The use of screens: distinguishing between resistance and science

Many parents wonder about the time their children spend in front of their screens. On behalf of the Higher Education Council, Nadine Forget-Dubois consulted nearly 70 scientific books to clarify the issue. His review shows that the more studies focus on large cohorts, the lower the negative correlations that are usually expected. Welcome to the complex and fascinating digital world that is everyday life for children!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

Doctor in anthropology, Nadine Forget-Dubois recently published, on behalf of the Higher Education Council, an interesting document reporting on research related to the use of digital screens. A field where social values and scientific studies occasionally clash ...

Hugo (not her real name), 28, quit his job due to overwork. Up around 1 p.m. daily for the past three months, he has spent his days playing in front of his computer screen with only a slight 30-minute break for supper. After discussions with his parents at the end of his appointments with a psychologist, he decides to go to sailing lessons and returns to the gym to get in shape. A week before leaving for school, he suffered a cruciate ligament injury in his knee. In his case, which activity was the most dangerous?

The anecdote is extreme and somewhat wacky, of course. But in Quebec, many parents still wonder about the time their children spend in front of their screens. CEFRIO reports that in 2019, 96 % of young Quebecers aged 6 to 17 had access to more than one electronic device. What, scientifically proven, is really damaging to mental or physical health when we look at the screen of a cell phone, tablet or computer for too long? Researchers wish to clarify the question.  

Surprising conclusions

“Distraction, disengagement from personal relationships, neglect of responsibilities, idleness, all this caused by the omnipresence of certain small portable objects…” Are we talking about the latest iPod? But no! This was what people thought in the 18th century in England about what could happen mainly to women who read serial novels. So, would that be resistance to new media?

In "Discourse on screen time: social values and scientific studies", research paper commissioned by the Higher Education Council (CSE), Nadine Forget-Dubois consulted nearly 70 works mainly from Quebec, Canada and the United States, as well as certain reports from the World Health Organization. She subdivided these into categories:

  • screen time and its impact on well-being
  • mental health and physical well-being
  • its influence on social relations and language

For each element studied, Ms. Forget-Dubois went to see what the scientists had found. 

“Several recent reviews report studies of symptoms of depression, self-esteem, suicidal ideation, anxiety and other internalized problems as well as perceived well-being (Kardefelt-Winther, 2019; Odgers and Jensen, 2020; Orben, 2020). However, the researcher clearly shows that studies involving large cohorts, for example 500,000 participants followed over several years, tend to show that there is a weak correlation between screen time and measures related to depression. and suicidal ideation, a variation of only 1 %. Are other factors therefore involved in these results and that they still remain to be discovered?

She does the same exercise with the other spheres of screen time to conclude that scientific studies tend to show that ailments are less bad than you think. This is the case for physical health. According to the academic, “the links between physical activity, eating behaviors and physical health indicators on the one hand, and screen time on the other hand, are neither clear nor direct. "

The social aspect

Still, seeing your child locked up for several hours in his room is questionable. 

Matthew Johnson, director of education at MediaSmarts, talks more about ensuring the quality of what is watched and not just making it a matter of time. Using a screen can also be creative. “You can create works of art or music, or keep in touch with friends and family. »A search forMediaSmarts titled “Young Canadians in a Wired World” showed in 2015 that children use social networks to maintain relationships with family and friends alike. 

Before talking about addiction to screens, we must ensure that the term corresponds to the criteria associated with dependence on certain illicit substances, for example, such as a strong desire to use it, difficulties in controlling its use, difficult physiological weaning. or the abandonment of other sources of pleasure and interests.

Still according to Ms. Forget-Dubois, all these studies have in common that they want what is best for the development of children and young people. Managing screens constructively, being present during online activities with them and remaining attentive to problematic use are “in tune with the complex and fascinating digital world that is their daily life”.

Managing screens constructively, being present during online activities with them and remaining attentive to problematic use are “in tune with the complex and fascinating digital world that is their daily life”.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

L’usage des écrans : distinguer la résistance et la science

Nombre de parents s’interrogent sur le temps passé par leurs enfants devant leurs écrans. Pour le compte du Conseil supérieur de l'éducation, Nadine Forget-Dubois a consulté près de 70 ouvrages scientifiques pour éclaircir la question. Sa synthèse montre que plus les études portent sur de grandes cohortes, moins les corrélations négatives auxquelles on s'attend habituellement sont fortes. Bienvenue dans l'univers numérique complexe et fascinant qui est le quotidien des enfants!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Docteure en anthropologie, Nadine Forget-Dubois a publié récemment, pour le compte du Conseil supérieur de l’éducation, un intéressant document faisant état de la recherche en lien avec l’utilisation des écrans numériques. Un domaine où valeurs sociales et études scientifiques s’affrontent à l’occasion…

Hugo (nom fictif), 28 ans, a quitté son emploi pour cause de surmenage. Debout quotidiennement vers 13 heures, depuis trois mois, il passe ses journées à jouer devant son écran d’ordinateur avec seulement une légère pause de 30 minutes pour le souper. Après discussions avec ses parents au terme de ses rendez-vous avec une psychologue, il décide d’aller suivre des cours de voile et retourne au gym pour se mettre en forme. Une semaine avant son départ pour les cours, il s’inflige une blessure au ligament croisé du genou. Dans son cas, quelle activité aura été la plus dangereuse?

