de base en informatique et en mathématique, les élèves peuvent exercer leur logique, raisonner, travailler en équipe, résoudre des problèmes, concevoir des trajets, s’initier à la géométrie, expliquer et justifier leur choix de programmation. Des fonctions plus avancées d’Ozobot sont aussi possibles pour les élèves du secondaire.

Cette nouvelle mascotte de classe vous tente? On peut se procurer un kit de base au coût de 59 $US.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le codage en général, le livre Vibot le robot de la professeure en technologie éducative à l’Université Laval, Margarida Romero, est conçu pour initier les enfants à l’univers de la robotique et du codage.

Photo : Maurizio Pesce, via Flickr

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Josée Tardif
Josée est réviseure, traductrice et blogueuse. Elle est détentrice d'un baccalauréat en études françaises, d'une maîtrise en sciences de l'information et d'un certificat en traduction. Elle s'intéresse au monde du livre, à l'éducation, à la famille et aux enjeux sociaux. Elle collabore également au blogue du magazine web Planète F et a son propre blogue Vie Etc.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :