ADVERTISEMENT

The direction effect: wanting to help amplify the teacher effect

Although no clear link between principal leadership and student achievement has been shown by research, contrary to the large teaching effect, school principals can still have an indirect effect. on the students. Marc-André Girard tells us about it in his column Le Coin du Directeur.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

We've all heard of theteacher effect. It is, moreover, one of the rare areas of unanimity in the field of education: it is clear that teachers have a direct impact on the learning of the students entrusted to them. Thus, the teacher must give central importance to his professional development, to the choice of pedagogical approaches, to that of didactic tools, to classroom management, etc.

According to research by Leithwood, Janzi and Steinbach (1999), there is not a clear link between principal leadership and student success. So how can management play a role in this? 

First, let's talk about leadership. In the age of collaboration, co-creativity and transparency, we must move away from a traditional style of top-down leadership, referred to as " top-down », And instead aspire to mobilize the members of our school team through transformational leadership. This is based on the importance of allowing other actors to exercise their own leadership. In a school context, this means that the leader encourages, inspires and motivates his team members to innovate. This is to encourage teachers to create the institutional change that resembles them and that will allow them to evolve professionally to ensure the sustainability and success of the educational institution, and therefore the success of the students. This is particularly important since it is they who are in daily contact with the students and who can, in turn, mobilize them so that they too assume leadership in their own learning process. 

While for many, especially in times of pandemic, leadership must be manifested by top-down leadership, it is nevertheless necessary to attempt, as much as possible, the bottom-up approach (bottom-up). The reason is simple: it is mainly the teachers who will have to implement the measures decided upon and show ingenuity to bring them to life in the field. It therefore makes sense to ensure that they can exercise their leadership and participate in decisions. The openness of management has significant mobilization potential. Indeed, empowering all stakeholders is a demonstration of trust in your team, even when there is little room for maneuver. It is therefore up to management, together with its team, to set up a monitoring and support process according to the goals set. 

In fact, through our leadership, we want to help amplify the teaching effect, which will have a direct impact on the student, what I call the “direction effect”. It exerts an indirect influence, through professional intermediaries, on the success of the students. Despite our interactions with students and the importance we place on “running our school”, we need to focus on supporting our team, especially our teaching team.  

This vision of school leadership emphasizes the importance of creating opportunities for other people in the school. When these opportunities are seized by teachers, they open their horizons to change their practices in different ways. Consequently, if they are seized in turn by students, according to Yong Zhao of the University of Oregon (2016), the student's potential is actualized. In short, the school administration must act as a trigger for teacher potential which, in turn, triggers student potential through the teacher effect, much like a chain reaction.

We are facilitating agents for teachers, students and parents. We have a global vision of the institution to put at the service of the actors of the school environment in order to trigger potentials. The management must give the means to teaching ambitions, that things happen, that innovative and unifying projects are carried out. This form of leadership “encourages staff to look beyond their own interests to consider that of others” (Glen-Bédard, 2016). I love this altruistic form of transformational leadership. English speakers have a great word to illustrate this: selflessness. I believe that acting without ego or without holding the self too high gives a certain nobility to our role. Indeed, in education, we work first for the other, well before ourselves!

Have a good week for school administrators! 

References
  • Glen-Bédard, S. (2016).  GED 850 - Steering intervention and leadership. Unpublished collection, Université de Sherbrooke.
  • Leithwood, K., Jantzi, D. and Steinback, R. (1999). Changing Leadership For Changing Times.
  • Philadelphia: Open university press. 
  • Zhao, Y. (2016, April). Fixing the past or inventing the future: education reforms that matter. Paper presented at uLead16, Banff, Alberta. 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

L’effet direction : vouloir contribuer à amplifier l’effet enseignant

Bien qu'aucun lien clair entre le leadership de la direction et la réussite des élèves n'ait été démontré par la recherche, contrairement à l'important effet enseignant, les directeurs et directrices d'établissements scolaires peuvent tout de même avoir un effet indirect sur les élèves. Marc-André Girard nous en parle dans sa chronique Le Coin du directeur.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

On a tous entendu parler de l’effet enseignant. C’est d’ailleurs une des rares zone d’unanimité dans le domaine de l’éducation : il est clair que les enseignants ont une incidence directe sur l’apprentissage des élèves qui leur sont confiés. Ainsi, l’enseignant doit accorder une importance centrale à son développement professionnel, au choix des approches pédagogiques, à celui des outils didactiques, à la gestion de la classe, etc.