L’anecdote est extrême et quelque peu loufoque, certes. Mais au Québec, nombre de parents s’interrogent encore sur le temps passé par leurs enfants devant leurs écrans. Le CEFRIO rapporte qu’en 2019, 96 % des jeunes Québécois de 6 à 17 ans avaient accès à plus d’un appareil électronique. Qu’est-ce qui, scientifiquement démontré, est vraiment dommageable pour la santé mentale ou physique quand on regarde l’écran d’un cellulaire, d’une tablette ou d’un ordinateur trop longtemps? Des chercheurs souhaitent éclaircir la question.  

Des conclusions surprenantes

« Distraction, désengagement des relations personnelles, manquement aux responsabilités, oisiveté, tout cela causé par l’omniprésence de certains petits objets portatifs… » On parle bien du dernier iPod? Mais non! C’était ce qu’on pensait au XVIIIe siècle en Angleterre de ce qui pouvait arriver principalement aux femmes qui lisaient des romans-feuilletons. Alors, serait-ce de la résistance à de nouveaux médias?

Dans « Les discours sur le temps d’écran : valeurs sociales et études scientifiques », document de recherche commandé par le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation (CSE), Nadine Forget-Dubois a consulté près de 70 ouvrages principalement québécois, canadiens et américains, ainsi que certains rapports de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. Elle a subdivisé ceux-ci en catégories :

  • le temps d’écran et ses répercussions sur le bien-être
  • la santé mentale et le bien-être physique
  • son influence sur les relations sociales et le langage

Pour chaque élément étudié, Mme Forget-Dubois est allée voir ce que les scientifiques avaient trouvé. 

« Plusieurs recensions récentes font état d’études des symptômes de dépression, de l’estime de soi, des idéations suicidaires, de l’anxiété et d’autres problèmes internalisés ainsi que de perception du bien-être (Kardefelt-Winther, 2019; Odgers et Jensen, 2020; Orben, 2020). » Cependant, la chercheure démontre clairement que les études portant sur de grandes cohortes, par exemple 500 000 participants suivis sur plusieurs années, tendent à montrer qu’il y a une faible corrélation entre le temps d’écran et les mesures liées à la dépression et aux idées suicidaires, soit une variation de 1 % seulement. Est-ce donc que d’autres facteurs sont en cause dans ces résultats et qu’ils restent toujours à découvrir?

Elle fait le même exercice avec les autres sphères du temps d’écran pour conclure que les études scientifiques tendent à démontrer que les maux sont moins mauvais qu’on le pense. C’est le cas pour la santé physique. Selon l’universitaire, « les liens entre l’activité physique, les comportements alimentaires et les indicateurs de santé physique d’une part, et le temps d’écran d’autre part, ne sont ni clairs ni directs. »

L’aspect social

Reste que voir son enfant enfermé plusieurs heures dans sa chambre est questionnable. 

Matthew Johnson, directeur de l’éducation chez HabiloMédias, parle plutôt de veiller à la qualité de ce qui est regardé et non seulement d’en faire une question de temps. Utiliser un écran peut aussi être créatif. « On peut créer des œuvres d’art ou de la musique ou encore garder contact avec des amis et des membres de la famille. » Une recherche d’HabiloMédias intitulée « Jeunes Canadiens dans un monde branché » démontrait d’ailleurs en 2015 que les enfants utilisent les réseaux sociaux pour entretenir des relations autant avec la famille qu’avec les amis. 

Avant de parler de dépendance aux écrans, il faut s’assurer que le terme correspond aux critères associés à la dépendance à certaines substances illicites par exemple, tels un désir puissant à l’utiliser, des difficultés à maîtriser son utilisation, un sevrage physiologique difficile ou l’abandon d’autres sources de plaisir et d’intérêts.

Toujours selon Mme Forget-Dubois, toutes ces études ont en commun de vouloir ce qui est le mieux pour l’épanouissement des enfants et des jeunes. Gérer les écrans de manière constructive, être présent lors des activités en ligne avec eux et demeurer attentif à un usage problématique sont « en phase avec l’univers numérique complexe et fascinant qui est leur quotidien ».

Gérer les écrans de manière constructive, être présent lors des activités en ligne avec eux et demeurer attentif à un usage problématique sont « en phase avec l’univers numérique complexe et fascinant qui est leur quotidien ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct