Posted in:

Confined… but not my students!

“The news came by text at recess. My daughter is positive for COVID-19. I have to leave my class as soon as possible and not come back for the next 14 days. We have been preparing since the start of the school year for the possibility that our classes will close, but here it is the opposite! How can I ensure a minimum of stability for my students? »A testimony from Julie Chandonnet.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



by Julie Chandonnet, teacher in 6th year of elementary school

The news came by text at recess. My daughter tested positive for COVID-19 (for those who are worried: almost no symptoms, she is doing great). However, I have to leave my class as soon as possible, at lunchtime, and not come back for the next 14 days.

Between you and me, that seems like the worst-case scenario to me. Since the start of the school year, we have been preparing for the possibility that our classes will close, that our students will be at home and that we can keep access to our class, to our material in order to move on to online teaching. Myra's experience even proved to me that it was achievable.

But nothing had prepared me on the contrary: my students in class, with all their equipment, and me, at home.

How to ensure a minimum of stability in the face of the succession of substitutes?

I was quickly confirmed that the stability would not be there for my replacement. Several people will follow one another with my students, sometimes even 2 per day. And for some days, no one has yet been found (greetings to my colleagues who may have to take turns during their free periods…). The shortage of substitutes is hitting hard, I'm not surprised. 

But what concerns me is how to ensure a minimum of stability for my students?

What do I do? Unthinkable to plan consolidation activities, as we often do during substitute days. 10 days is too much: education must continue. But what can I do knowing that those who will be with my students will constantly take turns and that, in some cases, they risk being of good will, able to manage a group, but not qualified to teach? I see only one solution: switch to hybrid mode!

My solution: hybrid mode

For the next 10 “working” days, my students and I will experience a whole different classroom model. Routine periods, where students are independent (study period, reading, work plan and other exercise periods), will be left to the substitute on site. For my part, I will ensure the periods of teaching new content and launching projects live from my dining room! My goal: to be present "in my class" for one or two periods per day.

To get there, I started by taking stock of the forces involved: 

  • Social media: Instagram, Twitter and some Facebook groups are full of great distance learning stories shared by teachers. No need to redo everything, to rethink everything. I also promise to give back a little by sharing my successes too.
  • My colleagues: unparalleled allies in everything that will be equipment management, photocopying, support for substitutes and sharing of school Chromebooks, because my students will have to have access to them more often than usual.
  • Tools that my students are already familiar with that will allow me to stay in touch and give them feedback on their work. Flipgrid and Google Classroom will be our privileged tools.
  • By logging into Meet with my computer and tablet, I can see what's going on in class and do a screen share. The application Paper will serve as a whiteboard.

So how do I see the next 10 days? Entertaining, it goes without saying! The work will be different, but it's already been our daily life since March 2020. I will continue to teach, to keep the link with the students, all without a mask, without eye protection, without travel time and, above all, without have to make me lunch! Like what we can find positive in all situations!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Classé dans :

Confinée… mais pas mes élèves!

« La nouvelle est arrivée par texto à l’heure de la récréation. Ma fille est positive à la COVID-19. Je dois quitter ma classe le plus vite possible et ne pas y revenir pour les 14 prochains jours. On se prépare depuis la rentrée à la possibilité que nos classes ferment, mais là, c'est le contraire! Comment assurer un minimum de stabilité à mes élèves? » Un témoignage de Julie Chandonnet.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

par Julie Chandonnet, enseignante en 6e année du primaire

La nouvelle est arrivée par texto à l’heure de la récréation. Ma fille a reçu un test positif pour la COVID-19 (pour ceux qui s’inquiètent : presque pas de symptômes, elle va très bien). Je dois toutefois quitter ma classe le plus vite possible, sur l’heure du dîner, et ne pas y revenir pour les 14 prochains jours.

Entre vous et moi, ça me semble être le pire des scénarios. On se prépare depuis la rentrée à la possibilité que nos classes ferment, à ce que nos élèves soient à la maison et qu’on puisse garder l’accès à notre classe, à notre matériel afin de passer en enseignement en ligne. L’expérience de Myra m’avait même prouvé que c’était réalisable.

Mais rien ne m’avait préparée au contraire : mes élèves en classe, avec tout leur matériel, et moi, à la maison.

Comment assurer un minimum de stabilité devant la succession de suppléants?

On m’a confirmé assez vite que la stabilité ne serait pas au rendez-vous pour mon remplacement. Plusieurs personnes se succéderont auprès de mes élèves, parfois même 2 par jour. Et pour certaines journées, personne n’a encore été trouvé (salutations à mes collègues qui devront possiblement se relayer lors de leurs périodes libres…). La pénurie de suppléants frappe fort, je ne suis pas surprise. 

Mais ce qui me préoccupe, c’est comment assurer un minimum de stabilité pour mes élèves?

Je fais quoi? Impensable de planifier des activités de consolidation, comme on le fait souvent lors de journées de suppléance. 10 jours, c’est trop : l’enseignement doit se poursuivre. Mais que faire en sachant que ceux qui seront avec mes élèves se relayeront sans cesse et que, dans certains cas, ils risquent d’être de bonne volonté, aptes à gérer un groupe, mais pas qualifiés pour enseigner? Je ne vois qu’une solution : passer en mode hybride!

Ma solution : le mode hybride

Pour les 10 prochains jours « ouvrables », mes élèves et moi vivrons un tout autre modèle de classe. Les périodes routinières, où les élèves sont autonomes (période d’étude, de lecture, plan de travail et autres périodes d’exercisation), seront laissées au suppléant sur place. Pour ma part, j’assurerai les périodes d’enseignement de nouveaux contenus et de lancement de projets en direct de ma salle à manger! Mon objectif : être présente « dans ma classe » une ou deux périodes par jour.

Pour y arriver, j’ai commencé par faire le bilan des forces en présence : 

  • Les médias sociaux : Instagram, Twitter et certains groupes Facebook regorgent de bons coups en lien avec l’enseignement à distance partagés par des enseignants. Pas besoin de tout refaire, de tout repenser. Je me promets aussi de redonner un peu en partageant mes bons coups aussi.
  • Mes collègues : des alliés hors pairs pour tout ce qui sera gestion du matériel, photocopie, soutien aux suppléantes et partage des Chromebooks de l’école, car mes élèves devront y avoir accès plus souvent qu’à l’habitude.
  • Les outils que mes élèves connaissent déjà et qui me permettront de rester en contact et de leur donner de la rétroaction sur leurs travaux. Flipgrid et Google Classroom seront nos outils privilégiés.
  • En me connectant sur Meet avec mon ordinateur et ma tablette, je peux voir ce qui ce passe en classe et faire un partage d’écran. L’application Paper me servira de tableau blanc.

Alors, comment je vois les 10 prochains jours? Divertissants, il va sans dire! Le travail sera différent, mais c’est pas mal déjà notre quotidien depuis mars 2020. Je vais continuer à enseigner, à garder le lien avec les élèves, le tout sans masque, sans protection oculaire, sans temps de déplacement et, surtout, sans avoir à me faire de lunch! Comme quoi on peut trouver du positif dans toutes les situations!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur