ADVERTISEMENT

Modeling the hydroelectric system from Minecraft

The production of hydroelectricity is one of the characteristics of Quebec and fascinates by its ingenuity. What if students could better understand it and even contribute to the supply of electricity to their own network? That's what the Minecraft Electric world offers!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The production of hydroelectricity is one of the characteristics of Quebec and fascinates by its ingenuity. What if students could better understand it and even contribute to the supply of electricity to their own network? That's what the Minecraft Electric world offers!

The RÉCIT national service team in the field of mathematics, science and technology (RÉCIT MST), in collaboration with Stéphane Coupal, MST pedagogical advisor at the Centre de services scolaires de Laval, and Philippe Chapados Tremblay, techno-pedagogical animator at the Service des ressources éducatives et informatiques of the Centre de services scolaires Marguerite-Bourgeoys, built a hydroelectric power plant from scratch, using engineering redstone in Minecraft Education.

The redstone is a supernatural and infinite source of energy that allows you to create electrical circuits from components offered in the game Minecraft and its Minecraft Education edition: conductors, power sources and receivers. The electrical system created is powered from a water tank.

The power plant models the operation of a turbine-generator pair that allows for the production of realistic energy whose distribution to the consumer stops when the gates of the hydroelectric plant are closed. Discussions with Hydro-Quebec engineers have even increased the level of realism.

"Taking into account the constraints of Minecraft, we have done everything to stick to reality in the construction of the power plant. This way, the students can discover the world of hydroelectricity in a very realistic way and even contribute to the development of the network. It becomes very concrete for them," explained Stéphane Coupal during a workshop presented at the Association pour l'enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ) conference on October 21.

The ME1 plant is now available to all those who want to experiment it. A second power plant, ME2, is under development and can also be downloaded. This second power plant offers possibilities to modulate the electricity consumption in the villages.

A complete learning situation

The designers of the plant did not limit themselves to the construction; they also developed a learning situation complete. This one presents different activities grouped in a microsite. They aim to bring students to demystify the world of electricity, to understand the functioning of electrical components, to analyze and build circuits redstone and compare them with real-life electrical circuits and components.

"With elementary school students, the teacher can simply let them move around the world to discover the installation and understand how it works. With high school students, it is possible to go further by asking them to build machines and connect them to the network, then to control the electricity consumption," explains Stéphane Coupal.

The RÉCIT MST team is available every Wednesday morning from 9-11:30 a.m. to answer questions. Simply join at the Zoom link: recitmst.qc.ca/ecv-zoom

The presentation made at the AESTQ Conference
The learning situation
Campus RÉCIT's self-training on Minecraft Education

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Modéliser le système hydroélectrique à partir de Minecraft

La production de l’hydroélectricité est l’une des particularités du Québec et fascine par son ingéniosité. Et si les élèves pouvaient mieux la comprendre et même contribuer à l’alimentation de leur propre réseau en électricité ? C’est ce que propose le monde Minecraft Électrique!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

La production de l’hydroélectricité est l’une des particularités du Québec et fascine par son ingéniosité. Et si les élèves pouvaient mieux la comprendre et même contribuer à l’alimentation de leur propre réseau en électricité ? C’est ce que propose le monde Minecraft Électrique!

L’équipe du service national du RÉCIT, domaine de la mathématique, de la science et de la technologie (RÉCIT MST), en collaboration avec Stéphane Coupal, conseiller pédagogique en MST au Centre de services scolaire de Laval, et Philippe Chapados Tremblay, animateur technopédagogique au Service des ressources éducatives et informatiques du Centre de services scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys, a construit de toutes pièces une centrale hydroélectrique à partir d’ingénierie redstone dans Minecraft Education.

La redstone est une source d’énergie surnaturelle et infinie qui permet de créer des circuits électriques à partir de composantes offertes dans le jeu Minecraft et son édition Minecraft Education : des conducteurs, des sources d’alimentation et des récepteurs. Le système électrique créé est alimenté à partir d’un réservoir d’eau.

La centrale modélise donc le fonctionnement d’un couple turbine-alternateur qui permet de produire une énergie réaliste dont la distribution vers les lieux de consommation s’arrête lorsqu’on ferme les vannes de la centrale hydroélectrique. Des discussions avec des ingénieurs d’Hydro-Québec ont même permis d’accroître le niveau de réalisme.

« En tenant compte des contraintes de Minecraft, nous avons tout fait pour nous coller à la réalité dans la construction de la centrale. Les élèves peuvent ainsi découvrir le monde de l’hydroélectricité de façon très réaliste et même contribuer à développer le réseau. Cela devient très concret pour eux », a expliqué Stéphane Coupal lors d’un atelier présenté au congrès de l’Association pour l’enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ), le 21 octobre dernier.

La centrale ME1 est maintenant rendue disponible à tous ceux qui veulent l’expérimenter. Une deuxième centrale, ME2, est en élaboration et on peut aussi déjà la télécharger. Cette deuxième centrale offre des possibilités de moduler la consommation d’électricité dans les villages.

Une situation d’apprentissage complète

Les concepteurs de la centrale ne se sont pas limités à la construction; ils ont aussi développé une situation d’apprentissage complète. Celle-ci présente différentes activités regroupées dans un microsite. Elles visent à amener les élèves à démystifier le monde de l’électricité, à comprendre le fonctionnement de composantes électriques, à analyser et à construire des circuits redstone et à les comparer avec des circuits et des composantes électriques de la vie réelle.

« Avec les jeunes du primaire, l’enseignant peut simplement les laisser circuler dans le monde afin de découvrir l’installation et comprendre son fonctionnement. Avec des élèves du secondaire, il est possible d’aller plus loin en leur demandant de construire des machines et de les connecter au réseau, puis de contrôler la consommation en électricité », explique Stéphane Coupal.

L’équipe du RÉCIT MST est disponible tous les mercredis matin de 9 h à 11 h 30 pour répondre aux questions. Il suffit de se joindre au lien Zoom : recitmst.qc.ca/ecv-zoom

La présentation faite au Congrès de l’AESTQ
La situation d’apprentissage
L’autoformation de Campus RÉCIT au sujet de Minecraft Éducation

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :