ADVERTISEMENT

Pedagogy, places and technologies: the affordances of a smart school

The educational consultant François Guité presented, on the occasion of the recent virtual colloquium of the Lab-School, a conference entitled Pedagogy, places and technologies: the affordances of an intelligent school. Here is what we learned from it.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The education consultant Francois Guité presented, on the occasion of the recent virtual colloquium of the Lab-École, a conference entitled Pedagogy, places and technologies: the affordances of a smart school. Here is what we learned from it.

According to François Guité, the education community must take an interest in artificial intelligence (AI), an emerging technology that could disrupt the world of education. According to him, the potential uses of AI in education are varied, in particular for learning support, automatic feedback, detection of failure risks, analysis of learning difficulties, classroom management, etc. the organization of lessons and timetables, management of school transport, ethical and civic monitoring, etc. 

AI could also be used to design school spaces and to control various ambient parameters, such as lighting, temperature and air quality, which can make a difference in students' predisposition to learning. 

“Imagine if we were to use digital and AI to provide assisted and personalized tutoring with each student to promote academic success, the potential is enormous,” says Mr. Guité. 

Value-added teacher

Far from him the idea of predicting the end of the teaching profession, on the contrary. “Artificial intelligence cannot replace human intelligence. As education becomes more and more complex, can we use it as a tool to increase possibilities? Data will be processed by the machine, but there is a human input that is necessary to make sense. "

For example, the teacher could automate some of his tasks, including proofreading, and thus free up time to devote himself to other activities with greater added value, such as personalized mentoring.

48 hours of thinking about the school of tomorrow

François Guité's conference was part of the program of the first conference “48 hours to think about the school of tomorrow”. About fifty representatives of the six school service centers (CSS) where the project schools will be built in Quebec were also present. Remember that last August, the architectural concepts for the elementary schools that will be launched in Gatineau, Maskinongé, Quebec, Saguenay, Shefford and Rimouski for the start of the 2022 school year. were unveiled.

To find out more, we invite you to read again our dossier on artificial intelligence in education.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Pédagogie, lieux et technologies : les affordances d’une école intelligente

Le consultant en éducation François Guité a présenté, à l'occasion du récent colloque virtuel du Lab-École, une conférence intitulée Pédagogie, lieux et technologies : les affordances d’une école intelligente. Voici ce que nous en avons retenu.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Le consultant en éducation François Guité a présenté, à l’occasion du récent colloque virtuel du Lab-École, une conférence intitulée Pédagogie, lieux et technologies : les affordances d’une école intelligente. Voici ce que nous en avons retenu.

Selon François Guité, le milieu de l’éducation doit s’intéresser à l’intelligence artificielle (IA), technologie émergente qui pourrait bouleverser le monde de l’enseignement. Selon lui, les usages potentiels de l’IA en éducation sont variés, notamment pour le soutien à l’apprentissage, la rétroaction automatique, la détection des risques d’échec, l’analyse des difficultés d’apprentissage, la gestion de classe, l’organisation des cours et des horaires, la gestion du transport scolaire, la veille éthique et citoyenne, etc. 

L’IA pourrait aussi être utilisée pour aménager les espaces scolaires et pour contrôler différents paramètres ambiants, comme l’éclairage, la température et la qualité de l’air, qui peuvent faire une différence sur la prédisposition à l’apprentissage chez les élèves. 

« Imaginez si on utilisait le numérique et l’IA pour faire du tutorat assisté et personnalisé avec chaque élève pour favoriser la réussite scolaire, le potentiel est énorme », dit M. Guité. 

Enseignant à valeur ajoutée

Loin de lui l’idée de prédire la fin de la profession enseignante, au contraire. « L’intelligence artificielle ne pourra pas remplacer l’intelligence humaine. Alors que l’éducation devient de plus en plus complexe, pouvons-nous l’utiliser comme outil pour augmenter les possibilités? Des données seront traitées par la machine, mais il y a un apport de l’être humain qui est nécessaire pour faire du sens. »

Par exemple, l’enseignant pourrait automatiser certaines de ses tâches, dont la correction d’épreuves, et ainsi libérer du temps pour se consacrer à d’autres activités à plus grande valeur ajoutée, comme du mentorat personnalisé.

48h à penser l’école de demain

La conférence de François Guité faisait partie de la programmation du  premier colloque « 48h à penser l’école de demain ». Une cinquantaine de représentants des six centres de services scolaires (CSS) où seront construites les écoles du projet au Québec étaient d’ailleurs présents. Rappelons qu’en août dernier, les concepts architecturaux des écoles primaires qui verront le jour à Gatineau, Maskinongé, Québec, Saguenay, Shefford et Rimouski pour la rentrée 2022 ont été dévoilés.

Pour en savoir plus, nous vous invitons à relire notre dossier sur l’intelligence artificielle en éducation.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :