Posted in:

Quebec high school ranking: are we on the wrong track?

Are we on the wrong track with a high school ranking? Marc-André Girard, school principal for 15 years, is of the opinion that it does because according to him, a school is not chosen only according to the results of the examinations of the ministry.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



Collaborater at École branchée, Marc-André Girard has also been a school principal for 15 years. The former social universe teacher has signed a text in La Presse + the 1er last November concerning the famous Quebec ranking published annually on secondary schools. A public outing that will have earned him to be guest at the microphone by Catherine Gaudreault of 106.9 Mauricie, in Trois-Rivières.

"Are we on the wrong track with a track record? ". From the outset, the answer could not be clearer for Mr. Girard: “Yes, because it emphasizes the bad things. ". He specifies that a school is not chosen only according to the results of the examinations of the ministry. For 20 years, the annual ranking developed by the Fraser Institute, in the form of a bulletin of secondary schools in Quebec, mainly takes into account the marks obtained by Québec students in the various examinations of the Ministère de l'Éducation.

Special purpose schools

According to Marc-André Girard, a school should be chosen according to the programs that are offered and the approaches proposed by the teachers. To those who think that the secondary school report card is the origin of special-purpose schools, the principal replies that for him this type of school is obviously beneficial, because "they allow students to develop skills other than those in the program. "

Do you have a child who has a technological streak in him and who would like to go to a school that offers the use of computers, digital tablets, 3D printers, design thinking? Go for it! These are choices to be made in the same way as schools offering student learning focused on entrepreneurship, leadership, sports or the arts. “For me, the challenge is precisely to create schools that reflect young people, which is more important than being well on the list. "

This thought on the importance of learning rather than on grades, it comes in part thanks to two lectures by Professor Pasi Salhberg which Marc-André Girard attended. The architect of the reform of the education system in Finland “reminds us that it is the observations of everyday life that count, which are carried out in action by the teachers, rather than the results of the ministerial tests. Moreover in 1968, researchers Robert Rosenthal and Lenore Jacobson had already highlighted the Pygmalion effect, that is to say the importance for a teacher to believe in the learning capacity of his students rather than to rely only on categorizing them according to a score.

Creativity stuck by the norm

"What we want is for teachers to adjust their interventions according to the students' needs," recalls Mr Girard.

However, the notion of creativity is more difficult to maintain for 4th and 5th year secondary school teachers, struggling with subjects sanctioned by the Ministry. “Because we want the students to pass their exam, we're going to practice. Therefore, exit the whole question of creativity when, at the end of the day, all that matters in the subjects for which study is awarded is the success of this exam in order to appear well in the prize list. "

In concluding his letter in La Presse +, Marc-André Girard makes a relevant observation for all teachers and all those who revolve around the world of education: “I am much more proud of what my students are becoming rather than notes they got, which I can't remember! "

And you?

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Classé dans :

Palmarès québécois des écoles secondaires : fait-on fausse route?

Fait-on fausse route avec un palmarès des écoles secondaires? Marc-André Girard, directeur d'école depuis 15 ans est d'avis que oui car selon lui, une école ne se choisit pas qu’en fonction des résultats aux examens du ministère.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Collaborateur à l’École branchée, Marc-André Girard est aussi directeur d’école depuis 15 ans. L’ancien enseignant d’univers social a signé un texte dans La Presse+ le 1er novembre dernier concernant le fameux palmarès québécois publié annuellement sur les écoles secondaires. Une sortie publique qui lui aura valu d’être invité au micro de Catherine Gaudreault du 106,9 Mauricie, à Trois-Rivières.

« Fait-on fausse route avec un palmarès? ». D’entrée de jeu, la réponse est on ne peut plus claire pour M. Girard : « Oui, parce que ça met l’accent sur les mauvaises choses. ». Il précise qu’une école ne se choisit pas qu’en fonction des résultats aux examens du ministère. Depuis 20 ans, le palmarès annuel mis au point par l’Institut Fraser, sous forme d’un bulletin des écoles secondaires du Québec, tient compte principalement des notes obtenues par les élèves québécois aux différents examens du ministère de l’Éducation.

Écoles à vocation particulière

Selon Marc-André Girard, une école devrait se choisir en fonction des programmes qui sont offerts et des approches proposées par les enseignants. À ceux qui pensent que le bulletin des écoles secondaires est à l’origine d’écoles à vocation particulière, le directeur répond que pour lui ce type d’écoles est évidemment bénéfique, car « elles permettent aux élèves de développer des compétences autres que celles au programme. »

Vous avez un enfant qui a en lui une fibre technologique et qui voudrait aller dans une école qui propose l’usage des ordinateurs, des tablettes numériques, des imprimantes 3D, de la pensée design? Allez-y! Ce sont des choix qui sont à faire au même titre que les écoles proposant l’apprentissage des élèves axé sur l’entrepreneuriat, le leadership, les sports ou les arts. « Pour moi, l’enjeu est justement de créer des écoles à l’image des jeunes, ce qui est plus important que de bien figurer dans le palmarès. »

Cette pensée sur l’importance de l’apprentissage plutôt que sur les notes, elle vient en partie grâce à deux conférences du professeur Pasi Salhberg auxquelles Marc-André Girard a assisté. L’architecte de la réforme du système d’éducation en Finlande « nous rappelle que ce sont les observations du quotidien qui comptent, lesquelles sont réalisées dans l’action par les enseignants, plutôt que les résultats aux épreuves ministérielles. » D’ailleurs en 1968, les chercheurs Robert Rosenthal et Lenore Jacobson avaient déjà mis en lumière l’effet Pygmalion, c’est-à-dire l’importance pour un enseignant de croire dans la capacité d’apprentissage de ses élèves plutôt que de se fier uniquement à les catégoriser d’après une note.

La créativité coincée par la norme

« Ce qu’on veut, c’est que les enseignants modulent leurs interventions en fonction du besoin des élèves », rappelle M.Girard.

Toutefois, la notion de créativité est plus difficile à maintenir pour les enseignants de 4e et 5e année du secondaire, aux prises avec les matières sanctionnées par le Ministère. « Parce qu’on veut que les élèves réussissent leur examen, on va faire des pratiques. Donc, exit toute la question de la créativité quand, en bout de ligne, tout ce qui compte dans les matières à sanction d’étude, c’est la réussite de cet examen-là pour bien figurer dans le palmarès. »

En terminant sa lettre dans La Presse+, Marc-André Girard pose un constat pertinent pour l’ensemble des enseignants et tous ceux qui gravitent autour du monde de l’éducation : « Je m’enorgueillis bien plus de ce que mes élèves deviennent plutôt que des notes qu’ils ont eues, desquelles je ne me souviens pas! »

Et vous?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.