Selon les recherches de Leithwood, Janzi et Steinbach (1999), il n’y aurait pas un lien clair entre le leadership de la direction et la réussite des élèves. Alors, comment la direction peut-elle jouer un rôle en ce sens? 

Dans un premier temps, parlons du leadership. À l’ère de la collaboration, de la cocréativité et de la transparence, il faut s’éloigner d’un style traditionnel de leadership descendant, qualifié de « top-down », et aspirer plutôt à mobiliser les membres de notre équipe-école grâce à un leadership transformationnel. Celle-ci est fondée sur l’importance de permettre aux autres acteurs d’exercer leur propre leadership. Dans un contexte scolaire, cela signifie que le leader encourage, inspire et motive les membres de son équipe à innover. Il s’agit d’encourager les enseignants à créer le changement institutionnel qui leur ressemble et qui leur permettra d’évoluer professionnellement pour assurer la pérennité et le succès de l’institution scolaire, donc le succès des élèves. Cela est particulièrement important puisque ce sont eux qui sont en contact quotidien avec les élèves et qui peuvent, à leur tour, mobiliser ces derniers afin qu’ils assument eux aussi un leadership dans leur propre démarche d’apprentissage. 

Si pour plusieurs, particulièrement en temps de pandémie, le leadership doit se manifester par un leadership descendant, il faut néanmoins tenter, dans la mesure du possible, l’approche ascendante (bottom-up). La raison est simple : ce sont principalement les enseignants qui auront à implanter les mesures décidées et faire preuve d’ingéniosité pour leur donner vie sur le terrain. Il est donc logique de faire en sorte qu’ils puissent exercer leur leadership et participer aux décisions. L’ouverture de la direction a un important potentiel de mobilisation. En effet, donner du pouvoir à toutes les parties prenantes est une démonstration de la confiance envers son équipe, et ce, même lorsque la marge de manœuvre est mince. Il reste donc à la direction, de concert avec son équipe, à mettre en place un processus de suivi et d’accompagnement en fonction des buts visés. 

En réalité, par notre leadership, nous souhaitons contribuer à amplifier l’effet enseignant, lequel aura une incidence directe sur l’élève, ce que je qualifie d’« effet de direction ». Elle exerce une influence indirecte, par professionnel interposé, sur la réussite des élèves. Malgré nos interactions avec les élèves et l’importance que nous accordons à « marcher notre école », nous devons nous centrer sur le soutien de notre équipe, en particulier celui de notre équipe enseignante.  

Cette vision du leadership scolaire met l’accent sur l’importance de créer des opportunités pour d’autres personnes dans l’école. Lorsque ces opportunités sont saisies par des enseignants, ils ouvrent leurs horizons à faire évoluer leurs pratiques de différentes façons. Conséquemment, si elles sont saisies à leur tour par des élèves, selon Yong Zhao de l’Université d’Oregon (2016), le potentiel de l’élève s’actualise. En somme, la direction d’école doit agir en tant que déclencheur de potentiel enseignant qui, à son tour, déclenche le potentiel des élèves grâce à l’effet enseignant, un peu comme une réaction en chaîne.

Nous sommes, des agents facilitateurs pour les enseignants, les élèves et les parents. Nous avons une vision globale de l’institution à mettre au service des acteurs du milieu scolaire afin de déclencher des potentiels. Il faut que la direction donne les moyens aux ambitions enseignantes, que des choses se produisent, que des projets novateurs et rassembleurs soient menés à terme. Cette forme de leadership « incite le personnel à voir au-delà de leur propre intérêt pour envisager celui d’autrui » (Glen-Bédard, 2016). J’aime cette forme altruiste qu’est le leadership transformationnel. Les anglophones ont un superbe mot pour illustrer cela : selflessness. J’estime qu’agir sans égo ou sans tenir le soi en trop haute importance attribue une certaine noblesse à notre rôle. En effet, en éducation, on travaille d’abord pour l’autre, bien avant soi!

Bonne semaine des directions d’établissement scolaire! 

Références
  • Glen-Bédard, S. (2016).  GED 850 – L’intervention de pilotage et le leadership. Recueil inédit, Université de Sherbrooke.
  • Leithwood, K., Jantzi, D. et Steinback, R. (1999). Changing Leadership For Changing Times.
  • Philadelphia : Open university press. 
  • Zhao, Y. (2016, avril). Fixing the past or inventing the future : education reforms that matter. Communication présentée à uLead16, Banff, Alberta. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!