ADVERTISEMENT

Reflection on the learner position

Learning is a word that we hear more and more in speeches and in circles. A teacher can now position himself as a learner. But concretely, what is it? What do we have to gain from it?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Learning is a word that we hear more and more in speeches and in circles. A teacher can now position himself as a learner. But concretely, what is it? What do we have to gain from it? 

The engagement and the process

The Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF) proposes the following definition of the word learner: “Person engaged in one process oflearning ". First of all, the word “engaged” means having an interest and wanting to learn something. Actions will be taken to perform the learning. Being engaged is showing determination and asking questions. The process, on the other hand, implies that there are several steps to be taken before reaching the learning goal. In short, being a learner is daring to take action in order to move forward along a path that you know or explore. 

Change glasses

Anyone can be a learner or has to be a learner at one time or another, whether for personal or professional good. To become one, you must accept and recognize that it is possible, even necessary, to add one or more string (s) to your bow. You have to put on your curious and ambitious glasses and put away the comfortable and usual ones. I would add an important thing, we must see professional development as a proof of investment and not as a weakness. 

Nothing to lose, everything to gain

When you give yourself the gift of taking the time to develop professionally or personally, the process can only be positive. In fact, what do you have to lose by wanting to try something? The worst that can happen is that it does not work or that it does not reach us. It will then be easier to align with something else by knowing what we liked less.

In concrete terms, listening to a podcast, reading an article or even exploring an application in class places us in a position of learner. Then, it is up to the person to commit so that these actions have a positive impact in their practice. For example, if listening to a podcast on the sketchnote makes you want to try it in class, why not? We rework, review and try again later so that this new discomfort becomes more comfortable.


Note that Laurie will facilitate 2 workshops of 3 hours during our next CréaCamp SPRINT, November 20 : a first on the digital work plan, and a second on the sketchnoting. Do not hesitate to register for one or the other of these courses!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Classé dans :

Réflexion sur la position d’apprenant(e)

Apprenant est un mot qu’on entend de plus en plus dans les discours et dans les milieux. Un enseignant peut maintenant se positionner en tant qu’apprenant. Mais concrètement, qu’est-ce que c’est? Qu’a-t-on à y gagner?
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Apprenant est un mot qu’on entend de plus en plus dans les discours et dans les milieux. Un enseignant peut maintenant se positionner en tant qu’apprenant. Mais concrètement, qu’est-ce que c’est? Qu’a-t-on à y gagner? 

L’engagement et le processus

L’Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF) propose la définition suivante du mot apprenant : « Personne engagée dans un processus d’apprentissage ».  Tout d’abord, le mot « engagé » signifie avoir de l’intérêt et vouloir apprendre quelque chose. Des actions seront faites pour effectuer l’apprentissage. Être engagé, c’est faire preuve de détermination et poser des questions. Le processus, quant à lui, sous-entend qu’il y a plusieurs étapes à franchir avant d’atteindre le but de l’apprentissage. En somme, être apprenant, c’est oser prendre action afin d’avancer dans un chemin que l’on connaît ou que l’on explore. 

Changer de lunettes

Tout le monde peut être apprenant ou se doit d’être apprenant à un moment ou à un autre, que ce soit pour son bien personnel ou professionnel. Pour le devenir, il faut accepter et reconnaître qu’il est possible, voire nécessaire, d’ajouter une ou plusieurs corde(s) à son arc. Il faut mettre ses lunettes curieuses et ambitieuses et ranger les confortables et habituelles. J’ajouterais une chose importante, il faut voir le développement professionnel comme une preuve d’investissement et non comme une faiblesse. 

Rien à perdre, tout à gagner

Lorsqu’on se fait le cadeau de prendre le temps de se développer professionnellement ou personnellement, la démarche ne peut qu’être positive. En fait, qu’a-t-on à perdre à vouloir essayer quelque chose? Le pire qui peut arriver c’est que ça ne marche pas ou que ça ne nous rejoint pas. Il sera alors plus facile de s’enligner vers autre chose en sachant ce que l’on a moins aimé.

Concrètement, l’écoute d’un balado, la lecture d’un article ou encore l’exploration d’une application en classe nous place en position d’apprenant. Ensuite, il revient à la personne de s’engager afin que ces actions aient un impact positif dans sa pratique. Par exemple, si l’écoute d’un balado sur le sketchnote donne envie de l’essayer en classe, pourquoi pas? On retravaille, on revoit et on réessaie par la suite pour que ce nouvel inconfort devienne plus confortable.


À noter que Laurie facilitera 2 ateliers de 3 h lors de notre prochain CréaCamp SPRINT, le 20 novembre : un premier sur le plan de travail numérique, et un deuxième sur le sketchnoting. N’hésitez pas à vous inscrire à l’une ou l’autre de ces formations!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Laurie Couture
Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.